Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Space Heater for Large Room (2026): 6 Picks Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Clay Banks

Shopping for the best space heater for large room use starts with an uncomfortable fact: every plug-in heater on this shelf tops out at 1,500 watts, which is about 5,100 BTU per hour. A 600 square foot great room with a vaulted ceiling can easily need more than that on a January night. So the question is not which heater “heats 1,000 square feet,” whatever the box says, but which one spreads its fixed 1,500 watts across a big space best, with wide oscillation, a real thermostat and the safety features a heater running for hours in a family room needs. Below are six picks chosen on those terms, then a guide to sizing, circuits and when a big cold room needs a permanent fix. For small rooms and desk heaters, see our main best space heater roundup.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for large-room electric space heaters on what each states: wattage and heat levels, rated coverage, oscillation angle, thermostat range, certification, tip-over and overheat protection, timers and noise. All 13 are 1,500-watt plug-in units. We did not lab-test any heater or use them hands-on, and coverage figures are the manufacturers’ own. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best space heaters for large rooms

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
DREO HSH008Best overall for large rooms
  • Oscillation 30 to 120 degrees
  • 5 heat levels plus ECO
  • Rated for 300 sq ft, 25 dB
$129.99as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price
KEGIAN QN2532RWidest stated coverage
  • Rated for 350 sq ft
  • 120-degree oscillation
  • Names ETL and UL certification
$99.98as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price
Dr. Infrared DR-968Radiant heat, stated BTU
  • Infrared quartz plus PTC
  • About 5,200 BTU, 12.5 amps
  • Casters, 3-year warranty
$104.99as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price
DREO HSH013Quiet tower for living rooms
  • 25 dB
  • Thermostat 41 to 95 F in 1 F steps
  • Child lock, 45-degree tip-over
$89.99as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price
DREO HSH025Faster airflow
  • Dual DC motors
  • Rated for 250 sq ft
  • Cool-touch housing, child lock
$89.98as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price
AUBKN PTC-SL2403Simple 24-inch tower
  • 24-hour auto-off without input
  • 1 to 12 hour timer
  • ETL-certified per listing
$49.49as of October 18, 2026Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 6 picks, compared listing by listing

1. DREO HSH008 — Best Overall Space Heater for a Large Room

Best overall for large roomsDREO HSH008

30-inch ceramic tower with 30–120 degree oscillation, 5 heat levels plus ECO, 300 sq ft rating and 25 dB.

Check price on Amazon$129.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing with selectable oscillation up to 120 degrees
  • Five heat levels for fine control
  • Eight listed protections, ETL-certified
  • 25 dB, quiet for a large tower
Specification Details
Heat / element 1,500 W PTC ceramic; 308 mm element; 5 heat levels, ECO and 3 fan-only levels
Oscillation / coverage Selectable 30, 60, 90 or 120 degrees; rated up to 300 sq ft
Controls Adjustable thermostat; remote; 1–12 hour timer
Safety V0 flame-retardant material, cool-touch housing, FortPlug, insulated wiring, child lock, 45-degree tip-over, overheat; ETL
Noise 25 dB
Size / weight 29.7 in tall, 7.9 in base; 8 lb; warranty not stated

DREO HSH008 — 1,500 W PTC, 30–120 degree oscillation, 5 heat + ECO + 3 fan levels, 300 sq ft, 25 dB, ETL, 8 protections

The Only Listing With Oscillation Selectable From 30 to 120 Degrees

Most towers on this shelf oscillate a fixed 70 degrees. Two go wider: the KEGIAN at 120 degrees and this DREO, which is the only one that lets you pick 30, 60, 90 or 120 degrees. In a large room that matters more than it sounds. A sofa along one wall needs a narrow sweep; an L-shaped living and dining area needs the widest one.

It also offers the finest heat control on the shelf, five heat levels plus ECO and three fan-only settings, and its listing names eight protections, tied with DREO’s Heater 319 for the longest safety list among the 13. A 300 square foot rating is the second-highest claim here, and 25 dB ties the HSH013 for the lowest stated noise.

One claim to read skeptically: DREO credits “controllable silicon technology” with up to 50 percent energy savings. The Department of Energy rates all-electric resistance heat at 95 to 100 percent efficiency because nothing is lost up a flue, so any saving comes from running at lower power once the room is warm, not from a more efficient element. The listing does not state a warranty, and at 30 inches and 8 pounds it is a floor unit.

Pros

  • Oscillation angle matched to the room
  • Five heat levels plus ECO
  • Eight listed safety protections
  • 25 dB

Cons

  • 50 percent savings claim is marketing
  • Warranty not stated
  • Thermostat range not given

Check DREO HSH008 price on Amazon

2. KEGIAN QN2532R — Best for the Widest Stated Coverage

Widest stated coverageKEGIAN QN2532R

25-inch ceramic tower rated for 350 sq ft with 120-degree oscillation, ETL and UL named, 30 dB and a 24-hour timer.

Check price on Amazon$99.98 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Highest coverage claim, 350 sq ft
  • 120-degree oscillation for wide rooms
  • Only listing naming both ETL and UL
  • 24-hour timer and child lock
Specification Details
Heat 1,500 W PTC ceramic; ECO mode with temperature sensing
Oscillation / coverage 120 degrees; up to 350 sq ft
Controls Adjustable thermostat; remote and LED touch panel; 24-hour timer
Safety ETL and UL certification named; V0 material; overheat and tip-over protection; child lock
Noise / extras 30 dB; 3D flame-effect display
Size / weight 25 x 7 x 9 in; 4.85 lb; warranty not stated

KEGIAN QN2532R — 1,500 W PTC, 120-degree oscillation, 350 sq ft, ETL + UL named, 30 dB, 24-hr timer, flame effect

The Highest Coverage Claim, and the Only One Naming ETL and UL

Where listings on this shelf give a coverage figure, it tops out between 250 and 350 square feet, and KEGIAN’s 350 is the highest. Paired with a 120-degree sweep, it is built to throw heat across a wide room. It is also the only listing that names both ETL and UL certification; the others name ETL alone or no specific mark. The USFA advises choosing a heater tested by a recognized laboratory, and either mark qualifies.

A 24-hour timer, the longest here, lets it run a full day in a seldom-heated room, and the child lock and tip-over protection cover the basics for a family room. The 3D flame effect is decorative.

Remember what 350 square feet means: KEGIAN’s heater, like every other one here, delivers about 5,100 BTU. In a well-insulated room that can be enough to take the chill off. In a drafty, high-ceilinged room it will not keep up on the coldest nights. The listing does not give a thermostat range or warranty.

Pros

  • Widest stated coverage
  • 120-degree oscillation
  • ETL and UL both named

Cons

  • Thermostat range not stated
  • Warranty not stated
  • Flame display adds little heat

Check KEGIAN QN2532R price on Amazon

3. Dr. Infrared DR-968 — Best for Radiant Heat and Honest Specs

Radiant heat, stated BTUDr. Infrared DR-968

Infrared quartz plus PTC heater, about 5,200 BTU at 12.5 amps, 50–85 F thermostat, casters and 3-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$104.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing stating BTU and amperage
  • Infrared quartz warms people and furniture
  • Casters move a 19-pound cabinet easily
  • 3-year warranty
Specification Details
Heat 1,500 W infrared quartz tube plus PTC; about 5,200 BTU; high and low
Electrical 12.5 amps; 6-ft power cord
Controls Electronic thermostat 50–85°F; IR remote; 12-hour auto shut-off timer
Safety Tip-over and overheat protection; certification not named in listing
Noise / features Blower at 39 dB; lifetime filter; caster wheels
Size / warranty 17 x 13 x 12.5 in; 19 lb; 3-year warranty

Dr. Infrared DR-968 — 1,500 W quartz + PTC, about 5,200 BTU, 12.5 A, 50–85 F thermostat, 39 dB, casters, 3-yr warranty

The Only Listing That States BTU Output and Amperage

No other listing on this shelf gives BTU or amps. Dr. Infrared states both: about 5,200 BTU and 12.5 amps. Those are the two numbers that matter for a large room. The BTU tells you the ceiling on heat output, and the amp draw tells you it will occupy most of a standard 15-amp circuit.

It is also the only infrared quartz heater among the 13. Radiant heat warms the people, floor and furniture in its path, which can feel warmer at the couch than a ceramic tower blowing air toward a high ceiling. The blower and PTC element add convection for the rest of the room.

The cabinet is bulky at 19 pounds, though casters help. The “60% more heat than others” line is marketing: at 1,500 watts, its 5,200 BTU figure is in line with every other heater here. The listing does not name a safety certification, so check the label for a recognized testing lab’s mark before buying. A 3-year warranty ties the Lasko for the longest stated term.

Pros

  • BTU and amps stated plainly
  • Radiant plus convective heat
  • 3-year warranty

Cons

  • Certification not named in listing
  • Heavy at 19 lb
  • “60% more heat” claim is not credible at 1,500 W

Check Dr. Infrared DR-968 price on Amazon

4. DREO HSH013 — Best Quiet Tower for Living Rooms

Quiet tower for living roomsDREO HSH013

25-inch ceramic tower at 25 dB with 70-degree oscillation, 41–95 F thermostat in 1 F steps and a child lock.

Check price on Amazon$89.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 25 dB, tied for quietest on the shelf
  • Thermostat in 1 degree steps
  • Child lock plus 45-degree tip-over
  • Fan-only mode for summer
Specification Details
Heat 1,500 W PTC ceramic; H1, H2, H3 and ECO modes plus fan
Oscillation / coverage 70 degrees; 100 to 270 sq ft
Thermostat 41–95°F in 1°F increments; dedicated room sensor
Safety V0 material, reinforced plug, 45-degree tip-over, overheat, child lock; ETL
Noise As low as 25 dB
Size / weight 25 in tall, 7.9 in base; 7.26 lb; warranty not stated

DREO HSH013 — 1,500 W PTC, 70-degree oscillation, 100–270 sq ft, 41–95 F thermostat, 25 dB, child lock, ETL

One of Two Towers at 25 dB, With a Thermostat in Single Degrees

Two listings claim 25 dB: this HSH013 and the HSH008 above. Most others sit at 30 to 39 dB where they state a figure. In a living room where people watch TV or talk, a quieter fan is worth having, and the HSH013 pairs it with a thermostat set in 1-degree steps between 41 and 95°F, read by a dedicated sensor.

DREO’s coverage range, 100 to 270 square feet, is more honest than most. It is the right heater for a 250 square foot den or for spot-heating the seating area of a larger room, not for heating a whole open floor plan. This model is also in our parent roundup.

No warranty is stated, and 70 degrees of oscillation is narrower than the two 120-degree picks.

Pros

  • Very quiet stated noise
  • Precise thermostat
  • Child lock and tip-over protection

Cons

  • 70-degree oscillation only
  • Coverage tops out at 270 sq ft
  • Warranty not stated

Check DREO HSH013 price on Amazon

5. DREO HSH025 — Best for Faster Airflow

Faster airflowDREO HSH025

24-inch ceramic tower with dual DC motors, a larger heating plate, 250 sq ft rating and a child lock.

Check price on Amazon$89.98 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing with dual DC motors
  • Larger heating plate than DREO’s older towers
  • Cool-touch housing and child lock
  • Thermostat in 1 degree steps
Specification Details
Heat 1,500 W PTC; 3 heat levels, ECO and fan mode
Airflow Dual DC motors; 10 ft per second; heats in 2 seconds per listing
Oscillation / coverage 70 degrees; up to 250 sq ft
Thermostat / timer 41–95°F in 1°F steps; 12-hour timer; remote
Safety Child lock, safety plug, overheat, tip-over, cool-touch housing; ETL-listed
Size / noise 24 x 8 x 8 in; 5.19 lb; 34 dB

DREO HSH025 — 1,500 W PTC, dual DC motors, 70-degree oscillation, 250 sq ft, 41–95 F thermostat, 34 dB, ETL

The Only Listing With Two Fan Motors

A heater’s job in a large room is moving warm air away from itself. The HSH025 is the only listing on the shelf with dual DC motors, which DREO says doubles airflow, plus a heating plate it describes as 25 percent larger. More air moving across the element means warm air reaches farther before it rises to the ceiling.

The safety list is solid: cool-touch housing, child lock, safety plug, tip-over and overheat protection, ETL-listed. The thermostat matches the other DREO towers at 41 to 95°F in 1-degree steps.

Two motors are also louder than one; the 34 dB figure is higher than the HSH013 and HSH008. The “save up to 40 percent” ECO claim has the same caveat as every resistance heater: savings come from running less, not from a more efficient element. Coverage is rated at 250 square feet, and warranty is not stated.

Pros

  • Dual motors push air farther
  • Cool-touch housing
  • Precise thermostat

Cons

  • 34 dB, louder than the 25 dB picks
  • 250 sq ft rating
  • Savings claim is marketing

Check DREO HSH025 price on Amazon

6. AUBKN PTC-SL2403 — Best Simple 24-Inch Tower

Simple 24-inch towerAUBKN PTC-SL2403

24-inch ceramic tower with 70-degree oscillation, 12-hour timer, remote and an auto-off after 24 hours without input.

Check price on Amazon$49.49 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Shuts off after 24 hours with no input
  • 1 to 12 hour timer for set-and-forget use
  • Tip-over and overheat protection
  • 6-foot flat cord
Specification Details
Heat 1,500 W PTC ceramic; ECO modes per title
Oscillation / coverage 70 degrees; coverage not stated
Controls Thermostat (range not stated); remote, needs 2 AAA batteries; 1–12 hour timer
Safety Tip-over and overheat protection; 24-hour no-interaction auto-off; flame-retardant materials; ETL per listing
Cord / plug 6-ft flat cord with flame-retardant 2-prong plug
Size About 23.1 x 5.5 x 5.5 in; weight and warranty not stated

AUBKN PTC-SL2403 — 1,500 W PTC, 70-degree oscillation, 1–12 hr timer, remote, 24-hr auto-off, ETL per listing

One of Four Listings That Turn Off After 24 Hours Without Input

Four listings describe an automatic shut-off after 24 hours without interaction: this AUBKN, DREO’s HSH003 and HSH014, and the JIBUFI. For a large room where a heater may be switched on in the morning and forgotten, that backstop is worth having. The USFA’s advice is still to turn heaters off when you leave the room or go to bed.

It covers the basics, a remote, a 1 to 12 hour timer, tip-over and overheat protection and a flat 6-foot cord, in a slim 5.5-inch tower that tucks beside furniture.

Details are thin. The listing does not state coverage, thermostat range, noise, weight or warranty, and the ETL claim sits in a bullet with no listing number. Treat it as a simple supplemental heater for one end of a large room, not the main heat source.

Pros

  • 24-hour no-input shut-off
  • Slim footprint
  • Timer and remote

Cons

  • No coverage or thermostat range stated
  • Weight and warranty not stated
  • Remote batteries not included

Check AUBKN PTC-SL2403 price on Amazon

Why no plug-in heater truly heats a large room

A standard 120-volt outlet on a 15-amp circuit limits portable heaters to about 1,500 watts. Every listing here is a 1,500-watt heater, and 1,500 watts converts to roughly 5,100 BTU per hour; Dr. Infrared’s 5,200 BTU figure is the same number rounded. That ceiling is the same whether the box says 200 or 350 square feet.

How far 5,100 BTU goes depends on the room more than the heater. An insulated 300 square foot den with 8-foot ceilings and a good window can stay comfortable with one heater. A 600 square foot great room with an 18-foot ceiling, big glass and an open stairwell will not, because warm air rises to the ceiling and spills up the stairs. In those rooms, a space heater is spot heat for the seating area.

Two heaters on two separate circuits can double the output, but do not put two on one circuit. The USFA warns not to plug anything else into the circuit a space heater uses.

Features that matter in a large room

Oscillation and placement

Wide oscillation spreads heat across a seating area. Point the heater toward where people sit, not into a corner or up a stairwell. Keep it on the floor on a solid, level surface, as the USFA advises.

A real thermostat

A thermostat that reads the room and cycles the element is what keeps a heater from running flat out all evening. Listings that give a range in 1-degree steps, like the DREO towers, are easier to set accurately than ones that name only “ECO.”

Ceramic towers vs infrared in big spaces

Twelve of the 13 listings are fan-forced PTC ceramic heaters. They heat air and blow it out, which works well in a room with a normal ceiling but loses ground in a tall one, because the warmest air collects overhead. The single infrared quartz model, the Dr. Infrared DR-968, sends part of its output as radiant heat that warms whatever it faces. In a large, drafty room, sitting in the path of a radiant heater often feels warmer than sitting in the same room as a ceramic tower, even though both draw the same 1,500 watts. Ceramic towers are lighter, cheaper and quicker to move; the infrared cabinet is heavier and harder to move between rooms. A ceiling fan on low, set to push air down, helps either type in a room with a high ceiling.

Safety for long run times

Large-room heaters often run for hours. The USFA recommends a heater tested by a recognized laboratory, with an automatic shut-off if it tips over, and keeping anything that can burn at least 3 feet away. Child locks and cool-touch housings matter in family rooms with kids and pets.

Circuits, cords and outlets

A 1,500-watt heater draws about 12.5 amps, which is most of a 15-amp circuit. The USFA’s heater safety guidance is direct: plug portable heaters directly into the wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip, and do not plug anything else into the same circuit. Its electrical guidance adds that overloaded cords can overheat and start fires.

Warning signs are worth taking seriously: an outlet or plug that feels hot, a plug that fits loosely, breakers that trip, or lights that dim when the heater cycles on. Stop using that outlet and have an electrician check it.

Permanent fixes for a cold large room

If you are running a space heater in the same big room every winter, the room is telling you something. Common causes are a duct run that is too small or leaky, missing insulation over a bonus room or garage, single-pane windows, or a furnace that is undersized for an addition. Fixing the cause is usually cheaper than years of 1,500-watt electricity bills.

Permanent electric options include hardwired baseboard or wall heaters on their own circuit, controlled by a proper thermostat; our guide to the baseboard heater thermostat covers the controls. Some owners look at fuel-burning room heaters instead; read our guide to the ventless propane heater first, because the EPA lists unvented gas space heaters among the main indoor sources of nitrogen dioxide, alongside the carbon monoxide risk of any unvented flame.

Our heating and cooling inspection hub explains how an HVAC evaluation looks for undersized ducts and uneven heating. If you are buying a home on the Front Range with a great room or addition that never feels warm, contact us to connect with a vetted local inspector before closing.

Frequently asked questions

Can a space heater heat a large room?

Only partially. Plug-in heaters are limited to about 1,500 watts, or roughly 5,100 BTU per hour, regardless of the coverage claim. That can warm a seating area or an insulated room up to about 300 square feet, but not a large, high-ceilinged open space on the coldest nights.

What type of space heater is best for a large room?

A tower heater with wide oscillation and a thermostat spreads heat best, while an infrared quartz heater warms people and furniture directly. Choose one tested by a recognized laboratory with tip-over and overheat protection, as the USFA recommends.

Is it safe to run two space heaters in one room?

Only if each is on a separate circuit. The USFA advises plugging heaters directly into the wall and not plugging anything else into the same circuit. Two 1,500-watt heaters on one 15-amp circuit will overload it.

Do energy-saving modes on space heaters really save money?

They save only by running the heater at lower power once the room warms up. Electric resistance heaters convert nearly all the electricity they use into heat, so no model is more efficient than another at the element. A good thermostat and turning the heater off when the room is empty are what lower the bill.

How far should a space heater be from furniture?

The USFA advises keeping anything that can burn, including bedding, clothing and curtains, at least 3 feet away. Place the heater on a solid, flat surface and turn it off when you leave the room or go to bed.

References