Best Smart Locks (2026): 7 Picks Compared by Door and Use
The best smart lock for a house is the one that fits the door you already have, keeps working through a Front Range cold snap, and still lets you in when its batteries die. Beyond that, the choice comes down to how you want to unlock (code, fingerprint, palm, phone), whether the lock talks to Wi-Fi on its own or needs a gateway, and who else needs access: kids, a dog walker, short-term rental guests. Seven picks follow, from a no-app keypad deadbolt to a contactless palm reader, then a buying guide on door fit, BHMA grades, batteries, connectivity and fire-safe egress.
Part of our Home Electrical guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for electronic deadbolts and keypad handle sets on what each listing states: unlock methods, Wi-Fi or gateway requirements, door thickness, bore and backset fit, BHMA or ANSI grade, battery type and life, emergency power, weather rating and warranty. We did not install, lab-test or handle any of these locks. One model appears twice in two finishes, so the 13 listings cover 12 distinct locks. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best smart locks by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schlage Encode | Best overall smart deadbolt |
| $229.00as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| eufy Smart Lock C220 | Fingerprint lock with built-in Wi-Fi |
| $99.97as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Wyze Palm Lock | Contactless biometric entry |
| $129.98as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Wyze Lock Bolt v2 | Dead-battery backup |
| $79.00as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Philips DDL242X-1HW | Thick doors and travel |
| $84.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Veise VE06-L | Rentals and landlords |
| $78.22as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| TEEHO TE001 | No-app keypad deadbolt |
| $35.98as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The 7 picks, compared listing by listing
1. Schlage Encode BE489WB — Best Overall Smart Deadbolt

Built-in Wi-Fi touchscreen deadbolt with up to 100 codes, forced-entry alarm, 4 AA batteries and a backup key included.
Check price on Amazon$229.00 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that states backset as well as door thickness
- Wi-Fi built in, no gateway or bridge
- Batteries and a backup key in the box
- Lifetime mechanical warranty, 3 years on electronics
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | Touchscreen code, Schlage Home app, voice via Alexa or Google, physical key |
| Connectivity | Built-in Wi-Fi; Ring and Airbnb compatibility named in title |
| Door fit | Doors 1-3/8 to 1-3/4 in thick; 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 in backset |
| Security rating | Listing says BHMA certified it at the highest residential security, durability and finish rating |
| Power | Four AA batteries, included; up to 6 months typical use; low-battery alerts on lock and app |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime mechanical and finish; limited 3-year electronics |
Schlage Encode BE489WB — Wi-Fi touchscreen deadbolt, 100 codes, alarm, 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 backset, 4xAA included, backup key
The Only Listing That States Backset and Claims BHMA’s Top Residential Rating
Door fit is where smart lock purchases go wrong, and backset (the distance from the door edge to the center of the bore hole) is the measurement buyers most often forget. Five listings on this shelf state a door thickness range and five state a bore size, but the Schlage Encode is the only one that states backset, covering both common US sizes. That alone makes it the safest buy for a standard exterior door.
Eight of the 13 listings mention BHMA or ANSI certification. Most name Grade 3, the entry level for residential locks. Schlage’s listing says BHMA rated it at the highest residential level for security, durability and finish, without naming the grade in the bullets; confirm the marking on the box or the BHMA certification directory if grade matters to you.
It is also one of 6 listings with Wi-Fi built in, one of only two that include batteries, and it adds a built-in alarm for door movement and forced-entry attempts. What it lacks is biometrics: the touchscreen is fingerprint-resistant, not a fingerprint reader. Its claimed battery life, up to six months, ties for the shortest among the Wi-Fi models.
Pros
- Backset and thickness both stated
- Built-in Wi-Fi, 100 codes
- Batteries and backup key included
- Lifetime mechanical warranty
Cons
- No fingerprint reader
- Up to 6 months battery life
- Grade not named in bullets
Check Schlage Encode price on Amazon
2. eufy Security C220 — Best Fingerprint Lock With Built-In Wi-Fi

Fingerprint deadbolt with built-in Wi-Fi, six unlock methods, BHMA Grade 3, IP53 and a -22 to 158 F operating range.
Check price on Amazon$99.97 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Fingerprint, keypad, app, key, watch and voice
- Wi-Fi built in, no bridge needed
- Rated to operate down to -22 degrees F
- BHMA Grade 3 after 100,000 cycles
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | Fingerprint, keypad, eufy Security app, physical key, Apple Watch, Alexa or Google voice |
| Connectivity | Built-in Wi-Fi; links with eufy doorbells in the same app |
| Door fit | Fits most standard deadbolt preps; bores under 54 mm by removing a spacer; no drilling |
| Rating / weather | BHMA Grade 3 (100,000 lock cycles); IP53; operating range -22 to 158 degrees F |
| Power | Eight AA batteries; around 8 months, varying with use |
| Security alerts | Alarm on unusual opening attempts |
eufy C220 (T8506) — fingerprint + Wi-Fi deadbolt, 6 unlock methods, 8xAA ~8 months, BHMA Grade 3, IP53, -22 to 158 F
The Only Built-In Wi-Fi Fingerprint Lock That States a Cold-Weather Operating Range
Seven listings on the shelf have fingerprint readers, and six have Wi-Fi built in. Only two listings anywhere state an operating temperature range: the eufy C220 and the Veise VE017, which needs a separate gateway for remote access. That makes the C220 the only fingerprint lock here that combines direct Wi-Fi with a stated low of -22 degrees F, a useful number for an exterior keypad on a north-facing door in Castle Rock or Evergreen.
It is also one of two listings that mention Apple Watch unlocking, and it names its certification precisely: BHMA Grade 3 after more than 100,000 lock-and-unlock cycles, plus IP53 weather resistance. Eight AA cells give a claimed eight months, longer than the Schlage’s six.
Gaps to note. The listing gives a bore limit but not door thickness or backset, so measure before buying. It does not say whether the eight AA batteries are included. And Grade 3 is the base residential level, not the top.
Pros
- Fingerprint with direct Wi-Fi
- Stated -22 F operating low
- Six ways to unlock
- BHMA Grade 3 and IP53 named
Cons
- Door thickness and backset not stated
- Battery inclusion not stated
- Grade 3, the entry residential level
Check eufy Smart Lock C220 price on Amazon
3. Wyze Palm Lock — Best Contactless Biometric Entry

Palm-vein smart lock with Wi-Fi, dual batteries, USB-C emergency power, gyroscope auto-lock and door-ajar alarm.
Check price on Amazon$129.98 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Reads palm veins with no touch needed
- Backup battery behind the main battery
- Gyroscope auto-locks once the door is closed
- Chirps if the door is left ajar
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | Palm vein, keypad (up to 50 codes), Wyze app, Alexa or Google voice, mechanical key |
| Power | Main battery rated about 6 months plus a 2-week secondary; USB-C emergency charging |
| Auto-lock | Built-in gyroscope detects door position before locking |
| Alerts | Tamper alarm after repeated wrong attempts; door-ajar chirp |
| Rating / weather | BHMA Grade 3; IP53 |
| Door fit | Not stated in listing |
Wyze Palm Lock (WPLCK1) — palm vein + keypad + app, Wi-Fi, dual battery + USB-C, gyroscope auto-lock, BHMA 3, IP53
The Only Palm Reader, and the Only Lock With a Backup Battery Built In
Every other biometric lock here reads a fingertip. Wyze’s is the only listing that reads the vein pattern in a hovering palm. That suits households where fingerprints are unreliable, such as people with worn or dry skin in a Colorado winter, or anyone coming in with gloves half off and hands full of groceries.
It is also the only listing with two batteries: a main pack rated around six months and a secondary rated for about two weeks. If both drain, a USB-C port takes emergency power from a power bank. Three listings on the shelf offer USB-C emergency power, but only this one adds a second internal battery first. A millimeter-wave sensor wakes the lock only when a person is present, which is how Wyze says it saves power.
The gyroscope auto-lock is a thoughtful touch, since it waits until the door is actually closed rather than throwing the bolt into the jamb on a timer. What the listing omits is door fit: no thickness, bore or backset. Check Wyze’s fit guide before ordering.
Pros
- Contactless palm recognition
- Main plus backup battery, USB-C port
- Door-aware auto-lock and ajar alarm
- Mechanical key behind a cover
Cons
- Door fit not stated
- Grade 3, IP53
- Rechargeable pack type not detailed
Check Wyze Palm Lock price on Amazon
4. Wyze Lock Bolt v2 — Best Dead-Battery Backup

Wi-Fi fingerprint deadbolt with 8 AA batteries included, up to 8 months, USB-C emergency power and backup keys.
Check price on Amazon$79.00 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Eight AA batteries included
- USB-C port powers it from a power bank
- Physical backup keys as a last resort
- Built-in Wi-Fi with app control
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | Fingerprint (about 0.5 s), Wyze app, code with anti-peep keypad, physical keys |
| Power | Eight AA batteries included; up to 8 months; USB-C emergency power input |
| Connectivity | Built-in Wi-Fi; unlock from a Wyze Video Doorbell live feed |
| Scanner | Tempered-glass sensor described as scratch- and smudge-resistant |
| Rating / weather | Title lists BHMA2 and IP53; grade not explained in bullets |
| Door fit | Not stated in listing |
Wyze Lock Bolt v2 (WLCKB2) — fingerprint + Wi-Fi deadbolt, 8xAA included, ~8 months, USB-C emergency, IP53
One of Two Listings With Batteries Included, and the Only One That Adds USB-C Emergency Power
Lockout from a dead battery is the classic smart-lock fear. Wyze’s Bolt v2 covers it three ways: it ships with all eight AA cells (only it and the Schlage include batteries), it takes emergency power through a USB-C port if those cells die, and it keeps physical keys as the final fallback. No other listing combines included batteries with a USB-C port.
It also brings fingerprint unlocking and direct Wi-Fi together, which only a handful of listings do. Pairing with a Wyze Video Doorbell lets you see who is at the door and unlock from the same screen, useful for letting in a contractor while you are at work.
The rating needs care. The title says “BHMA2,” which may refer to Grade 2, but the bullets never explain it, so verify the grade on packaging if it matters. Like its palm-reader sibling, the listing gives no door thickness, bore or backset.
Pros
- Batteries included
- USB-C emergency power
- Fingerprint plus Wi-Fi
- Backup keys
Cons
- BHMA grade unclear from bullets
- Door fit not stated
- Eight cells to replace at once
Check Wyze Lock Bolt v2 price on Amazon
5. Philips DDL242X-1HW — Best for Thick Doors and Travel

Wi-Fi fingerprint deadbolt for doors up to 2 in thick, with up to 100 custom codes, real-time alerts and an Away Mode.
Check price on Amazon$84.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Fits doors from 1-3/8 to 2 inches thick
- Away Mode allows only the master code
- Up to 100 custom codes plus scheduled codes
- Wi-Fi built in, no hub
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | App, passcode, fingerprint, physical key, Alexa or Google voice |
| Connectivity | Built-in 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; keep router within about 65 ft |
| Codes | Up to 100 custom codes; unlimited one-time or scheduled codes |
| Door fit | Doors 1-3/8 to 2 in (38 to 50 mm) thick |
| Power | AA alkaline only; batteries not included |
| Auto-lock | 10 to 180 seconds; no door sensor |
Philips DDL242X-1HW — Wi-Fi fingerprint deadbolt, 100 codes, Away Mode, doors to 2 in, AA alkaline (not included)
The Only Built-In Wi-Fi Lock Here Rated for Doors Up to 2 Inches Thick
Many custom and older Front Range homes have solid entry doors thicker than the common 1-3/4 inches. Three listings state support up to 2 inches; this Philips is the only one of them with Wi-Fi built in, since the two Veise locks need a gateway. The Philips model with a matching lever (also on the shelf) lists a 1-3/4-inch maximum instead.
Away Mode is the other reason to pick it. When you leave for a trip, it disables every unlock method except the master code, so a code you handed out last month stops working. Veise’s VE017 offers a similar mode, but without built-in Wi-Fi. Real-time alerts and a full access history show who came and went.
Two cautions from the listing itself. Philips says to use AA alkaline cells only, not rechargeables or high-power lithium, and the batteries are not included. Auto-lock runs on a timer and the lock has no door sensor, so it cannot tell whether the door is actually closed. No BHMA or ANSI grade is stated.
Pros
- Fits doors up to 2 in thick
- Away Mode for trips
- 100 custom codes, scheduled codes
- Built-in Wi-Fi
Cons
- No BHMA or ANSI grade stated
- Batteries not included; alkaline only
- No door sensor for auto-lock
Check Philips Wi-Fi Smart Deadbolt price on Amazon
6. Veise VE06-L — Best for Rentals and Landlords

Keypad deadbolt and lever set managed by app or web portal, 250+ codes, 1,000+ key cards, BHMA/ANSI Grade 3, IP54.
Check price on Amazon$78.22 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Web portal plus app, no subscription fee
- Supports more than 1,000 key cards
- Lever handle set included
- Locks out for 2 minutes after 5 wrong codes
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | Codes, app, web portal, IC cards, e-keys, Apple Watch, physical key |
| Codes | 250+ codes: permanent, scheduled, recurring, one-time; anti-peep entry |
| Remote access | Needs Veise G2 gateway (sold separately) for remote control and voice |
| Door fit | Doors 1-3/8 to 2 in thick; 1-1/2 or 2-1/8 in bore |
| Rating / weather | BHMA/ANSI Grade 3; IP54; zinc alloy |
| Warranty | 1-year limited, plus 1 year with registration |
Veise VE06-L — keypad deadbolt + lever set, app + web portal, 250+ codes, IC cards, Grade 3, IP54, gateway for remote
The Only Listing With Browser-Based Web Portal Management
Managing access across several doors from a phone gets old fast. The VE06-L is the only listing on the shelf that offers a web portal alongside its app, with no subscription fee, which suits a landlord or property manager working from a laptop. It also claims the largest card capacity, more than 1,000 IC cards (the Veise VE017 and Yamiry YR01 mention fobs too), a practical option for tenants or cleaners who should not need an app.
It packages a deadbolt with a matching lever set, one of five listings that include a handle, knob or lever. Privacy, Silent and Passage modes add flexibility for a rental: Passage holds the door unlocked during a move-in. And it states both the door thickness range and both common bore sizes, one of only two listings (with its sibling VE017) to do so.
The catch is remote access. Without the G2 gateway, sold separately, the app works over Bluetooth at the door, not from across town. Four listings on the shelf work this way. Grade 3 and IP54 are solid but not top-tier.
Pros
- Web portal plus app
- Key cards and 250+ codes
- Lever set included
- Thickness and bore both stated
Cons
- Gateway needed for remote access
- Grade 3 only
- Backset not stated
Check Veise VE06-L price on Amazon
7. TEEHO TE001 — Best No-App Keypad Deadbolt

Keypad deadbolt with 20 user codes, one-time guest code, up to 365 days on 4 AA, ANSI Grade 3, IP54 and 2 backup keys.
Check price on Amazon$35.98 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- No Wi-Fi, app or account to manage
- Up to 365 days on four AA cells
- ANSI Grade 3 and IP54 named
- Two backup keys and a 2-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unlock methods | 20 user codes, one-time guest code, physical key |
| Auto-lock | 10 to 99 seconds (off by default); one-touch lock |
| Power | Four AA batteries, not included; up to 365 days; red light below 15 percent |
| Door fit | 2-1/8 in (54 mm) bore only; not for 1-1/2 in (38 mm) holes |
| Rating / weather | ANSI Grade 3; IP54; aluminum alloy |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
TEEHO TE001 — keypad deadbolt, 20 codes + one-time code, 4xAA up to 365 days, 54 mm bore, ANSI Grade 3, IP54
One of Two No-App Keypad Models, and the One That Names a Grade
Not everyone wants a lock that depends on Wi-Fi, an app or a company’s servers. Three listings on the shelf are plain keypad locks with no app at all, covering two models: this TEEHO (in two finishes) and the Yamiry YR04 knob. TEEHO is the one that names a security grade, ANSI Grade 3, and its claimed 365-day battery life is the longest figure here, matched only by Veise’s “about 12 months.”
That simplicity is the point. There is nothing to hack remotely, nothing to update, and nothing that stops working if the router goes down. For a side door, a detached garage or a rental between tenants, 20 codes and a single-use guest code are plenty.
Fit is the main caution: the listing says it only suits 2-1/8-inch bores and will not work in 1-1/2-inch holes. It also needs a reset before first use so it can detect door handing. You lose remote access, logs and alerts, and batteries are not included.
Pros
- No app or Wi-Fi required
- Up to 365 days on 4 AA
- ANSI Grade 3, IP54
- 2-year warranty, two keys
Cons
- No remote access or logs
- 54 mm bore only
- Batteries not included
Check TEEHO TE001 price on Amazon
Measure your door before you buy
Every lock on this list is a full replacement: you remove the existing deadbolt (and sometimes the knob or lever) and install the new unit in the same holes. None of the 13 listings is a retrofit model that clamps over an existing deadbolt’s interior thumb-turn and keeps your current exterior keys, so renters who cannot change the exterior hardware should check with the landlord first. Measure three things:
- Door thickness. Most exterior doors are 1-3/4 inches; many locks fit 1-3/8 to 1-3/4. Thicker custom doors need a lock like the Philips or Veise models rated to 2 inches.
- Bore diameter. The big hole through the door face is usually 2-1/8 inches. Some locks also fit 1-1/2 inches; TEEHO fits only 2-1/8.
- Backset. Measure from the door edge to the center of the bore: 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inches. Only Schlage states backset; for the rest, check the installation guide.
Also check that the deadbolt throws smoothly by hand before installing anything. A bolt that drags on the strike plate will drain batteries and jam motorized locks. If the door has sagged or the latch does not line up, fix that first; our guide to a door that won’t latch walks through the usual causes. For step-by-step fitting, see smart lock installation and our general deadbolt installation guide.
BHMA and ANSI grades: what the listings do and do not say
BHMA (the Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association) certifies residential locks under ANSI/BHMA standards and grades them, with Grade 1 the toughest and Grade 3 the entry level for residential use. Eight of the 13 listings mention BHMA or ANSI. Most name Grade 3; the Wyze Bolt v2 title says “BHMA2” without explanation, and Schlage claims the highest residential rating without naming a grade in its bullets. Four listings say nothing about certification at all.
Treat a grade as one input, not the whole story. A Grade 3 lock in a solid door with a reinforced strike plate and long screws into the framing can be more secure than a higher-grade lock in a weak frame. If your jamb is split or soft, repairing the frame is the better place to start.
Connectivity: Wi-Fi, gateway or keypad only
Built-in Wi-Fi
Six listings (Schlage, eufy, both Philips models and both Wyze locks) connect straight to a 2.4 GHz home network. You get remote lock and unlock, logs and alerts with no extra hardware. The trade-off is battery life and a need for a decent signal at the door; Philips advises keeping its lock within about 65 feet of the router.
Bluetooth with an optional gateway
Four listings (Yamiry YR01, both Veise locks and Ulecoce) work over Bluetooth at the door and need a separately sold gateway for remote control and voice assistants. That can be cheaper and easier on batteries if you rarely need remote access.
Keypad only
Three listings have no app at all. They are the simplest and most private option, with nothing to update, but also no logs or remote help.
No listing on this shelf mentions Matter, Thread, Z-Wave, Zigbee or Apple Home. If you run one of those ecosystems, look beyond this group. ENERGY STAR notes that smart security devices can be added to its certified smart home energy management packages, and that connected devices can be managed remotely from a phone. Pairing a lock with a video doorbell is the most practical integration here; see our best doorbell camera roundup.
Batteries, cold weather and getting in when the power dies
Every lock here runs on AA batteries or an internal pack, so a power outage does not affect it. Dead batteries do. Stated battery life ranges from up to six months (Schlage, Philips handle model, Wyze Palm’s main pack) to up to a year (TEEHO, Veise VE017), and every brand notes it varies with use. Exterior keypads on cold Front Range doors work harder in January, so treat the figures as a best case and replace cells at the first low-battery warning.
Know your backup before you need it. Twelve of the 13 listings mention a physical key (the Philips handle-set listing does not say), and three add a USB-C port for emergency power. Keep the key somewhere outside the house you can reach, such as a trusted neighbor or a locked vehicle, not in a drawer inside. Philips says to use alkaline AA cells only, which is worth following for any lock whose manual says the same.
When you change batteries, dispose of the old ones properly. The EPA says alkaline cells can go in household trash in most communities but recommends battery recycling where available, and lithium cells should never go in the trash.
Fire safety and egress
A lock must never slow your family’s escape. The NFPA and U.S. Fire Administration both advise mapping two ways out of every room and making sure doors and windows can be opened easily, and the NFPA notes a fire can leave as little as one or two minutes to escape once the smoke alarm sounds. Smart deadbolts like these normally keep a thumb-turn or lever on the inside, but confirm it on the model you choose, and never install a lock that requires a code or key to get out. Walk through your escape plan after installation with everyone in the home, including kids who need to know how the inside turn works.
Winter adds one more check: weatherstripping. A smart lock installed on a door that does not close tightly fights the strike plate and wastes heat. Our guide to weatherstripping doors covers the fix.
When to call a pro
Most of these locks install with a screwdriver into existing holes. Call a locksmith or carpenter if the door needs a new bore or a deeper edge bore, if the frame is cracked or the strike area is damaged, or if a thick or steel door does not match any lock’s stated fit. For a home purchase, a home inspector notes doors that bind, damaged frames and exterior doors that do not latch, which are the same problems that make smart locks fail. Our guide to hiring a home inspector explains the process, and you can contact us to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best smart lock for a front door?
For most front doors, a deadbolt with built-in Wi-Fi, a stated door fit that matches your door and a physical key backup is the safest choice. Measure thickness, bore and backset before buying. Fingerprint models add convenience, and plain keypad models suit homeowners who do not want an app.
Do smart locks still work when the power goes out?
Yes. Smart locks run on batteries, not house power, so an outage does not stop the keypad or fingerprint reader. Wi-Fi remote control stops if the router loses power. Dead batteries are the real risk, which is why physical keys and USB-C emergency ports matter.
What does BHMA Grade 3 mean on a smart lock?
BHMA grades residential locks under ANSI/BHMA standards, with Grade 1 the toughest and Grade 3 the entry level for residential use. Many smart locks are Grade 3. The door, frame and strike plate installation matter as much as the grade.
Can renters install a smart lock?
Every lock in this roundup replaces the existing deadbolt, so renters should get the landlord's permission first and keep the original hardware to reinstall when moving out. None of the listings compared here is a retrofit model that keeps the existing exterior deadbolt and keys.
How long do smart lock batteries last?
The listings compared here claim anywhere from about six months to a year, depending on the model and how often the lock is used. Wi-Fi models generally claim shorter life than keypad-only models. Replace batteries at the first low-battery warning and keep a physical key accessible from outside.
References
- Home Fire Escape Planning — National Fire Protection Association
- Home Fire Escape Plans — U.S. Fire Administration
- Used Household Batteries — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Smart Home Tips for Saving Energy — ENERGY STAR
Buying a Front Range home and want the doors, frames and locks checked along with everything else? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.