Best Carbon Monoxide Detector: A 2026 Buyer’s Guide
Shopping for the best carbon monoxide detector means sorting through battery units, plug-ins with backup batteries, hardwired combination alarms and a few smart or handheld devices. Carbon monoxide has no color or smell, so an alarm is usually the only warning a household gets before symptoms start. The right pick depends on your wiring, your fuel-burning appliances and how much information you want from the device, not on a single universal winner. Below are eight picks, each matched to a specific job, then a buying guide.
Part of our Home Inspection Tools guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 35 current Amazon listings for CO-only, plug-in, combination and hardwired alarms on what each listing actually states: sensor type, power source, display, certifications named, end-of-life signaling and interconnect support. We did not lab-test any of these units or use them hands-on. Several listings are multipacks of the same model, so the 35 listings cover 28 distinct model numbers. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best carbon monoxide detectors by use case
| Pick | Best for | Power | Key detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde COBD | Battery CO-only alarm | 2 AA batteries | Backlit display; names UL 2034 5th Edition |
| First Alert CO615 | Plug-in with digital display | 120V plug-in + battery backup | Peak feature shows highest CO concentration measured |
| Kidde COP | Simple plug-in with battery backup | 120V plug-in + 2 AA backup | Rotating plug; names UL 2034 5th Edition |
| Kidde COPDLG | CO plus natural gas and propane | 120V plug-in + 2 AA backup | Early low-level CO alert at 30–70 ppm |
| X-Sense SC07 | Battery smoke + CO combo | Sealed 10-year lithium | Photoelectric smoke + electrochemical CO |
| Kidde 30CUA10 | Hardwired interconnected combo | 120V AC + sealed 10-year backup | Interconnects with other Kidde alarms |
| Kidde RGCUAR-RW (Ring) | Smart phone alerts | Hardwired + AA backup | Ring app notifications; Alexa support |
| TOPTES CT-580 | Handheld spot checks | Rechargeable (USB-C) | 0–1000 ppm reading with vibration alert |
The eight picks, compared listing by listing
1. Kidde COBD — Best Battery-Only CO Alarm
AA-powered CO alarm with a backlit display, test/hush button and UL 2034 5th Edition named in the listing.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Two AA batteries, included; no wiring required |
| Alarm | 85-decibel sounder; test/hush button for checks and silencing |
| Display | Backlit digital display described as showing status and alarm operation |
| Certification named | UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Size / weight | About 5.1 x 2.8 x 1.5 in; 0.37 lb |
| Model / warranty | COBD (replaces 900-0146LP); 10-year limited warranty |
Kidde COBD — 2xAA, 85 dB, backlit display, wall or tabletop, UL 2034 5th Ed. / ETL, 10-yr limited warranty
The Only Battery-Only CO Wall Alarm Here With a Backlit Display
Six of the 35 listings are battery-only, CO-only wall or tabletop alarms (leaving aside the handheld meter in pick 8): two older Kidde AA models, Kidde’s COB, two pack sizes of the First Alert CO400 and this COBD. The COBD is the only one of those six whose listing describes a screen.
The listing also names UL 2034 5th Edition and ETL listing directly. Only 15 of the 35 listings name UL 2034 at all, so the COBD is in the minority that spells out the residential CO alarm standard rather than saying something vaguer like “tested to UL standards.”
What the listing does not say is just as useful. It describes the display as showing “status and alarm operation” but never states that it shows a live ppm number, and it does not mention a peak-level memory or an end-of-life signal. It also does not name the sensor type.
Pros
- Installs anywhere with no outlet or wiring
- Only battery CO-only wall alarm here with a display
- Names UL 2034 5th Edition and ETL listing
- Wall-mount hardware included; also works on a tabletop
Cons
- Listing does not say the display shows ppm
- AA batteries need periodic replacement
- No end-of-life signal or sensor type mentioned
2. First Alert CO615 — Best Plug-In With a Digital Display
Plug-in CO alarm with digital display, battery backup and a peak feature that shows the highest level measured.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Standard wall outlet with battery backup for outages |
| Sensor | Electrochemical CO sensor |
| Display | Digital display; peak function shows the highest CO concentration recorded |
| Alarm / end of life | 85-decibel sounder; end-of-life chirp |
| Size / weight | About 5 x 3.4 x 1.7 in; 0.65 lb |
| Model / warranty | CO615; 7-year limited warranty |
First Alert CO615 — plug-in, battery backup, electrochemical, digital display with peak level, 85 dB, end-of-life chirp, 7-yr warranty
The Only Listing That Says Its Peak Feature Shows the Highest Concentration Measured
Five listings on the shelf mention a “peak level” or peak memory feature. Four of them, all Kidde, describe that memory as recording the last time CO was detected or the last test. The CO615 is the only listing that says its peak feature displays the highest carbon monoxide concentration the unit has measured. The CDC specifically suggests considering a detector with a digital readout because it can tell you the highest CO level in the home, which is exactly the function this listing describes.
A stored high gives a furnace technician or responding firefighter something concrete after levels have dropped. The CO615 also names an electrochemical sensor and an end-of-life chirp, two details that only some listings bother to state: 14 of 35 name an electrochemical sensor, and 7 of 35 mention an end-of-life warning.
The gap is certification wording. The listing says First Alert alarms are tested to “UL standards” but does not name UL 2034 specifically, and it does not say what battery type the backup uses. Placement also depends on outlet location.
Pros
- Peak function explicitly shows highest CO concentration
- Names an electrochemical sensor and end-of-life chirp
- Battery backup during power outages
Cons
- Does not name UL 2034 specifically
- Backup battery type not stated in listing
- Placement limited by outlet location
3. Kidde COP — Best Simple Plug-In With Battery Backup
No-display plug-in CO alarm with 2 AA backup, rotating plug and UL 2034 5th Edition named.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | 120V AC plug-in; two AA backup batteries included |
| Alarm | 85 dB sounder, LED hazard light, test/hush button |
| Display | None; LED indicator only |
| Notable features | Plug rotates for vertical or horizontal outlets; power surge immunity |
| Certification named | UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Model / warranty | COP; 10-year limited warranty on alarm; listed weight 0.43 lb |
Kidde COP — 120V plug-in, 2xAA backup, 85 dB, LED, rotating plug, UL 2034 5th Ed. / ETL, 10-yr limited warranty
The Only Display-Free Plug-In Here That Names UL 2034 5th Edition
Eight listings are plug-in CO alarms (counting the two that also sense explosive gas). Only three of those eight name UL 2034: the COP, its display sibling COPD, and the COPDLG gas model. The COP is the only one of the three without a screen, which makes it the plain outlet-powered choice for a guest room or rental.
Three listings on the shelf mention a rotating plug, all from this newer Kidde line. It lets the unit sit upright in a sideways-mounted outlet. The listing also says the alarm avoids low-battery chirps at night, and it notes surge immunity, which only the COP and COPD listings mention.
The listing does not state a sensor type or describe an end-of-life signal.
Pros
- Names UL 2034 5th Edition and ETL listing
- Rotating plug fits sideways outlets
- AA backup keeps it working in outages
Cons
- No display, so no ppm reading or peak memory
- Sensor type and end-of-life signal not stated
- Outlet height dictates placement
4. Kidde COPDLG — Best for CO Plus Natural Gas and Propane
Plug-in CO and explosive gas alarm with backlit display and a separate early warning at 30–70 ppm.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | 120V plug-in with two AA backup batteries; rotating plug |
| Hazards detected | Carbon monoxide, natural gas and propane |
| Display | Backlit digital readout of CO level; shows “GAS” for explosive gas |
| Alarm pattern | Distinct early-warning pattern at 30–70 ppm; separate alarm at 70 ppm and above |
| Certification named | UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Model / warranty | COPDLG (replaces 900-0113 / KN-COEG-3); warranty stated as 7-year in the bullets, 10-year in the spec field |
Kidde COPDLG — plug-in + 2xAA, CO + natural gas + propane, backlit display, 30–70 ppm early alert, UL 2034 5th Ed. / ETL
The Only Listing With a Separate Low-Level CO Warning
Two of the 35 listings detect explosive gas as well as CO: this COPDLG and the older Kidde KN-COEG-3 it replaces. The COPDLG is the only listing on the entire shelf that describes a distinct alert for low CO levels, sounding a different light and sound pattern somewhere between 30 and 70 ppm before a separate full alarm at 70 ppm.
That framing lines up with public health guidance. The CPSC notes most people show no symptoms at roughly 1 to 70 ppm but that some heart patients may experience more chest pain in that range, and the CDC lists infants, older adults and people with heart disease, anemia or breathing problems as more likely to get sick from CO.
Natural gas and propane sensing is a separate job from CO detection. A natural gas leak has an added odorant; carbon monoxide does not. For what to do when the house smells like gas, see our guide to a gas leak smell. One honest caution: the listing contradicts itself on warranty length, so confirm it on the box.
Pros
- Only listing with a separate 30–70 ppm early warning
- Adds natural gas and propane detection
- Backlit display shows CO level or “GAS”
- Names UL 2034 5th Edition
Cons
- Warranty length stated two different ways
- Outlet location may not suit explosive gas placement in every room
- No peak memory mentioned
5. X-Sense SC07 — Best Battery Smoke and CO Combo
Standalone smoke and CO combo with a sealed 10-year lithium battery, photoelectric and electrochemical sensors.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in sealed lithium battery rated for 10 years |
| Sensors | Photoelectric smoke sensor and electrochemical CO sensor |
| Certification named | UL 217 and UL 2034 |
| Interconnect | None; standalone (the SC07-W variant adds wireless interconnect) |
| Mounting / size | Wall or ceiling bracket included; about 5.7 x 5.7 x 2 in |
| Model / warranty | SC07; 5-year quality warranty per listing |
X-Sense SC07 — sealed 10-yr lithium, photoelectric smoke + electrochemical CO, UL 217 / UL 2034, standalone, 1-pack
A Sealed 10-Year Battery With Both Sensor Types Spelled Out
Nine listings are battery-powered smoke and CO combination alarms. Six of them, all X-Sense (the SC01, SC06 and SC07 in various pack sizes), describe a sealed 10-year lithium battery, which removes yearly battery swaps entirely. The First Alert SMICO100 battery combo listings do not state the battery type, and the Kidde 30CUDR uses replaceable AA cells.
The SC07 listing names both of its sensors, photoelectric for smoke and electrochemical for CO, plus both UL 217 (smoke) and UL 2034 (CO). For sensor trade-offs, see our guide on ionization vs photoelectric smoke detectors. This listing is the single unit; the same model appears as 3-pack and 5-pack listings for whole-house coverage.
The listing is upfront that the SC07 does not interconnect, connect to Wi-Fi or pair with a base station. A ceiling-mounted combo also follows smoke alarm placement rules, which can differ from the CO-only alarm’s manual. The 10-year battery claim does not tell you the sensor’s rated life or whether there is an end-of-life signal, and the warranty is 5 years, shorter than the battery claim.
Pros
- No battery changes for the claimed 10-year life
- Names photoelectric and electrochemical sensors
- Names both UL 217 and UL 2034
Cons
- No interconnect in this version
- No display, voice or end-of-life signal mentioned
- 5-year warranty against a 10-year battery claim
6. Kidde 30CUA10 — Best Hardwired Interconnected Combo
Hardwired smoke and CO combo with sealed 10-year backup battery, Kidde interconnect, UL 217 and UL 2034.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | 120V AC hardwired with built-in 10-year backup battery |
| Detection | Smoke and carbon monoxide; sensing tuned to reduce cooking and steam nuisance alarms |
| Interconnect | Links with other Kidde alarms so all sound together |
| Certification named | UL 217 10th Edition, UL 2034 5th Edition, FCC |
| Size / weight | About 5 x 5 x 1.9 in; 0.65 lb |
| Model / warranty | 30CUA10; 10-year limited warranty from purchase |
Kidde 30CUA10 — 120V hardwired, sealed 10-yr backup, smoke + CO, Kidde interconnect, UL 217 10th / UL 2034 5th Ed.
One of Two Hardwired Combos Here With a Sealed 10-Year Backup Battery
Ten listings are hardwired smoke and CO combos, and nine of those describe interconnection with other alarms. Only two pair hardwiring with a sealed 10-year backup battery: this Kidde and the 911 EverGuard EG-911-SKCM.
The 30CUA10 also names specific standard editions, UL 217 10th Edition and UL 2034 5th Edition. The 911 EverGuard goes further with an Intertek control number and claims interconnection of up to 18 alarms, so it is a reasonable alternative for a large house. Kidde’s interconnect is limited to other Kidde alarms, which matters if the existing hardwired alarms in a home are a different brand.
Hardwired installs belong to a qualified electrician, and the USFA says the same. The listing does not name the CO sensor type, does not mention a voice alert (only 2 of 35 listings do, both on hardwired combos from SITERWELL and SITERLINK) and does not describe an end-of-life signal. For wiring and placement detail, see our carbon monoxide detector installation guide.
Pros
- Sealed 10-year backup, no backup battery swaps
- Interconnect makes every Kidde alarm sound together
- Names UL 217 10th and UL 2034 5th Editions
Cons
- Interconnect limited to Kidde alarms
- Requires electrical work to install
- No voice alert or end-of-life signal stated
7. Kidde RGCUAR-RW (Ring) — Best Smart CO Alarm
Hardwired smoke and CO alarm that sends Ring app alerts for smoke, CO and low battery, with Alexa notifications.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Hardwired with AA battery backup |
| Detection | Smoke and carbon monoxide |
| Connectivity | Ring app alerts at home or away, no subscription required for alerts; optional paid monitoring; Alexa notifications |
| Whole-home alerts | Listing says one smart unit can relay phone alerts for the home’s other hardwired alarms (see user guide) |
| Certification named | UL 217 and FCC; UL 2034 not named in listing |
| Model / warranty | RGCUAR-RW; 10-year limited warranty; listed weight 1.2 lb |
Kidde RGCUAR-RW — hardwired + AA, smoke + CO, Ring app and Alexa alerts, optional monitoring, UL 217 / FCC named
The Only App-Connected Alarm on the Shelf
None of the other 34 listings offers phone notifications. Several X-Sense listings explicitly say they lack Wi-Fi, and the rest do not mention it. This Kidde unit sends smoke, CO and low-battery alerts to the Ring app, with no subscription required for the alerts themselves, and Ring sells an optional 24/7 monitoring plan separately.
Kidde also says one smart detector can push phone alerts for every hardwired alarm in the house. For landlords, second-home owners and frequent travelers, that matters: a local siren in an empty house warns nobody.
Two cautions. The listing names UL 217 and FCC standards but does not mention UL 2034, the CO alarm standard the CPSC recommends; confirm the CO certification on the packaging before relying on it as a CO alarm. And it depends on home Wi-Fi and the Ring ecosystem for remote alerts.
Pros
- Only listing with phone alerts when away
- Alerts work without a subscription
- Can relay alerts for other hardwired alarms, per listing
Cons
- Listing does not name UL 2034
- Needs hardwiring plus Wi-Fi for remote alerts
- Ties the alarm to one app ecosystem
8. TOPTES CT-580 — Best Handheld CO Meter for Spot Checks
Rechargeable handheld CO meter, 0–1000 ppm, color display, sound, light and vibration alerts.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Rechargeable via USB-C |
| Range / sensor | 0–1000 ppm; DDS sensor with two alarm thresholds |
| Display | TFT color screen with adjustable brightness |
| Alerts | Indicator light, audible alarm and vibration together |
| Extras | Alarm history, zero and standard-gas calibration menus, built-in flashlight, protective case |
| Certification / size | “National accredited lab” certification, no standard named; size and weight not stated in listing |
TOPTES CT-580 — handheld, USB-C rechargeable, 0–1000 ppm, color TFT, light + sound + vibration, calibration menus
The Only Handheld Meter, and the Only Unit With a Vibration Alert
Several Kidde listings describe their alarms as portable or travel-ready, but those are compact wall or tabletop alarms. The CT-580 is the only handheld instrument on the shelf, the only one with a rechargeable battery and the only one that vibrates. Its range and calibration menus suit spot checks around a furnace, water heater or gas range.
Context helps when reading its numbers. The EPA reports average levels in homes without gas stoves of 0.5 to 5 ppm, levels near properly adjusted gas stoves often of 5 to 15 ppm, and 30 ppm or more near poorly adjusted stoves.
The CT-580 is not a substitute for installed alarms. TOPTES calls it a manual inspection tool, and the listing does not name UL 2034. Use it alongside, never instead of, alarms on every level and outside sleeping areas.
Pros
- Only handheld meter on the shelf
- 0–1000 ppm readout with two thresholds
- Vibration alert for noisy or hearing-impaired settings
Cons
- Not a UL 2034 residential alarm per listing
- Must be charged and carried to be useful
- Size and weight not stated
One listing to avoid confusing with a CO alarm
A search for plug-in CO detectors with a digital display also returned the VETOUCH L6088, a plug-in monitor with a large screen. Its own listing states that it measures carbon dioxide (CO2), not carbon monoxide, and is not a substitute for a smoke or CO alarm. CO2 monitors track ventilation; for that job, see our indoor air quality monitor guide.
CO-only alarms vs smoke and CO combination alarms
Combination alarms cut the number of devices on the ceiling, and 19 of the 35 listings on this shelf are combos. The trade-off is placement. A combo follows smoke alarm rules, which the USFA describes as on the ceiling or high on the wall, inside and outside each bedroom and on every level. A CO-only alarm follows its own manual, which may allow a lower wall height or a plug-in location.
Homes with good smoke alarms can simply add CO alarms outside sleeping areas; homes replacing everything can simplify with combos. The detailed comparison lives in our guide to carbon monoxide detectors vs smoke detectors, and smoke-specific placement is in our smoke detector placement guide.
If a combo uses an ionization smoke sensor, as the BRK and First Alert SC9120B listings state, weigh that against photoelectric options. Voice alerts, offered by only 2 listings here, help a half-awake household tell fire from CO.
Battery vs plug-in vs hardwired
Battery-only
Battery units go anywhere: hallways, basements, rooms with no convenient outlet. Replaceable-battery models need attention every year; sealed 10-year models need none until the whole unit is replaced.
Plug-in with battery backup
Plug-ins draw house power and fall back to batteries in an outage, which is exactly when generators and space heaters raise CO risk. The CPSC recommends battery-operated alarms or alarms with battery backup, and the CDC suggests a battery-powered or battery-backup detector whenever a generator is in use. The limitation is outlet height and location.
Hardwired and interconnected
Hardwired alarms with battery backup are typical in new construction and major remodels. Their biggest advantage is interconnection: the NFPA and CPSC both note that when one interconnected alarm sounds, they all sound, so a CO event in the basement wakes the upstairs bedrooms. The cost is electrical work, and interconnect usually works only within a brand family.
Digital displays and peak memory
A display turns an alarm into an instrument. Seven of the 35 listings describe a screen on a CO device, and only some of those say plainly that the screen shows the CO level. A reading that climbs from zero toward the alarm point is a reason to ventilate and schedule a service call before anyone feels sick.
Peak memory is subtler. Several listings here use “peak level memory” to mean the time of the last detection or test, not the highest reading, so read the wording closely. For context, the CPSC says symptoms become more noticeable as levels stay above 70 ppm, and sustained levels above 150 to 200 ppm can cause disorientation, unconsciousness and death.
Where to place CO alarms
The NFPA recommends a CO alarm in a central location outside each sleeping area and on every level of the home, plus anywhere local codes require, and says to follow the manufacturer’s instructions for mounting height. The CPSC adds that an alarm should never be covered by furniture or drapes. Practical additions:
- Cover the hallway outside bedroom groupings first, then the basement and main living level.
- Add an alarm near the door to an attached garage; the CPSC warns never to leave a car running in an attached garage, even with the door open.
- Keep alarms out of bathrooms, out of the garage itself and away from direct sunlight, and respect any minimum distance from fuel-burning appliances stated in the manual.
- Homes with a standby unit should read our whole-house generator guide; the CDC advises running portable generators outdoors, more than 20 feet from windows, doors and vents.
When an alarm starts chirping rather than sounding a full alarm, it is usually a battery or end-of-life signal. Our guide to carbon monoxide detector beeping decodes the patterns.
UL 2034 certification
UL 2034 is the safety standard for residential carbon monoxide alarms, and the CPSC recommends installing a CO alarm that meets the current version of it. The NFPA’s simpler advice is to choose an alarm that carries the label of a recognized testing laboratory. ETL Listed, a mark from the testing lab Intertek, appears in 9 of these listings, and all 9 of those also name UL 2034 as the standard the alarm was tested against.
Fifteen of the 35 listings name UL 2034 directly. Others say “UL listed” or “tested to UL standards” without naming which one. Vague wording does not prove a unit lacks certification, but confirm the UL 2034 mark on the packaging or the back of the alarm.
Replacement timing and end-of-life signals
CO sensors wear out. The CDC says to replace a CO detector following the manufacturer’s instructions or every 5 years, and the NFPA says to test CO alarms at least monthly and replace them per the manufacturer’s instructions. On this shelf, stated warranties run from 5 to 10 years, but a warranty is not the same as rated sensor life; the manufacturer’s stated replacement date on the label controls.
Only 7 of 35 listings mention an end-of-life warning, which makes the install date on the housing more important. The USFA advises replacing hardwired and 9-volt smoke alarms every 10 years, so a combo unit should be replaced on whichever schedule comes first. A unit that keeps chirping after fresh batteries should be replaced, not silenced; a battery change will not revive an expired sensor.
Colorado notes for Front Range homes
Colorado has a statewide CO alarm law. In general terms, it applies to homes with a fuel-fired heater or appliance, a fireplace or an attached garage, and it requires CO alarms near sleeping areas when a home is sold, when certain remodeling or permitted work is done and, for rentals, when tenants change. The exact distance rules, triggers and exemptions are in the statute and local codes, so buyers, sellers and landlords should confirm current requirements with the local building department or their real estate professional.
Many homes in Denver, Jefferson, Arapahoe and El Paso counties combine gas furnaces, gas water heaters and attached garages, and foothills homes add wood stoves, propane and longer outages. An annual furnace inspection and a proper gas stove installation address the sources; alarms are the backstop.
When to call a professional
If a CO alarm sounds, the NFPA says to move immediately to fresh air outdoors or by an open window or door, account for everyone and call for help from that fresh-air location. After the fire department or utility clears the home, have a qualified technician check every fuel-burning appliance, flue and chimney before using them again; the CPSC recommends annual professional service of heating systems in any case.
A home inspection is a good moment to check CO coverage. Inspectors note missing or expired alarms and venting problems. For more on the instruments that support this work, see our home inspection tools guide.
References
- Carbon Monoxide Questions and Answers — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Basics — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Carbon Monoxide’s Impact on Indoor Air Quality — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Carbon Monoxide Safety — National Fire Protection Association
- Smoke Alarms — U.S. Fire Administration
Frequently asked questions
What is the best type of carbon monoxide detector for most homes?
For most homes, a carbon monoxide alarm that names UL 2034 certification and fits the home's power situation is the best starting point. Plug-in units with battery backup suit rooms near outlets, battery units go anywhere, and hardwired interconnected alarms give the widest coverage. A digital display adds useful information below the alarm point.
Do I need a CO detector with a digital display?
A display is not required, but the CDC suggests considering one because a digital-readout detector can show the highest CO level recorded in the home. That reading helps responders and technicians. Check the listing wording, since some 'peak memory' features only record when CO was last detected.
Are smoke and carbon monoxide combo detectors as good as separate units?
A combo that names both UL 217 and UL 2034 covers both hazards in one device. The trade-off is placement, because combos follow smoke alarm rules, usually on the ceiling or high on a wall. Homes with good smoke alarms can add dedicated CO alarms outside sleeping areas instead.
How many carbon monoxide detectors does a house need?
The NFPA recommends a CO alarm outside each sleeping area and on every level of the home, plus any locations local code requires. Homes with bedrooms in separate wings need an alarm serving each group. Interconnected alarms are best because one alarm triggers them all.
How often should carbon monoxide detectors be replaced?
Follow the manufacturer's stated life on the label; the CDC says to replace detectors per the manufacturer's instructions or every 5 years. Warranties on current listings run 5 to 10 years, which is not the same as rated sensor life. Write the install date on the housing and replace the unit when it signals end of life.
Buying or selling on the Front Range and want CO alarms, flues and fuel-burning appliances checked as part of the deal? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.
CO & gas detectors
A carbon monoxide alarm is the cheapest life-safety device in the house. Combination CO + explosive-gas units add a layer near furnaces and gas lines.
| Product | Why | Buy |
|---|---|---|
First Alert CO Alarm | Plug-in with battery backup. | Amazon — $21.99 |
Kidde Nighthawk CO + Gas | Detects CO + natural/propane gas. | Amazon — $57.47 |
First Alert CO Alarm
Kidde Nighthawk CO + Gas