Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Flood Lights (2026): 7 Outdoor Picks Compared by Use

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Stefan Hiienurm

Picking the best flood lights is mostly a question of what you want the light to do. A switch-controlled LED fixture over the garage lights the driveway every evening on demand. A motion-activated security light only comes on when someone approaches. A twin PAR holder keeps your choice of bulbs open, and a solar light fills in where there is no wiring at all. Lumens, color temperature and weather rating then decide whether the result looks like a well-lit home or a parking lot. Below are seven picks that cover hardwired, motion, bulb-based, plug-in and solar options, followed by a buying guide on brightness, efficiency, wet-location ratings, glare and safe installation. For more background, see our flood lights guide.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 11 current Amazon listings for flood lights, fixtures and flood bulbs on what each listing states: lumens and wattage, color temperature, control method (wall switch, motion sensor, app or solar), number of heads, weather or wet-location rating, mounting and warranty. One listing is an indoor BR30 recessed bulb, which we discuss in the bulb section but do not rank as an outdoor pick, and Onforu’s 75W fixture appears as both a single and a two-pack. We did not test any light hands-on. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best flood lights by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Onforu 75W LED Flood LightSwitch-controlled driveway light
  • 7000 lumens, 3 heads
  • Up to 270 degree spread
  • IP65, junction-box mount
$26.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
LUTEC 72W Motion Security LightMotion-activated security
  • 7500 lumens, 5000K
  • 180 degree sensor to 69 ft
  • 4 modes, 3-year warranty
$33.98as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
ShineSeed 45W Dual-HeadCold winters, mid-size yards
  • Rated -22 to 104 F
  • 5500 lumens, IP65
  • Dual heads aim independently
$27.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Lithonia OFTH Twin PAR HolderChoose your own bulbs
  • Suitable for wet locations
  • Die-cast aluminum, gasket
  • Two PAR bulbs up to 150W
$17.98as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Gonhom PAR38 LED 2-PackUpgrade existing PAR holders
  • 1800 lumens at 20W
  • Dimmable, E26 base
  • 180 degree beam
$15.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
MELPO RGB Flood 4-PackLandscape and color lighting
  • 8000 lumens warm white
  • 16 million colors, app timing
  • IP66, US plug
$109.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Tuffenough Solar 2-PackSpots with no wiring
  • Solar, 2500 lumens
  • 270 degree, 26 ft sensing
  • Remote control, IP65
$24.67as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. Onforu 75W LED Flood Light — Best Switch-Controlled Driveway Light

Best overallOnforu 75W LED Flood Light

Hardwired 7,000-lumen three-head LED flood light, wall-switch controlled, with up to 270 degrees of spread and IP65.

Check price on Amazon$26.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 7,000 lumens from a 75-watt fixture
  • Three heads aim across a wide area
  • Die-cast aluminum housing for heat
  • Simple wall-switch control, no sensor to fuss with
Specification Details
Output 75W, up to 7,000 lumens, 6500K, 112 LEDs
Control Wall switch only; no motion sensor, solar or dusk-to-dawn
Heads / spread 3 adjustable heads, up to 270 degrees
Mounting Hardwired to a junction box; eave or wall
Weather rating IP65
Housing Die-cast aluminum

Onforu BDBC75-3 — 75W, 7000 lm, 6500K, 3 heads, 270 deg, switch controlled, hardwired, IP65, die-cast aluminum

The Clearest Listing About What It Does Not Do

Five of the 11 listings describe switch-controlled outdoor fixtures: both Onforu listings, ShineSeed and the two twin PAR holders from LUTEC and Lithonia. Onforu states the limitation in capital letters: no motion sensor, no solar, no dusk-to-dawn. That clarity is useful, because switch-controlled lights are the right choice when you want a driveway or patio lit on demand for an evening, not blinking on and off with every cat.

It is the brightest of the switch-controlled fixtures at 7,000 lumens, and three heads spread that over up to 270 degrees, enough for a two-car driveway and side yard from one mount. The listing describes mounting to a junction box with simple wiring steps and die-cast aluminum for heat dissipation, which matters because heat is what shortens LED life.

The 6500K color is very cool and blue-white. If the light faces a neighbor’s windows or a quiet street, a 5000K fixture or a warmer bulb may be more welcome. The listing does not state a warranty or operating temperature range.

Pros

  • 7,000 lumens, three heads
  • Clear about controls
  • IP65 and aluminum housing

Cons

  • Very cool 6500K light
  • No motion or timer option
  • Warranty not stated

Check Onforu 75W LED Flood Light price on Amazon

2. LUTEC 72W Motion Security Light — Best Motion-Activated Flood Light

Best motion-activatedLUTEC 72W Motion Security Light

7,500-lumen three-head security light with a 180-degree, 69-foot motion sensor, four modes and an adjustable timer.

Check price on Amazon$33.98 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Brightest motion fixture on the shelf
  • Four modes including manual override
  • Neutral 5000K daylight color
  • 3-year warranty stated
Specification Details
Output 72W, 7,500 lumens, 5000K
Sensor 180 degrees, 0 to 69 ft; timer 1, 3 or 10 minutes
Modes Test, Security, Dusk to Dawn and Manual Override; deactivates in daylight
Heads 3 adjustable heads, aluminum
Weather / lifespan IP65; 50,000-hour rating
Warranty 3 years

LUTEC 76328010 — 72W, 7500 lm, 5000K, 3 heads, 180 deg/69 ft, 4 modes, 1/3/10 min, IP65, 3-yr warranty

The Only Fixture Here With a Manual Override Mode

Two of the 11 listings include a motion sensor: this LUTEC and the Tuffenough solar light. LUTEC is the hardwired-style fixture of the pair, with three times the output, a longer 69-foot sensor and four modes. Manual override is the one others lack: it keeps the light on for a set period when you are unloading the car or shoveling snow, then returns to security mode.

At 5000K it is a neutral daylight white, warmer than Onforu and Tuffenough’s 6500K. ENERGY STAR describes 5000K to 6500K as the bluer-white end of the scale, so 5000K is the gentler of the two. A test mode helps aim the sensor during setup, and the light switches off its sensor during daylight.

The listing does not spell out how the fixture is wired. Expect a junction-box mount like other fixtures in this class, and confirm before buying. The 50,000-hour figure is a lifespan claim, not a warranty; the warranty is three years.

Pros

  • 7,500 lumens with motion control
  • Manual override and test modes
  • 5000K neutral white
  • 3-year warranty

Cons

  • Wiring method not stated
  • Wide sensor may catch street traffic
  • No color temperature choice

Check LUTEC 72W Motion Security Light price on Amazon

3. ShineSeed 45W Dual-Head — Best for Cold Winters and Mid-Size Yards

Best for cold wintersShineSeed 45W Dual-Head

Hardwired 5,500-lumen dual-head flood light rated from -22 to 104 F, IP65, with heads that rotate 180 degrees each way.

Check price on Amazon$27.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing with a stated operating range
  • Rated down to -22 degrees F
  • Highest lumens per watt by listed figures
  • Dual rubber gaskets and sealed plugs
Specification Details
Output 45W, 5,500 lumens, 5000K
Control Wall switch, manual on/off
Heads Two heads, each rotating 180 degrees horizontally and vertically
Operating range -22 to 104 degrees F
Weather rating IP65 with dual rubber gaskets and sealed plugs
Housing / warranty Aluminum with cooling fins, 50,000-hour rating; 3 years

ShineSeed 45W — 5500 lm, 5000K, 2 heads, switch controlled, hardwired, IP65, -22 to 104 F, 3-yr warranty

The Only Listing That States an Operating Temperature Range

No other flood light listing on the shelf gives an operating temperature range. ShineSeed states -22 to 104 degrees F, which covers the coldest Front Range nights and hot summer afternoons on a west-facing wall. LED drivers dislike temperature extremes, so a stated range is a meaningful reassurance.

It is also the most efficient fixture by the listed figures. Dividing stated lumens by watts gives about 122 lumens per watt for ShineSeed, compared with roughly 104 for the LUTEC motion light, 109 for LUTEC’s 32W dual-head and 93 for Onforu. Efficiency here means less power for the same light and less heat for the housing to shed.

At 5,500 lumens it is a step down from Onforu and LUTEC’s 72W model, better suited to a single-car driveway, patio or side yard than a large lot. Two heads give less spread than three, but each aims independently.

Pros

  • -22 to 104 F operating range stated
  • Efficient by listed figures
  • IP65 with sealed gaskets
  • 3-year warranty

Cons

  • Lower output than 70W-class lights
  • Two heads, not three
  • No motion option

Check ShineSeed 45W Dual-Head price on Amazon

4. Lithonia OFTH Twin PAR Holder — Best for Choosing Your Own Bulbs

Best bulb-flexible fixtureLithonia OFTH Twin PAR Holder

Die-cast aluminum twin PAR flood holder, 120V, cUL listed and suitable for wet locations; takes two bulbs up to 150W.

Check price on Amazon$17.98 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing that names wet-location suitability
  • Rust-resistant die-cast aluminum with gasket
  • Swap bulbs to change color or brightness
  • Tool-free aiming of both heads
Specification Details
Type Twin PAR lamp holder, eave or wall mount to a junction box
Bulbs Two outdoor-rated PAR medium-base bulbs up to 150W each, not included
Voltage 120V; works with a hardwired on/off switch
Listing cUL listed to US and Canadian standards; suitable for wet locations
Construction Die-cast aluminum canopy and sockets, gasket included
Warranty 1-year limited

Lithonia OFTH 300PR 120 WH M12 — twin PAR holder, 120V, 2 x PAR up to 150W, cUL wet location, die-cast aluminum

The Only Fixture That States a Wet-Location Listing

Most listings here quote an IP rating such as IP65. Lithonia’s is the only listing that says the fixture is listed by a safety lab (cUL, to US and Canadian standards) and suitable for wet locations, the language electrical codes use for fixtures exposed to rain. For an inspector, a recognized-lab mark plus wet-location suitability is the clearest signal on this shelf that a fixture belongs on an exposed exterior wall.

A bulb holder also keeps options open. Fit warm LED PAR38 bulbs for a patio, bright daylight bulbs for a driveway, or a motion-sensor head later. LUTEC sells a plastic twin PAR holder too; Lithonia’s die-cast aluminum with a gasket is the sturdier build.

Bulbs are not included, so budget for two outdoor-rated PAR bulbs. The U.S. Fire Administration advises using bulbs that match the recommended wattage on the fixture; here the limit is 150 watts per socket, which any LED PAR38 easily stays under.

Pros

  • cUL listed, wet-location suitable
  • Die-cast aluminum with gasket
  • Bulb choice stays flexible

Cons

  • Bulbs sold separately
  • 1-year warranty
  • Two heads only

Check Lithonia OFTH Twin PAR Holder price on Amazon

5. Gonhom PAR38 LED 2-Pack — Best Bulb Upgrade for Existing Holders

Best bulb upgradeGonhom PAR38 LED 2-Pack

Dimmable 20W PAR38 LED flood bulbs rated 1,800 lumens at 5000K, with a 180-degree beam and standard E26 base.

Check price on Amazon$15.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Screws into existing E26 PAR holders
  • 1,800 lumens from 20 watts
  • Dimmable on compatible dimmers
  • No new fixture or wiring needed
Specification Details
Pack Two PAR38 bulbs
Output 20W, 1,800 lumens, 5000K; replaces up to a 200W bulb per listing
Beam 180 degrees; illuminates up to about 70 ft
Electrical 110 to 120V AC, dimmable, E26 medium base
Lifespan Up to 25,000 hours
Weather rating Not stated in listing

Gonhom PAR38 2-pack — 20W, 1800 lm, 5000K, dimmable, E26, 180 deg beam, 25,000-hr rating

The Cheapest Path to LED in an Existing Floodlight

Many older homes already have a twin PAR holder over the garage. Swapping in two LED PAR38 bulbs is the least work of any upgrade here: no wiring, no ladder time beyond changing bulbs. Two listings on the shelf are flood bulbs; this outdoor PAR38 and the Sunco BR30, which is an indoor recessed bulb.

Each Gonhom bulb uses 20 watts for 1,800 lumens. Two in a holder give 3,600 lumens, similar to LUTEC’s 32W dual-head fixture. They are dimmable, which is unusual for outdoor flood bulbs and handy on a patio.

The listing does not give a weather or wet-location rating for the bulb, so use it in a fixture designed for outdoor bulbs with a gasket, such as the Lithonia holder. In fully enclosed fixtures, confirm the bulb is rated for enclosed use; ENERGY STAR notes that heat is the single most important factor in LED life.

Pros

  • Drop-in E26 upgrade
  • Dimmable
  • Efficient 20W draw

Cons

  • Weather rating not stated
  • Enclosed-fixture rating not stated
  • Only 5000K offered in this listing

Check Gonhom PAR38 LED 2-Pack price on Amazon

6. MELPO RGB Flood 4-Pack — Best for Landscape and Color Lighting

Best landscape and colorMELPO RGB Flood 4-Pack

Four plug-in 80W app-controlled flood lights with 2700K warm white, 16 million colors, timing and IP66 rating.

Check price on Amazon$109.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:23 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Warm 2700K white plus full color range
  • Bluetooth mesh app with schedules
  • Highest IP rating here: IP66
  • Plugs in, no junction box needed
Specification Details
Pack Four lights
Output 80W, 8,000 lumens warm white (2700K), CRI above 85; about 100 lumens per watt
Color 16 million colors, 12 dynamic modes, DIY scenes
Control Bluetooth 5.0 mesh app, group control, daily timer
Power US plug
Weather / warranty IP66; 2 years

MELPO BLFL 4-pack — 80W, 8000 lm 2700K + RGB, Bluetooth mesh app, timer, IP66, US plug, 2-yr warranty

The Only Plug-In, App-Controlled and Color-Capable Option

MELPO is the only listing that combines color changing, app scheduling and a plug, and it states the highest weather rating on the shelf at IP66. That makes it a landscape and accent light rather than a security fixture: uplight a tree, wash a stone wall in warm white or set holiday colors on a timer.

Its warm white is 2700K, the warmest outdoor fixture color here, with a stated CRI above 85. Warm, lower-glare lighting is the better choice for a backyard people actually sit in.

A plug means you need an outdoor receptacle with ground-fault (GFCI) protection and an in-use cover that keeps the plug dry in rain. OSHA lists lack of ground-fault protection among the most frequent causes of electrical injuries. Bluetooth control works within range of your phone or the mesh of other MELPO lights, not from across town. Pair with outdoor string lights or deck post lights for a full patio scheme.

Pros

  • Warm 2700K plus color modes
  • App timer and group control
  • IP66 rating

Cons

  • Needs a protected outdoor outlet
  • Bluetooth range limits
  • Not a security light

Check MELPO RGB Flood 4-Pack price on Amazon

7. Tuffenough Solar 2-Pack — Best Where There Is No Wiring

Best with no wiringTuffenough Solar 2-Pack

Solar three-head flood lights rated 2,500 lumens with motion sensing to 26 feet, three modes, remote control and IP65.

Check price on Amazon$24.67 as of Oct 21, 2026 2:34 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only solar flood light on the shelf
  • Motion sensing saves stored charge
  • Remote switches modes from the ground
  • Two lights per pack
Specification Details
Output Up to 2,500 lumens, 6500K, 210 LEDs, 3 heads
Power Solar panel with 1,800mAh rechargeable battery
Sensor Up to 270 degrees, about 26 ft
Modes Strong light sensor, dim light sensor, constant strong light
Mounting Screws to exterior wall; 6.5 to 8 ft suggested
Weather / warranty IP65; 1 year

Tuffenough AMS297 2-pack — solar, 2500 lm, 6500K, 3 heads, 270 deg/26 ft, remote, IP65, 1-yr

The Only Flood Light Here That Needs No Power at All

Every other pick needs a circuit, a socket or an outlet. Tuffenough runs on its own panel, which makes it the practical choice for a shed, detached garage, fence gate or alley behind a garage where trenching a line is not worth it.

Output is a third of the hardwired fixtures, and motion sensing is what makes solar work: the light stays dim or off until something moves, conserving stored charge. The listing is honest that cloudy stretches need two to three days of charging with the light switched off.

Solar charging depends on sun angle. A light that charges well on a south wall in June may struggle in December under an eave. Snow on the panel stops charging entirely. For more on solar options, see our solar lights guide.

Pros

  • No wiring or outlets
  • Motion conserves charge
  • Remote control

Cons

  • Lower output
  • Winter and shade reduce charging
  • 1-year warranty

Check Tuffenough Solar 2-Pack price on Amazon

How many lumens do you need?

Outdoor fixtures on this shelf run from 2,500 lumens (Tuffenough) to 8,000 (MELPO) for a single light. As a rough guide:

  • Entry, side gate or small patio: 1,500 to 3,000 lumens.
  • Single-car driveway or medium yard: 3,500 to 5,500 lumens.
  • Two-car driveway, large lot or detached garage approach: 7,000 lumens or more, or two fixtures.

More lumens is not always better. Overlighting creates glare and deep shadows beyond the lit area, which can make it harder, not easier, to see someone at the edge of the yard. Two moderate fixtures aimed from different angles usually light an area more evenly than one very bright one.

Watt “equivalents” on these listings vary wildly; Onforu equates 75 watts to 400 watts of traditional bulbs while LUTEC equates 72 watts to 720. Compare lumens, not equivalents.

Color temperature and glare

ENERGY STAR describes 2200K to 3000K as matching the warm color of incandescent bulbs, 3500K to 4100K as whiter light and 5000K to 6500K as bluer white. On this shelf, outdoor fixtures sit at 2700K (MELPO), 5000K (LUTEC, ShineSeed, Gonhom) and 6500K (Onforu, Tuffenough). Cooler light looks brighter and suits security; warmer light is friendlier for patios and less intrusive to neighbors.

Aim heads down, not out. A flood light tilted toward the horizon throws light into neighbors’ windows and into the eyes of anyone approaching, including you. Some towns and HOAs have lighting rules aimed at reducing glare and light trespass, so check before mounting a 7,000-lumen fixture on a property line.

Efficiency and lifespan

ENERGY STAR notes LED lighting can be up to 90 percent more efficient than incandescent and that LEDs fade gradually rather than burning out, with rated life defined as the point where output drops 30 percent. It also calls heat management the single most important factor in LED performance. That is why aluminum housings and cooling fins, which Onforu, LUTEC and ShineSeed describe, matter more than a big lifespan number.

Do not look for an ENERGY STAR label on these fixtures. ENERGY STAR states it has ended its program for most common light fixtures because efficient LED lighting is now the standard, with only high-performing recessed downlights still eligible.

Wet-location ratings and weather

Six listings state an IP rating, from IP65 to IP66; Lithonia instead states cUL listing and wet-location suitability. IP65 resists rain and snow on a wall; IP66 handles heavier spray. Neither means submersible. For an exposed eave on the plains, where storms drive rain sideways, choose a fixture with a gasketed canopy and mount it to a weatherproof box.

Hail and wind are Front Range realities. Metal housings with glass or polycarbonate lenses hold up better than thin plastic. ShineSeed’s -22 to 104 degree F range is the only stated temperature rating; for other fixtures, assume cold starts are fine for LEDs but confirm with the maker if the light will sit on an unheated outbuilding through a cold snap.

Installing hardwired flood lights safely

Most of these fixtures mount to an exterior junction box at the eave or on a wall, often 9 to 12 feet up. Two hazards dominate: electricity and height.

  • Turn off the breaker, not just the switch, and test the wires with a non-contact tester before touching them.
  • Use a weatherproof box and seal the canopy gasket so water cannot run into the box.
  • Keep combustible material away from fixtures and bulbs, and stay within the fixture’s bulb wattage limit, as the U.S. Fire Administration advises.
  • Use the right ladder, set on firm, level ground. OSHA notes that work six feet or more above a lower level carries risk of serious injury or death if you fall.

The NFPA advises having electrical work done by a qualified electrician, and calling one for warning signs such as flickering or dimming lights, warm or discolored outlets and frequent breaker trips. If existing exterior lights flicker, our guide to lights flickering in the house explains common causes before you blame the fixture.

When to call an electrician

Call a professional to add a new exterior circuit, to install a fixture where there is no box, to replace a fixture on aluminum or deteriorated wiring, or to add GFCI-protected outdoor receptacles for plug-in lights. If you are buying a home, an inspection can flag exterior fixtures that are loose, missing gaskets or mounted without a proper box. Our guide to hiring for electrical work explains what to ask, and you can get in touch to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What are the best flood lights for a house?

For most homes, a hardwired LED fixture with 3,500 to 7,000 lumens, an aluminum housing and an IP65 or wet-location rating is the best fit. Choose switch control for on-demand lighting or a motion sensor for security, and a solar light where there is no wiring.

How many lumens should an outdoor flood light have?

Small entries and patios need roughly 1,500 to 3,000 lumens, a single-car driveway around 3,500 to 5,500, and large driveways or yards 7,000 or more, sometimes split across two fixtures. Aim lights down to avoid glare, and compare lumens rather than watt equivalents.

What color temperature is best for outdoor flood lights?

Security lighting is often 5000K, a neutral daylight white. ENERGY STAR describes 5000K to 6500K as bluer white and 2200K to 3000K as warm. Warm light suits patios and is less intrusive to neighbors, while cooler light looks brighter.

What does IP65 mean on a flood light?

IP65 means the fixture is dust-tight and resists water jets such as rain and snow. IP66 handles heavier spray. Neither rating means submersible. A wet-location listing from a safety lab, as one fixture here states, is another sign the light is meant for exposed exterior walls.

Can I install a flood light myself?

Replacing a fixture on an existing exterior box is common DIY work with the breaker off and wires tested dead. Working on a ladder at the eave carries fall risk, and adding a new circuit or box is a job for a qualified electrician, as the NFPA advises.

References