Best Infrared Heater (2026): 7 Quartz and Panel Picks Compared
Shopping for the best infrared heater means cutting through some of the boldest claims in home appliances. Listings promise “60% more heat,” “heats people, not air” and coverage of 1,000 square feet, all from the same 1,500 watts every plug-in heater on a household outlet is limited to. Infrared heaters do have real strengths: quiet operation, quick warmth you can feel on your skin and, in some designs, outdoor ratings. This guide sorts current quartz, carbon and mica panel listings by the job each one suits, then explains what infrared heat really does, how to read the safety features, and where these heaters fit in a cold Front Range house.
Part of our Heating, Cooling & Ventilation guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 14 current Amazon listings sold as infrared heaters on what each listing states: heating element, wattage settings, thermostat range, safety shutoffs, named certification, mounting options, controls, weight and warranty. A ceramic fan heater that turned up in the same search was set aside because it does not claim infrared heat. We did not test any heaters or measure their output. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best infrared heaters by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dr Infrared DR-968 | Large-room cabinet heater |
| $104.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:22 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Dr Infrared DR-978 | Certified compact hybrid |
| $99.99as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| WEWARM HT1198QX | Light carry-around room heater |
| $65.99as of Oct 21, 2026 7:47 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Ballu Mica Panel | Wall-mount smart panel |
| $189.99as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Dr Infrared DR-998 | Dry winter air |
| $145.55as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Dr Infrared DR-238 | Patios and garages |
| $109.98as of Oct 21, 2026 10:47 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Hykolity WHG-0607 Tower | Low-wattage spot heating |
| $69.99as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The seven picks, compared listing by listing
1. Dr Infrared DR-968 — Best Large-Room Cabinet Heater

1500W quartz and PTC cabinet heater with thermostat, 12-hour timer, casters, 12.5 amp draw and 3-year warranty.
Check price on Amazon$104.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:22 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that states its amp draw
- Electronic thermostat from 50 to 85 degrees
- Tip-over and overheat protection
- Three-year warranty, among the longest here
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Infrared quartz tube plus PTC element with blower; high and low settings |
| Power | 1500W, 12.5 amps; rated around 5200 BTU |
| Controls | Electronic thermostat 50–85 F, 12-hour shutoff timer, IR remote |
| Safety | Tip-over and overheat protection; certification mark not named |
| Size / weight | About 17 x 13 x 12.5 in.; 19 lb; 6 ft cord; casters |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Dr Infrared DR-968 — 1500W quartz + PTC, 12.5 A, about 5200 BTU, 50–85 F thermostat, 12-hr timer, 39 dB, 19 lb, 3-yr warranty
The Only Listing That Tells You How Much of the Circuit It Uses
Every heater on this shelf tops out at 1500 watts, but only the DR-968 states the current that requires: 12.5 amps. On a typical 15-amp bedroom or living room circuit, that leaves little room for anything else running at the same time, which is the practical reason a space heater should be the only big load on its outlet. Knowing the number makes it easier to plan where the heater goes.
Five listings on the shelf use the same quartz-plus-PTC fan design, and four of them are Dr Infrared models. The DR-968 has been listed since 2009 and pairs a wide thermostat with a 3-year warranty, a lifetime filter and casters. Its 39 dB noise rating is quiet for a fan-assisted heater.
Two cautions. The “60% more heat than others” line is marketing: a 1500-watt electric heater converts its electricity to roughly the same amount of heat whatever the element, which is why the listing’s own figure of about 5200 BTU matches what any 1500-watt heater produces. And the listing does not name a UL, ETL or CSA mark.
Pros
- States amp draw and BTU rating
- Wide thermostat range with remote and timer
- Three-year warranty
Cons
- No certification mark named
- Heavy at 19 lb
- “60% more heat” claim not credible
Check Dr Infrared DR-968 price on Amazon
2. Dr Infrared DR-978 — Best Certified Compact Hybrid

Compact 1500W PTC and infrared hybrid with UL and cUL named, thermostat, Eco mode, 12-hour timer and 3-year warranty.
Check price on Amazon$99.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that names UL and cUL certification
- No exposed heating elements per listing
- Thermostat cycles to hold the set temperature
- Half the weight of the DR-968 at 10 lb
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | PTC plus infrared hybrid with blower |
| Power settings | High 1500W, low 1200W, Eco; about 5200 BTU per listing |
| Controls | Thermostat 50–86 F, 12-hour timer, remote |
| Safety / marks | Tip-over and overheat shutoff; UL and cUL certified per listing |
| Size / weight | About 12 x 10 x 9 in.; 10 lb |
| Warranty | 3-year parts and components limited warranty |
Dr Infrared DR-978 — 1500/1200W + Eco, PTC + infrared, 50–86 F thermostat, 12-hr timer, UL/cUL, 10 lb, 3-yr warranty
The Only Infrared Listing Naming a UL Mark
Certification wording on this shelf is thin. Three listings name ETL or cETL, one names TUV, and the DR-978 is the only one of the 14 that names UL and cUL. The other nine name no testing mark at all. A recognized lab mark is the simplest safety filter you can apply to a space heater, so this compact Dr Infrared earns the second spot even though its listing is shorter than most.
It keeps the hybrid design of pick 1 in a smaller box: about 12 inches tall and 10 pounds, which is easier to move between a home office and a bedroom. The thermostat cycles the heater on and off to hold the set point, and Eco mode trims output.
What the listing does not give: amp draw (expect the same 12.5 amps at 1500 watts), noise rating and cord length. Like every heater on this shelf, it needs its own wall outlet.
Pros
- UL and cUL named, unique on the shelf
- Compact and 10 lb
- Three-year parts warranty
Cons
- Sparse listing details
- Noise and cord length not stated
- Same 1500W ceiling as every rival
Check Dr Infrared DR-978 price on Amazon
3. WEWARM HT1198QX — Best Lightweight Room Heater

6.4 lb six-quartz heater, 1000/1500W and Eco, 50–90 F thermostat, child lock, cool-touch case, TUV mark.
Check price on Amazon$65.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 7:47 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- About 6.4 lb with six quartz elements
- Cool-touch exterior and child lock
- V-0 flame-retardant housing per listing
- 34 dB rating for bedrooms
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Six quartz infrared elements |
| Power settings | 1000W, 1500W and Eco |
| Controls | Thermostat 50–90 F, 12-hour timer, remote with LED indicator |
| Safety / marks | Tip-over and overheat shutoff, cool-touch exterior, child lock; TUV certified |
| Size / weight | About 12.6 x 9.8 x 10 in.; 6.4 lb |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
WEWARM HT1198QX — 6 quartz elements, 1000/1500W + Eco, 50–90 F, 12-hr timer, child lock, cool-touch, TUV, 6.4 lb
The Only Small Quartz Heater Listing Both a Cool-Touch Case and a Child Lock
Three listings on the shelf use a compact six-quartz-element cabinet: WEWARM, RealSmart and the EXNOS tower. WEWARM is the only one of the three that names a testing mark (TUV), and the only infrared heater on the shelf whose listing mentions both a cool-touch exterior and a child lock. For a nursery, kids’ room or a house with pets, those are the details that matter most.
At about 6.4 pounds it weighs a third of the big Dr Infrared cabinets, so moving it from the kitchen to a bedroom at night is easy. The quartz elements give the quick, direct warmth infrared heaters are known for; this design does not mention a PTC element, so expect less whole-room air movement than a hybrid cabinet.
The listing gives no warranty and no amp figure. Its claim of warming rooms up to 300 square feet depends heavily on insulation and ceiling height. CPSC advises turning heaters off when sleeping, so use the timer rather than running it all night.
Pros
- Light and easy to move
- Cool-touch case plus child lock
- TUV mark named
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Less air circulation than hybrid cabinets
- Room-size claim depends on the house
Check WEWARM HT1198QX price on Amazon
4. Ballu Mica Infrared Panel — Best Wall-Mount Smart Panel

Mica panel infrared heater with Wi-Fi app and Alexa control, 24-hour timer, wall mount or casters and a 2-year warranty.
Check price on Amazon$189.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only app-controlled heater with Alexa support
- Mounts on a wall or rolls on casters
- All-metal case with an insulated housing
- Two-year warranty stated
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Mica panel, far-infrared and convection; 120V |
| Controls | Digital panel, remote, Wi-Fi app scheduling and Alexa voice control |
| Safety | Tip-over shutoff, overheat prevention, flame-retardant cord, 24-hour timer |
| Mounting | Wall mount or portable casters |
| Size | About 27 in. wide x 16 in. tall x 4 in. deep |
| Warranty / marks | 2 years; certification mark not named; wattage not stated |
Ballu NCA2-4.4 — mica panel, 120V, Wi-Fi + Alexa, 24-hr timer, wall or caster mount, tip-over/overheat, 2-yr warranty
The Only Heater Here You Can Schedule From a Phone
None of the other 13 listings offers app control or voice assistant support. Ballu’s mica panel adds both, plus a 24-hour timer, the longest on the shelf. Scheduling a heater to warm a home office 20 minutes before you sit down, then shut off, is the most realistic way a space heater saves energy.
It is also one of three listings that mount to a wall; the other two are Dr Infrared outdoor carbon heaters. A 4-inch-deep panel on the wall keeps the heater out of foot traffic, away from bedding and off the floor where kids and pets are.
The listing has gaps. It does not state wattage, though it says 120 volts, and it does not name a UL, ETL or CSA mark. The “37% energy cost saving” figure has no stated basis. Confirm the wattage and certification on the label before buying.
Pros
- Wi-Fi scheduling and Alexa control
- Wall mount keeps it out of the way
- Two-year warranty
Cons
- Wattage not stated
- No certification mark named
- Energy saving claim unexplained
Check Ballu Mica Panel price on Amazon
5. Dr Infrared DR-998 — Best for Dry Winter Air

1500W quartz and PTC heater with built-in cool-mist humidifier, oscillation, thermostat, 3-year warranty.
Check price on Amazon$145.55 as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only heater with a built-in humidifier
- Oscillation spreads warm air
- No exposed heating elements per listing
- Three-year parts and components warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Infrared quartz tube plus PTC with blower; oscillation |
| Extra function | Cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier |
| Controls | Digital thermostat 50–85 F, 1–12 hour timer, remote |
| Safety | Tip-over and overheat protection; certification mark not named |
| Size | About 16 x 16 x 11 in.; weight not stated |
| Warranty | 3 years limited, parts and components |
Dr Infrared DR-998 — 1500W quartz + PTC, ultrasonic humidifier, oscillation, 50–85 F, 12-hr timer, 3-yr limited warranty
The Only Infrared Heater With a Humidifier Built In
Front Range winter air is dry, and forced-air heating makes it drier. The DR-998 is the only listing among the 14 that adds a cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier, and the only one that oscillates. For a bedroom where dry air means cracked lips and static shocks, combining the two devices saves an outlet.
That outlet point matters. The CPSC tells people to plug space heaters directly into a wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip, so a heater that also humidifies avoids the temptation to run two appliances off a strip.
Humidity has an upper limit. The EPA recommends keeping indoor humidity below 60 percent, ideally between 30 and 50 percent, to limit mold growth. An ultrasonic humidifier running in a small closed room can overshoot that, and ultrasonic units can leave white mineral dust from hard water. A cheap hygrometer keeps it honest. The listing does not name a certification mark or state a weight.
Pros
- Heater and humidifier in one
- Oscillation for even warmth
- Three-year limited warranty
Cons
- No certification mark named
- Humidifier needs filling and cleaning
- Can push humidity too high in a small room
Check Dr Infrared DR-998 price on Amazon
6. Dr Infrared DR-238 — Best for Patios and Garages

IP55 indoor and outdoor carbon infrared heater with 900/1200/1500W, remote, wall and ceiling bracket; no thermostat.
Check price on Amazon$109.98 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:47 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing with an IP55 outdoor rating
- Wall and ceiling mounting bracket included
- Carbon element with mirror aluminum reflector
- Three power steps on standard 120V
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Carbon infrared lamp with 90 percent reflective mirror aluminum reflector |
| Power settings | 900W, 1200W, 1500W; 120V, 60Hz |
| Weather rating | IP55, indoor and outdoor use |
| Mounting | Wall and ceiling bracket included |
| Controls / safety | Remote; no thermostat; tip-over switch not mentioned |
| Size / warranty | About 35 in. long; 8 lb; 1-year limited components warranty |
Dr Infrared DR-238 — carbon infrared, 900/1200/1500W, IP55, wall/ceiling mount, remote, no thermostat, 8 lb, 1-yr warranty
The Only IP55-Rated Heater on the Shelf
Two Dr Infrared listings are carbon infrared heaters marketed for patios, garages and workshops. The DR-298 is a freestanding version with a weighted base, tip-over protection and ETL listing. The DR-238 is the one that states a weather rating, IP55, and comes with a bracket for wall or ceiling mounting, which is how a heater like this should live in a garage or on a covered patio.
This is where infrared makes the most sense. In a drafty garage or on a patio, heated air drifts away, but radiant heat from a reflector warms the person and the workbench in its path. Expect localized warmth, not a warm garage.
It has no thermostat, so it runs at the step you choose until you turn it off. The listing does not mention a tip-over switch; mounting it high and away from anything that can burn is the safer setup. The USFA’s basic rule applies: keep anything that can burn at least 3 feet from any heat source. In a garage that includes gas cans, solvents, rags and cardboard. Outdoors, use a GFCI-protected outlet and keep the cord out of puddles.
Pros
- IP55 indoor and outdoor rating
- Wall or ceiling mount bracket
- Radiant heat suits open, drafty spaces
Cons
- No thermostat
- No tip-over switch mentioned
- One-year warranty
Check Dr Infrared DR-238 price on Amazon
7. Hykolity WHG-0607 Quartz Tower — Best Low-Wattage Spot Heater

24-inch tower with three quartz tubes and fan, 1500/1000/500W settings, thermostat, tip-over shutoff.
Check price on Amazon$69.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 9:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Lowest stated setting on the shelf at 500W
- Three quartz tubes plus a circulating fan
- Tip-over and overheat shutoff
- Flame-retardant plastic housing per listing
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heating | Three quartz tubes with built-in fan |
| Power settings | High 1500W, medium 1000W, low 500W |
| Controls | Adjustable thermostat (min to max dial); timer and remote not mentioned |
| Safety | Tip-over switch, overheat protection, flame-retardant housing |
| Size | About 24 in. tall; weight not stated |
| Warranty / marks | Not stated in listing |
Hykolity WHG-0607 — 3 quartz tubes + fan, 1500/1000/500W, dial thermostat, tip-over/overheat, 24 in. tower
The Only Heater Here That Steps Down to 500 Watts
Most listings on the shelf offer high and low settings around 1500 and 1000 or 1200 watts, and the carbon outdoor models drop to 900. This Hykolity tower is the only one that offers 500 watts. For warming your feet under a desk or taking the chill off a small bathroom while you get ready, a third of the power is often enough and puts much less load on a shared circuit.
Our guide to how much it costs to run a space heater walks through the math; running at 500 watts instead of 1500 cuts the electricity used by two-thirds for the same hours.
It is a simple heater. There is no digital display, timer or remote in the listing, no certification mark and no warranty stated. If you want the same low-wattage approach with more polish, look for those details on the label.
Pros
- 500W low setting, unique here
- Tip-over and overheat shutoff
- Slim tower fits beside a desk
Cons
- No timer or remote mentioned
- No certification mark or warranty stated
- Dial thermostat only
Check Hykolity WHG-0607 Tower price on Amazon
What “infrared heat” really means
Every electric heater turns electricity into heat at essentially the same rate: 1500 watts of electricity becomes roughly 5100 to 5200 BTU per hour of heat no matter what the element is. That is why the Dr Infrared listings and EdenPURE quote nearly the same BTU figure. The difference between heater types is how that heat reaches you.
Infrared, or radiant, elements send heat directly to objects and people in their line of sight, the way sunlight warms your face on a cold day. You feel it within seconds, even while the room air is still cool. Fan-forced and ceramic heaters warm the air, which then circulates. Many “infrared” cabinet heaters on this shelf are hybrids: five pair a quartz element with a PTC element and blower, so they warm both you and the air.
“Heats people, not air” is half true. Radiant heat does warm surfaces and bodies first, which is why it works on patios and in drafty garages. Indoors, those warmed surfaces then warm the air too. The claim that infrared heat does not dry the air is also overstated: no electric heater removes moisture. Warmer air holds more moisture, so relative humidity drops whenever you heat cold, dry winter air, whatever the heater type.
So when does infrared make sense? When you want quick warmth in one spot, quiet operation, or heat in a space that air-based heaters cannot hold. For steady, even heat in a closed room, compare it against oil-filled radiators; our oil-filled vs ceramic heater guide explains how those designs differ.
Safety features and the rules that matter
Space heaters are a leading cause of home heating fires. The USFA reports that portable heater fires were only about 3 percent of home heating fires in 2017 to 2019 but accounted for 41 percent of fatal home heating fires. The CPSC estimates portable heaters, including electric space heaters, are involved in an average of 1,600 fires a year. The core rules from both agencies:
- Keep the heater at least 3 feet from drapes, furniture, bedding and anything else that can burn.
- Plug it directly into a wall outlet. Never use an extension cord or power strip.
- Turn it off when you leave the room or go to sleep.
On this shelf, 13 of the 14 listings mention tip-over protection; the exception is the wall-mount outdoor DR-238. Most also mention overheat protection. Certification is weaker: only five name a testing mark of any kind (one UL and cUL, three ETL or cETL, one TUV). A UL, ETL or CSA mark on the heater itself is worth checking for before you buy.
The USFA’s electrical guidance adds one more check: replace any appliance with a cracked, damaged or loose cord. A plug or outlet that feels hot after an hour of use is a sign of a worn receptacle or loose connection; stop using that outlet and have it looked at.
Circuits, wattage and placement
A 1500-watt heater on a 120-volt outlet draws about 12.5 amps, as the DR-968 listing states. A standard 15-amp circuit often serves several rooms, so a heater plus a hair dryer, vacuum or window air conditioner on the same circuit is a recipe for tripped breakers or warm wiring. Use the low setting when it is enough, and do not move the heater to whichever outlet happens to be closest.
Placement is about clearance and stability. Put the heater on a hard, level floor, not on a rug, bed or chair. Keep it out of walkways where the cord becomes a trip hazard. Wall-mount panels and ceiling-mount carbon heaters avoid most floor hazards, which is one reason we favor them in garages and kids’ rooms.
Front Range use: drafts, basements and garages
A space heater is best at warming one occupied room while the central thermostat is turned down. In Colorado homes, the rooms that need it most are usually the ones with a building problem behind them: a bedroom over the garage, a finished basement with uninsulated rim joists, or a home office with leaky windows. If you rely on a space heater every winter for the same room, sealing drafts often does more. Our best spray foam roundup covers the products used to seal rim joists, gaps and penetrations.
Homes with electric baseboard heat have another option before buying a portable heater: a better wall thermostat. Our baseboard heater thermostat guide covers line-voltage models that hold room temperature more precisely.
In an attached garage, an infrared heater is for working near the bench, not for keeping the garage warm. Never store or use gasoline, solvents or propane near it.
When a space heater is not the answer
If the furnace is short-cycling, some rooms are always cold, or you are running heaters to make up for a system that cannot keep up, the fix is the heating system or the building envelope, not more portable heat. Annual service of the furnace or boiler is also what the CPSC recommends for any fuel-burning heating system. Our guide to hiring for heating and cooling work explains what a good technician checks.
Buying a home with rooms that never seem to warm up? A home inspection can point to the insulation, duct or furnace issue behind them. Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Frequently asked questions
Are infrared heaters more efficient than other space heaters?
Not in converting electricity to heat. Every electric resistance heater turns about 1500 watts into roughly 5100 to 5200 BTU per hour. Infrared heaters can feel more efficient because radiant heat warms you directly and quickly, which lets you use a lower setting or shorter run time in one spot.
Is it safe to leave an infrared heater on overnight?
Safety agencies advise against it. The CPSC says to turn heaters off when sleeping, and the USFA says to turn space heaters off when leaving the room or going to bed. Use the timer to shut the heater off after you fall asleep instead of running it all night.
Can I plug an infrared heater into an extension cord or power strip?
No. The CPSC advises plugging electric space heaters directly into a wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip. A 1500 watt heater draws about 12.5 amps, which can overheat cords and strips that are not built for that load.
Do infrared heaters dry out the air?
No electric heater removes moisture, but heating cold winter air lowers its relative humidity, so a room can feel drier whatever type of heater you use. A humidifier helps; the EPA recommends keeping indoor humidity below 60 percent, ideally between 30 and 50 percent.
Can an infrared heater be used in a garage or outdoors?
Only if the listing and label say so. On the shelf we compared, one carbon infrared heater states an IP55 indoor and outdoor rating and includes a wall and ceiling bracket. Keep it at least 3 feet from anything that can burn, especially fuel and solvents, and use a GFCI-protected outlet.
References
- Heating Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration
- Keep Warm and Safe This Winter: Tips for Using Generators, Furnaces and Space Heaters — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- Appliance and Electrical Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration
- A Brief Guide to Mold, Moisture and Your Home — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency