Best Solar Landscape Lights (2026): 7 Picks Compared by Use
The best solar landscape lights are the ones matched to a specific job: a stake spotlight washing a tree, a path light marking a walkway, or a flush disk set into a deck step. Solar fixtures skip the trenching, transformer and outlet that wired systems need, which is why they are the default first purchase for most yards. The trade-off is that every brightness and runtime figure depends on how much sun the panel sees, how cold the night is and how healthy a small rechargeable battery stays after a few seasons. This roundup sorts seven current options by the job each does best, then explains how to read the claims, where solar falls short and when a low-voltage system makes more sense.
Part of our Structure & Exterior guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon listings for solar spotlights, solar path lights and solar in-ground disk lights on what each listing states: ingress protection (IP) rating, LED count, lumens, battery type and capacity, runtime per mode, mounting options, color temperature and warranty. Three of the 12 listings are the same NYMPHY spotlight in different pack sizes and colors, so the shelf covers 10 distinct products. We did not lab-test these lights or handle them, and runtime figures below are the sellers’ claims, not measurements. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best solar landscape lights by use
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NYMPHY 56-LED Spotlight (6 pack) | Best overall solar spotlight |
| $59.99as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Bobcat 300 LM Path Light (4 pack) | Best solar path light |
| $45.95as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| WENATY 46-LED Spotlight (12 pack) | Best for lighting many spots |
| $69.99as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| DenicMic Path Light (10 pack) | Best user-replaceable battery |
| $22.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:26 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| SOLPEX Compact Spotlight (10 pack) | Best low-glare accent spot |
| $31.49as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| DERAYSION Steel and Glass (8 pack) | Best decorative path light |
| $39.99as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| INCX In-Ground Disk (12 pack) | Best for deck steps and edges |
| $29.99as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The 7 picks, compared listing by listing
1. NYMPHY 56-LED Solar Spotlight — Best Overall Solar Spotlight

56-LED solar spotlight, IP68, three brightness modes, stake or wall mount, rated for -4 to 140 F.
Check price on Amazon$59.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only IP68 water rating among the shelf’s ten products
- Three brightness modes to trade output for runtime
- Ground stake or wall screws in the box
- Stated operating range covers most Front Range nights
- Anti-fog lens design described in the listing
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Stake-mounted spotlight that can also screw to a wall |
| LEDs / lumens | 56 LEDs; lumen output not stated in listing |
| Water rating | IP68; ABS housing |
| Runtime claim | 6 to 20 hours depending on sunlight and mode |
| Temperature range | -4 to 140 F per listing |
| Battery / warranty | Battery type and capacity not stated; warranty field reads “No” |
NYMPHY cddnl — 56 LEDs, 3 modes, IP68, polycrystalline panel, stake or wall mount, -4 to 140 F, 6-pack, about 11 in tall
The Only IP68-Rated Light on the Shelf
Seven of the ten distinct products on this shelf state an IP rating. Six of those seven say IP65, which covers water jets from any direction. NYMPHY is the one product that claims IP68, the immersion-level rating, and it appears three times on the shelf: this warm-white 6-pack, a warm-white 4-pack and a cool-white 4-pack. For a spotlight sitting in a planting bed that floods during a spring downpour or sits under melting snow, the higher water rating is the most useful single number here.
The listing also states an operating range of -4 to 140 F. Only three products on the shelf give a temperature range at all (NYMPHY, AUDERWIN and GKGG, all with the same figures), so it is the minority that tells you anything about cold. Most Front Range winters stay inside that window, though an arctic outbreak can dip below it.
What the listing leaves out matters. It never gives lumens, battery chemistry or capacity, and the 6-to-20-hour runtime spans so wide a range that it says more about modes and weather than about the product. The listing also calls the light “warm white” in the title while a bullet describes “cool white light,” so check the color you receive. If you want stated lumens, the WENATY and SOLPEX picks below are the ones that give them.
Pros
- IP68 rating, the highest stated on the shelf
- Three modes let you favor runtime or brightness
- Stake and wall mounting both included
- Stated cold rating down to -4 F
Cons
- No lumen figure in the listing
- Battery type and capacity not stated
- Warranty field says no warranty
- Color wording is inconsistent in the listing
Check NYMPHY Solar Spotlight 6 Pack price on Amazon
2. Bobcat Lighting 300 LM Solar Path Light — Best Solar Path Light

300-lumen solar path light with switchable 3000K or 5000K color and an extender for 13 or 26 inch height.
Check price on Amazon$45.95 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- States 300 lumens per light, rare for path lights
- Only listing with switchable warm or daylight color
- Extender stake gives two mounting heights
- Impact-resistant ABS stakes, per the listing
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Stake-mounted path light, 4 pack |
| Lumens | Up to 300 lumens per light per listing |
| Color temperature | Switch between 3000K warm white and 5000K daylight |
| Runtime claim | 8 to 10 hours after 6 to 8 hours of direct sun |
| Height | 13 in, or 26 in with the included 12.7 in extender |
| Water rating / warranty | IP rating not stated in listing; warranty field reads “1” |
Bobcat Lighting solar path light — 300 lm, 3000K or 5000K switch, 13 or 26 in height, ABS stakes, auto dusk on, 4-pack
The Only Listing With a Lumen Figure and a Color Switch on a Path Light
Four products on the shelf are true path lights (Bobcat, DenicMic, DERAYSION and GIGALUMI). Bobcat is the only one of the four that states a lumen output, and it is the only listing on the entire shelf that lets you switch color temperature on the fixture. The other three path lights sell on decorative patterns, starbursts and water-ripple effects, which look good but are not designed to put usable light on a walking surface.
The color switch is practical. A 3000K setting reads warm and matches most porch fixtures; 5000K reads bluish-white and shows steps and edges more starkly. ENERGY STAR’s lighting guidance describes 2200 to 3000K as the warm, incandescent-like range and 5000 to 6500K as bluer white, so you can pick per path and change your mind later. The extender is also unusual: at 26 inches the light spreads farther along a walk, while 13 inches keeps it low in a bed.
The gaps are worth knowing. The listing does not give an IP rating, battery chemistry or capacity, and the warranty field just says “1” without a unit. Treat 300 lumens as a peak figure that a small panel will not sustain all night in short winter days.
Pros
- Stated 300 lumens for real path visibility
- Switchable 3000K or 5000K color
- Two heights with the included extender
Cons
- No IP rating stated
- Battery details not given
- Only 4 lights per pack
- Warranty wording is vague
Check Bobcat 300 LM Solar Path Light price on Amazon
3. WENATY 46-LED Solar Spotlight — Best for Lighting Many Spots

12-pack of 46-LED solar spotlights with an 800-lumen claim, runtime stated per mode, IP65 and a 12-month warranty.
Check price on Amazon$69.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Highest lumen claim on the shelf at 800
- Runtime spelled out for each of three modes
- Twelve lights cover a large yard in one box
- Stated 12-month warranty with a model number
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Stake or wall-mount spotlight, 12 pack |
| LEDs / lumens | 46 LEDs; up to 800 lumens per listing |
| Runtime claim | Low 20+ hours, medium 10+ hours, high 6+ hours |
| Water rating | IP65 |
| Size | About 11.4 in tall |
| Model / warranty | CPD-22; 12-month warranty |
WENATY CPD-22 — 46 LEDs, up to 800 lm, 3 modes with per-mode runtime, IP65, adjustable angle, 12-pack
The Highest Stated Brightness, With Runtime Per Mode
Only three products on the shelf put a lumen number in the listing: WENATY at 800, SOLPEX at 400 and Bobcat at 300. WENATY’s figure is the highest by a wide margin, and the listing pairs it with runtime for each brightness mode instead of one optimistic total. That pairing matters, because it tells you plainly that the brightest setting runs about six hours, not all night.
Three other spotlight products (NYMPHY, AUDERWIN and GKGG) also offer three modes, but only WENATY, AUDERWIN and GKGG list hours per mode. AUDERWIN adds a stepped dimming schedule on high, which is useful context: solar spotlights often dim themselves during the night to stretch the battery, whether or not the listing says so.
A 12-pack is the most units in one box on this shelf, tied with the INCX disk lights. That suits a long fence line or a row of shrubs. The listing does not state battery type or capacity, and it does not give a temperature range, so cold-weather behavior is an open question.
Pros
- 800-lumen claim, highest on the shelf
- Clear runtime figures for each mode
- 12 lights per pack
- 12-month warranty stated
Cons
- Bright mode lasts about six hours per listing
- No battery or temperature details
- IP65, not the higher IP68
Check WENATY Solar Spotlight 12 Pack price on Amazon
4. DenicMic Stainless Pole Solar Path Light — Best User-Replaceable Battery

Solar path light with a named 1.2V Ni-Cd AAA battery designed to be swapped, IP65, stainless pole, 6000K.
Check price on Amazon$22.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:26 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Names battery chemistry, voltage and capacity
- Battery is designed to be user-replaceable
- Stainless steel pole, IP65, no tools to assemble
- Casts a 3 ft starburst pattern on the ground
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Stake path light with stainless pole, 10 pack |
| Battery | 1.2V 250mAh Ni-Cd AAA, user-replaceable |
| Runtime claim | 10 to 12 hours in summer after 6 to 8 hours of charging |
| Color | Cool white, 6000K |
| Water rating | IP65; dustproof and rustproof per listing |
| Height / warranty | About 13 in; 6-month warranty |
DenicMic CL-XDC — 1.2V 250mAh Ni-Cd AAA (replaceable), 6000K, IP65, stainless pole, 13 in, 10-pack
The Most Complete Battery Disclosure on the Shelf
The small rechargeable cell is the part of a solar light most likely to fail first, yet only three of the ten products say anything about it. DERAYSION gives a 1000mAh capacity without chemistry, INCX names Ni-MH, and DenicMic is the only listing that states chemistry, voltage and capacity together and also says the battery is designed for the owner to replace.
That disclosure lets you plan: a standard AAA-size rechargeable cell is easy to find, so a dim light in year three is a battery swap rather than a whole new fixture. The honest flip side is that 250mAh is a small cell, and the listing frames the 10-to-12-hour runtime as a summer figure. Expect shorter nights of light in December when the panel gets fewer hours of low-angle sun.
The starburst pattern is decorative by the listing’s own description, so this is a marker light for a path edge rather than a light that floods the walking surface. Cool 6000K output reads distinctly blue next to warm porch lights.
Pros
- Battery chemistry, voltage and capacity all stated
- User-replaceable battery extends fixture life
- IP65 with a stainless pole
Cons
- Small 250mAh cell
- Runtime claim is for summer
- Decorative pattern, not task lighting
- Six-month warranty
Check DenicMic Solar Path Light 10 Pack price on Amazon
5. SOLPEX Compact Solar Spotlight — Best Low-Glare Accent Spot

Compact 38-LED solar spotlight, 400 lumens stated, 120 degree adjustable head, IP65, stake or wall mount, 10 pack.
Check price on Amazon$31.49 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Stated 400 lumens, moderate rather than glaring
- 120-degree adjustable head for aiming
- Small housing tucks into tight beds
- Pitched for neighborhoods and shared spaces
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Compact stake or wall-mount spotlight, 10 pack |
| LEDs / lumens | 38 LEDs; 400 lumens per listing |
| Aiming | 120-degree adjustable lamp head |
| Water rating | IP65 |
| Size | About 4.1 x 3 x 4.8 in |
| Runtime / warranty | Runtime not stated in listing; warranty given as 12 months in bullets, 6 months in the spec field |
SOLPEX 11317 — 38 LEDs, 400 lm, 120 degree head, IP65, compact housing, stake or wall mount, 10-pack
The Smallest Spotlight, Aimed at Not Bothering the Neighbors
Five products on the shelf are solar spotlights. SOLPEX is the smallest by stated dimensions, around four inches tall, while NYMPHY and WENATY run 11 inches or more. It is also the only spotlight listing that frames its output as deliberately moderate for shared spaces, and one of only two (with WENATY) that says the head angle adjusts.
That combination is useful for accent lighting: a small fixture can sit behind a hosta or under a shrub, and an adjustable head lets you point light at a trunk or a house number rather than into a neighbor’s bedroom window. Aiming down and away is the core of dark-sky-friendly lighting, and a compact, aimable spot makes that easier than a wide flood.
The listing does not state runtime, battery type or capacity, and it contradicts itself on warranty length. Confirm the warranty on the packaging and treat runtime as unknown until you see how it performs in your yard.
Pros
- 400-lumen claim suits accent work
- Adjustable 120-degree head
- Compact size hides easily
Cons
- No runtime figure
- Battery details not stated
- Warranty stated two different ways
Check SOLPEX Compact Solar Spotlight price on Amazon
6. DERAYSION Stainless Steel and Glass Path Light — Best Decorative Path Light

Stainless steel and glass solar path light with a 1000mAh battery claim, 8 to 12 hour runtime and starlight pattern.
Check price on Amazon$39.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Metal and glass instead of an all-plastic body
- Largest stated battery capacity at 1000mAh
- Dusk-to-dawn sensor, no switch hunting
- Starlight pattern doubles as yard decor
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Stake path light, 8 pack |
| Materials | Stainless steel and glass |
| Battery | 1000mAh capacity stated; chemistry not stated |
| Runtime claim | 8 to 12 hours, up to all night |
| Water rating | Described as waterproof; IP rating not stated in listing |
| Model / warranty | A115Z8PBR; warranty not stated in listing |
DERAYSION A115Z8PBR — stainless steel and glass, 1000mAh battery, dusk-to-dawn sensor, starlight pattern, 8-pack
The Only Path Light Here Built From Steel and Glass
Most solar lights on this shelf use ABS plastic housings. DERAYSION is the only listing that describes a stainless steel and glass body, and it argues the point directly: metal and glass hold up to sun, rain and snow better than plastic. UV-degraded plastic lenses that yellow and haze are one of the most common reasons cheap path lights look tired after two summers, so this is a reasonable thing to pay attention to.
Its 1000mAh battery claim is also the largest stated capacity on the shelf, four times DenicMic’s 250mAh cell. Larger capacity gives more headroom on cloudy days. The listing does not say what chemistry the cell is or whether it can be replaced.
The output is a decorative starlight pattern, so think of it as ambiance with a bonus of marking the path edge. There is no IP rating and no warranty in the listing, both notable gaps for a product sold on durability.
Pros
- Steel and glass construction
- 1000mAh stated capacity, largest here
- Automatic dusk-to-dawn operation
Cons
- No IP rating stated
- No warranty stated
- Battery chemistry and replaceability unknown
- Pattern light, not path illumination
Check DERAYSION Steel and Glass Path Light price on Amazon
7. INCX Solar In-Ground Disk Light — Best for Deck Steps and Edges

Flush solar disk light with 8 LEDs, Ni-MH battery, IP65, external waterproof switch and a 1-year warranty, 12 pack.
Check price on Amazon$29.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only in-ground disk design on the shelf
- External switch instead of a pinhole button
- Names Ni-MH battery chemistry
- One-year warranty stated
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | In-ground or surface disk light, 12 pack |
| LEDs | 8 LEDs per light; lumens not stated |
| Battery | Ni-MH, listed as “600” (capacity units not spelled out) |
| Runtime claim | 8 to 10 hours with 8 hours of sun |
| Water rating / body | IP65; stainless steel and plastic |
| Warranty | 1 year |
INCX DMD — 8-LED solar disk, Ni-MH battery, IP65, stainless and plastic, external switch, light sensor, 12-pack
The Only Flush-Mount Option for Steps, Edges and Mowing Strips
Every other product on the shelf stands on a stake. The INCX disk sits at ground level, which is the right shape for lining a driveway edge, marking the outer corners of a deck stair or setting into a mowing strip where a stake light would get clipped. It is a marker light with 8 LEDs per disk, not a floodlight, and that is the job it is built for.
Two small details set the listing apart. It names Ni-MH chemistry, which along with DenicMic’s Ni-Cd is one of only two chemistry disclosures on the shelf, and it describes an external waterproof switch rather than a pinhole button, which is easier to reach with cold fingers. Its 1-year warranty is among the clearer warranty statements here.
Flush lights are driven over, stepped on and shoveled. The listing does not state a load rating, so keep these out of tire paths and away from snow-shovel routes. For wired step lighting built into risers, see our guide to LED step lights.
Pros
- Flush design avoids mower and foot strikes
- External waterproof switch
- Battery chemistry named; 1-year warranty
Cons
- Low output, 8 LEDs per disk
- No load rating for vehicles
- Snow covers the panel in winter
Check INCX Solar Disk Light 12 Pack price on Amazon
Solar vs low-voltage vs plug-in landscape lighting
Solar is one of three ways to light a yard, and it is not always the right one. Each light carries its own small panel, battery and LED, so there is nothing to wire, but each fixture is also limited by its own few square inches of panel.
- Solar: no wiring, no electric bill, easy to move. Output and runtime depend on sun exposure, season and battery health. Best for path markers, accent spots and areas far from power.
- Low-voltage (12V) wired: a transformer plugged into an outdoor outlet feeds fixtures over buried cable. Consistent all-night brightness, timers and photocells, and higher output for uplighting trees and facades. Our best landscape lighting roundup covers wired kits and fixtures.
- Plug-in 120V: fixtures that plug directly into an outdoor outlet. Simple but limited by cord length and outlet location.
Many yards mix them: solar for far beds, wired for the front walk and entry. For background on how solar fixtures work and where they fit, see our explainer on solar lights.
How to read solar light specs
Lumens, not LED count
ENERGY STAR describes brightness as light output measured in lumens, not watts, and its reference table puts a traditional 40-watt bulb at a minimum of 450 lumens. Many solar listings advertise LED counts instead (this shelf ranges from 8 LEDs on the INCX disk to 76 on the GKGG spotlight), but LED count tells you little: dozens of tiny chips can produce less light than a few larger ones. Only three of the ten products here state lumens at all. When a listing gives LED count only, assume modest accent-level output.
Runtime is a range, not a promise
Every runtime claim on this shelf is conditional. The most specific ones tie runtime to a stated number of sun hours (6 to 8 hours for GIGALUMI, DenicMic and Bobcat) or to a brightness mode. In winter, the sun sits lower and the day is shorter, so the panel collects less energy just as the nights get longer. A light rated for 10 hours in June may run half that in December, and fewer still after a snowstorm buries the panel.
IP ratings
IP ratings come from an international standard. The second digit describes water protection: 5 means protection against water jets, and 8 means protection against continuous immersion under conditions the manufacturer specifies. For stake lights that sit above grade, IP65 is a reasonable floor. A listing that says only “waterproof” without a rating, as several do here, gives you nothing to compare.
Battery chemistry and replacement
Small solar lights typically use Ni-Cd, Ni-MH or lithium cells, and the battery usually fades before the LED or panel does. A user-replaceable battery turns a dim light into a quick fix. When you do swap cells, the EPA notes that rechargeable batteries such as nickel-cadmium types should go to battery recyclers, retail take-back programs or household hazardous waste collection rather than the trash, since batteries can contain metals such as cadmium and nickel.
Color temperature
Warm white (roughly 2700 to 3000K) suits most homes and plantings. Cool and daylight white (5000K and up) looks harsher but can make steps and edges easier to see. Of the products on this shelf, DenicMic lists 6000K, AUDERWIN 6500K, and only Bobcat lets you switch between the two families.
Placement tips for solar landscape lights
Solar performance is mostly about siting. A few rules cover most yards:
- Give the panel open sky. South-facing, unshaded spots charge best. Eaves, evergreens and the north side of a house can cut charging sharply even when the yard looks bright.
- Watch for competing light. A porch light or streetlight shining on the panel can stop the dusk sensor from switching the fixture on.
- Space path lights for markers, not floodlighting. Staggering lights on alternating sides of a walk usually looks better than a straight runway of fixtures.
- Aim spotlights down and away. Shielded, downward-aimed fixtures cut glare for you and your neighbors and keep light on the subject. Dark-sky-friendly lighting is mostly about direction and restraint.
- Keep stakes out of the mower path. Set path lights just inside the edge of the bed. If you are also redoing the borders, our landscape edging roundup compares materials that give stakes a clean line to sit behind.
Front Range conditions: sun, snow, hail and cold
The Front Range is good solar country: high-altitude sun and a large share of clear days mean panels often charge well even in winter. The challenges are different. Snow can sit on a panel for days after a storm, so lights in shaded spots may stay dark until it melts; a quick brush-off after shoveling restores charging. Hail can crack or pit plastic lenses and small panels, which is one argument for metal-and-glass bodies or for simply budgeting to replace a few units after a bad storm season.
Cold affects batteries. Rechargeable cells deliver less capacity in deep cold, and the three listings that state a temperature range all stop at -4 F, a figure Denver area nights occasionally drop below. Expect shorter runtime on the coldest nights rather than outright failure. Strong wind can also loosen stakes in dry, sandy soil; pushing stakes deeper, or watering the soil first as one listing suggests for hard ground, helps them stay put.
Heavy wet spring snow can also bend tall plastic path-light stakes; shorter or metal-pole fixtures fare better.
Safety and when solar is not enough
Solar lights run on low DC voltage from a small built-in battery, so they avoid most shock risks that wired fixtures carry. The NFPA’s outdoor electrical safety tip sheet still recommends using outdoor lighting that is listed by a qualified testing laboratory and made for outdoor use. None of the listings on this shelf name a safety listing such as UL or ETL, which is common for small solar lights but worth noting if that matters to you.
Solar is the wrong tool when light is a safety need rather than decoration. Stairs, steep walks, the path from the driveway to the front door and dark side yards benefit from consistent, all-night light that does not fade on cloudy weeks. For those areas, a low-voltage system or a hardwired fixture is the better answer, and the outlet feeding it should be GFCI protected. For brighter garden lighting ideas and how wired systems are laid out, see our landscape lighting guide, and for patio ambiance consider our outdoor string lights roundup.
Lighting also reveals the condition of a home’s exterior. Dark walks hide heaved concrete, failed steps and grading that slopes toward the foundation. If you are buying or selling and want those exterior details evaluated, our guide to the structure and exterior portion of an inspection explains what inspectors look at, and you can contact us to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best solar landscape lights for a walkway?
Path lights that state a lumen figure are the best starting point, since many walkway lights only project decorative patterns. Among current listings, the Bobcat 300 LM path light is the only path light that states lumens and lets you switch between warm and daylight color. Place path lights in full sun and stagger them along the walk.
How long do solar landscape lights stay on at night?
Listings on this shelf claim anywhere from about 6 to 24 hours depending on brightness mode, but those figures assume a full charge from several hours of direct sun. In winter, shorter days and low sun angles reduce charging, so expect noticeably shorter runtime. Brightest modes typically run the shortest time.
Do solar landscape lights work in winter in Colorado?
They work, with limits. Colorado's frequent clear days help panels charge, but snow covering a panel stops charging until it is brushed off, and cold reduces battery capacity. Several listings state an operating floor of -4 F, so the coldest nights may shorten runtime.
What IP rating should outdoor solar lights have?
IP65, which covers water jets from any direction, is a sensible minimum for stake lights above grade. IP68 indicates protection against continuous immersion under manufacturer-specified conditions and suits low spots that flood. A listing that says only waterproof without a rating gives you nothing to compare.
Can you replace the battery in solar landscape lights?
Some models are designed for it. Among current listings, DenicMic states a user-replaceable 1.2V Ni-Cd AAA cell, while many others do not say whether the battery can be changed. The EPA advises taking used rechargeable batteries to recyclers, retail take-back programs or household hazardous waste collection.
References
- Outdoor Electrical Safety Tip Sheet — National Fire Protection Association
- Learn About Brightness — ENERGY STAR
- Light Fixtures: Buying Guidance on Color Appearance — ENERGY STAR
- Used Household Batteries — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency