Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Smart Plug (2026): 7 Picks Compared by Ecosystem

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Clint Patterson

The best smart plug is the one that works with the voice assistant or app you already use, is rated for what you plug into it, and carries a recognized safety listing. That sounds simple, but smart plug listings vary more than they look. Some are rated 15 amps and some 10, some work only with Alexa, one supports Matter for Apple Home, and one even lists a 15A title and a 10A rating on the same page. Below are seven picks matched to specific setups, then a buying guide on ratings, connectivity and what you should never run through a smart plug.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon smart plug listings, covering 8 distinct products in different pack sizes, on what each listing states: amp and wattage rating, safety certification, supported platforms, connection type, scheduling features and warranty. We did not lab-test these plugs or use them hands-on. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best smart plugs by setup

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Kasa EP10 Ultra Mini 2-PackBest overall
  • 15A rating
  • UL certified per listing
  • Alexa and Google, 2-year warranty
$13.95as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Linkind Matter 4-PackBest for Apple Home and Matter
  • Matter, HomeKit, Alexa, Google
  • 15A and 1800W
  • Local control if internet drops
$25.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Amazon Smart PlugBest simple Alexa plug
  • Sets up in the Alexa app
  • No hub needed
  • Reconnects after outages
$24.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
EIGHTREE ET01 4-PackBest for SmartThings users
  • 15A, ETL and FCC
  • Random away schedules
  • 2-year warranty
$22.49as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Amazon Basics 4-PackBest sunrise and sunset schedules
  • Alexa only, no third-party app
  • Sunrise and sunset triggers
  • 1-year limited warranty
$25.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Govee H5083 4-PackBest for group control
  • Wi-Fi or Bluetooth control
  • One-tap groups
  • Rated 10A, 1200W in bullets
$29.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
GHome WP3 Mini 4-PackBest budget lamp timers
  • Random and auto-off timers
  • ETL and FCC
  • Rated 10A, 1200W
$26.59as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini EP10 2-Pack — Best Overall

Best overallKasa EP10 Ultra Mini 2-Pack

Compact 15A Wi-Fi plug that works with Alexa and Google Home, with UL certification named and a 2-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$13.95 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 15A rating stated in the title
  • Only brand on the shelf naming UL certification
  • Works with both Alexa and Google
  • Two-year manufacturer warranty
  • Small enough to leave the second outlet free
Specification Details
Rating 15A
Certification UL certified, per listing
Platforms Kasa app (also supported in the Tapo app), Alexa, Google Assistant
Connection 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; no hub
Scheduling Timers, countdowns and schedules
Size / warranty About 2.4 x 2.0 x 1.5 in; 2-year manufacturer warranty

Kasa EP10P2 — 2-pack, 15A, UL certified, Alexa + Google, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, no hub, 2-yr warranty

The Only Brand Among the 13 Listings That Names UL Certification

Safety listing is the first thing to check on any device that sits between a wall outlet and an appliance. Four of the 13 listings name UL certification, and all four are Kasa (the EP10 in 1, 2 and 4-packs and the older HS103). Seven others name ETL, which is also a recognized testing mark. The two Amazon-branded plugs name neither in their listings.

The EP10 pairs that UL mention with a 15A rating, support for both Alexa and Google Home without a separate brand app for voice, and a 2-year warranty. It is small enough to leave the second receptacle of a duplex outlet usable. We picked the 2-pack because most homes start with a pair, for a lamp and a holiday light string, but the same model is listed in 1 and 4-packs.

What the listing does not offer: energy monitoring, Matter support or Apple Home. It also needs a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network, as 12 of the 13 listings do. If your router combines bands under one name, setup is usually still fine, but a router that only broadcasts 5GHz will not work.

Pros

  • UL certification named
  • 15A rating
  • Alexa and Google support
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • No energy monitoring
  • No Matter or Apple Home
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only

Check Kasa EP10 Ultra Mini 2-Pack price on Amazon

2. Linkind Matter Smart Plug 4-Pack — Best for Apple Home and Matter

Best for Apple Home and MatterLinkind Matter 4-Pack

Matter-certified 15A, 1800W plug for Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings, with local control on your network.

Check price on Amazon$25.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only Matter plug on the shelf
  • Only listing supporting Apple Home and Siri
  • Keeps working locally if internet drops
  • States 15A, 1800W and overload protection
Specification Details
Rating 15A, 1800W
Certification ETL certified (title); FCC; fire-resistant materials
Platforms Matter: Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings; AiDot app
Requirements Matter controller (HomePod, Echo, Nest or SmartThings hub); 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6
Protection Short-circuit and overload protection, per listing
Warranty Not stated in listing

Linkind LC09003 — 4-pack, Matter, 15A / 1800W, ETL + FCC, overload protection, Apple Home / Alexa / Google / SmartThings

The Only Matter Plug, and the Only One That Works With Apple Home

Matter is a shared smart home standard that lets one device work across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings. Among the 13 listings, only the Linkind supports it, which also makes it the only route to Apple Home and Siri on this shelf. If your household mixes iPhones and Android phones, or you want to avoid installing a separate app for every brand, this is the plug to buy.

The listing makes a useful claim about local control: once set up, Matter devices talk to each other on your home network, so the plug keeps working through the hub even when the internet is down. Cloud-only plugs lose remote and voice control in that situation. It is also the only listing that names short-circuit and overload protection, and it states both 15A and 1800W.

The catch is the hub. Matter needs a compatible controller such as a HomePod, Echo, Nest speaker or SmartThings hub to work in those platforms; otherwise you are limited to Linkind’s own AiDot app. The listing also notes an IPv6 network requirement and gives no warranty term.

Pros

  • Matter across four platforms
  • Apple Home and Siri support
  • Local control without internet
  • Overload protection named

Cons

  • Needs a Matter controller
  • IPv6 network required
  • No warranty term stated

Check Linkind Matter 4-Pack price on Amazon

3. Amazon Smart Plug — Best Simple Alexa Plug

Best simple Alexa plugAmazon Smart Plug

Alexa-app smart plug that needs no hub or third-party app and reconnects automatically after power or Wi-Fi outages.

Check price on Amazon$24.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Sets up entirely in the Alexa app
  • Reconnects after power or Wi-Fi outages
  • Leaves the second outlet free
  • Works with Alexa routines
Specification Details
Rating Not stated in listing
Certification Not stated in listing
Platforms Alexa app and Alexa devices only
Connection Wi-Fi; band not stated; no hub
Features Schedules, routines, automatic reconnection after outages
Size / weight About 3.2 x 1.5 x 2.2 in; 0.19 lb; model C2YY37

Amazon Smart Plug C2YY37 — 1-pack, Alexa only, no hub, schedules + routines, auto-reconnect after outages

The Only Listing That Says It Reconnects Automatically After an Outage

Front Range wind events, winter storms and planned utility shutoffs mean power blips are routine in many neighborhoods. A smart plug that comes back online on its own after power returns saves a round of re-pairing. The Amazon Smart Plug is the only one of the 13 listings that says it reconnects to Alexa automatically after power or Wi-Fi outages. Others may do the same, but they do not say so.

Setup is the other strength. Everything happens in the Alexa app, with no brand app or account. The listing also makes a useful point that many others skip: it works with devices that have a physical on/off switch, which is true of every smart plug. A lamp or fan whose own switch is off, or a device that needs a button press after power is restored, will not start just because the plug turns on.

The gaps are in the listing details. It states no amp or watt rating, no safety certification and no warranty term, and it works only with Alexa. Check the rating on the device itself before plugging in anything that draws real power.

Pros

  • Simple setup in the Alexa app
  • Stated automatic reconnection
  • Works with Alexa routines

Cons

  • Alexa only
  • No rating or certification in listing
  • Single plug per pack

Check Amazon Smart Plug price on Amazon

4. EIGHTREE ET01 4-Pack — Best for SmartThings Users

Best for SmartThings usersEIGHTREE ET01 4-Pack

15A round smart plug with ETL and FCC, Bluetooth-assisted setup, SmartThings support and random away schedules.

Check price on Amazon$22.49 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 15A with ETL and FCC named
  • SmartThings support without Matter
  • Random schedules for away-from-home
  • Bluetooth makes first setup easier
  • 2-year warranty
Specification Details
Rating 15A
Certification ETL and FCC
Platforms Smart Life app; Alexa and Google linked through the app; SmartThings
Connection 2.4GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth used to find the plug during setup
Scheduling Timers, countdowns, cycles and random schedules
Weight / warranty 0.12 lb; 2-year warranty

EIGHTREE ET01 — 4-pack, 15A, ETL + FCC, Smart Life / Alexa / Google / SmartThings, random schedules, 2-yr warranty

The Only Non-Matter Plug That Supports SmartThings

Three listings mention SmartThings: two EIGHTREE pack sizes and the Linkind Matter plug. EIGHTREE gets there without needing a Matter controller, which is useful if you already run a Samsung SmartThings setup. It also pairs a 15A rating with ETL and FCC marks and a 2-year warranty, one of the more complete spec sets among the budget brands.

Random schedules are the feature that matters most for travel. Five listings mention them (EIGHTREE and GHome), and they turn lamps on and off at varied times so a house looks occupied. For a home left empty over the holidays, that is more convincing than a lamp that clicks on at exactly 6:00 every night.

Setup takes one more step than Kasa. Voice control requires linking the Smart Life app to Alexa or Google; the listing says direct Alexa connection is not supported. No energy monitoring is listed.

Pros

  • 15A, ETL and FCC
  • SmartThings support
  • Random away schedules
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • Requires the Smart Life app first
  • No direct Alexa pairing
  • No energy monitoring

Check EIGHTREE ET01 4-Pack price on Amazon

5. Amazon Basics Smart Plug 4-Pack — Best Sunrise and Sunset Schedules

Best sunrise and sunset schedulesAmazon Basics 4-Pack

Alexa-only smart plug four-pack with sunrise and sunset triggers, no third-party app and a 1-year limited warranty.

Check price on Amazon$25.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Sunrise and sunset scheduling
  • No third-party app or hub
  • Can be pre-linked to your Alexa account
  • 1-year limited warranty
Specification Details
Rating Not stated in listing
Certification Not stated in listing
Platforms Alexa only
Connection 2.4GHz Wi-Fi; no hub
Scheduling Set times, voice commands, sunrise and sunset
Model / warranty HPP-A11S-WB-4P; 1-year limited warranty

Amazon Basics HPP-A11S-WB-4P — 4-pack, Alexa only, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, sunrise/sunset schedules, 1-yr limited warranty

The Only Listing That Names Sunrise and Sunset Triggers

Porch lights and holiday displays are the most common smart plug jobs, and fixed times drift out of step with the seasons. Along the Front Range, sunset moves by more than two hours between June and December. The Amazon Basics listing is the only one of the 13 that names sunrise and sunset scheduling, so lights follow the actual daylight without seasonal adjustment.

It also offers a zero-touch setup: if you link the plugs to your Alexa account at checkout, they can appear in the app when plugged in. As with the Amazon Smart Plug, everything lives in the Alexa app.

One line in this listing needs a correction. It names heaters among suitable uses, yet it states no amp or watt rating. Space heaters should not run through a smart plug unless both the plug’s rating and the heater maker’s instructions allow it, and the CPSC says to plug electric space heaters directly into a wall outlet. Use this set for lights, fans and small electronics, and see the safety section below.

Pros

  • Sunrise and sunset scheduling
  • Simple Alexa-only setup
  • Four plugs per pack

Cons

  • No rating or certification in listing
  • Alexa only
  • Lists heaters as a use without a rating

Check Amazon Basics 4-Pack price on Amazon

6. Govee H5083 Smart Plug 4-Pack — Best for Group Control

Best for group controlGovee H5083 4-Pack

Wi-Fi and Bluetooth smart plug with one-button group control; bullets state a 10A, 1200W rating despite a 15A title.

Check price on Amazon$29.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Bluetooth control when Wi-Fi is weak
  • One tap controls a whole group
  • Easy sharing with family in the app
  • ETL and FCC named
Specification Details
Rating Bullets: 10A, 1200W at 120V; title says 15A
Certification ETL and FCC
Platforms Govee Home app, Alexa, Google Assistant
Connection 2.4GHz Wi-Fi or Bluetooth
Scheduling Custom schedules and group control
Warranty Not stated in listing

Govee H5083 (B5081) — 4-pack, 10A / 1200W per bullets, ETL + FCC, Wi-Fi + Bluetooth, group control

The Only Listing Whose Title and Bullets Disagree on the Amp Rating

Govee’s title says 15A, but its own bullet states a rating of 10A and 1200W at 120V. When a listing contradicts itself, use the lower figure and confirm with the label on the plug. A 10A rating is fine for lamps, fans, routers, aquariums and holiday lights. It is not enough for a space heater, window air conditioner or anything with a motor that draws a large startup current.

With that limit understood, the Govee’s strengths are practical. It can be controlled over Bluetooth as well as Wi-Fi, which helps in a basement or garage where Wi-Fi is spotty, and its group control turns a set of plugs on or off together. Six listings mention Bluetooth, but most use it only for setup; Govee describes it as an ongoing connection option.

No warranty term or energy monitoring is stated.

Pros

  • Bluetooth fallback to Wi-Fi
  • One-tap group control
  • ETL and FCC named

Cons

  • Conflicting 15A and 10A ratings
  • 10A limits it to light loads
  • No warranty term stated

Check Govee H5083 4-Pack price on Amazon

7. GHome WP3 Smart Plug Mini 4-Pack — Best Budget Lamp Timers

Best budget lamp timersGHome WP3 Mini 4-Pack

Compact 10A, 1200W plug four-pack with random and auto-off timers, group control and ETL and FCC listing.

Check price on Amazon$26.59 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:55 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Random and auto-off schedules
  • Group control for several lamps
  • ETL and FCC named
  • Wi-Fi plus Bluetooth setup
Specification Details
Rating 10A, 1200W, 120V
Certification ETL and FCC
Platforms GHome app; Alexa and Google linked through the app
Connection 2.4GHz Wi-Fi with Bluetooth
Scheduling Schedules, random cycles and auto-off timers
Warranty Not stated in listing

GHome WP3 Mini — 4-pack, 10A / 1200W, ETL + FCC, GHome app with Alexa + Google, random + auto-off timers

An Honest 10A Rating for Lamp-Duty Jobs

GHome appears three times on the shelf, all model WP3. This mini 4-pack is the GHome listing that states a rating, 10A and 1200W, and it says so consistently. That makes it a clear choice for what most people use smart plugs for: lamps, string lights and small electronics on schedules. The other two WP3 listings say the plug also works in the Smart Life and Tuya apps, which helps if you already have devices there.

Random and auto-off timers are the useful features here. Auto-off is a simple safety habit for things like a curling iron or holiday lights that someone might leave on. Random cycles make a house look occupied.

Like EIGHTREE, GHome requires its own app first; Alexa and Google cannot pair directly. No warranty term is given, and 10A is too little for heaters or air conditioners.

Pros

  • Consistent stated rating
  • Random and auto-off timers
  • ETL and FCC named

Cons

  • 10A, light loads only
  • Brand app required first
  • No warranty term stated

Check GHome WP3 Mini 4-Pack price on Amazon

What not to plug into a smart plug

A smart plug is a switch that sits between the outlet and the appliance, so everything it controls passes through its contacts. That makes the rating the most important number on the box, and it makes some loads a poor fit no matter what the box says.

Space heaters

The CPSC’s winter safety guidance says to plug electric space heaters directly into a wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip, and to turn heaters off when sleeping. The CPSC estimates portable heaters are involved in an average of about 1,600 fires a year. Most heater manuals give the same direct-to-wall instruction. A smart plug is not a wall outlet, so do not run a space heater through one unless the plug is rated for the heater’s full draw and the heater maker allows it. A 1500W heater draws about 12.5 amps, which already exceeds the 10A plugs on this list. For safer heater options, see our best space heater guide; many models have built-in timers and thermostats that do the job without a plug.

Other high-draw appliances

The NFPA advises plugging only one heat-producing appliance, such as a coffee maker, toaster or space heater, into a receptacle at a time, and plugging major appliances like refrigerators, washers and dryers directly into a wall receptacle. The U.S. Fire Administration adds: do not overload outlets or power strips, and never use an extension cord with a major appliance. Smart plugs should follow the same rules. Lamps, fans, string lights, routers, aquarium lights and small electronics are the right loads.

Signs of trouble

The NFPA lists warm or discolored outlets, a burning or rubbery smell, flickering lights, frequent tripped breakers and sparks as reasons to call a qualified electrician. A smart plug that feels hot is a reason to unplug it and stop using it.

Reading smart plug specs

Amp and watt ratings

Eight listings state 15A, though one of them (Govee) gives 10A in its bullets. One more states 10A, and four state no rating at all. At 120 volts, 15A is about 1800W and 10A about 1200W. Leave headroom: a plug run near its limit for hours runs hotter than one with spare capacity.

Safety listings

Look for UL or ETL. On this shelf, Kasa names UL and Govee, EIGHTREE, GHome and Linkind name ETL. FCC is a radio-emissions mark, not an electrical safety listing.

Connectivity: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Matter

  • Wi-Fi: 12 of 13 listings require 2.4GHz Wi-Fi. That band reaches farther through walls than 5GHz, which suits plugs in garages and basements.
  • Bluetooth: mostly used to find the plug during setup. Govee also lists it as a control option.
  • Matter: one standard across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings, with local control. Only the Linkind supports it here, and it needs a controller.

Energy monitoring

None of the 13 listings on this shelf mention energy monitoring, even though many buyers look for it. If tracking usage is your goal, look for a listing that specifically says it measures power use, or consider a whole-home approach through our electrical hub, which covers panel monitors and when an electrician is needed.

Can a smart plug save energy?

Modestly. The DOE’s Energy Saver guide notes that many electronics keep drawing power when switched off, which could add 5 to 10 percent to a monthly utility bill, and recommends advanced power strips with timers, activity monitors or remotes to cut that standby draw. A smart plug on a schedule does the same job for a TV setup, game console or printer. ENERGY STAR’s smart home guidance describes monitoring and controlling plug loads as one of the minimum pieces of a certified smart home energy management system, alongside a smart thermostat and lighting.

The bigger savings come from heating and cooling, not plugs. ENERGY STAR says heating and cooling use more energy than any other appliance in the home. For lighting control, a hardwired switch is often a better choice than a plug; compare in our best smart switch roundup.

How Front Range homeowners use smart plugs

  • Holiday and porch lights: sunrise and sunset schedules handle short December days. For outdoor use, plug only outdoor-rated plugs into a covered, GFCI-protected outlet; the indoor plugs here are not rated for wet locations. Our outdoor outlet guide covers covers and protection.
  • Away-from-home lighting: random schedules make an empty house look lived-in during ski weekends and holiday travel.
  • Humidifiers and fans: dry winter air makes humidifiers common. Small units are fine on a 15A plug; check the wattage first.
  • Surge protection: a smart plug is not a surge protector. Lightning-prone summer storms are better handled by a surge protector for electronics.
  • Homes with kids: where young children are present, the NFPA explains that tamper-resistant receptacles help prevent shocks from objects pushed into outlets. Our tamper-resistant outlet guide explains how to spot them.

When to call an electrician

Smart plugs are a renter-friendly upgrade, but they are not a fix for wiring. Two-prong outlets, outlets that do not hold a plug snugly, warm faceplates, circuits that trip under normal use and a shortage of outlets are all electrician jobs. The USFA advises replacing wall outlets if plugs do not fit snugly. If you are buying a home and want the outlets, panel and grounding checked, contact us to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best smart plug for most people?

For most homes, a 15A plug with a recognized safety listing that works with your existing assistant is the best choice. The Kasa EP10 names UL certification and works with Alexa and Google. Apple Home users should choose a Matter plug like the Linkind, and Alexa-only homes can use the Amazon Smart Plug.

Can you plug a space heater into a smart plug?

Generally no. The CPSC says to plug electric space heaters directly into a wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip, and most heater manuals say the same. A 1500W heater draws about 12.5 amps, which exceeds 10A plugs. Use a smart plug only if both the plug's rating and the heater maker allow it.

Do smart plugs need a hub?

Most Wi-Fi smart plugs do not need a hub; they connect to a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network and an app. Matter plugs need a Matter controller, such as a HomePod, Echo, Nest speaker or SmartThings hub, to work inside Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings.

Do smart plugs use electricity when off?

Yes, a small amount, because the radio stays connected so it can respond to commands. That draw is usually far smaller than the standby power of the electronics the plug switches off. The Department of Energy says standby loads from electronics can add 5 to 10 percent to a monthly bill.

Can smart plugs be used outdoors?

Only plugs specifically rated for outdoor or wet locations should be used outside, plugged into a GFCI-protected outlet with a weatherproof cover. The plugs in this comparison are indoor models. The NFPA says all outdoor receptacles should be GFCI protected.

References