Best Smart Switches (2026): 6 Wi-Fi and Matter Picks
The best smart switch is the one that fits the wires already in your wall box and the voice assistant already in your kitchen. A smart switch replaces an ordinary on/off switch and lets you control the light from an app, a schedule or a voice command, while still working when someone flips it by hand. Before features come two wiring questions: does the box have a neutral wire, and is the light controlled from one switch or two? After that, the choice is about ecosystem (Alexa, Google, Apple Home or Matter) and how many switches you plan to replace. Below are six on/off smart switches matched to specific homes, then a buying guide on neutral wires, 3-way circuits, Matter, Wi-Fi and safe installation. For background on how these devices work, see our smart switch guide.
Part of our Home Electrical guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings for in-wall smart light switches on what each listing states: neutral-wire requirement, single-pole or 3-way support, Wi-Fi band, smart-home platforms and Matter support, safety certification named and pack size. Two of the ten are smart dimmers, which we cover in our separate dimmer roundup, so the picks below are all on/off switches. The search also returned two plug-in smart plugs; those are not wall switches and are not ranked. We did not install or test any of these hands-on. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best smart switches by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leviton Decora Smart D315S | 3-way rooms and every platform |
| $34.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Tapo S505 Matter 2-Pack | Matter on a budget |
| $23.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kasa HS200 | First smart switch |
| $15.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kasa HS200-2 2-Gang | Double switch boxes |
| $27.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| GHome SW5 4-Pack | Whole-house multipack |
| $37.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Amazon Basics WS29-01 | Alexa-only households |
| $14.25as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The six picks, compared listing by listing
1. Leviton Decora Smart D315S — Best for 3-Way Rooms and Every Platform

Wi-Fi on/off smart switch with Matter, Apple Home, Alexa and Google support, plus wired or wire-free 3-way control.
Check price on Amazon$34.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only on/off switch here that supports 3-way
- Matter plus Apple Home, Alexa and Google
- Also names SmartThings and Home Assistant
- Sunset schedules for exterior lights
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | On/off Wi-Fi switch, Decora rocker |
| Wiring | Neutral wire required; wired or wire-free 3-way |
| Platforms | Matter, My Leviton, Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home/Siri, SmartThings, Home Assistant |
| Scheduling | My Leviton app schedules, including sunset-based exterior lighting |
| Certification named | Not stated in listing |
| Model / warranty | D315S-1RW; 1-year limited |
Leviton Decora Smart D315S — Wi-Fi + Matter, neutral required, wired or wire-free 3-way, Apple/Alexa/Google/SmartThings, 1-yr
The Only On/Off Switch on the Shelf With 3-Way Support
Only two of the ten listings mention 3-way control, and both are Leviton: this on/off switch and the D36HD dimmer. Every other switch is described as single pole. That matters in hallways, staircases and rooms with two doors, where one light is controlled from two locations. Replacing one side of a 3-way circuit with a single-pole smart switch does not work, so this is the pick when a light already has two switches.
Leviton also has the widest platform list. Three of the ten listings name Matter and Apple Home (both Leviton models and Tapo’s S505), and this one adds SmartThings and Home Assistant. A household that mixes iPhones and Android phones, or that may change voice assistants later, avoids getting locked in.
What the listing does not say: it names no safety certification and does not state a load rating in watts or amps. Confirm both on the box or the manufacturer’s spec sheet. The warranty is one year.
Pros
- 3-way support, wired or wire-free
- Matter and Apple Home included
- Widest platform list here
- Sunset-based scheduling
Cons
- Neutral wire required
- No certification or load rating in listing
- 1-year warranty
Check Leviton Decora Smart D315S price on Amazon
2. Tapo S505 Matter 2-Pack — Best Matter Switch on a Budget

Two single-pole Matter smart switches that keep working on the home network if the internet goes down.
Check price on Amazon$23.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Matter local control works without the internet
- Multi-admin: Apple, Alexa, Google, SmartThings at once
- UL certified per the listing
- Guided install in the Tapo app
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Pack | Two switches |
| Wiring | Single pole; neutral wire required |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Matter local LAN control |
| Platforms | Apple Home/Siri, Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings via Matter |
| Certification named | UL certified |
| Features | Timer and schedule |
Tapo S505 (2-pack) — single pole, neutral required, 2.4 GHz + Matter LAN control, multi-admin, UL certified
The Only Single-Pole Switch Here That Explains Matter’s Offline Control
Matter is the newer smart-home standard that lets one device work across Apple, Amazon, Google and Samsung platforms. Three listings mention it, but the Tapo S505 is the one that explains what it does for you: devices talk directly over the local network, so a Matter switch can keep controlling a Matter bulb even when the internet is out, and several apps can control the same switch at once.
It is also one of seven listings that name UL certification. Two Leviton listings do not mention a certification at all, which does not mean they lack one, but the Tapo spells it out.
Like most of the shelf, it is single pole only and requires a neutral wire and a 2.4 GHz network. The listing recommends consulting an electrician if you are unfamiliar with wiring, which is good advice.
Pros
- Matter with local control explained
- Works across four major platforms
- UL certification named
Cons
- Single pole only, no 3-way
- Neutral wire required
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
Check Tapo S505 Matter 2-Pack price on Amazon
3. Kasa HS200 — Best First Smart Switch

Single-pole Wi-Fi smart switch with Alexa and Google voice control, schedules and an away mode, no hub required.
Check price on Amazon$15.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Single switch to try one room first
- Away mode randomizes lights while traveling
- Works with Alexa and Google, no hub
- UL certified, 2-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Wiring | Single pole; neutral wire required |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, no hub |
| Platforms | Kasa or Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant |
| Scheduling | Timers, countdowns and away mode |
| Size | About 4.13 x 1.71 x 1.74 in without the plate |
| Certification / warranty | UL certified; 2 years |
Kasa HS200 — single pole, neutral required, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Alexa/Google, away mode, UL certified, 2-yr warranty
A Single-Unit Listing for Testing One Room First
Most switches here are sold in two-, three- or four-packs. The Kasa HS200 is one of the few listings sold as a single switch (the Leviton D315S and Amazon Basics are the others among on/off models), which makes it the low-commitment way to find out whether your wall box has a neutral and whether your household actually uses app control.
Five of the ten listings describe an away mode that switches lights randomly to make an empty house look occupied, and Kasa is one of them. It also states physical dimensions without the wall plate, which helps when the box is shallow or crowded with wires. The same switch is available as a three-pack listing (HS200P3) that also states the 100 to 120 volt, 15 amp input rating.
It does not support Matter, Apple Home or 3-way wiring, and it needs a 2.4 GHz network. Kasa devices can now be managed in the Tapo app, according to the 2-gang listing, which helps if you mix brands from the same company.
Pros
- Sold as a single switch
- Away mode and schedules
- UL certified, 2-year warranty
Cons
- No Matter or Apple Home
- Single pole only
- Neutral wire required
Check Kasa HS200 price on Amazon
4. Kasa HS200-2 2-Gang — Best for Double Switch Boxes

Two smart switches in one device for a two-gang box, each on its own circuit, with Alexa, Google and SmartThings.
Check price on Amazon$27.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Two switches in a single flush device
- Each side controls a separate circuit
- Adds SmartThings to Alexa and Google
- Avoids master and auxiliary wiring confusion
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | 2-gang smart switch, two independent circuits |
| Wiring | Single pole; neutral wire required |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, no hub |
| Platforms | Kasa or Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings |
| Scheduling | Timer, countdown and away mode |
| Certification named | UL certified |
Kasa HS200-2 — 2-gang, two circuits, neutral required, 2.4 GHz, Alexa/Google/SmartThings, away mode, UL certified
The Only 2-Gang Smart Switch Among the Ten Listings
Bathrooms and kitchens often have a light and a fan, or two lights, side by side in one double box. Every other listing is a single switch per device. The HS200-2 is the only listing that puts two independent smart switches into one flush unit, so the wall keeps one clean plate rather than two separate smart switches crowded together.
It is also one of three listings that name SmartThings. The guided install addresses a real stumbling block: it says you do not need to understand master and auxiliary switch configuration, which is a common source of confusion in multi-switch rooms.
Check the load on each side before using it on a fan. The listing does not state a per-gang wattage or amp rating, or whether fan motors are supported. Both circuits still need a neutral in the box.
Pros
- Two circuits, one device
- SmartThings support added
- UL certified
Cons
- Per-gang load rating not stated
- Fan compatibility not addressed
- Neutral required
Check Kasa HS200-2 2-Gang price on Amazon
5. GHome SW5 4-Pack — Best Whole-House Multipack

Four single-pole Wi-Fi smart switches rated 15A and 1800W, UL and FCC listed, with group control and sunset schedules.
Check price on Amazon$37.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Four switches for several rooms at once
- States a 15A, 1800W rating
- UL and FCC listed, flame-retardant housing
- Group control turns off the whole house
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Pack | Four switches |
| Wiring | Single pole; neutral wire required |
| Rating | 120V/60Hz, 15A max, 1800W |
| Platforms | GHome app, Alexa, Google Home |
| Dimensions | Body without cover about 4.1 x 1.75 x 1.34 in; cover 4.73 x 2.76 in |
| Certification / warranty | UL and FCC; 24 months |
GHome SW5 4-pack — single pole, neutral required, 15A/1800W, UL + FCC, Alexa/Google, group control, 24-month warranty
The Most Complete Electrical Rating in the Shelf’s Multipacks
Only two of the ten listings state an amp rating: GHome and the Kasa HS200P3 three-pack, both at 15 amps. GHome goes further, listing 1800 watts, flame-retardant material and overload protection, plus the inside dimensions without the cover. Those numbers matter when you are swapping a switch that controls several fixtures on one circuit.
A four-pack also changes the economics. If you plan to automate the porch, hallway, garage and living room, buying one pack keeps every switch in one app with group control.
One line in the listing deserves a caution. It says no electrician is needed, while six other listings recommend consulting an electrician if you are unfamiliar with wiring. Switch replacement is common DIY work, but the safety notes later in this guide apply regardless of what the box says.
Pros
- 15A and 1800W rating stated
- UL and FCC listed
- Four-pack with group control
Cons
- Single pole only
- No Matter or Apple Home
- Downplays the need for wiring experience
Check GHome SW5 4-Pack price on Amazon
6. Amazon Basics WS29-01 — Best for Alexa-Only Households

Single-pole Wi-Fi smart switch that works exclusively with Alexa, using Alexa routines for schedules.
Check price on Amazon$14.25 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Sets up and lives entirely in the Alexa app
- Alexa routines handle schedules
- No separate brand app or hub
- Guided video and manual for install
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Single-pole Wi-Fi on/off switch |
| Platform | Amazon Alexa only |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, no hub |
| Scheduling | Through Alexa routines |
| Neutral wire | Not stated in listing |
| Certification named | Not stated in listing |
Amazon Basics WS29-01 — single pole, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Alexa only, routines, neutral and certification not stated
The Only Listing That Does Not State a Neutral-Wire Requirement
Nine of the ten listings say plainly that a neutral wire is required. The Amazon Basics listing is the one that does not say either way, so check the installation guide before opening the wall box rather than assuming it works without one. It also does not name a safety certification or a load rating.
What it does well is simplicity for a household that already runs everything through Alexa. Setup, voice control and schedules all happen in the Alexa app with routines, so there is no extra brand account to manage.
The trade-off is lock-in. If anyone in the house uses Google or Apple Home, or you may switch later, Leviton or Tapo’s Matter models are a better long-term choice.
Pros
- Simple Alexa-only setup
- Routines for scheduling
- No hub or extra app
Cons
- Neutral requirement not stated
- No certification or rating listed
- Works only with Alexa
Check Amazon Basics WS29-01 price on Amazon
The neutral wire question
A standard switch only interrupts the hot wire going to the light. A smart switch also needs a small amount of constant power to keep its Wi-Fi radio running, and on this shelf it gets that power from a neutral wire. Nine of the ten listings say a neutral is required.
To check, turn off the breaker, remove the cover plate and look into the box without disconnecting anything. In most homes wired in recent decades, a bundle of white wires joined with a wire nut at the back of the box is the neutral. Older homes, including some of the mid-century houses common along the Front Range, can have switch loops with no neutral at the switch at all. If you do not see one, a no-neutral dimmer or a different approach may be needed; our light switch replacement guide walks through what you are likely to find.
Never use the bare or green ground wire as a neutral. That defeats the safety ground and can energize metal parts.
Single-pole vs 3-way circuits
A single-pole switch controls a light from one location. A 3-way circuit controls one light from two locations, typical at the top and bottom of stairs or at both ends of a hallway. If you have two switches for one light, a single-pole smart switch will not work on either side.
On this shelf, only the Leviton D315S on/off switch describes 3-way support, either with the existing traveler wiring or with a wire-free companion. Every other pick is single pole. Our three-way switch wiring guide explains how to identify the common and traveler terminals before you start.
Smart switch, dimmer or smart bulb?
A smart switch keeps the wall control working for everyone, including guests who do not have the app, and it works with whatever bulbs are already in the fixture. A smart bulb works without rewiring but stops responding if someone turns the wall switch off. A smart dimmer adds brightness control and has its own compatibility rules with LED bulbs; our dimmer switch guide covers those.
For exterior and hallway lights that only need on and off, an on/off smart switch is usually the right tool. If you want lights to respond to people walking by, a dedicated motion sensor light switch may be simpler than building an automation.
Matter, Wi-Fi and platforms
Three listings mention Matter: both Leviton models and the Tapo S505. Matter’s practical benefits are cross-platform control and local operation when the internet is down. Every switch here still uses Wi-Fi, and those that state a band say 2.4 GHz, which has longer range through walls but is often crowded. If your router combines 2.4 and 5 GHz under one name, setup can fail; some routers let you split the bands temporarily during pairing.
The ENERGY STAR program notes that smart lighting can be controlled remotely or on a schedule and that smart light switches are a way to control lights remotely to save energy. Schedules for porch lights at sunset, which Leviton and GHome describe, are the simplest win.
Installation safety
Replacing a switch is common DIY work, but it is still work on a 120-volt circuit. OSHA notes that electrical hazards can cause electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions, and lists a missing or discontinuous path to ground among the frequent causes of electrical injuries. Basic steps:
- Turn off the breaker and confirm the circuit is dead with a non-contact voltage tester before touching wires.
- Label wires before disconnecting the old switch, and photograph the connections.
- Use the wire connectors supplied and keep the ground connected.
- Smart switches are deeper than standard ones; do not force a crowded box closed over pinched wires.
- Stay within the switch’s load rating; GHome and Kasa’s three-pack state 15 amps.
Stop and call an electrician if you find aluminum branch wiring, cloth-insulated wire, scorched insulation or a box with no ground. The NFPA advises having electrical work done by a qualified electrician and calling one for warning signs such as warm or discolored outlets, frequent breaker trips or flickering and dimming lights. The U.S. Fire Administration adds that bulbs should match the recommended wattage on the fixture and that combustibles should be kept away from lamps and light fixtures, which still applies after the switch becomes smart.
Finish with a cover plate sized to the device; Decora-style smart switches take a rocker opening, and our switch plate covers guide covers the options.
How Front Range homeowners use smart switches
Schedules do most of the work. Winter days along the Front Range are short, and a porch or driveway light tied to a fixed clock time drifts out of step with sunset over the season. Sunset-based schedules, which the Leviton and GHome listings describe, follow the change automatically, so the entry is lit when people get home in December without burning all night in June.
Away modes are the second common use. Five of the ten listings describe a mode that turns lights on and off at varied times so an empty house looks occupied during ski weekends or holiday travel. Pair it with a hallway or living room light that is visible from the street, not a closet.
Garages and unheated spaces deserve a note. None of these listings state an operating temperature range, and Wi-Fi reach to a detached garage is often weak. Test the signal at the switch location with a phone before buying, and consider a mesh access point if the garage is at the edge of coverage. For outbuildings and exterior circuits, also confirm that any outlet on the same circuit has the ground-fault protection current code expects; that is a question for an electrician rather than a switch swap.
When to bring in an electrician
A professional is the right call for 3-way and 4-way circuits you cannot identify, boxes without a neutral, older wiring types, or any sign of heat damage. If you are buying a home, a home inspection may note missing cover plates, ungrounded boxes or flickering lights that hint at wiring issues to resolve before adding smart devices. Our guide to hiring for electrical work explains what to ask, and you can contact us to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best smart switch for most homes?
For most homes, a single-pole Wi-Fi smart switch that matches your voice assistant and wiring is the best start. If the light is controlled from two locations, choose a model that supports 3-way circuits. Matter support adds flexibility across Apple, Amazon, Google and Samsung platforms.
Do smart switches need a neutral wire?
Nine of the ten smart switch listings compared here state that a neutral wire is required. The neutral supplies constant power to the switch's radio. If your switch box has no neutral, look for a no-neutral model or have an electrician assess the wiring.
Can a smart switch replace a 3-way switch?
Only if it is designed for 3-way use. On this shelf, the Leviton Decora Smart models are the only listings that describe 3-way support. A single-pole smart switch will not work correctly on either side of a 3-way circuit.
What is the difference between a smart switch and a smart plug?
A smart switch replaces the wall switch and controls hardwired lights. A smart plug sits in an outlet and controls whatever is plugged into it, such as a lamp. Smart plugs need no wiring, but they cannot control ceiling fixtures or porch lights.
Is it safe to install a smart switch yourself?
Many homeowners do, with the breaker off and the circuit tested dead first. Stop and call an electrician if you find no neutral, no ground, aluminum or cloth-insulated wiring, or heat damage. The NFPA advises having electrical work done by a qualified electrician.
References
- Smart Home Tips for Saving Energy — ENERGY STAR
- Electrical Safety in the Home — National Fire Protection Association
- Electrical Safety Overview — Occupational Safety and Health Administration
- Appliance and Electrical Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration