Best Fire Extinguisher for Home (2026): 6 Picks Compared
The best fire extinguisher for home use is a UL-listed multipurpose unit with an A, B and C rating, mounted where you can reach it on your way out of a room, and light enough that everyone who might grab it can actually aim it. Beyond that, the choice comes down to size of rating, whether the unit can be recharged after use, and whether your kitchen deserves its own grease-fire extinguisher. Extinguishers are for small, contained fires only. Getting out and calling 911 always comes first. Below are six picks, each matched to a specific spot in the house, then a buying guide that explains how to read the label and where to mount them.
Part of our Specialty Home Inspections guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon listings for home fire extinguishers, covering 8 distinct models once multipacks are grouped, on what each listing states: UL rating and classification, agent and agent weight, whether the unit is rechargeable or single-use, valve and gauge construction, mounting hardware and warranty. We did not discharge, weigh or handle any of these units. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best home fire extinguishers by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Alert HOME2PRO | Main level, garage and workshop |
| $42.98as of Oct 20, 2026 10:32 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kidde 711A Kitchen + Home Set | Kitchen grease plus whole home |
| $39.97as of Oct 20, 2026 5:38 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| First Alert HOME1 | Compact rechargeable unit |
| $19.98as of Oct 20, 2026 5:38 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kidde FA110G 2-pack | Two-story homes on a simple plan |
| $39.94as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Ougist FF2KG | Heavier 5 lb agent load |
| $54.99as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| AmzBoom Spray 2-pack | Supplement for car and grill |
| $17.44as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The six picks, compared listing by listing
1. First Alert HOME2PRO — Best for the Main Level, Garage and Workshop

UL rated 2-A:10-B:C rechargeable extinguisher with a metal valve and trigger, color-coded gauge and wall hook.
Check price on Amazon$42.98 as of Oct 20, 2026 10:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Highest UL rating among the UL-named listings
- Rechargeable by a certified professional
- All-metal body, valve and trigger
- 12-year limited warranty, the longest stated
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Rating | UL rated 2-A:10-B:C |
| Agent | Monoammonium phosphate dry chemical; agent weight not stated in listing |
| Service | Rechargeable by certified professionals after use |
| Construction | All-metal; commercial-grade metal valve and trigger; corrosion-resistant color-coded gauge |
| Mounting | Wall hook included |
| Model / warranty | FE2A10GR; 12-year limited; listed shipping weight 9.6 lb |
First Alert HOME2PRO FE2A10GR — UL 2-A:10-B:C, monoammonium phosphate, rechargeable, metal valve, gauge, wall hook, 12-yr limited
The Only UL-Named 2-A Rated Unit on the Shelf
Seven of the 12 listings name UL: the four Kidde FA110G pack sizes, the Kidde 711A set and the two First Alert models. Of those seven, the HOME2PRO is the only one rated 2-A. The U.S. Fire Administration explains that the number before the A is a multiple of 1.25 gallons of water, so a 2-A rating is the water-equivalent of 2.5 gallons on ordinary combustibles, double what a 1-A unit offers. The Ougist FF2KG also claims 2-A:10-B:C, but its listing does not name UL as the certifier.
The listing pitches it as a code-compliance unit for homes and small businesses, and that heavier build shows up across the spec sheet: commercial-grade metal valve and trigger, a corrosion-resistant gauge, and a professional recharge path after use. It also carries the longest stated warranty on the shelf, 12 years limited.
The trade-off is weight. The listing gives a 9.6 lb shipping weight and does not state the agent weight. The USFA advises choosing the largest extinguisher a user can safely and comfortably operate, so an older or smaller household member may be better served by a 1-A unit near the bedrooms and this one in the garage or kitchen-adjacent hall.
Pros
- UL rated 2-A:10-B:C
- Rechargeable rather than single-use
- Metal valve, trigger and gauge
- Longest stated warranty
Cons
- Heaviest UL-named unit here
- Agent weight not stated
- Recharge requires a service shop
Check First Alert HOME2PRO price on Amazon
2. Kidde 711A Kitchen + Home Set — Best for Kitchen Grease Fires

Two-unit set: a sodium bicarbonate kitchen extinguisher with a flared nozzle plus a 1-A:10-B:C multipurpose unit.
Check price on Amazon$39.97 as of Oct 20, 2026 5:38 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Dedicated kitchen unit with a splash-reducing flared nozzle
- Second unit covers ordinary home fires
- Only listing stating discharge time and range
- Gauges and wall brackets on both
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Contents | Two extinguishers: white kitchen unit (RESSP) and red multipurpose unit (FA110G) |
| Agents | 2.5 lb sodium bicarbonate (white); 2.5 lb monoammonium phosphate (red) |
| Rating | Red unit 1-A:10-B:C; listing does not give a separate rating for the white unit |
| Performance stated | 8 to 12 second discharge, 5 to 8 foot range, 100 PSI operating pressure |
| Hardware | Aluminum cylinders, metal valve, pressure gauges, wall mount and strap brackets |
| Listing / warranty | UL Listed; 6-year limited |
Kidde 711A (RESSP + FA110G) — sodium bicarbonate kitchen unit with flared nozzle + 1-A:10-B:C ABC unit, gauges, brackets, UL, 6-yr
The Only Listing With a Purpose-Built Grease Nozzle
Cooking is the leading cause of home fires: the NFPA attributes roughly 48 percent of reported home structure fires in 2020 to 2024 to kitchen and cooking equipment. The 711A is the only listing on this shelf that includes an extinguisher designed specifically for cooking grease, with a flared nozzle meant to reduce oil splash when the agent hits the pan. A narrow, high-pressure stream on a pan of burning oil can push it over the rim, which is exactly what this nozzle tries to avoid.
It is also the only listing that states discharge time (8 to 12 seconds), discharge range (5 to 8 feet) and operating pressure. Those numbers are a reminder of how little agent a home unit holds: you have roughly ten seconds of spray, from a few steps back.
Be clear about what it is not. The kitchen unit is a sodium bicarbonate dry chemical, not a Class K wet-chemical extinguisher of the kind the USFA associates with commercial kitchens. The NFPA’s first instruction for a pan fire is to slide a lid over the pan and turn off the burner; the extinguisher is the backup. Both units are single-use.
Pros
- Dedicated kitchen unit with flared nozzle
- Includes a multipurpose unit for the rest of the house
- Discharge time, range and pressure stated
- UL Listed with gauges and brackets
Cons
- Kitchen unit’s own rating not stated
- Not a Class K wet-chemical unit
- Both units are single-use
Check Kidde 711A Kitchen + Home Set price on Amazon
3. First Alert HOME1 — Best Compact Rechargeable Unit

UL rated 1-A:10-B:C rechargeable unit with metal valve, sealed metal pin, metal gauge and Coast Guard approval.
Check price on Amazon$19.98 as of Oct 20, 2026 5:38 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Rechargeable at a 1-A size
- Metal pin with a tamper seal
- Metal gauge and waterproof label
- 10-year limited warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Rating | UL rated 1-A:10-B:C |
| Service | Rechargeable by a certified professional after use |
| Construction | All-metal; commercial-grade metal valve and trigger |
| Safety features | Metal pull pin with safety seal; corrosion-resistant color-coded metal gauge; waterproof instruction label |
| Other approvals | U.S. Coast Guard approved for marine use |
| Model / warranty | FE1A10GR; 10-year limited; listed weight 4.5 lb |
First Alert HOME1 FE1A10GR — UL 1-A:10-B:C, rechargeable, metal valve, sealed metal pin, metal gauge, USCG, 10-yr limited
The Only Rechargeable 1-A Unit Among the UL-Named Listings
Two listings on the shelf describe a rechargeable extinguisher, and both are First Alert. The HOME1 is the 1-A sibling of the HOME2PRO, which makes it the only rechargeable unit at the lighter, more manageable size. Every Kidde listing is described as single-use, meaning any discharge, even a short test squeeze, ends its service life.
The HOME1 listing also stands out on hardware detail. It describes a metal pull pin with a tamper seal, a metal gauge rather than a plastic one, and a waterproof label. It is one of two listings that mention U.S. Coast Guard approval, along with the single-pack Kidde FA110G.
The listing does not give the agent type or the agent weight. Recharging requires a certified service shop and is usually only worth doing on a higher-quality unit like this; check what a local shop charges before assuming it beats replacement.
Pros
- Rechargeable at the 1-A size
- Metal pin, valve and gauge
- Tamper seal shows if it has been used
- 10-year limited warranty
Cons
- Agent type and weight not stated
- Half the A rating of the HOME2PRO
- Recharge needs a service shop
Check First Alert HOME1 price on Amazon
4. Kidde Basic 110 (FA110G) 2-Pack — Best for Two-Story Homes

Two UL-listed 1-A:10-B:C units, 2.5 lb dry chemical each, with gauges, strap brackets and a 12-year service-free design.
Check price on Amazon$39.94 as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- One unit per level in a single purchase
- UL listed 1-A:10-B:C
- 12-year service-free design
- Strap brackets and gauges included
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Rating | 1-A:10-B:C, UL Listed |
| Agent | 2.5 lb dry chemical per unit |
| Service | Residential, single-use only; described as service-free for 12 years |
| Construction | Aluminum cylinder, all-metal construction, easy-pull safety pin |
| Hardware | Pressure gauge with green zone; UL-approved plastic strap bracket |
| Pack / warranty | 2 units; 6-year limited |
Kidde FA110G 2-pack — UL 1-A:10-B:C, 2.5 lb dry chemical each, single-use, gauge, strap bracket, 12-yr service-free, 6-yr warranty
The Most Widely Listed Model, in a Pack Sized for Two Levels
The FA110G appears in four of the 12 listings: as a single, a 2-pack, a 4-pack and a 6-pack, and it is also the red unit inside the 711A set. That makes it the most common home extinguisher on the shelf. The 2-pack is the practical size for a typical two-story or ranch-plus-basement home, one near the kitchen and one by the bedrooms or the basement stairs.
Kidde describes a 12-year service-free design, and the gauge’s green zone is the monthly check. Because it is single-use, a discharge means replacement, and the 6-year warranty is shorter than the First Alert terms.
Compared with the HOME1, you give up the metal gauge, the rechargeable valve and the sealed pin in exchange for a lighter aluminum cylinder and two units in one box. For a larger home, the 4-pack and 6-pack listings of the same model scale coverage the same way.
Pros
- Two UL-listed units in one purchase
- Lightweight aluminum cylinders
- Gauge and brackets included
- Same model available in larger packs
Cons
- Single-use only
- Plastic strap bracket
- 6-year warranty, shorter than First Alert
Check Kidde FA110G 2-pack price on Amazon
5. Ougist FF2KG — Best Heavier Agent Load

5 lb ABC dry chemical extinguisher rated 2-A:10-B:C per the listing, with a patented quick-release handle.
Check price on Amazon$54.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Largest stated agent weight here, 5 lb
- Claims a 2-A:10-B:C rating
- Handle pulls the pin in one motion
- Production date marked on the unit
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Rating | 2-A:10-B:C per listing; certifying lab not named |
| Agent | 5 lb ABC dry powder |
| Handle | Patented quick-release handle; listing claims use from up to 15 feet |
| Gauge | Not stated in listing |
| Recharge | Not stated in listing |
| Weight / warranty | Listed weight 8.27 lb; six-year quality program |
Ougist FF2KG — 5 lb ABC dry chemical, 2-A:10-B:C claimed, quick-release handle, production date marked, 6-yr quality program
The Biggest Agent Load, With a Certification Gap
Agent weight is stated on only a handful of listings. The Kidde units each hold 2.5 lb, the smaller Ougist FF1KG holds 2.5 lb, and the FF2KG states 5 lb, the most on the shelf. More agent means more spray time, which matters on a garage or shop fire where you may need a second sweep.
The handle is the other selling point: the listing says it removes the pin without twisting, which could help someone with weak grip strength. The claimed 15-foot reach is a seller claim; compare it with the 5 to 8 feet Kidde states for its own units.
The gap matters. The listing gives a 2-A:10-B:C rating but never names UL or another testing laboratory, and the USFA specifically advises looking for a UL Listed or ULC Listed label. It also does not mention a pressure gauge or whether the unit can be recharged. Confirm the label on the cylinder before relying on it as a primary extinguisher; if the label does not show a recognized lab, choose the HOME2PRO instead.
Pros
- 5 lb agent, double the Kidde units
- 2-A:10-B:C rating stated
- Pin-free handle for weaker grips
Cons
- Testing lab not named in listing
- No gauge mentioned
- Recharge path not stated
- Range claim exceeds typical home units
Check Ougist FF2KG price on Amazon
6. AmzBoom Extinguishing Spray 2-Pack — Best Supplement for Car and Grill

Two compact water-based aerosol extinguishers with mounting brackets, sized for a car, grill area or kitchen drawer.
Check price on Amazon$17.44 as of Oct 21, 2026 12:34 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Small enough for a glove box or drawer
- Press-and-spray operation, no pin
- Water-based agent, listing says no residue
- Two brackets and a 6-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Aerosol extinguishing spray, water-based |
| Rating | No UL rating or numeric classification stated; listing claims A, B, C and K use |
| Size | About 10.5 x 2.65 in per can |
| Operation | Press, aim and spray |
| Hardware | Two mounting brackets |
| Model / warranty | MSWJ-500C; 6-year manufacturer warranty |
AmzBoom MSWJ-500C 2-pack — water-based aerosol, A/B/C/K claimed, no UL rating stated, brackets included, 6-yr warranty
The Smallest Format, and Not a Substitute for a Rated Extinguisher
Three listings on the shelf are compact aerosol or foam cans rather than cylinder extinguishers: AmzBoom in a 2-pack and 3-pack, and an Ougist 21 oz foam 4-pack. AmzBoom is the one whose listing is clearest on warranty and mounting, and the can fits places a cylinder will not, such as a car door pocket or a drawer beside the grill tools.
None of the three lists a UL rating or a numeric classification like 1-A:10-B:C. The AmzBoom listing claims protection against cooking oil and lithium-ion battery fires, but without a published rating there is no standard way to judge how large a fire it can handle. That is why it ranks last and is framed as a supplement.
Use it as an extra layer in the car, the RV or the patio, with at least one UL-listed ABC cylinder inside the house. The USFA reminds households that young children and older adults should not use extinguishers, and that leaving and calling 911 is the answer whenever any doubt exists.
Pros
- Compact cans fit cars and drawers
- No pin to pull
- Brackets and 6-year warranty included
Cons
- No UL rating or classification stated
- Small agent volume
- Not a replacement for an ABC cylinder
Check AmzBoom Spray 2-pack price on Amazon
How to read a fire extinguisher label
The classification on the label is the most important spec, and most listings print it in the title. The USFA lists five primary extinguisher classes (USFA: choosing and using fire extinguishers):
- Class A: ordinary combustibles such as wood, paper and cloth.
- Class B: flammable and combustible liquids such as grease, gasoline, oil and oil-based paint.
- Class C: energized electrical equipment; the agent does not conduct electricity.
- Class D: flammable metals, mostly in factories.
- Class K: vegetable and animal cooking oils and fats in cooking appliances, mostly in commercial kitchens.
Multipurpose units labeled A-B-C cover most home fires. The numbers carry meaning too. Per the USFA, the number before the A is a multiple of 1.25 gallons of water, and the number before the B is the square footage of flammable-liquid fire the unit can extinguish. A 1-A:10-B:C unit is the water-equivalent of 1.25 gallons on Class A fires, handles a 10 square foot liquid fire and is safe on electrical equipment. A 2-A:10-B:C unit doubles the Class A capacity.
Also look for the UL Listed or ULC Listed label, which the USFA says confirms certification by a nationally recognized testing laboratory. On this shelf, seven listings name UL and five do not.
Dry chemical, sodium bicarbonate, foam and aerosol
Monoammonium phosphate (ABC dry chemical)
The standard home agent, used by the Kidde FA110G, both First Alert units and the Ougist cylinders. It covers A, B and C fires. The powder is messy, mildly corrosive to electronics and metal, and needs prompt cleanup after use.
Sodium bicarbonate
Used in Kidde’s white kitchen unit. It is effective on grease and liquid fires and is easier on cooking surfaces, but it is not rated for Class A fires on its own, which is why Kidde pairs it with a multipurpose unit.
Aerosol and foam cans
Convenient and compact, but the three on this shelf state no UL classification. Treat them as supplements.
Rechargeable or disposable
Rechargeable units have metal valves and can be refilled by a service shop. Disposable units are lighter and simpler, but any discharge means replacement. Either way, an extinguisher that has been partly used should be recharged or replaced, never put back on the wall.
How many extinguishers and where to put them
A sensible plan for most homes is one extinguisher per level, plus one in the kitchen area and one in the garage or workshop. Mount them near an exit path, not deep in a room or directly beside the stove, so reaching one never means moving toward the fire. Our guide to fire extinguishers for home use covers mounting heights and room-by-room choices in more detail.
- Kitchen: mount it across the room or near the doorway, not over the range. Keep a lid near the pan; the NFPA advises sliding a lid over a pan fire and turning off the burner, leaving the pan covered until cool, and keeping the oven door closed for an oven fire (NFPA cooking safety).
- Garage and workshop: a 2-A:10-B:C unit by the door into the house handles fuel, solvents and wood.
- Bedroom level: a lighter 1-A unit that every adult can lift.
- Basement: near the stairs, away from the furnace and water heater.
Fuel-burning appliances bring another hazard that an extinguisher does not address. If you smell gas, leave and call the utility from outside; our guide to the natural gas detector for home use explains early warning options.
When to use an extinguisher, and when to just leave
The USFA suggests a short checklist before fighting any fire: others have been alerted, someone has called the fire department, you are physically able to use the extinguisher, the fire is small and contained to a single object or surface such as a pan or wastebasket, you are safe from the smoke, and you have a clear escape route. Use the extinguisher only if every answer is yes. Otherwise, alert others, get out and call 911 from outside.
Once you decide to use one, follow PASS: Pull the pin, Aim low at the base of the fire, Squeeze the lever slowly and evenly, and Sweep side to side. Back away if the fire does not go down quickly. Remember that home units empty in seconds.
Cooking deserves special care. The USFA says cooking is by far the leading cause of home fires and home fire injuries, and that unattended equipment is the leading factor in nonconfined cooking fires (USFA cooking fire safety). Stand by the pan, turn the burner off if you leave the kitchen, and never throw water on a grease fire.
Maintenance and replacement
An extinguisher that has lost pressure is a false sense of security. Following the USFA’s maintenance points, check each unit monthly:
- Nothing blocks access to it.
- The gauge needle is in the green zone.
- The can, hose and nozzle are not dented, cracked or rusted.
- The pin and tamper seal are intact.
- The label is readable.
Some dry chemical units benefit from being turned over and shaken periodically to keep the powder from packing; follow the manual. Disposable units like the FA110G are replaced after use or when the gauge drops. Rechargeable units like the First Alert pair go to a service shop for refilling and periodic testing.
Colorado notes and when to call a professional
Front Range homes see a few specific risks: wood stoves and fireplaces in foothills homes, attached garages that double as workshops, and very dry winter air that makes indoor fires spread quickly once they start. An extinguisher near the hearth and one by the garage door are both worth the wall space. A foothills or rural property far from a fire station also makes early detection and a practiced escape plan more important, not less.
A home inspection is a good moment to check fire safety basics such as smoke and CO alarm coverage, the condition of fireplaces and the separation between an attached garage and living space. For the paperwork side, see our guide on how to prepare for a home inspection, and for specialty checks such as chimney or electrical evaluations, our specialty inspections hiring guide. To book a vetted Front Range inspector, reach out through our contact page.
Frequently asked questions
What type of fire extinguisher is best for a home?
A UL-listed multipurpose ABC dry chemical extinguisher covers most home fires: ordinary combustibles, flammable liquids and electrical equipment. Choose the largest size each user can safely handle, such as a 2-A:10-B:C unit for the garage and a 1-A:10-B:C unit near bedrooms.
What does 1-A:10-B:C mean on an extinguisher?
Per the U.S. Fire Administration, the number before A is a multiple of 1.25 gallons of water on ordinary combustibles, the number before B is the square footage of liquid fire it can extinguish, and C means the agent is safe on electrical equipment.
Do home kitchens need a Class K extinguisher?
Class K wet-chemical units are associated with commercial kitchens and deep fryers. For a home stove, keep a lid nearby to smother a pan fire and turn off the burner. A kitchen-specific dry chemical unit with a flared nozzle, or a multipurpose ABC unit, is the usual backup.
How often should home fire extinguishers be replaced?
Check the gauge and condition monthly. Replace a disposable unit after any use or if the gauge leaves the green zone, and follow the manufacturer's service life on the label. Rechargeable units can be refilled and tested by a certified service shop.
Are aerosol fire extinguisher sprays as good as a regular extinguisher?
The aerosol and foam cans we compared did not state a UL rating or numeric classification, so there is no standard way to judge their capacity. Use them as supplements in a car or near a grill, and keep at least one UL-listed ABC extinguisher inside the home.
References
- Choosing and Using Fire Extinguishers — U.S. Fire Administration
- Cooking Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration
- Cooking Safety — National Fire Protection Association