AirChek Charcoal Radon Test Kit
The AirChek 43237-2 is a short-term charcoal radon test kit designed for an exposure window of 3 to 7 days, made in the United States.
The AirChek 43237-2 is a short-term charcoal radon test kit designed for an exposure window of 3 to 7 days, made in the United States. It is a fit for homeowners who want a simple, low-commitment screening test on the lowest lived-in level before deciding whether a longer test or a professional measurement is needed. What sets it apart on paper is that flexible window: a few days longer than the 48-hour kits it competes with, which helps when a weekend away or a busy week makes timing tight.
Specifications
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Test type | Short-term charcoal radon test |
| Exposure window | 3 to 7 days |
| Detectors in package | Not stated in listing |
| Lab analysis / fees | Not stated in listing |
| Result turnaround | Not stated in listing |
| Origin | United States |
| Package size / weight | About 6 x 2 x 2 in; 1.1 lb |
| Model | 43237-2 |
AirChek 43237-2 — US-made charcoal radon screening kit, 3-to-7-day exposure; lab fee terms and turnaround not stated in the listing
How It Compares
A 3-to-7-Day Charcoal Window, Longer Than the 48-Hour Kits Here
The 14 similar listings include two that are not home air test kits — a Tap Score kit for radon in drinking water and an AEGTEST electronic monitor — leaving 12 mail-in air tests. Among the short-term ones that state an exposure time, the AccuStar charcoal kit lists 48 to 96 hours, and the Leaping Lynx and two PRO-LAB short-term listings point to about 48 hours. The AirChek’s 3-to-7-day range is the widest short-term window stated on the shelf.
Where the AirChek listing falls short is detail. Eight of the 12 air-test listings state that lab analysis is included, among them the First Alert RD1, RadonAway, Detekt, LABPRO and Leaping Lynx kits, and two PRO-LAB listings state a separate per-detector lab fee. The AirChek listing says nothing either way, and it also omits turnaround time, how results are delivered, and whether the lab is NRPP or EPA-program listed — points several competitors spell out.
The listing gives package dimensions and a weight but does not say how many detectors are inside, so check the box contents before planning a side-by-side duplicate test.
Who It’s For — and Who Should Skip It
It suits a homeowner doing a first radon screen who values a flexible exposure period, or someone re-checking a room after sealing cracks or a sump lid. Charcoal tests are a common first step for a quick snapshot.
Skip it if total cost and turnaround need to be known up front; kits that state lab fees and reporting times remove that guesswork. For a home sale, a professional test is usually the better route, and for a year-round picture a long-term alpha-track kit or a continuous monitor fits better.
Using It at Home
EPA’s Citizen’s Guide to Radon sets out the basics for short-term kits:
- Close windows and outside doors before and during the test; for a 2- or 3-day test, start closed-house conditions at least 12 hours ahead. Furnace fans that recirculate air are fine.
- Place the kit on the lowest lived-in level — the basement if it is used often, otherwise the first floor — in a living room, den or bedroom, not a kitchen or bathroom.
- Set it at least 20 inches above the floor, away from drafts, high heat, humidity and exterior walls.
- Avoid testing during severe storms or unusually high winds.
In Colorado, a closed-up winter house is a realistic test condition, so the cold months are a good time to screen. Record the exact start and stop times and mail the kit promptly per the instructions. A result of 4 pCi/L or higher calls for a follow-up test; above about 8 pCi/L, EPA advises a second short-term test right away. For a confirming measurement or a real-estate test, contact us.
Pros
- Flexible 3-to-7-day exposure window
- Charcoal method suited to quick screening
- Made in the United States
Cons
- Lab fee terms not stated in listing
- No turnaround time or lab certification mentioned
- Number of detectors in the box not stated
- Short-term only; not a year-round average
Related Guides
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product details come from the current Amazon listing; we have not lab-tested this unit, and prices and availability change.
Prices change often — check the live price on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.



