Best Smokeless Fire Pits (2026): 8 Low-Smoke Picks
The best smokeless fire pit is really a low-smoke fire pit: a double-walled steel drum that pulls air in low, heats it between the walls and feeds it back into the top of the fire so the smoky gases burn instead of drifting into your neighbor’s bedroom window. The design works well once the fire is hot and the wood is dry, and it does very little for damp wood or a smoldering start. This guide compares eight low-smoke pits by size, weight, portability and extras, then explains how the secondary burn works, what it cannot do, and the deck, clearance and fire-ban rules that still apply.
Part of our Structure & Exterior guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon listings for low-smoke wood-burning fire pits, which cover 10 distinct designs once color variants are set aside, on what each listing states: diameter, height, weight, material, airflow design, ash removal, carry or storage gear, cooking accessories and warranty. We did not lab-test or handle any of these products, and no listing provides measured smoke data. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best smokeless fire pits by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TIKI 25 in. Smokeless | Best overall patio smokeless pit |
| $395.00as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| PACKFIRE 22 in. | Full-length logs and travel |
| $399.00as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| unho FRFHW-XZ1963 | Plain double-wall burner |
| $109.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| VICEARTH 20 in. | Lightest full-size with grill kit |
| $124.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| OutVue 27 in. Smokeless | Larger backyard gatherings |
| $153.89as of Oct 20, 2026 5:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| OutVue 19.5 in. Smokeless | Smaller patios |
| $80.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| OutVue 42 in. Smokeless Table | Low-smoke cooking table |
| $189.53as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| HGD Tabletop Mini | Tabletop s'mores |
| $17.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The eight picks, compared listing by listing
1. TIKI Patio 25-Inch Smokeless — Best Overall Patio Smokeless Pit

25-inch 16-gauge stainless low-smoke fire pit with a 4-foot heat radius, removable ash pan, stand and weather cover.
Check price on Amazon$395.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that states its steel gauge
- Only listing that gives a heat radius
- Stand and weather cover in the box
- Burns cut firewood or TIKI wood packs
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | About 24.75 in. diameter x 18.75 in. tall |
| Weight | 45 lb |
| Material | 16-gauge stainless steel with black powder coat |
| Heat / seating | 4-ft heat radius; fits 4 to 6 people per the listing |
| Included | Removable ash pan, stand, weather-resistant cover |
| Model / warranty | 111900168; warranty not stated in listing |
TIKI 111900168 — 25 in. 16-gauge stainless, 45 lb, 4-ft heat radius, ash pan, stand, cover
The Only Listing That Specifies Steel Gauge and Heat Radius
Most low-smoke listings describe their steel as high-quality or premium and stop there. TIKI is the only one of the 12 that names a gauge (16-gauge stainless), and the only one that gives a heat radius (4 feet). Neither number proves performance, but both are concrete enough to compare against other products and to hold a seller to.
The stand is a meaningful extra. It lifts the hot base off the surface below, and the listing pairs it with a removable ash pan and a weather-resistant cover. Its seating claim of 4 to 6 people is more modest than the 7 to 10 claimed by the 27-inch OutVue, which reads as a realistic number for a 25-inch drum.
What the listing leaves out: no spark screen in the box. TIKI sells a screen and poker, a heat deflector, a tabletop and a griddle separately. Plan on the screen; a metal screen over a wood fire is basic outdoor fire safety advice. The listing also states no warranty.
Pros
- Steel gauge and heat radius stated
- Stand lifts the base off the patio
- Ash pan and cover included
- Accessory ecosystem available
Cons
- Spark screen sold separately
- No warranty stated
- Heavy for its size at 45 lb
Check TIKI 25 in. Smokeless price on Amazon
2. PACKFIRE 22-Inch — Best for Full-Length Logs and Travel

Fold-flat low-smoke fire pit with dual airflow, a 6-inch fresh-air intake, carry backpack and limited lifetime warranty.
Check price on Amazon$399.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Takes firewood straight from the bundle
- Collapses flat into its own backpack
- Names a visible secondary flame
- Only warranty stated on the shelf
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 22.4 in. tall; 17 x 17 in. footprint in the product fields |
| Weight | 27.5 lb in product fields; about 35 lb with pack per the text |
| Material | Stainless steel and extruded aluminum, ceramic-coated exterior |
| Airflow | Dual-airflow system, concave fire pan, 6 in. fresh-air intake |
| Setup | Tool-free swing-out legs; removable ash-dump tray |
| Model / warranty | 10125001; limited lifetime warranty |
PACKFIRE 10125001 — 22 in. fold-flat, stainless/aluminum, dual airflow, ash tray, backpack, lifetime warranty
The Only Smokeless Pit Here With a Stated Warranty
Of the 12 listings, PACKFIRE is the only one that states a warranty of any length, and it is a limited lifetime warranty. It is also one of just two listings that mention secondary combustion directly, describing visible secondary flames from its dual-airflow design. The other is the unho below.
Its other standout is height. At 22.4 inches tall, the listing says full-length logs fit below the top fire ring, so you do not have to cut bundle wood down. Most drum-style low-smoke pits here are 15 to about 19 inches tall, which pushes you toward shorter splits.
Two cautions. The listing’s own weight figures disagree, so expect anywhere from 27.5 to about 35 pounds depending on whether the pack is included. And while it mentions a Surface Guard for wood decks, that guard is a separate purchase; do not put the pit on a deck without it.
Pros
- Limited lifetime warranty
- Fits standard firewood lengths
- Packs flat for storage and trips
- Tool-free legs and ash tray
Cons
- Deck guard sold separately
- Conflicting weight figures
- Smaller fire diameter than 27-inch drums
Check PACKFIRE 22 in. price on Amazon
3. unho FRFHW-XZ1963 — Best Plain Double-Wall Burner

20-inch stainless double-wall pit built for secondary combustion, with perforated base, removable tray and carry bag.
Check price on Amazon$109.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Says outright it is double-wall for secondary burn
- Perforated base keeps sparks in
- Detachable base tray for ash
- Clear safety notes on cool-down time
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 20 in. (50 cm) diameter x 16.3 in. tall |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Material | Stainless steel, described as thicker than ordinary steel |
| Airflow | Double wall with perforated body and perforated base |
| Included | Detachable base tray, carry bag; not intended for cooking |
| Model / warranty | FRFHW-XZ1963; warranty not stated in listing |
unho FRFHW-XZ1963 — 20 in. stainless double wall, 20 lb, perforated base, ash tray, carry bag
One of Two Listings That Name Secondary Combustion
Four listings on the shelf describe a double-wall or dual-wall design. Only two, this unho and the PACKFIRE, say in plain terms that the design is there to produce secondary combustion. That makes the unho a good reference point for what a basic smokeless pit is: a stainless drum, a perforated base that admits air, and an inner wall that sends preheated air out near the rim.
The listing is also more candid than most about limits. It says the unit is not meant for cooking without a separately purchased grate, warns to keep it away from dry grass, leaves and wooden structures, and says to let it cool at least an hour before moving it.
It does not give a seating number, a heat output or a warranty, and the 20-inch size suits a small group rather than a party.
Pros
- True double-wall secondary-burn design
- Manageable 20 lb weight
- Carry bag and ash tray included
- Honest safety and cool-down guidance
Cons
- No grill grate included
- No cover mentioned
- No warranty stated
Check unho FRFHW-XZ1963 price on Amazon
4. VICEARTH 20-Inch — Lightest Full-Size Pit With a Grill Kit

16.5-pound dual-wall stainless fire pit with 360-degree airflow, removable ash pan, grill grate, glove, poker and bag.
Check price on Amazon$124.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- 16.5 lb, lightest full-size pit here
- Grill grate, poker and glove included
- Packs to roughly half its size
- Sets up in about a minute
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 20 in. diameter x 16.5 in. tall |
| Weight | 16.5 lb per the feature text |
| Airflow | Dual-wall stainless with bottom inlets and upper vents |
| Ash | Removable ash pan that also shields the ground from some heat |
| Included | 304 stainless grill grate, poker, heat-resistant glove, carry bag |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
VICEARTH 20 in. — dual-wall stainless, 16.5 lb, ash pan, 304 SS grill grate, glove, poker, bag
The Lightest Full-Size Smokeless Pit on the Shelf
Setting aside the tiny HGD tabletop unit, the VICEARTH is the lightest pit that states a weight, at 16.5 pounds. The 20-inch unho weighs 20, the 19.5-inch OutVue 22, and the 27-inch stainless drums run from about 40 to 47.5 pounds. If you plan to carry the pit from a garage to the patio every time you use it, that gap is noticeable.
It is also the most complete kit among the small pits. Four listings mention a grill, and this is the only small pit that includes one; the other two that ship grills are the large OutVue tables. It adds a glove and poker as well. The unho, by contrast, says a grate must be bought separately.
The weight appears only in the feature text, not the product fields, and the listing gives no warranty. The ash pan’s ground-heat claim is not a substitute for a non-combustible surface.
Pros
- Easy to carry at 16.5 lb
- Grill grate and glove included
- Fast setup, packs down small
Cons
- No cover included
- Small for groups larger than four or five
- No warranty stated
Check VICEARTH 20 in. price on Amazon
5. OutVue 27-Inch Smokeless — Best for Larger Backyard Gatherings

27-inch stainless steel low-smoke pit for 7 to 10 people, with lift-out ash tray, poker and waterproof cover.
Check price on Amazon$153.89 as of Oct 20, 2026 5:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Largest stand-alone smokeless drum here
- Waterproof cover and poker included
- Lift-out ash tray
- Burns wood or pellets
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 27 in. diameter x 19.2 in. tall |
| Weight | 47.5 lb |
| Material | Stainless steel |
| Seating | 7 to 10 people per the listing |
| Included | Waterproof cover, poker, removable ash tray |
| Placement note | Not for grass or wooden floors; keep at least 0.5 m clear |
OutVue 27 in. Smokeless — stainless, 47.5 lb, 7–10 people, ash tray, waterproof cover, poker
One Design Sold in Four Listings
This 27-inch drum appears four times on the shelf: in black and silver under OutVue, and in black and silver under Grovellis with nearly word-for-word listing text. The Grovellis versions list 40.7 pounds and 18.7 inches tall against OutVue’s 47.5 pounds and 19.2 inches, so they may differ in material thickness. Compare both before buying, and do not assume one is a lab-tested improvement on the other.
It is the largest stand-alone low-smoke drum here; the bigger 42- and 47-inch OutVue units are grill tables built around a liner. That size is what supports the 7-to-10-person claim.
The listing’s half-meter clearance note is about people, children and pets, not structures. Use the 10-foot structure clearance from the safety section below.
Pros
- Big enough for a full circle of chairs
- Cover and ash tray included
- Stainless body
Cons
- Heavy at 47.5 lb
- No spark screen mentioned
- No warranty stated
Check OutVue 27 in. Smokeless price on Amazon
6. OutVue 19.5-Inch Smokeless — Best for Smaller Patios

19.5-inch stainless low-smoke fire pit with a tote bag, poker and bottom-plate ash tray, sized for 4 to 8 people.
Check price on Amazon$80.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Compact 19.5 in. footprint
- Tote bag included
- Ash tray removes through the bottom plate
- Raised base brackets
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 19.5 in. diameter x 15 in. tall |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Material | Stainless steel |
| Seating | 4 to 8 people per the listing |
| Included | Tote bag, poker, removable ash tray |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
OutVue 19.5 in. Smokeless — stainless, 22 lb, 15 in. tall, tote bag, poker, ash tray
The Only Listing That Claims Its Own Base Protects a Deck
This OutVue is the only listing on the shelf that says its own bottom brackets protect a deck from heat damage. PACKFIRE mentions decks but points buyers to a separate guard, and TIKI names decks only as a place to use its pit. Read that claim cautiously: the same listing also says not to use the pit on wooden floors. Treat a wood deck as off limits unless you add a listed heat shield made for the pit.
Otherwise, this is the smaller sibling of the 27-inch drum: same stainless build and airflow language, half the weight, and a tote bag in place of the waterproof cover. At 15 inches tall it takes short splits.
Pros
- Fits small patios and balconies where allowed
- Half the weight of the 27-inch model
- Easy ash removal
Cons
- Deck claim conflicts with its own warning
- Short height limits log length
- No cover or warranty stated
Check OutVue 19.5 in. Smokeless price on Amazon
7. OutVue 42-Inch Smokeless Table — Best Low-Smoke Cooking Table

42-inch grill table with a low-smoke inner liner, two swivel grills, tabletop and room for up to 30 pounds of wood.
Check price on Amazon$189.53 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Low-smoke liner inside a grill table
- Two swivel, height-adjustable grills
- Tabletop for drinks and plates
- Mesh-screened side vents
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 42 in. diameter x 27 in. tall |
| Weight | 51 lb |
| Wood capacity | Up to 30 lb per the listing |
| Cooking | Two removable grills, 360-degree swivel, adjustable height |
| Included | Low-smoke inner liner, tabletop, poker, 2 grates; no lid or cover |
OutVue 42 in. Smokeless Table — 51 lb, 30 lb wood capacity, low-smoke liner, 2 swivel grills
One of Two Low-Smoke Grill Tables
Only two listings combine a low-smoke liner with a grill table: this 42-inch unit and a 47-inch version that holds up to 40 pounds of wood and weighs 55 pounds. For most patios the 42-inch is the more practical size.
It describes a low-smoke inner liner rather than a double-walled drum, and the listing gives no detail on how the liner moves air. Expect less smoke reduction than a dedicated drum and more cooking flexibility. The title states plainly that there is no lid and no waterproof cover, so budget for a cover if it will live outside through Front Range hail and snow.
Pros
- Cooking and low-smoke in one unit
- Large wood capacity
- Vent screens to contain sparks
Cons
- No lid or cover included
- Liner design not explained
- Large footprint needs a big pad
Check OutVue 42 in. Smokeless Table price on Amazon
8. HGD Tabletop Mini — Best for Tabletop S’mores

8-inch, 1.7-pound stainless double-wall tabletop fire pit for wood or pellets, with a removable ash grate and carry bag.
Check price on Amazon$17.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Double-wall design in a palm-size unit
- Weighs 1.7 lb
- Wood or pellet fuel
- Carry bag for storage
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Size | 8 in. tall x 5.5 in. diameter |
| Weight | 1.7 lb |
| Material | Stainless steel |
| Fuel | Wood or pellets |
| Included | Removable ash grate, carry bag |
HGD Tabletop Mini — 8 x 5.5 in., 1.7 lb, double-wall stainless, wood or pellets, ash grate, bag
The Only Tabletop-Size Unit
Every other pick is a backyard pit; the HGD is a 5.5-inch tabletop burner. That makes it a novelty for roasting marshmallows on an outdoor table, not a heat source. Its listing does name a double-wall design with vent holes, one of four listings that do.
A small fire on a table is still an open flame. Set it on a non-combustible, heat-tolerant surface outdoors, keep it away from umbrellas and cushions, and never use it indoors or on a covered porch.
Pros
- Tiny and very portable
- Real double-wall design
- Simple ash cleanup
Cons
- Gives little usable heat
- Needs a heat-safe table surface
- Frequent refueling
Check HGD Tabletop Mini price on Amazon
How a smokeless fire pit actually works
Smoke is mostly unburned fuel: gases and fine particles that leave the fire before they get hot enough to ignite. A double-wall pit attacks that in three steps.
- Primary air: holes in the base let air reach the bottom of the fire, so the wood burns hot rather than smoldering.
- Preheating: more air enters low on the outer wall and travels up the gap between the two walls, heating as it rises.
- Secondary burn: that hot air jets out of a ring of holes near the top, mixing with the rising smoke and igniting much of it. The jets of flame near the rim are the visible sign it is working.
The EPA explains that wood smoke is a mix of gases and fine particles and that burning wood more efficiently creates less smoke. A secondary burn is a way of doing that outdoors. It does not work when the fire is cold. Expect smoke while lighting, after adding a big load of wood, and as the fire dies to embers.
What makes it smoke anyway
- Wet or green wood. The EPA’s guidance says wood burns best below 20 percent moisture and should be seasoned at least six months. A firewood moisture meter is the cheapest upgrade to any smokeless pit.
- Overloading. Wood piled above the secondary holes blocks the jets. Keep the load below the top ring.
- Ash buildup. A full ash pan chokes the primary air. Empty it once fully cool.
- Burning the wrong things. The EPA says never to burn trash, cardboard, painted or treated wood, plywood or particle board.
Smokeless vs open bowl vs propane
Low-smoke pits sit between a traditional open bowl and a propane fire pit. Compared with an open bowl, they cost more and weigh more, need dry wood to work, and deliver less smoke and a hotter, cleaner burn. Compared with propane, they still produce some smoke, sparks and ash, and they are still wood fires under local fire restrictions.
If you want the cheapest wood fire or a big grill table, our best fire pit roundup covers open steel bowls and 3-in-1 tables. If you want no smoke at all, or a fire that is more likely to be allowed during wood-burning restrictions, see the best propane fire pit comparison.
The health argument for less smoke is real. The EPA notes that fine particles in wood smoke can irritate eyes and lungs, worsen asthma and trigger heart problems in people already at risk, and that children and older adults are more susceptible. If smoke still finds its way indoors, our guide to the best air purifier for smoke covers filtration.
Safety: clearances, decks and carbon monoxide
Low smoke does not mean low heat. Stainless double-wall pits get very hot on the outside, and several listings warn to keep children and pets away; one says to let the pit cool for at least an hour before moving it.
- Clearance: the U.S. Fire Administration says to use fire pits at least 10 feet from your home or anything that can burn, and to use a metal screen over wood-burning fires. Measure from eaves, pergolas, fences and the woodpile.
- Decks: never set a wood-burning pit directly on wood or composite decking unless the manufacturer permits it and you use a listed heat shield or pad. Our concrete patio guide covers the safer base.
- Ash: the EPA advises storing removed ash in a covered metal container outdoors on a non-combustible surface. Ash can stay hot long after the flames are gone.
- Carbon monoxide: the CPSC notes that burning wood produces CO and warns never to use portable fuel-burning equipment inside a home, garage, vehicle or tent unless designed for it. A smokeless pit is still an outdoor appliance only.
Front Range notes: fire bans, wind and neighbors
A smokeless fire pit is still a wood fire under Colorado fire restrictions. Check your county, fire district and HOA rules before every burn. Restrictions change with conditions, and the low-smoke label does not exempt a pit from a wood-burning ban.
Wind matters more than smoke on many Front Range evenings. Downslope gusts can carry embers past any clearance distance, and most of these drums have open tops with no spark screen included. Buy a screen, and skip the fire on red-flag or gusty days. Foothills homeowners should also review our guide to defensible space.
Smoke complaints are the other reason people buy these pits. A low-smoke pit plus dry wood is a good-neighbor move in tight subdivisions where houses sit close together and windows stay open on mild fall nights.
When to call a pro
A portable smokeless pit needs no installation. A built-in fire feature, a pit close to the house, or any burn marks on siding, soffits or decking are worth a professional look. If you are buying a home with an outdoor fire area, an inspector can check clearances and heat damage. To book an inspection or ask a question, contact our team.
References
- Wood Smoke and Your Health — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Best Wood-Burning Practices — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Outdoor Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration
- Carbon Monoxide Questions and Answers — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Frequently asked questions
Do smokeless fire pits really produce no smoke?
No. They are low-smoke pits. A double wall preheats air and feeds it into the top of the fire so much of the smoke burns off once the fire is hot. Expect some smoke while lighting, after adding a big load of wood and when burning damp wood.
How does a smokeless fire pit work?
Air enters through holes at the bottom and between two steel walls. The air in the gap heats as it rises and exits through holes near the rim, where it ignites rising smoke in a secondary burn. The small jets of flame near the top show it is working.
What wood is best for a smokeless fire pit?
Dry, seasoned hardwood split to fit below the top ring. The EPA says wood burns best below 20 percent moisture and should season for at least six months. Never burn trash, painted or treated wood, plywood or particle board.
Can you put a smokeless fire pit on a wood deck?
Only if the manufacturer allows it and you use a listed heat shield or pad made for that pit. These pits get very hot underneath, and several listings warn against wooden floors. A concrete or stone surface is the safer choice.
Are smokeless fire pits allowed during fire bans?
Usually not when wood burning is restricted, because they still burn wood and can throw embers. Propane fire pits are more often allowed, but rules vary by county and stage. Check local and HOA rules before every burn.