Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Smart Smoke Detectors (2026): 6 App-Connected Picks

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Yosuke Ota

The best smart smoke detector does everything a good conventional smoke alarm does, and then tells your phone about it. That second job is the reason to buy one: a local siren in an empty house warns nobody, while an app alert reaches you at work, on vacation or at a rental you manage. The details that separate smart alarms are how they connect (Wi-Fi, a gateway hub or Matter over Thread), whether they interconnect so every alarm in the house sounds together, what certification each listing actually names, and whether the app needs a subscription. This guide compares six app-connected alarms on those points. For conventional alarms and sensor-type basics, start with our best smoke detector roundup.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for smart smoke and smoke-and-CO alarms on what each listing states: app or platform, power source, interconnect method, voice alerts, sensor type, certifications named, end-of-life signaling and any subscription. Two listings are not app-connected smoke alarms, an interconnected X-Sense combo without Wi-Fi and a plug-in Kidde CO-only alarm, so 11 listings are true smart smoke alarms. We did not test any alarm with smoke or CO, or use any app hands-on. Prices and plan terms change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best smart smoke detectors by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Kidde 30CUAR-WHardwired smart smoke and CO
  • Names UL 217 and UL 2034
  • Hush false alarms from the phone
  • One unit relays hardwired alarms
$74.97as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Kidde RGCUDR-RW (Ring)Battery smart combo, no wiring
  • Ring app alerts, no plan needed
  • Wire-free interconnect
  • Low-level CO mobile alerts
$69.97as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Heiman S1-R 6-Pack + GatewayWhole-home battery kit
  • Names UL 217 10th Edition
  • 10-year CR123A battery
  • Interconnects locally without Wi-Fi
$175.99as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
First Alert SC5 HardwireReplacing a Nest Protect
  • Compatible with Nest Protect
  • Voice says type and location
  • Quick Connect plug
$128.79as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Heiman S1-TM MatterApple Home and Matter homes
  • Matter over Thread, no Wi-Fi
  • Temperature and humidity sensor
  • Names UL 217 10th Edition
$44.98as of Oct 19, 2026 8:58 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Kidde 20SAR-WHardwired smoke-only on a budget
  • End-of-life alarm at 10 years
  • Hush from the phone
  • Names UL 217 8th and 9th Ed.
$54.97as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The six picks, compared listing by listing

1. Kidde 30CUAR-W — Best Hardwired Smart Smoke and CO Alarm

Best overall smart alarmKidde 30CUAR-W

Hardwired smoke and CO alarm with Kidde app alerts, phone hush, voice alerts, AA backup and UL 217 and UL 2034 named.

Check price on Amazon$74.97 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Names both UL 217 and UL 2034
  • Silence a false alarm from your phone
  • One smart unit relays the whole hardwired set
  • AA battery backup during outages
Specification Details
Detection Smoke and carbon monoxide; sensing tuned to cut cooking nuisance alarms
Power Hardwired with AA battery backup
App Kidde app; real-time smoke, CO and low-battery alerts; hush from the phone; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Whole home Adding one Kidde smart alarm gives mobile alerts for every hardwired alarm in the home, per listing
Certification named Latest UL 217, UL 2034 and FCC requirements
Voice / subscription Voice alerts per title; no subscription mentioned

Kidde 30CUAR-W — hardwired + AA backup, smoke + CO, Kidde app, phone hush, voice alerts, UL 217 / UL 2034 / FCC named

One of Only Two Smart Combos Here That Name UL 2034 for CO

Six listings on this shelf detect both smoke and CO. Only two of them name UL 2034, the CO alarm standard: this Kidde 30CUAR-W and the non-smart X-Sense XP0H-WN. The two Ring-enabled Kidde combos name UL 217 and FCC, and the First Alert SC5 listings name no standard at all. The CPSC recommends installing a CO alarm that meets the current UL 2034 standard, so for a smart combo, a listing that names it is the safer buy.

The practical features fit a household that already has hardwired alarms. Kidde says adding one smart alarm gives you phone alerts for every hardwired alarm in the home, so you do not have to replace every unit at once. You can also hush a cooking false alarm from your phone rather than climbing on a chair, which the USFA says is far better than pulling the battery.

The limits: it needs an existing hardwired circuit, its whole-home relay depends on Kidde’s own interconnect, and it uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The USFA says only qualified electricians should install hardwired smoke alarms.

Pros

  • Names UL 217 and UL 2034
  • Phone hush and real-time alerts
  • Relays alerts from other hardwired alarms

Cons

  • Requires hardwiring
  • Best with other Kidde alarms
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only

Check Kidde 30CUAR-W price on Amazon

2. Kidde RGCUDR-RW (Ring) — Best Battery Smart Combo With No Wiring

Best battery smart comboKidde RGCUDR-RW (Ring)

AA-powered smoke and CO alarm with Ring app alerts, wire-free interconnect, voice alerts and low-level CO alerts.

Check price on Amazon$69.97 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • No wiring, runs on two AA batteries
  • Ring app alerts with no subscription
  • Wire-free interconnect with other Kidde alarms
  • Mobile alerts for low CO levels
Specification Details
Detection Smoke and carbon monoxide; low-level CO mobile alerts
Power Two AA alkaline batteries (included)
App Ring app smoke, CO and low-battery alerts with no subscription; Alexa notifications
Monitoring Optional paid Ring plan adds 24/7 smoke and CO monitoring
Interconnect Wire-free; when one Kidde alarm sounds, they all do (see user guide)
Certification named UL 217 and FCC; UL 2034 not named in listing

Kidde RGCUDR-RW — 2x AA, smoke + CO, Ring app (no plan for alerts), optional monitoring, wire-free interconnect, UL 217 / FCC

The Only Smart Combo Here That Installs With No Wiring and Adds Optional Monitoring

Four listings on the shelf work with the Ring app, and this RGCUDR-RW is the only one that combines smoke and CO detection with battery power, so it goes on any ceiling with two screws. Ring alerts for smoke, CO and low battery need no subscription, and Ring sells an optional 24/7 monitoring plan for those who want a call center watching. No other brand on the shelf mentions professional monitoring.

Wire-free interconnect is the other strength for older homes without hardwired alarms. NFPA says interconnection can be done with hard-wiring or wireless technology and that interconnected alarms should come from the same manufacturer, which fits here: the interconnect works with other Kidde alarms.

The caution is the same one we flagged on the hardwired Ring model in our CO roundup: the listing names UL 217 and FCC but not UL 2034. Confirm the CO certification on the box before treating it as your CO alarm. AA cells also need replacing, unlike sealed 10-year batteries.

Pros

  • No wiring needed
  • Free Ring alerts, optional monitoring
  • Wireless interconnect

Cons

  • UL 2034 not named in listing
  • Replaceable AA batteries
  • Ties alarms to one app ecosystem

Check Kidde RGCUDR-RW (Ring) price on Amazon

3. Heiman S1-R 6-Pack + Gateway — Best Whole-Home Battery Kit

Best whole-home kitHeiman S1-R 6-Pack + Gateway

Six photoelectric smoke alarms with 10-year batteries that interconnect locally, plus a Wi-Fi gateway for phone alerts.

Check price on Amazon$175.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Six alarms plus gateway in one box
  • Interconnects even without Wi-Fi
  • 10-year battery, no yearly swaps
  • Names UL 217 10th Edition and CSFM
  • End-of-life warnings stated
Specification Details
Kit Six S1-R smoke alarms plus WS3GW-R gateway
Sensor Dual-beam photoelectric (smoke only)
Power 10-year CR123A lithium battery in each alarm
Interconnect Local wireless interconnect without Wi-Fi; up to 24 alarms; gateway adds phone and email alerts on 2.4 GHz
Certification named UL 217 10th Edition, CSFM and FCC
Alarm / warranty 85 dB siren, LED, test/silence; low-battery, fault and end-of-life warnings; 10-year limited warranty

Heiman S1-R kit — 6 photoelectric alarms + gateway, 10-yr CR123A, local RF interconnect to 24, UL 217 10th / CSFM, 10-yr warranty

The Only Kit Here That Keeps Interconnecting if the Wi-Fi Goes Down

Most smart alarms here rely on Wi-Fi or a hub for their smart features. The Heiman S1-R listing describes two layers: the alarms interconnect directly with each other by radio, so when one detects smoke they all sound even without Wi-Fi, and the gateway adds phone alerts on top. That separation matters, because the fire safety job keeps working if the router is down.

It is also the only multi-alarm smart kit on the shelf, with six alarms and a gateway, and it names UL 217 10th Edition, the most specific smoke standard edition stated here alongside its Matter sibling. The 10-year sealed battery removes yearly battery changes; NFPA says to replace the whole alarm right away if a 10-year battery alarm chirps low.

One wording issue: the listing calls the dual-beam photoelectric sensor a “dual sensor” detector. That is not the same as the dual-sensor alarms the USFA describes, which combine ionization and photoelectric sensors. The S1-R is photoelectric only. For the tradeoffs, see our guide to ionization vs photoelectric smoke detectors.

Pros

  • Interconnect works without Wi-Fi
  • Six alarms, 10-year batteries
  • UL 217 10th Edition named

Cons

  • Smoke only, no CO
  • “Dual sensor” wording is misleading
  • Lesser-known app ecosystem

Check Heiman S1-R 6-Pack + Gateway price on Amazon

4. First Alert SC5 Hardwire — Best for Replacing a Nest Protect

Best Nest Protect replacementFirst Alert SC5 Hardwire

Hardwired smart smoke and CO alarm compatible with Nest Protect, with voice location alerts and a Quick Connect plug.

Check price on Amazon$128.79 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Works alongside existing Nest Protect alarms
  • Voice says the danger and the room
  • Quick Connect plug, no rewiring
  • Battery backup during outages
Specification Details
Detection Smoke and carbon monoxide; Precision Detection to reduce nuisance alarms
Power Hardwired with battery backup
App / compatibility First Alert app alerts; compatible with Google’s Nest Protect
Voice Heads-Up voice warning names the type and location of danger
Installation Quick Connect Plug for replacements without rewiring
Certification named Not stated in listing

First Alert SC5 hardwire (SMCO600NV-AC) — smoke + CO, app alerts, Nest Protect compatible, voice location alerts, Quick Connect

The Only Listing That States Nest Protect Compatibility

Homes that installed Google Nest Protect alarms years ago face a replacement question as those units age. The two First Alert SC5 listings, battery and hardwired, are the only ones on the shelf that state compatibility with Nest Protect, which makes the hardwired SC5 the natural pick for swapping one unit at a time.

Its voice alerts are the most descriptive stated here: the Heads-Up warning says what the danger is and where it is in the home. A half-awake household benefits from hearing “smoke in the basement” instead of a generic siren. The Quick Connect Plug is meant to speed replacements without rewiring.

The gap is certification wording. The listing does not name UL 217 or UL 2034. NFPA advises choosing alarms that carry the label of a recognized testing laboratory, so check the back of the alarm or the box for the listing mark before installing.

Pros

  • Nest Protect compatible
  • Voice alerts with location
  • Quick Connect for easier swaps

Cons

  • No UL standard named in listing
  • Sensor type not stated
  • Hardwiring needed

Check First Alert SC5 Hardwire price on Amazon

5. Heiman S1-TM Matter — Best for Apple Home and Matter Smart Homes

Best for Matter smart homesHeiman S1-TM Matter

Battery photoelectric smoke alarm on Matter over Thread with a temperature and humidity sensor; names UL 217 10th.

Check price on Amazon$44.98 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:58 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Works with Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa
  • Runs local automations with no Wi-Fi
  • Adds temperature and humidity readings
  • Names UL 217 10th Edition
Specification Details
Platform Matter over Thread; Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings, Homey, Home Assistant
Requirement Compatible Matter hub with a Thread Border Router (listing names supported hubs)
Sensor Dual-beam photoelectric smoke, plus temperature and humidity
Power Battery (included)
Certification named UL 217 10th Edition, CSFM, FCC; UL94 V-0 housing
Alarm 85 dB, LED, one-touch test and silence

Heiman S1-TM — Matter over Thread, photoelectric + temp/humidity, battery, UL 217 10th / CSFM, needs Thread Border Router

The Only Smart Smoke Alarm Here With a Built-In Climate Sensor

Two Heiman listings run on Matter over Thread, which lets the alarm join Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa and other platforms without its own Wi-Fi connection. The S1-TM is the one that adds a temperature and humidity sensor, readable remotely in the app, which is handy for a vacation home where a furnace failure or a humid basement is the worry.

Matter has a hard requirement the listing states clearly: you need a compatible hub with a Thread Border Router, such as recent HomePod, Nest Hub or Echo models named in the listing. Without one, the smart features do not work. The listing also mentions using the alarm to trigger offline routines, such as turning on lights.

It is smoke only, with no CO sensor, and the listing does not describe interconnect between multiple S1-TM alarms or state battery life.

Pros

  • Broad smart-home compatibility
  • Temperature and humidity monitoring
  • UL 217 10th Edition named

Cons

  • Requires a Thread Border Router
  • Smoke only, no CO
  • Interconnect and battery life not stated

Check Heiman S1-TM Matter price on Amazon

6. Kidde 20SAR-W — Best Hardwired Smoke-Only Smart Alarm

Best hardwired smoke-onlyKidde 20SAR-W

Hardwired smart smoke alarm with Kidde app alerts, phone hush, AA backup and a 10-year end-of-life alarm.

Check price on Amazon$54.97 as of Oct 20, 2026 7:08 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • States a 10-year end-of-life alarm
  • Hush false alarms from the phone
  • Relays alerts for other hardwired alarms
  • Names UL 217 8th and 9th Editions
Specification Details
Detection Smoke only
Power Hardwired with AA backup battery
App Kidde app; smoke and low-battery alerts; hush from phone; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Whole home One Kidde smart alarm gives mobile alerts for every hardwired alarm, per listing
End of life Beeps to signal replacement 10 years after power-on
Certification named UL 217 8th and 9th Edition, FCC

Kidde 20SAR-W — hardwired + AA, smoke only, Kidde app, phone hush, 10-year end-of-life alarm, UL 217 8th / 9th Ed.

The Only Smart Listing That Spells Out a 10-Year End-of-Life Alarm

Smoke alarms wear out. The USFA says to replace hardwired smoke alarms every 10 years, and many homeowners forget when theirs went up. The 20SAR-W is the only smart listing on the shelf that describes an end-of-life alarm, beeping 10 years after it is powered on. The Heiman S1-R mentions life-end warnings without a timeline.

It is the smoke-only sibling of our top pick and shares its whole-home trick: one smart unit relays phone alerts from the other hardwired alarms on the circuit. For a home that already has CO alarms elsewhere, it is a lower-cost way to make an existing hardwired smoke system smart.

The listing names the 8th and 9th Editions of UL 217 rather than the current 10th that Heiman names, and it detects smoke only. Our hardwired smoke detector guide covers compatibility with existing wiring.

Pros

  • Clear 10-year end-of-life alarm
  • Phone hush and alerts
  • Makes a hardwired set smart

Cons

  • Smoke only
  • Names older UL 217 editions
  • Requires hardwiring

Check Kidde 20SAR-W price on Amazon

Two listings we set aside

The X-Sense XP0H-WN three-pack is a solid interconnected smoke and CO combo that names UL 217 and UL 2034 and uses a sealed 10-year battery, but its listing states it has no Wi-Fi and cannot connect to a base station, so it does not send phone alerts. The Kidde COPDW is a smart plug-in CO alarm with app alerts, a backlit display and UL 2034 5th Edition named, but it detects CO only. Both are good products for different jobs; neither is a smart smoke alarm.

How smart smoke alarms connect

Direct Wi-Fi

The Kidde and First Alert models connect to your home Wi-Fi, usually 2.4 GHz, and send alerts through the brand’s app. Simple, but smart alerts stop if the router or internet is down. The alarm itself still sounds.

Gateway or hub

The Heiman S1-R uses a gateway that talks to the alarms by radio and to your network by Wi-Fi. The alarms keep interconnecting even if the gateway or Wi-Fi fails.

Matter over Thread

The Heiman Matter models join a Thread network through a border router, and then show up in Apple Home, Google Home or Alexa. Good for mixed-platform homes, but you must already own a compatible hub.

Whatever the connection, the alarm’s local siren is the core safety function, and app alerts are a bonus. The USFA notes that when a smoke alarm sounds, you may have less than two minutes to get everyone outside.

Interconnection: the feature that matters most

The USFA and NFPA both recommend interconnected smoke alarms, so when one sounds they all sound. NFPA adds that interconnection can be hardwired or wireless and that interconnected alarms should be from the same manufacturer, since incompatible alarms may not work together. That has a practical consequence for smart alarms: plan to stay within one brand’s family. A Kidde smart alarm relays other Kidde alarms; a First Alert SC5 interconnects with compatible First Alert and Nest Protect alarms; Heiman alarms interconnect with Heiman.

Our guide to interconnected smoke detectors goes deeper on wired versus wireless links.

Reading UL 217 and certification wording

UL 217 is the standard for residential smoke alarms, and UL 2034 covers CO alarms. NFPA’s advice is to choose alarms that carry the label of a recognized testing laboratory, and the CPSC recommends CO alarms that meet the current UL 2034 standard. Listing wording on this shelf varies widely:

  • Ten of the 13 listings name UL 217 in some form. The two First Alert SC5 listings and the CO-only Kidde COPDW do not.
  • Of the six smoke-and-CO combos, only the Kidde 30CUAR-W and the X-Sense name UL 2034.
  • Specific editions appear on the Heiman listings (UL 217 10th) and the Kidde 20SAR-W (8th and 9th).

Vague wording does not prove a product lacks a listing, but confirm the mark on the alarm or the packaging before you install it.

Placement, power and replacement

NFPA says to install smoke alarms inside each bedroom, outside each sleeping area and on every level, including the basement, and on levels without bedrooms in the living room or near the stairway. The USFA adds that alarms belong on the ceiling or high on the wall. Our smoke detector placement guide covers distances from kitchens and bathrooms, which matters because steam and cooking cause most nuisance alarms.

Test every alarm monthly, smart or not. The USFA advises replacing 9-volt batteries at least yearly, replacing hardwired backup batteries yearly and replacing hardwired and 9-volt alarms every 10 years, while 10-year lithium alarms are replaced per the manufacturer’s instructions. If an alarm starts chirping, our smoke detector chirping guide explains what the patterns mean.

For CO alarms in combos, the CDC advises installing battery-operated or battery-backup CO detectors near every sleeping area and replacing them per the manufacturer’s instructions. Front Range homes with gas furnaces, gas water heaters and attached garages should have CO coverage on every level.

Subscriptions and privacy

None of the picks requires a subscription for phone alerts. Ring sells optional 24/7 monitoring for its Kidde alarms. Smart alarms do create an account and a data trail with the brand; review the app’s privacy settings and use a strong password. We report what the listings state about apps and have not verified any brand’s data practices.

When to call a professional

Hire an electrician for any new hardwired alarm circuit, and for replacements where the existing wiring is old, damaged or a different brand’s connector. If an alarm sounds and you cannot find a source, or a CO alarm activates, get everyone out and call for help from outside. A home inspection checks alarm coverage, age and placement, which is useful when buying an older house. See our home inspection tools pillar for more, and Front Range buyers and owners can reach a vetted local inspector through our contact page.

Frequently asked questions

Are smart smoke detectors worth it?

They are worth it when nobody is home to hear a local siren, such as for travelers, landlords and second-home owners. A smart alarm sends phone alerts and often lets you hush false alarms from your phone. The alarm's siren and interconnection still do the core safety job, so choose those first.

Do smart smoke detectors need a subscription?

None of the picks in this guide needs a subscription for app alerts. Ring sells optional 24/7 professional monitoring for its Kidde smart alarms, but alerts work without it. Check each brand's current terms, since app features can change.

Do smart smoke alarms work if the Wi-Fi goes down?

The local siren still works, and interconnected alarms still sound together if they use hardwired or direct radio links. Phone alerts stop until Wi-Fi returns. The Heiman S1-R kit states its alarms interconnect locally without Wi-Fi, and the gateway adds alerts on top.

What does UL 217 mean on a smoke detector?

UL 217 is the safety standard for residential smoke alarms. NFPA advises choosing alarms that carry a recognized testing laboratory's label. For smoke and CO combos, look for UL 2034 as well, which the CPSC recommends for CO alarms. Several smart combo listings here name only UL 217.

Can I mix smart smoke detector brands?

Generally no. NFPA says interconnected smoke alarms should be from the same manufacturer, because incompatible alarms may not work together. Choose one brand family, such as Kidde, First Alert with Nest Protect or Heiman, and expand within it.

References