Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector: 2026 Guide

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published June 10, 2026 Updated October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Yosuke Ota

The best smoke and carbon monoxide detector is a combination alarm that matches how your home is powered and wired, uses a smoke sensor suited to where it hangs and, ideally, talks to the other alarms in the house. Combo units save ceiling space and give bedrooms CO coverage they often lack, but they also force two sets of rules into one housing: smoke alarm placement and CO alarm placement. This guide compares five current combo alarms on the three questions that separate them, which are the smoke sensor type (photoelectric or ionization), the power source and whether the unit can interconnect. A buying guide on placement and replacement follows the picks.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings for combination smoke and CO alarms, covering 6 distinct models because several are multipacks of the same unit. We judged each on what the listing states: smoke and CO sensor types, power source, interconnect support, certifications named, end-of-life signaling and nuisance-alarm claims. We did not lab-test any of these alarms or handle them. CO-only alarms and gas sniffers from the same searches were left out. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best smoke and CO combo alarms

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
First Alert SMICO100-AC (6-pack)Hardwired, interconnected homes
  • AC hardwired + battery backup
  • Interconnects with most First Alert and BRK alarms
$276.91as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Kidde 30CUDRNo-wiring combo with current UL editions named
  • 2 AA batteries
  • Names UL 217 10th Ed. and UL 2034 5th Ed.
$49.97as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
X-Sense SC01Sealed-battery combo with named sensors
  • Sealed 10-year lithium
  • Photoelectric smoke + electrochemical CO
$36.99as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
First Alert SMICO100Battery combo with end-of-life warning
  • Battery-operated
  • Only battery combo listing an end-of-life alert
$36.99as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
X-Sense SC07 (5-pack)Covering every bedroom in one purchase
  • Sealed 10-year lithium, 5 units
  • Photoelectric + electrochemical
  • 5-year warranty stated
$169.97as of Nov 6, 2026 3:15 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The five picks, compared listing by listing

1. First Alert SMICO100-AC — Best Hardwired Interconnected Combo

Best hardwired, interconnected homesFirst Alert SMICO100-AC 6-pack

Six hardwired smoke and CO combo alarms with battery backup, interconnect and a latching alarm indicator.

Check price on Amazon$276.91 as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Power AC hardwired with battery backup for outages
Interconnect Links with most First Alert and BRK alarms; when one sounds, compatible units sound
Smoke sensing “Precision Detection” technology aimed at reducing cooking nuisance alarms; sensor type not stated
Indicators Latching indicator shows which unit started an alarm or low-battery warning
Quantity / mounting Six alarms; mounting bracket with wide rotation range
Certification / warranty Not stated in listing

First Alert SMICO100-AC — 6-pack, hardwired + battery backup, interconnect, latching indicator, cooking-nuisance reduction

The Only Combo on This Shelf That Supports Interconnection

Interconnection is the headline recommendation from both fire-safety agencies cited here. The NFPA says the best protection comes from combination alarms interconnected throughout the home, so that when one sounds, they all sound, and the USFA likewise advises choosing interconnected alarms. Of the 10 combo listings on this shelf, this is the only one that describes interconnect. All six X-Sense listings state outright that their units are standalone and point buyers to separate wireless versions, and the Kidde and battery First Alert listings say nothing about it.

The latching indicator is a practical detail for a six-unit system. When a whole house of alarms sounds at once, the indicator shows which unit tripped first, which tells you whether to head for the basement or the kitchen. The listing also claims reduced cooking nuisance alarms, one of 5 listings on the shelf that make that claim.

The trade-offs are installation and missing details. Hardwiring generally means an electrician, and the NFPA notes that only qualified electricians should install hardwired smoke alarms. The listing does not name UL 217 or UL 2034, the smoke sensor type, the backup battery type or a warranty. Check the packaging for both UL marks.

Pros

  • Only interconnect-capable combo on the shelf
  • Battery backup during outages
  • Latching indicator identifies the initiating alarm
  • Six units in one purchase

Cons

  • Requires AC wiring and usually an electrician
  • No UL standards named in listing
  • Smoke sensor type and warranty not stated

Check First Alert SMICO100-AC 6-pack price on Amazon

2. Kidde 30CUDR — Best No-Wiring Combo Naming Current UL Editions

Kidde 30CUDR

AA-powered smoke and CO combo naming UL 217 10th Ed. and UL 2034 5th Ed., with 85 dB alarm and red LED.

Check price on Amazon$49.97 as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Power Two AA batteries, included; no wiring
Smoke sensing “Advanced sensing technology” said to separate real smoke from cooking or steam; sensor type not stated
Alarm 85 dB sounder with red LED
Certification named UL 217 10th Edition, UL 2034 5th Edition and FCC
Size About 5 x 5 x 1.9 in
Model / warranty 30CUDR; 10-year limited warranty from date of purchase

Kidde 30CUDR — 2xAA, 85 dB + red LED, cooking/steam nuisance reduction, UL 217 10th Ed. / UL 2034 5th Ed., 10-yr limited warranty

The Only Listing That Names Edition Numbers for Both UL Standards

Seven of the 10 combo listings name both UL 217 (smoke) and UL 2034 (CO). The 30CUDR is the only one that specifies the edition of each, UL 217 10th Edition and UL 2034 5th Edition. Edition numbers matter because standards are revised; the CPSC recommends a CO alarm that meets the current version of UL 2034, and the NFPA encourages newer alarms labeled as helping reduce cooking nuisance alarms when it is time to replace older ones. Naming the edition makes that easy to verify.

It is also the only combo here with replaceable AA batteries and a 10-year limited warranty. That pairing suits renters and owners who want a replaceable-battery unit without wiring but still want a long warranty. The listing claims smoke detection “over 25% faster” but gives no baseline, so treat that figure as marketing.

Gaps: no sensor type for either smoke or CO, no end-of-life signal and no interconnect mentioned. AA batteries also mean periodic battery changes that sealed units avoid.

Pros

  • Names UL 217 10th Ed. and UL 2034 5th Ed.
  • No wiring; AA batteries included
  • 10-year limited warranty
  • Cooking and steam nuisance-reduction claim

Cons

  • Sensor types not stated
  • Speed claim lacks a stated baseline
  • No interconnect or end-of-life signal stated

Check Kidde 30CUDR price on Amazon

3. X-Sense SC01 — Best Sealed-Battery Combo With Named Sensors

X-Sense SC01

Sealed 10-year lithium smoke and CO combo with photoelectric and electrochemical sensors, UL 217 and UL 2034.

Check price on Amazon$36.99 as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Power Sealed long-life lithium battery for the unit’s 10-year life; not AC hardwired
Sensors Photoelectric smoke sensor; electrochemical CO sensor
Certification named UL 217 and UL 2034; ETL Listed
Interconnect None; standalone unit (a separate SC01-W version is referenced)
Mounting Wall or ceiling with included bracket, screws and anchors
Model / warranty SC01; 5-year quality warranty, 60-day return guarantee

X-Sense SC01 — sealed 10-yr lithium, photoelectric smoke + electrochemical CO, UL 217 / UL 2034 / ETL, standalone, 5-yr warranty

One of Only Six Listings That Name Both Sensor Types

Six of the 10 combo listings state the smoke sensor type, and every one of them is an X-Sense listing naming a photoelectric sensor paired with an electrochemical CO sensor. No listing on the shelf names an ionization or dual-sensor smoke element. The First Alert and Kidde listings describe proprietary “precision” or “advanced” sensing without saying which kind.

Photoelectric sensing has a real placement advantage. The NFPA says photoelectric alarms respond better to smoldering fires and are the best type to install near kitchens and bathrooms to reduce nuisance alarms. The sealed 10-year battery removes battery changes entirely and lines up with the USFA advice to replace smoke alarms 10 years from the manufacture date.

The SC01 is a standalone unit, so it will not set off other alarms. Its warranty is half the length of the Kidde’s, and this single-pack listing does not state the alarm’s loudness, although the SC01 three-pack listing gives 85 dB. Because the battery is sealed, the whole unit is replaced at end of life.

Pros

  • Names photoelectric smoke and electrochemical CO sensors
  • Sealed 10-year battery, no battery changes
  • Names UL 217, UL 2034 and ETL listing
  • Wall or ceiling mounting hardware included

Cons

  • Standalone; no interconnect
  • No ionization element for fast flaming fires
  • 5-year warranty versus a 10-year battery claim

Check X-Sense SC01 price on Amazon

4. First Alert SMICO100 — Best Battery Combo With an End-of-Life Warning

First Alert SMICO100

Battery smoke and CO combo with Precision Detection for fewer cooking nuisance alarms and an end-of-life warning.

Check price on Amazon$36.99 as of Nov 6, 2026 7:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Power Battery-operated; battery type not stated in listing
Smoke sensing “Precision Detection” said to meet newer standards for reducing cooking nuisance alarms; sensor type not stated
End of life End-of-life warning signals when to replace the alarm
Controls Test/silence button
Size / weight About 5.6 x 5.6 x 2 in; 0.66 lb
Certification / warranty Not stated in listing

First Alert SMICO100 — battery, Precision Detection, end-of-life warning, test/silence, 0.66 lb

The Only Battery Combo Here That States an End-of-Life Warning

Only 2 of the 10 combo listings mention an end-of-life signal, and both are for this model (a single and a three-pack). That matters more on a combo than on a smoke-only alarm, because the CO sensor and the smoke sensor may not age at the same rate. The CDC says to replace CO detectors per the manufacturer’s instructions or every 5 years, while the USFA puts smoke alarms at 10 years from manufacture. An alarm that tells you when it has reached its limit removes the guesswork.

The listing also says the Precision Detection system complies with newer industry standards for reducing cooking nuisance alarms, the same wording the NFPA tells buyers to look for on the packaging. It is the battery-powered sibling of pick 1, without interconnect.

The listing is short on hard specs. It names no UL standard, no sensor types, no battery type, no loudness and no warranty. Confirm the UL 217 and UL 2034 marks on the box before buying.

Pros

  • End-of-life warning
  • Cooking nuisance-reduction claim aligned with newer standards
  • No wiring needed

Cons

  • No UL standards named in listing
  • Sensor and battery types not stated
  • No interconnect
  • Warranty not stated

Check First Alert SMICO100 price on Amazon

5. X-Sense SC07 (5-Pack) — Best for Covering Every Bedroom at Once

X-Sense SC07 5-pack

Five sealed-battery smoke and CO combos with photoelectric and electrochemical sensors and a 5-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$169.97 as of Nov 6, 2026 3:15 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Quantity Five alarms
Power Built-in sealed lithium battery rated for 10 years
Sensors Photoelectric smoke sensor; electrochemical CO sensor
Certification named ETL Listed to UL 217 and UL 2034
Interconnect None; standalone (separate SC07-W version referenced)
Model / warranty SC07; 5-year quality warranty, 60-day return guarantee

X-Sense SC07 5-pack — sealed 10-yr lithium, photoelectric + electrochemical, UL 217 / UL 2034 / ETL, standalone, 5-yr warranty

The Only Five-Pack on the Shelf That States a Warranty

Two listings sell five battery combos in one box: this SC07 five-pack and an SC06 five-pack. Both describe photoelectric and electrochemical sensors, a 10-year lithium battery and UL 217 and UL 2034. The SC07 listing also states a 5-year warranty, which the SC06 listing does not, so it is the more fully documented of the two.

Five units is roughly what a three-bedroom house needs to follow the NFPA and USFA pattern for smoke alarms: one inside each bedroom, one in the hallway outside the sleeping area and one on another level. Using combos for that pattern also puts CO coverage inside bedrooms, which goes beyond the NFPA’s CO minimum of outside each sleeping area and on every level.

The limit is that five standalone alarms are five separate islands. A fire in the basement will not sound the bedroom units, so this approach suits smaller homes or homes where every sleeping room is within earshot of the hallway alarm. Larger homes should weigh the hardwired pick or the wireless versions X-Sense references.

Pros

  • Five alarms in one purchase
  • Names photoelectric and electrochemical sensors
  • Sealed battery, no battery changes
  • Stated 5-year warranty

Cons

  • Standalone units; no interconnect
  • Loudness not stated in this listing
  • Whole units replaced at end of life

Check X-Sense SC07 5-pack price on Amazon

Photoelectric vs ionization: what the smoke side should be

Smoke alarms fall into two basic types. The NFPA explains that ionization alarms are more responsive to flaming fires and photoelectric alarms are more responsive to smoldering fires, and that photoelectric alarms are the better choice near kitchens and bathrooms to reduce nuisance alarms. The USFA, because no one can predict which kind of fire will start, recommends either both ionization and photoelectric alarms in the home, or dual-sensor alarms that contain both.

That matters for combo shoppers because, on this shelf, the only sensor type any listing names is photoelectric. If you build your whole system from photoelectric combos, consider adding a few ionization or dual-sensor smoke-only alarms in living areas and hallways away from the kitchen, so the home has both kinds. Our ionization vs photoelectric smoke detector guide explains the trade-offs in more depth.

Listings that say “precision detection” or “advanced sensing” without naming a type are often multi-criteria designs aimed at fewer cooking alarms. The NFPA says these newer alarms will state “helps reduce cooking nuisance alarms” on the packaging, and suggests considering them when replacing existing alarms. Five of the 10 listings here make a cooking-nuisance claim.

Interconnect: hardwired, wireless or standalone

Both the NFPA and the CPSC stress that interconnected alarms are best, because one alarm sounding sets off the rest. There are three ways to get there:

  • Hardwired interconnect: alarms share a signal wire on a 120V circuit, as with pick 1. Typical in newer homes; compatibility is usually limited to one brand family.
  • Wireless interconnect: battery alarms link by radio. All six X-Sense listings here point to separate “-W” versions for this; those versions were not part of this comparison.
  • Standalone: each alarm works alone. Acceptable in a small home, weak in a multi-level one.

If your home already has hardwired alarms, replace them with compatible hardwired combos rather than battery units, so the interconnect keeps working. Our hardwired smoke and carbon monoxide detector guide covers swapping units on an existing circuit, and the smart CO detector guide covers app-connected options.

Where combo alarms go

A combo follows smoke alarm placement first, because smoke rules are stricter. The NFPA recommends smoke alarms inside every bedroom, outside each sleeping area and on every level including the basement, on the ceiling or high on a wall, and at least 10 feet from the stove. For CO, the NFPA recommends alarms outside each sleeping area and on every level, and the CPSC advises against kitchens, locations above fuel-burning appliances and spots near heating vents.

In practice, combos work well in bedrooms, hallways outside bedrooms and basement living areas. They are a poor fit in kitchens, directly over furnaces and in bathrooms. Garages are a poor fit for both sensors. Our guides on smoke detector placement and how many carbon monoxide detectors you need give room-by-room counts.

Replacement timing for combo units

The USFA says smoke alarms need to be replaced 10 years from the manufacture date. CO sensors can have a different life; the CDC says to replace CO detectors per the manufacturer’s instructions or every 5 years. With a combo, the shorter of the two governs. Sealed 10-year units simplify this, but check the replacement date on the label rather than assuming the battery life equals the sensor life. The NFPA says to test alarms at least once a month. If a combo chirps after a battery change, see our guide to why a CO detector beeps.

Combo or separate units?

Combos make sense in bedrooms and hallways, where both alarms belong anyway, and in homes that need CO coverage added quickly. Separate units make sense where placement rules diverge: a smoke alarm near (but not in) the kitchen, a CO alarm at outlet height in a basement with a furnace, or a dedicated photoelectric unit near a bathroom. Many homes end up with a mix. For CO-only options, see our best carbon monoxide detector roundup.

Colorado notes for Front Range homes

Colorado’s CO alarm law applies to many homes with fuel-fired appliances, fireplaces or attached garages, and is triggered by sales, certain remodels and rental turnover; confirm current requirements with the local building department. Most Front Range houses built since the 1990s already have hardwired smoke alarms, often from the original builder, and many of those are now past the 10-year mark. Replacing them with hardwired combos on the existing circuit is often the simplest way to add interconnected CO coverage at the same time.

Multi-level layouts are the other local factor. Tri-levels, split-levels and walkout basements are common from Fort Collins to Pueblo, and each half-level counts as a level for alarm placement. A basement bedroom two flights from the main bedrooms is the classic case where standalone alarms fall short and interconnect earns its cost.

A quick buying checklist

  • Both UL marks: look for UL 217 (smoke) and UL 2034 (CO) on the packaging or the back of the alarm, whatever the listing says. Seven of the 10 listings here name both; the three First Alert listings name neither.
  • Smoke sensor type: know whether the unit is photoelectric, ionization or dual-sensor, and plan the rest of the house so both types are represented, as the USFA recommends.
  • Power that matches the house: replace hardwired with hardwired, and choose sealed 10-year or replaceable batteries for rooms without wiring.
  • Interconnect path: decide up front whether the system will be hardwired, wireless or standalone, and buy within one compatible family.
  • Replacement date: check the printed date on arrival and write the install date on the housing.
  • Cooking-nuisance wording: for hallways near kitchens, favor units whose packaging says they help reduce cooking nuisance alarms.

Limits of DIY alarms vs a professional inspection

An inspector checks for alarms in the right places, notes units past their date, confirms interconnect where it exists and flags gas appliances, venting and garage separation issues that make CO coverage more urgent. Wiring changes belong to a licensed electrician. If a CO alarm sounds, the NFPA says to move to fresh air outdoors or by an open window or door, account for everyone and call for help from there. For the tools inspectors use, see our home inspection tools guide.

Buying or selling a Front Range home? Contact us to have smoke and CO coverage checked as part of the inspection.

References

Frequently asked questions

Is a photoelectric or ionization smoke and CO combo better?

Each detects different fires. The NFPA says ionization alarms respond better to flaming fires and photoelectric alarms to smoldering fires, with photoelectric preferred near kitchens and baths. The USFA recommends having both types in the home or using dual-sensor alarms. Most combos sold today name a photoelectric sensor, so consider adding ionization or dual-sensor smoke alarms elsewhere.

Do smoke and carbon monoxide detectors need to be interconnected?

Requirements depend on local code and when the home was built or remodeled, but the NFPA, USFA and CPSC all describe interconnected alarms as the best protection because one alarm sets off all of them. Hardwired combos usually interconnect within one brand family, and some battery models offer wireless versions.

Where should a combination smoke and CO alarm be installed?

Follow smoke alarm placement: inside each bedroom, outside each sleeping area and on every level, on the ceiling or high on a wall. Keep combos at least 10 feet from the stove and out of kitchens, bathrooms, garages and spots directly above fuel-burning appliances.

How long do combination smoke and CO alarms last?

The USFA says smoke alarms should be replaced 10 years from the manufacture date, and the CDC says CO detectors should be replaced per the manufacturer's instructions or every 5 years. A combo is replaced on whichever schedule comes first, so check the replacement date printed on the unit.

Can a hardwired smoke alarm be replaced with a battery combo?

It can be, but doing so usually breaks the interconnect with the remaining hardwired alarms. Replacing a hardwired unit with a compatible hardwired combo keeps the system linked; wiring work should be done by a qualified electrician.

Want smoke and CO coverage checked before you close? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

CO & gas detectors

A carbon monoxide alarm is the cheapest life-safety device in the house. Combination CO + explosive-gas units add a layer near furnaces and gas lines.

ProductWhyBuy
First Alert CO AlarmPlug-in with battery backup.Amazon — $21.99
Kidde Nighthawk CO + GasDetects CO + natural/propane gas.Amazon — $57.47

Compare more picks in our full buying guide →

Prices and availability are accurate as of November 6, 2026 and are subject to change. Product data via the Amazon Product Advertising API.

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.