Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Outdoor String Lights (2026): 7 Patio Picks Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Giorgio Trovato

The best outdoor string lights turn a patio, deck or pergola into a room you actually use after dark, and the current crop of shatterproof LED strands makes that cheap to run and easy to leave up through the season. The differences between strands are bigger than they look: length per plug, bulb shape and base, whether the listing names a safety certification, how the strand handles rain, and whether you control it with a wall dimmer, a remote or a phone. This roundup compares seven current strands by the job each does best, then covers hanging, power, GFCI outlets, and what Front Range wind and winters do to a strand left up year-round.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon listings for outdoor string lights on what each listing states: total length and bulb count, bulb shape and base, color temperature, water rating, any named safety listing (UL or ETL), dimming and control options, how many strands connect end to end, and warranty. Eleven are 120V plug-in strands and one is a solar fairy-light set. We did not lab-test or hang any of these lights, and brightness and lifespan figures are the sellers’ claims. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best outdoor string lights by use

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Svater 105 ft S14 (E26)Best overall patio strand
  • ETL listed, IP65
  • Full-size E26 bulb base
  • Connects up to 12 strands
$62.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Brightown 29 ft G40Best for small patios
  • Names UL 588
  • Spare fuse built in
  • Connects up to 60 strands
$14.78as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Tenmiro 200 ft S11Best single long run
  • 200 ft on one plug
  • 60 bulbs plus 2 spares
  • 2700K warm white
$43.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
addlon 100 ft ST38 with RemoteBest remote and timer
  • Remote with 50 ft range
  • Auto-off timer
  • Two 50 ft strands
$26.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Govee S14 RGBICWW 96 ftBest smart color strand
  • App, Alexa, Google, Matter
  • IP66 strand
  • 65 lm warm white per bulb
$119.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
GPATIO 100 ft G40Best globe-bulb long run
  • ETL listed
  • 36 bulbs plus 2 spares
  • Two spare fuses
$39.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Joomer Solar Fairy Lights (2 pack)Best with no outlet nearby
  • Solar auto on and off
  • Two 39 ft strands
  • 8 modes, IP65
$9.99as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 7 picks, compared listing by listing

1. Svater 105 ft S14 Commercial Grade — Best Overall Patio Strand

Best overall patio strandSvater 105 ft S14 String Lights

105 ft strand of 33 shatterproof S14 LED bulbs on E26 bases, ETL listed, IP65, dimmable, connects up to 12 strands.

Check price on Amazon$62.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • ETL listed with an IP65 water rating
  • Only strand on the shelf using E26 bases
  • Stated 80 lumens per bulb, a real figure
  • Bulbs fail individually, not the whole string
  • Connects end to end, up to 12 strands
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 105 ft; 33 S14 bulbs plus 2 spares
Bulb 1W LED, E26 base, 80 lumens, 2700K warm white, shatterproof
Safety / water ETL listed; IP65
Dimming Works with most dimmers; no remote included
Connect Up to 12 strands end to end
Power / warranty 120V plug-in; 1-year warranty

Svater ILE26-1810533 — 105 ft, 33+2 S14 E26 1W LED, 80 lm, 2700K, ETL, IP65, dimmable, 12 strands max, 1-yr warranty

The Only Full-Size E26 Strand, With a Safety Listing and an IP Rating

Every other strand on this shelf that names its socket uses the small E12 candelabra base. Svater is the only one built on E26, the standard household lamp base. That matters over the years: E26 sockets and bulbs are larger and sturdier, and replacement bulbs in that base are widely available. The listing also states 80 lumens per bulb, one of only two strands (with Govee) to give a per-bulb brightness figure.

Just four of the 12 listings name a safety listing: Svater and GPATIO (ETL), plus two Brightown strands (one names UL 588, the other just says UL certified). Svater is one of the four, and it pairs that with an IP65 rating. The NFPA recommends outdoor lighting that is listed by a qualified testing laboratory and made for outdoor use, so a named listing is worth weighting.

What it does not do: no remote, no timer and no app. Dimming needs a separate plug-in or wall dimmer rated for LED loads. A 1-year warranty is typical of this shelf but short for a strand marketed as commercial grade.

Pros

  • ETL listed and IP65 rated
  • Standard E26 bases for easy bulb replacement
  • Per-bulb lumen figure stated
  • Long 105 ft run, connects up to 12

Cons

  • No remote or timer
  • Dimmer sold separately
  • 1-year warranty

Check Svater 105 ft S14 String Lights price on Amazon

2. Brightown 29 ft G40 — Best for Small Patios and Balconies

Best for small patiosBrightown 29 ft G40 String Lights

29 ft G40 globe strand, 12 shatterproof bulbs at 2200K, names UL 588, IP65, spare fuse, connects up to 60 strands.

Check price on Amazon$14.78 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing to name a specific UL standard
  • Built-in spare fuse for quick replacement
  • Cord described as resisting cold cracking
  • Highest stated connect limit, up to 60 strands
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 29 ft; 12 G40 bulbs plus 1 spare, 24 in spacing
Bulb 1W LED, 1.5 in globe, E12 base, 2200K
Safety / water UL 588 named; IP65; spare fuse included
Dimming Fully dimmable per listing; dimmer not included
Connect Up to 60 strands end to end
Power / warranty 120V plug-in; 1-year warranty

Brightown GYPC-O25LAC — 29 ft, 12+1 G40 1W LED, 2200K, E12, UL 588, IP65, spare fuse, 60 strands max

The Only Strand That Names UL 588 and the Highest Connect Limit

UL 588 is the safety standard for seasonal and holiday decorative lighting products, and this Brightown is the only listing on the shelf that names it specifically. A sibling Brightown 100 ft strand says only “UL certified,” and the two ETL-listed strands do not name a standard. The listing also mentions a built-in spare fuse, which turns a blown-fuse outage into a five-minute fix.

Its stated connect limit of 60 strands is the highest on the shelf; the next highest are 24 (Brightown’s 100 ft ST38) and 15 (Brightever). That makes the short 29 ft length a feature rather than a limit: buy exactly as many strands as a small balcony or pergola needs, and add more later without changing brands. Note that any connected run still draws on one outlet, so the outlet’s circuit capacity and the manufacturer’s maximum both apply.

At 2200K it is the warmest color stated on the shelf, a deep amber glow. The listing also says the cord resists cold cracking, a useful claim for strands left up through Colorado winters. Twelve bulbs is not a lot of light for a large patio, and the listing gives no lumen figure.

Pros

  • Names UL 588 specifically
  • Spare fuse built in
  • Connects up to 60 strands

Cons

  • Short 29 ft run
  • Only 12 bulbs per strand
  • No lumen figure

Check Brightown 29 ft G40 String Lights price on Amazon

3. Tenmiro 200 ft S11 — Best Single Long Run

Best single long runTenmiro 200 ft S11 String Lights

200 ft strand with 60 shatterproof S11 bulbs plus 2 spares, 2700K warm white, waterproof, 365-day warranty.

Check price on Amazon$43.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Longest single strand on the shelf at 200 ft
  • 60 bulbs, the most on one plug
  • No splicing points along a long fence line
  • Two spare bulbs and a 365-day warranty
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 200 ft; 60 S11 bulbs plus 2 spares
Bulb Shatterproof plastic, 2700K; base and wattage not stated in listing
Water rating Described as waterproof; IP rating not stated in listing
Dimming / control Not stated; this version has no remote
Connect Connectability not stated in listing
Warranty 365 days

Tenmiro S11-200FT — 200 ft, 60+2 S11 shatterproof bulbs, 2700K, waterproof (no IP stated), no remote, 365-day warranty

Twice the Length of the Next-Longest Strand

Most strands on this shelf run about 100 ft. Tenmiro is the only 200 ft strand, which lets one plug outline a large patio, wrap a big tree or follow a long fence without connection points. Every connection is a place where water can get in and where plugs can pull apart in wind, so fewer joints is a genuine advantage, not just convenience.

The listing leaves several gaps. It does not state an IP rating, wattage, bulb base or whether the strand is dimmable or connectable, and it names no safety listing. It also argues that splicing multiple strands causes poor contact, which is fair as a general point but does not tell you about this strand’s own construction.

A 200 ft strand is heavy and awkward to hang alone. Plan a support wire for long spans and a helper for the install. If the run starts far from an outlet, a single outdoor-rated extension cord is better than several daisy-chained ones.

Pros

  • 200 ft from one plug
  • 60 bulbs plus 2 spares
  • Fewer weather-exposed joints

Cons

  • No IP rating or safety listing stated
  • Dimming and connectability not stated
  • Heavy to hang over long spans

Check Tenmiro 200 ft S11 String Lights price on Amazon

4. addlon 100 ft ST38 With Remote — Best Remote and Timer

Best remote and timeraddlon 100 ft ST38 with Remote

Two 50 ft ST38 strands with a 50 ft range remote, dimming, auto-off timer and modes; connects up to 200 ft per plug.

Check price on Amazon$26.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Remote dims and switches from your chair
  • Auto-off timer so lights do not burn all night
  • One remote runs every connected strand
  • Replacement bulbs, cords and remote sold separately
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 100 ft as two 50 ft strands; 30 ST38 sockets total
Bulb ST38 Edison-style, E12 base (per accessory listing), shatter-resistant
Control Remote with 50 ft range: on and off, brightness, timer, modes
Connect Up to 4 strands of 50 ft (200 ft) from one plug
Water rating Weather-resistant; IP rating not stated in listing
Warranty 3-year in the spec field; bullets mention 1 year of quality support

addlon — 2 x 50 ft ST38, 30 sockets, remote 50 ft range, dimming, timer, modes, 200 ft max per plug

A Remote With Real Range, and Strands Sized for Flexible Layouts

Three listings on the shelf include a remote: addlon, MGVIH and BYGUQ. All three offer brightness steps, modes and an auto-off timer, but addlon is the one that states a remote range, 50 ft, and says one remote controls every connected strand. Selling the 100 ft as two 50 ft strands is a quiet advantage: you can run one strand along each side of a pergola, or use one now and keep the other for a second space.

A timer matters more than it sounds. Lights that shut off at a set hour waste less energy and do not shine into the neighbors’ windows at 2 a.m. The listing also points to matching replacement bulbs, extension cords and a replacement remote and adapter, which helps keep a set going for years.

The trade-offs: the connect limit is 200 ft per plug, lower than several plain strands, and the listing gives no IP rating or safety listing. The warranty is stated two ways, 3 years in the spec field and 1 year of quality support in the bullets, so confirm before relying on the longer figure.

Pros

  • 50 ft remote range stated
  • Dimming, timer and modes on one remote
  • Two 50 ft strands for flexible layouts

Cons

  • No IP rating or safety listing stated
  • 200 ft maximum per plug
  • Warranty stated inconsistently

Check addlon 100 ft ST38 with Remote price on Amazon

5. Govee S14 RGBICWW 96 ft — Best Smart Color Strand

Best smart color strandGovee S14 Smart String Lights

96 ft of app-controlled RGBICWW S14 bulbs, 65 lm warm white each, IP66 strand, Alexa, Google and Matter support.

Check price on Amazon$119.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only app-controlled strand on the shelf
  • Works with Alexa, Google Home and Matter
  • Highest stated water rating, IP66
  • Dedicated warm white plus full color
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 96 ft; 30 S14 LED bulbs
Color / output 16 million colors plus warm white; 65 lumens warm white per bulb
Control Govee Home app, timers, 111 scene modes, music sync mic; Alexa, Google, Matter
Water rating IP66 for the strand; power adapter is not waterproof
Temperature / life -4 to 104 F; up to 25,000 hours
Connect / warranty Cannot be extended or spliced; 12-month warranty

Govee H702B — 96 ft, 30 S14 RGBICWW bulbs, 65 lm warm white, IP66 strand, app and voice control, no extension

The Only Smart Strand, and an Honest Note About Its Adapter

No other listing on this shelf offers app or voice control. Govee adds scheduling, scenes, music sync and Matter support, which lets the patio lights join a smart-home routine instead of living on a separate remote. Its IP66 strand rating is the highest stated on the shelf; most others claim IP65.

The listing is unusually candid about one weakness: the strand is IP66, but the power adapter is not waterproof. Govee says to keep the adapter indoors or plug it into an IP65-rated weatherproof box. That is good advice for any plug-in strand, and it lines up with the NFPA guidance that outdoor receptacles should be GFCI protected.

Two limits matter for layout. The strand cannot be extended or spliced, so 96 ft is the maximum, and the stated operating range tops out at 104 F and bottoms out at -4 F. For full color, it is the clear pick; for a strand that only ever shows warm white, a plain dimmable strand is simpler.

Pros

  • App, voice and Matter control
  • IP66 strand, highest stated here
  • Per-bulb warm white lumen figure

Cons

  • Adapter is not waterproof
  • Cannot be extended
  • Relies on an app and Wi-Fi for full features

Check Govee S14 Smart String Lights price on Amazon

6. GPATIO 100 ft G40 — Best Globe-Bulb Long Run

Best globe-bulb long runGPATIO 100 ft G40 String Lights

100 ft strand of 36 G40 globe bulbs plus 2 spares, 2700K, ETL listed, sealed sockets, two spare fuses, dimmable.

Check price on Amazon$39.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • ETL listed, one of four strands naming a listing
  • 36 globe bulbs on a 100 ft strand
  • Two spare fuses included
  • Dimmable with most dimmers
Specification Details
Length / bulbs 100 ft; 36 G40 bulbs plus 2 spares
Bulb 1.5 x 2.3 in globe, E12 base, 2700K
Safety / water ETL listed; sealed sockets rated IP45
Dimming Compatible with dimmers; dimmer not included
Connect End to end; maximum strands not stated
Warranty 365 days from purchase

GPATIO CMC-O361 — 100 ft, 36+2 G40, E12, 2700K, ETL listed, IP45 sockets, 2 spare fuses, dimmable, 365-day warranty

The Long Globe Strand With a Named Safety Listing

Three strands on the shelf use round G40 globe bulbs: two Brightown strands (29 ft and 55 ft) and this 100 ft GPATIO. GPATIO is the longest of the three and the only one with an ETL listing; it also packs the most globe bulbs, 36 against 12 and 25. For a café-style canopy over a deck or a crisscross pattern across a yard, the round globe look is the classic choice.

The honest weakness is the water rating. GPATIO states IP45 for its sealed sockets, the lowest stated rating on the shelf; most competitors claim IP65. The second digit 4 indicates protection against splashing rather than water jets, which is adequate for a covered porch or pergola but less reassuring for a strand fully exposed to sideways rain and snow.

Two spare fuses is the most of any listing here, and the 365-day warranty is in line with the shelf. The listing says strands connect end to end but does not give a maximum, so follow the label on the plug.

Pros

  • ETL listed
  • Most globe bulbs on one strand here
  • Two spare fuses

Cons

  • IP45 sockets, lowest stated rating here
  • Maximum connected strands not stated
  • Dimmer sold separately

Check GPATIO 100 ft G40 String Lights price on Amazon

7. Joomer Solar Fairy Lights — Best With No Outlet Nearby

Best with no outlet nearbyJoomer Solar Fairy Lights 2 Pack

Two solar fairy-light strands, 39 ft and 120 LEDs each, bendable wire, 8 modes with memory, IP65, auto on at dusk.

Check price on Amazon$9.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 10:14 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only solar strand on the shelf
  • No outlet, cord or extension needed
  • Thin bendable wire wraps railings and shrubs
  • Remembers the last of 8 lighting modes
Specification Details
Length / LEDs 2 strands of 39 ft; 120 LEDs each, 240 total
Power Solar panel with light sensor; auto on at night
Modes 8 modes including steady on; memory function
Water rating IP65
Color Warm white
Battery / warranty Battery type and runtime not stated; warranty not stated in listing

Joomer solar fairy lights — 2 x 39 ft, 240 micro LEDs, solar with light sensor, 8 modes, memory, IP65, warm white

The Only Strand That Needs No Outlet

Eleven of the twelve listings are 120V plug-in strands. Joomer is the only solar option, which makes it the answer for a fence line, garden arch or tree at the back of the lot where there is no outlet and running a cord across the lawn would be a tripping and mowing hazard.

These are fairy lights, tiny LEDs on thin wire, not bistro bulbs. They give a twinkle and outline rather than enough light to eat dinner by, and the thin wire is easy to shape around a railing or shrub. The memory function means you set the mode once instead of cycling through flash patterns every evening.

The listing does not state battery type, capacity, runtime or warranty, so treat it as a decorative accent whose evening runtime depends on the day’s sun. For solar fixtures that light paths and plantings rather than outline them, see our best solar landscape lights roundup.

Pros

  • No outlet or extension cord needed
  • Two 39 ft strands in the pack
  • IP65 with mode memory

Cons

  • Decorative output only
  • No battery, runtime or warranty details
  • Depends on sun exposure for the panel

Check Joomer Solar Fairy Lights 2 Pack price on Amazon

How to read outdoor string light specs

Bulb shape and base

Bulb shape sets the look. S14 and S11 are teardrop “Edison” shapes, ST38 is a slimmer vintage teardrop, and G40 is a 1.5-inch globe. Bases matter more for maintenance than for looks: most strands on this shelf use the small E12 candelabra base, while Svater uses the standard E26 base. Whatever the base, buy a strand whose replacement bulbs are easy to find, and keep the spares that come in the box.

Length, spacing and connect limits

Listings describe total length, but the lit length is shorter because of the lead cord at the plug end. Spacing between sockets ranges from about 2 to 3 ft on this shelf. Connect limits (how many strands can run end to end from one outlet) vary widely, from 200 ft total on the addlon set to 60 strands on the Brightown 29 ft. Stay under the manufacturer’s stated maximum, which is printed on the plug or tag, and remember the outlet circuit carries everything else plugged into it too.

Water ratings and safety listings

Nine of the 12 listings state an IP rating, ranging from IP45 to IP66. For a strand exposed to weather, IP65 or better is a reasonable target. Separately, look for a safety listing from a recognized lab. Only four listings here name one (UL or ETL), and only one names the specific standard, UL 588. The NFPA’s outdoor electrical safety guidance is simple: use lighting that is listed by a qualified testing laboratory and made for outdoor use.

Energy use

LED strands use far less power than old incandescent bistro strings. ENERGY STAR says certified decorative light strings use about 92% less energy than conventional incandescent strings, are tested for weathering when labeled for outdoor use, and carry a warranty of at least three years. None of the listings on this shelf claims ENERGY STAR certification, and most offer one year of warranty. The CPSC’s holiday guidance says never to string together more than three sets of incandescent lights and never to overload outlets; LED strands raise the connect limit, but the outlet rule still applies.

Color temperature

ENERGY STAR describes 2200 to 3000K as the warm range that resembles incandescent light. Every strand on this shelf that states a Kelvin figure sits in that band, from 2200K (Brightown 29 ft) to 2700K (most others). If you mix strands from different brands, match the stated Kelvin so the patio does not look patchy.

Power, outlets and GFCI protection

Almost every outdoor string light is a plug-in, which makes the outlet the most important safety component in the setup. The NFPA says all outdoor receptacles should be GFCI protected and recommends testing GFCIs monthly. If your patio outlet lacks GFCI protection or has a cracked cover, our guide to the outdoor outlet explains what a proper installation looks like, and our outdoor outlet cover guide covers in-use covers that stay closed with a plug inserted.

  • Keep plugs and adapters dry. Govee’s own listing notes that its adapter is not waterproof. Any connection should sit off the ground, under an in-use cover or in a weatherproof box.
  • Use extension cords sparingly. The NFPA advises using extension cords that are listed and marked for outdoor use, and notes they are not meant for long-term use. A strand that will stay up all season is a good reason to add an outlet closer to the patio.
  • Inspect before hanging. The NFPA recommends checking lighting and cords for damage before use and replacing damaged cords right away.
  • Do not overload one outlet. Follow each strand’s connect limit and do not stack multiple connected runs on one receptacle.

Hanging string lights that survive wind and snow

Most failures come from how strands are hung, not from the strands themselves. A few practices help:

  • Use a support wire for long spans. A tensioned steel guide wire carries the load, and the strand clips or zip-ties to it. The strand’s own wire is not designed to be a structural cable.
  • Anchor to solid structure. Screw eyes into fascia, posts or framing hold far better than clips on gutters, which can bend or pull loose. If you are attaching to a deck, make sure the deck itself is sound; our guide to the deck ledger board explains the connection that holds a deck to the house.
  • Leave a little sag, not a lot. Some sag absorbs wind movement; too much lets the strand swing and stress the sockets.
  • Add a drip loop at connections. A downward loop before each plug keeps water from running along the cord into the connection.

Front Range conditions for strands left up year-round

Front Range wind is the biggest test. Chinook and downslope wind events can gust hard enough to swing long spans and work screw eyes loose, so tensioned support wire and fewer free-hanging spans pay off. Tenmiro’s single 200 ft run and Svater’s 105 ft run both benefit from a support wire every time.

Cold and sun are the other factors. Brightown’s listing specifically mentions a cord that resists cold cracking, and Govee states an operating floor of -4 F. High-altitude UV is hard on plastic, so shatterproof bulbs and cord jackets will eventually chalk and stiffen; checking the cord each spring catches cracking before it becomes a hazard. Heavy wet snow can load a strand sagging under a pergola, so knock it off after storms. Many homeowners take strands down from November to March and store them coiled loosely indoors, which extends their life considerably.

Hail can crack bulbs even when they are rated shatterproof, so keep the spares that come in the box and buy a few extra in the same base.

Beyond string lights: when to call in help

String lights are ambiance. For lighting steps, walks and dark corners where seeing clearly is a safety issue, a wired system is the better tool; our best landscape lighting roundup compares low-voltage fixtures and kits. For a background read on styles, layouts and bulb choices, see our outdoor string lights guide.

Call a licensed electrician to add a patio outlet, to replace a non-GFCI exterior receptacle, or when an outdoor GFCI trips repeatedly, which can point to moisture in a box or a wiring fault. During a home purchase, inspectors check exterior outlets, GFCI protection and deck attachments as part of the exterior review. For help finding a vetted inspector on the Front Range, contact us here.

Frequently asked questions

What are the best outdoor string lights for a patio?

Look for an LED strand with shatterproof bulbs, an IP65 or better rating and a named safety listing such as UL or ETL. Among current listings, the Svater 105 ft S14 strand combines ETL listing, IP65 and standard E26 bulb bases. Smaller patios may do better with short connectable strands sized to the space.

Can outdoor string lights stay up all year?

Many listings say their strands can stay up year-round, but wind, UV, hail and cold all shorten their life. A tensioned support wire, drip loops at connections and a yearly cord check help. Taking strands down for the coldest months and storing them loosely coiled indoors extends their life.

Do outdoor string lights need a GFCI outlet?

The NFPA says all outdoor receptacles should be GFCI protected, which covers the outlet your string lights plug into. Test GFCIs monthly and keep plugs and adapters under an in-use cover or in a weatherproof box. A licensed electrician can add or upgrade a patio outlet.

How many outdoor string lights can you connect together?

Follow the maximum printed on each strand's plug or tag. Current listings range from 200 ft total per plug to 60 strands, depending on the product, and the outlet's circuit also limits the load. The CPSC advises never overloading outlets and never connecting more than three incandescent sets.

Are solar string lights as good as plug-in?

Solar strands are convenient where there is no outlet, but they are usually fairy-light style with decorative output, and runtime depends on the day's sun. Plug-in strands give consistent brightness all evening and support dimmers, remotes and longer runs. Many yards use plug-in strands on the patio and solar accents farther out.

References