Best Closet Lights (2026): 7 Picks From Hardwired to Battery
The best closet light is the one that lets you see the back of the shelf without creating a fire risk among the clothes. That second part is why closets are one of the few rooms where the electrical code is specific about fixture type and placement. A hardwired fixture has to be the right kind of fixture in the right spot. Battery and rechargeable lights skip the wiring entirely, which makes them popular in reach-in closets that never had a light, but they bring their own trade-offs in brightness and battery care. Below are seven picks, from a hardwired LED fixture to stick-on battery bars, then a guide to code points, brightness and batteries.
Part of our Home Electrical guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 14 current Amazon listings for closet lighting, including a hardwired LED fixture, rechargeable ceiling discs, rechargeable stick-on bars and AAA-battery lights, on what each listing states: lumens, power source and battery capacity, runtime, sensor range and modes, color temperature, color rendering and any safety listing. Several are bars sold as both closet and under-cabinet lights, and four are the same MCGOR light in different sizes. We did not lab-test these lights or install them. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best closet lights by closet type
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lithonia FMLWL 24 840 | Hardwired walk-in closets |
| $39.98as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Gotopceed T070 | Brightest no-wiring ceiling light |
| $16.99as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| EZVALO 13 in Hermes 2-pack | Seeing true clothing colors |
| $29.99as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| L.JUJAM ceiling 2-pack | Two closets, long runtime |
| $26.59as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| STAR-SPANGLED 7 in 3-pack | No recharging, AAA power |
| $8.99as of Oct 22, 2026 11:19 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Amazon Basics puck 2-pack | Simplest push-on light |
| $7.99as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| EZVALO 8 in 3-pack | Small reach-in shelves |
| $12.99as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The 7 picks, compared listing by listing
1. Lithonia Lighting FMLWL 24 840 — Best Hardwired Fixture for Walk-In Closets

2 ft low-profile LED wraparound: 1200 lumens at 4000K, enclosed polycarbonate diffuser, UL and CSA listed, damp rated.
Check price on Amazon$39.98 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only hardwired fixture on the shelf
- Only listing that names UL listing
- 1200 lumens, triple any battery light here
- Fully enclosed diffuser over the LEDs
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Surface-mount LED wraparound, ceiling or wall; 120V hardwired |
| Output / color | 1200 lumens at 4000K |
| Construction | Metal housing, white polycarbonate diffuser, plastic end caps |
| Size | About 24.5 x 5.5 x 2.6 in |
| Ratings named | UL and CSA listed; damp location |
| Life / warranty | Rated to 70% output at 50,000 hours; non-dimming; 5-year limited warranty |
Lithonia FMLWL 24 840 — 2 ft LED wrap, 1200 lm, 4000K, enclosed diffuser, UL / CSA, damp rated, 5-yr warranty
The Only Wired, UL-Listed Option, and the Brightest by Far
Thirteen of the 14 listings are battery or rechargeable lights. The Lithonia is the only fixture that wires into the house, and it is the only listing on the shelf that names UL listing (alongside CSA). At 1200 lumens it puts out three times what the brightest battery light here claims, enough to light a full walk-in closet evenly.
It also fits what closet rules generally look for. The LEDs sit behind a fully enclosed polycarbonate diffuser, and the low 2.6-inch profile mounts flat on the ceiling or on the wall above the door. Its lifetime rating uses the same yardstick ENERGY STAR describes for LEDs: the point at which output falls to 70 percent, here stated at 50,000 hours.
The limits: it is non-dimming, it comes in one color (4000K), and installing it means working on a lighting circuit. The listing does not say whether the fixture is specifically identified for use inside a closet storage space, so placement still has to follow the clearance rules described below.
Pros
- 1200 lumens, nothing to charge
- Enclosed diffuser, UL and CSA listed
- Damp rated, 5-year warranty
Cons
- Requires an existing or new wired box
- Non-dimming, single 4000K color
- Closet-storage identification not stated
Check Lithonia FMLWL 24 840 price on Amazon
2. Gotopceed T070 — Brightest No-Wiring Ceiling Light

Rechargeable 7.5 in magnetic ceiling light: 400 lumens, 8000 mAh battery, motion or stay-on, remote, 3 color temps.
Check price on Amazon$16.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- 400 lumens, the most of any battery light here
- 8000 mAh battery, the largest stated
- Remote with 15/30/60-minute timer
- 24-month warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Rechargeable ceiling disc, about 7.5 in, magnetic mount |
| Output | 400 lumens; 10 brightness levels |
| Color | 3000K, 4000K, 6000K |
| Battery / runtime | 8000 mAh; 7–10 hours stay-on, 30–60 days motion mode |
| Sensor | 9–16 ft; off 20 seconds after motion stops |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Gotopceed T070 — 7.5 in rechargeable ceiling light, 400 lm, 8000 mAh, 3 CCT, 10 levels, remote + timer, 2-yr warranty
The Highest Lumen Figure and Largest Battery Among Battery Lights
Five of the 13 battery-powered listings state lumens, and they run from 20 to 400. The Gotopceed sits at the top. Mounted in the center of a walk-in or a deep reach-in ceiling, a 400-lumen disc lights hanging clothes from above the way a ceiling fixture would, which bars stuck under a shelf cannot.
It also states the largest battery on the shelf, 8000 mAh, against 700 to 2200 mAh for the bars that list a capacity. That supports the brighter output and a claimed 30 to 60 days in motion mode. The included remote turns it on and off without reaching the ceiling and sets an auto-off timer.
What it lacks: a CRI figure and any safety certification. Charging means taking the disc down from its magnetic plate and plugging it into a USB-C cable.
Pros
- 400 lumens without wiring
- Large 8000 mAh battery
- Remote, timer and 10 brightness levels
Cons
- No CRI figure stated
- No safety listing named
- Single light per pack
Check Gotopceed T070 price on Amazon
3. EZVALO Hermes 13 Inch 2-Pack — Best for Seeing True Clothing Colors

Curved 13 in rechargeable closet bars with CRI 90+, 100 lumens, rotatable 120-degree sensor and 3 color temps.
Check price on Amazon$29.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- CRI 90+ stated for accurate color
- Sensor head rotates 60 degrees to aim
- Curved shape throws light inward
- Day, night and always-on modes
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Curved 13 in rechargeable bar, magnetic pads |
| Output / CRI | 100 lumens; CRI 90+; stepless dimming 10%–100% |
| Color | 3000K, 4500K, 6500K |
| Battery / runtime | 1800 mAh; 10–29 days auto, 8+ hours always-on |
| Sensor | 60-degree rotatable head, 120-degree angle, up to 13 ft |
| Warranty | 1 year |
EZVALO Hermes EZL2437A — 13 in curved bar, 100 lm, CRI 90+, 3 CCT, 1800 mAh, rotatable sensor, 1-yr warranty
One of Two Listings With High Color Rendering, and the Only Aimable Sensor
Two listings on the shelf claim a high color rendering figure: this EZVALO at CRI 90+ and the STAR-SPANGLED AAA light at Ra 90. For a closet, that matters more than raw brightness. Navy and black, or two shades of gray, are easy to mix up under a poor-rendering LED, and the listing pitches its 4500K setting for outfit matching.
It is also the only listing with a sensor head that rotates, 60 degrees, so you can point it at the door, down toward a child’s height or up toward a high shelf. The curved housing directs light inward instead of straight down, which helps on a shelf of folded sweaters.
At 100 lumens it is a supplemental light, not a ceiling-fixture replacement. In a large walk-in, pair it with an overhead source.
Pros
- CRI 90+ stated
- Aimable sensor head
- Curved, low-glare design
Cons
- 100 lumens is modest
- 1-year warranty
- No safety listing named
Check EZVALO 13 in Hermes 2-pack price on Amazon
4. L.JUJAM CL075-2P Ceiling 2-Pack — Best for Two Closets With Long Runtime

Two 7.5 in rechargeable ceiling lights: 18 hours stay-on stated, day and night motion modes, remote and timer.
Check price on Amazon$26.59 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- 18 hours stay-on, the longest runtime stated
- Two ceiling lights per pack
- Day and night motion modes
- Timer for 30, 60 or 120 minutes
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Rechargeable ceiling discs, about 7.5 in, magnetic mount |
| Runtime | 18 hours stay-on; 31–60 days motion mode |
| Modes | Day motion, night motion, always-on |
| Sensor | 10–16 ft; off 20 seconds after motion stops |
| Color / dimming | 3 color temperatures, 3000K–6000K; stepless 15%–100% |
| Lumens / battery size | Not stated in listing |
L.JUJAM CL075-2P — 2 x 7.5 in rechargeable ceiling lights, 18 h stay-on, day/night motion, remote + timer
The Longest Stated Always-On Runtime
Three listings are rechargeable ceiling discs: the Gotopceed, a single Rodalims light and this L.JUJAM pair. The L.JUJAM states 18 hours in stay-on mode, the longest always-on runtime claimed by any battery light on the shelf. Most bars list about 8 hours, and the small EZVALO 8-inch bar lists 3 to 4.
The 2-pack suits a home with two reach-in closets, or a closet and a pantry. Day and night motion modes let one unit switch on whenever the door opens and another only after dark, and the remote timer shuts off a light someone left on.
What is missing matters: no lumen figure and no battery capacity. Without lumens, compare it to the Gotopceed only on features, not brightness.
Pros
- 18 hours stay-on stated
- Two lights per pack
- Remote and timer
Cons
- Lumens not stated
- Battery capacity not stated
- Warranty listed only as limited
Check L.JUJAM ceiling 2-pack price on Amazon
5. US-22A-WH3 3-Pack by STAR-SPANGLED — Best AAA-Powered Light, No Recharging

Three 7 in motion lights on 3 AAA batteries each: 80 lumens from Ra 90 LEDs, 90-degree swivel bar, 16 ft sensor range.
Check price on Amazon$8.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 11:19 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Runs on AAA cells, no lithium pack to charge
- Ra 90 LEDs for good color
- Bar swivels 90 degrees to aim light
- 16 ft motion range
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | 7 in stick-on motion light, 3-pack |
| Output | 80 lumens from 8 Ra 90 LEDs |
| Power | 3 AAA batteries per light, not included |
| Sensor | 120 degrees, 16 ft, dark or low light only; off after 20 seconds |
| Aiming | Light bar rotates 90 degrees; anti-glare panel |
| Color / warranty | Cool white; 12-month service promise |
STAR-SPANGLED US-22A-WH3 — 7 in, 80 lm, Ra 90, 3 x AAA, 120° / 16 ft dark-only sensor, swivel bar, 3-pack
The Only Motion Light Here That Runs on Replaceable AAA Cells
Three listings run on AAA batteries rather than a built-in rechargeable pack: this STAR-SPANGLED light and two push-button puck lights from Amazon Basics and GE. The STAR-SPANGLED is the only one of the three with a motion sensor, so it switches on when the closet door opens and off 20 seconds later.
Replaceable cells have a real advantage in a closet. There is no lithium-ion pack to charge, and you can swap in fresh batteries in seconds instead of taking the light down and waiting. The Ra 90 LEDs and a light bar that swivels 90 degrees help aim the 80 lumens onto a hanging rod or a shoe shelf.
It comes in a single cool-white color and the sensor works only in dark or low light, which is the normal state of a closed closet anyway.
Pros
- No recharging; swap AAA cells
- Ra 90 color rendering stated
- Swiveling light bar
Cons
- Batteries not included
- Cool white only, no dimming
- No safety listing named
Check STAR-SPANGLED 7 in 3-pack price on Amazon
6. Amazon Basics 59437 Puck 2-Pack — Simplest Push-On Light

Two 2.7 in LED puck lights at 50 lumens each, push-lens switch, 3 AAA batteries, screw or adhesive mounting.
Check price on Amazon$7.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Push the lens to turn it on or off
- Mounts with screws or tape
- Small 2.7-inch puck fits tight shelves
- 2.5 times the GE puck’s stated output
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | LED puck light, 2-pack |
| Output | 50 lumens each |
| Power | 3 AAA batteries per puck, not included |
| Switch | Press the lens |
| Size | About 2.7 x 2.7 x 1 in |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
Amazon Basics 59437 — 2.7 in LED puck, 50 lm, 3 x AAA, push-lens switch, screw or tape mount, 1-yr warranty
The Brighter of the Two Push-Button Pucks
Two listings on the shelf are classic push-button puck lights. The Amazon Basics puck states 50 lumens, against 20 lumens for the GE puck, so it is the one to choose if you want a puck that lights more than a single shelf corner.
A puck has no sensor, no timer and no battery to recharge. That simplicity is its appeal for a linen closet or a coat closet, where you open the door, press the light, grab the item and press it off. Screws make it permanent; the tape makes it renter-friendly.
The obvious risk is leaving it on. There is no auto-off, so a forgotten puck will drain its AAA cells. If that is likely in your house, a motion light is the better fit.
Pros
- Very simple to use
- No recharging
- Screw or adhesive mounting
Cons
- No sensor or auto-off
- 50 lumens lights a small area
- Batteries not included
Check Amazon Basics puck 2-pack price on Amazon
7. EZVALO EZL2417A 8 Inch 3-Pack — Best for Small Reach-In Shelves

Three compact 8 in rechargeable motion bars with 30 LEDs, 700 mAh batteries, 3 color temps and USB-C charging.
Check price on Amazon$12.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 3:04 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Compact 8-inch bar fits narrow shelves
- Three lights per pack
- Three color temperatures, adjustable brightness
- 2-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | 8 in rechargeable motion bar, magnetic or adhesive plate |
| LEDs | 30 LED beads |
| Battery / runtime | 700 mAh; 7–20 days motion mode, 3–4 hours at maximum brightness |
| Sensor | 120 degrees, 10 ft, in low light; off after 20 seconds |
| Color | 3 color temperatures; tap to switch, hold to dim |
| Warranty | 2 years |
EZVALO EZL2417A — 3 x 8 in bars, 30 LEDs, 700 mAh, 3 CCT, 120° / 10 ft low-light sensor, USB-C, 2-yr warranty
The Smallest Bar, With the Smallest Battery to Match
Most rechargeable bars on the shelf run 10 to 15 inches. The EZVALO 8-inch is the most compact, and with three per pack it can light a shoe shelf, a top shelf and the floor of a small reach-in closet separately.
The size has a cost. Its 700 mAh battery is the smallest capacity stated on the shelf, and the listing says plainly that continuous use at full brightness lasts 3 to 4 hours. In motion mode with normal closet use, it claims 7 to 20 days per charge. The listing calls its glow soft and supplemental, which is an honest description.
No lumen figure is stated. Use these to fill corners and shelves, not as the main closet light.
Pros
- Compact for narrow shelves
- Three per pack, 2-year warranty
- Three color temperatures
Cons
- Smallest battery stated, 700 mAh
- 3–4 hours at full brightness
- Lumens not stated
Check EZVALO 8 in 3-pack price on Amazon
Closet lighting and the electrical code
Closets are full of fuel: cotton, wool, paper boxes. For that reason the National Electrical Code, published by NFPA as NFPA 70 and described by NFPA as enforced in all 50 states, has a section specifically on luminaires in clothes closets. The details depend on the code edition your jurisdiction has adopted and on local amendments, so treat the following as an overview and confirm with your building department or electrician.
- Fixture type. Closet fixtures generally must have an enclosed light source, such as an LED or fluorescent fixture with a lens or diffuser, or an incandescent fixture with a fully enclosed lamp. Open bare-bulb lampholders and hanging pendants are not permitted.
- Clearance from storage. The code defines a storage space around the rod and shelves and sets minimum distances between fixtures and that space. In common editions, surface-mounted fixtures need more clearance than recessed ones; figures of roughly 12 inches for surface-mounted incandescent or LED fixtures and 6 inches for recessed or fluorescent types are widely cited.
- Fixtures identified for closets. Some surface-mounted LED and fluorescent fixtures are specifically identified for use within the storage space and can go closer. The marking on the fixture or its instructions is what counts.
Battery and rechargeable lights are not wired into the house, so these wiring rules do not apply to them in the same way. Common sense still does. The U.S. Fire Administration reminds homeowners to keep anything that can burn away from lamps, light fixtures and light bulbs, and to use bulbs that match the fixture’s recommended wattage. Old porcelain bare-bulb fixtures in closets are a frequent home inspection note. Our closet light guide covers upgrade options in more detail.
How to choose: brightness, power and controls
Brightness
Stated lumens on this shelf run from 20 for a small puck to 1200 for the hardwired Lithonia. As a rough guide, a small reach-in closet can get by with a 50- to 100-lumen bar per shelf, while a walk-in needs a ceiling source: either a wired fixture or a disc like the 400-lumen Gotopceed. Eight of the 14 listings do not state lumens at all, so compare those on LED count and battery size only with caution.
Color temperature and CRI
ENERGY STAR explains that lower Kelvin numbers look warmer and higher numbers look whiter or bluer. For a closet, a neutral 4000K to 4500K setting with a high CRI makes it easiest to tell navy from black. Only two listings state a CRI figure, the EZVALO 13-inch and the STAR-SPANGLED.
Power source
- Hardwired: brightest and maintenance-free, but needs a box and must follow the closet clearance rules.
- Built-in rechargeable: most common here (10 of 14 listings). Easy to install, but each light comes down for charging.
- AAA cells: three listings. No charging; swap batteries when dim.
Sensors and modes
Night-only motion modes suit a closed closet, where it is always dark. Day-and-night modes help in an open wardrobe or a doorless closet that gets daylight. Timers and remotes, offered by the Gotopceed and L.JUJAM ceiling lights, solve the light-left-on problem.
Battery safety in a closet
Ten of the 14 listings use built-in rechargeable batteries, which in small LED lights are typically lithium-ion, and none of the battery-powered listings names a safety certification. The U.S. Fire Administration’s battery guidance applies directly: choose certified products, do not charge lithium-ion batteries below 32 F or above 105 F, store them away from anything that can burn and stop using any battery that shows odor, discoloration, excess heat, swelling, leaking or odd noises. In practice, take the light out of the closet to charge it on a hard surface rather than charging it among the clothes, and unplug it when it is full.
Front Range attached-garage closets and unheated mudroom closets can drop below freezing in January. Do not charge lights in those spaces in winter; bring them inside to room temperature first.
Closets, moisture and mold
Closets on exterior walls, under stairs or in basements stay cooler and less ventilated than the rest of the house, and that is where mold tends to start. The EPA recommends keeping indoor relative humidity below 60 percent, ideally between 30 and 50 percent. A good light helps you spot early warning signs like musty smells, spotting on a back wall or condensation on a cold exterior corner. See our guides on how to prevent mold in a closet and black mold in a closet if you find it.
When to call an electrician or inspector
Adding a wired fixture where none existed, replacing an old bare-bulb fixture or adding a switch outside the closet door is electrical work that usually needs a permit. Our guide to hiring an electrician covers the questions to ask. If you are buying a Front Range home and want closet fixtures, attic access and the rest of the electrical system checked before closing, get in touch through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best type of light for a closet?
For a walk-in closet, a hardwired LED fixture with an enclosed diffuser, installed with the code's closet clearances, gives the most light. For reach-in closets without wiring, a rechargeable motion light or a ceiling disc is the easy option. The hardwired fixture we compared lists 1200 lumens, against 20 to 400 lumens for battery lights.
Are bare bulb lights allowed in closets?
Generally no. The National Electrical Code's closet luminaire rules call for fixtures with an enclosed light source and keep fixtures a set distance from the storage area. Open bare-bulb lampholders are not permitted. Confirm the edition and any local amendments with your building department.
How far does a closet light need to be from shelves?
The code defines a storage space around the rod and shelves and sets minimum clearances that depend on the fixture type. Figures of roughly 12 inches for surface-mounted incandescent or LED fixtures and 6 inches for recessed or fluorescent fixtures are widely cited, unless the fixture is identified for use within the storage space. Check your local code.
How long do rechargeable closet lights last per charge?
The listings we compared claim from about 7 days to 60 days in motion mode depending on use, and from 3 to 18 hours in always-on mode. Larger batteries and lower brightness last longer.
Is it safe to charge a closet light inside the closet?
It is safer to take it out. The U.S. Fire Administration advises keeping lithium-ion batteries away from anything that can burn and charging them only between 32 F and 105 F. Charge on a hard surface away from clothing and stop using any battery that swells or overheats.
References
- NFPA 70, National Electrical Code — National Fire Protection Association
- Appliance and Electrical Fire Safety Outreach Materials — U.S. Fire Administration
- Battery Fire Safety Outreach Materials — U.S. Fire Administration
- Learn About LED Lighting — ENERGY STAR
- A Brief Guide to Mold, Moisture and Your Home — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency