Pro-Lab RA100 Radon Gas Kit
The PRO-LAB RA100 is a short-term radon test kit that packs two detectors in one box, letting a household run two tests at once — either side by side for a…
The PRO-LAB RA100 is a short-term radon test kit that packs two detectors in one box, letting a household run two tests at once — either side by side for a duplicate check or in two different areas. It suits homeowners who want more than one reading from a single purchase and are comfortable paying the lab per detector afterward. What sets it apart is the two-detector format paired with a 48-hour minimum exposure and email or text status updates from receipt through results.
Specifications
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Test type | Short-term radon gas detectors, analyzed by lab |
| Detectors included | Two |
| Minimum exposure | As little as 48 hours |
| Lab fee | Separate fee per detector, not included; extra fee for New Jersey residents |
| Results | Standard results within about a work week of lab receipt |
| Updates | Email/text notifications from receipt to results |
| Package size / weight | About 7 x 5 x 1 in; 0.2 lb |
| Model | RA100 |
PRO-LAB RA100 — two short-term radon detectors, 48-hour minimum, lab fee billed per detector, results in about a week, email/text updates
How It Compares
Two Detectors in One Box, but Lab Fees Are Billed Separately
Of the 12 similar listings, three are not mail-in air tests — a Tap Score radon-in-water kit, a radon mitigation fan and an AKSTEST electronic monitor — leaving nine air-test kits. Only one of those nine, PRO-LAB’s own two-kit “with Lab” version, also includes two detectors; it states lab fees are included and results arrive within a week. The RA100 is effectively the same pairing with the lab fee moved to after purchase.
That fee model is the main trade-off. The PRO-LAB single short-term kit, LABPRO, Leaping Lynx and the PRO-LAB long-term “with Lab” kit all state analysis is included, as do the First Alert RD1 and Detekt kits. Only the RA100 and the PRO-LAB long-term alpha-track kit describe a separate per-detector fee. Turnaround is also slower than some: First Alert promises email results within 72 hours of lab receipt and empowerDX quotes 3 to 5 business days, against roughly a week here.
The listing claims the pair satisfies real-estate transaction requirements, but requirements vary by buyer, lender and state. It does not state the detector type, the maximum exposure time or whether return postage is included.
Who It’s For — and Who Should Skip It
It fits a homeowner who wants two simultaneous readings — for example, the basement and the main floor, or a duplicate pair in one room for more confidence — and does not mind paying the lab as a second step. Real-estate agents who want a ready pair on hand may also find it convenient.
Skip it if one all-in cost matters; a kit with the lab fee included is simpler to budget. For a home sale where the result carries legal or contract weight, a professional test is the safer choice.
Using It at Home
The CDC radon testing page describes short-term kits as measuring for 2 to 90 days and advises placing the device on the lowest level of the home, in the middle of the room and raised off the floor. For this kit:
- Close windows and exterior doors before and during the test; recirculating furnace fans can run.
- For a duplicate test, set both detectors a few inches apart in the same regularly used room on the lowest lived-in level — often the basement in Front Range homes.
- To compare floors, put one in the basement and one on the main living floor, away from kitchens and bathrooms.
- Note start and stop times, then register and mail both promptly so the lab can process them.
Winter is a realistic test season in Colorado because homes stay closed up. If either detector reads 4 pCi/L or higher, EPA recommends a licensed professional install a reduction system once a follow-up test confirms it. For that follow-up or a transaction test, contact us.
Pros
- Two detectors for duplicate or two-area testing
- 48-hour minimum exposure
- Email/text updates from receipt to results
Cons
- Lab fee billed separately for each detector
- Results take about a week after lab receipt
- Extra fee for New Jersey residents
- Detector type and return postage not stated
Related Guides
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product details come from the current Amazon listing; we have not lab-tested this unit, and prices and availability change.
Prices change often — check the live price on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.



