Best Doorbell Cameras (2026): 7 Wired and Battery Picks
Choosing the best doorbell camera starts at the doorframe, not the spec sheet. If the house already has doorbell wiring and a working chime, a wired video doorbell gets steady power and never needs charging. If there is no wiring, or the old button sits on brick or stucco you would rather not touch, a battery model is the easier path. After power come chime support, how video is stored and what a subscription unlocks, and those vary more between listings than resolution does. Below are seven picks matched to specific doors and households, then a buying guide covering wiring, chimes, cold-weather batteries, storage plans and placement. For the bigger picture on how these devices work, see our doorbell camera guide.
Part of our Home Inspection Tools guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for video doorbells on what each listing states: wired, battery or both; chime support; local storage; what works without a subscription; field of view; weather rating; and smart-home compatibility. Two listings are the same Ring Battery Doorbell 2K in different colors, and two others (Orbitell and Lunelyx) share the same M52 model number, so the 13 listings cover 11 distinct products. We did not test any doorbell hands-on. Prices, subscription terms and availability change, so check the current listing and the brand’s plan details before buying.
Quick picks: the best doorbell cameras by use case
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arlo Video Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) | Wired or wireless, widest ecosystem |
| $49.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Ring Wired Doorbell 2K | Existing doorbell wiring |
| $79.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Wyze Battery Video Doorbell | Head-to-toe view, local storage |
| $65.97as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Tapo D205 | Longest battery, no monthly fee |
| $39.98as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| BOIFUN J1 | Renters, chime in the box |
| $52.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ | Budget hardwired in a Blink home |
| $49.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Chamberlain myQ Video Doorbell | Battery now, wired later |
| $36.39as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The seven picks, compared listing by listing
1. Arlo Video Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) — Best Wired-or-Wireless Doorbell

2K HDR head-to-toe doorbell that runs on its battery or trickle-charges from existing wiring, with privacy zones.
Check price on Amazon$49.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Installs on battery or existing doorbell wires
- Only listing naming Apple Home support
- Privacy zones block areas you should not record
- Live view and basic alerts work without a plan
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Rechargeable battery, or hardwired to existing wiring for trickle charging |
| Video | 2K HDR, head-to-toe view, night vision |
| Detection | Person, package, vehicle and pet detection; activity and privacy zones |
| Subscription | One month of Arlo Secure included; 60-day history and AI features need a paid plan; live streaming and basic alerts free |
| Platforms | Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings, IFTTT |
| Weather / warranty | IP65; 1-year limited warranty |
Arlo AVD4001 — 2K HDR, battery or wired trickle charge, IP65, privacy zones, Alexa/Apple/Google/SmartThings, 1-yr warranty
The Only Listing That Names Apple Home Alongside Every Other Platform
Most doorbells here tie you to one ecosystem: Ring and Blink lean on Alexa, Tapo on its own app, Wyze on Alexa and Google. The Arlo listing is the only one of 13 that names Apple Home, and it adds Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and IFTTT. For a mixed-device household, that flexibility is worth more than any single feature.
It is also one of five listings that support hardwiring. Arlo describes the wired connection as trickle charging the internal battery, so the doorbell keeps running through a brief power cut. The listing is also the only one on the shelf that mentions privacy zones, which let you block a neighbor’s window or a shared walkway from recording.
The subscription line is clearly stated: live streaming and basic alerts work free, while video history, AI detection and emergency response need Arlo Secure after the trial. The listing does not mention local card storage, so without a plan you can watch live but not review past clips.
Pros
- Battery or hardwired installation
- Broadest platform support here
- Privacy and activity zones
- Clear about what is free
Cons
- No local storage stated
- Recorded history needs a plan
- 1-year warranty
Check Arlo Video Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) price on Amazon
2. Ring Wired Doorbell 2K — Best for Homes With Existing Doorbell Wiring

Wired 2K Ring doorbell that draws power from the home's doorbell circuit, with up to 6x zoom and two-way talk.
Check price on Amazon$79.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- No battery to recharge, ever
- Retinal 2K with up to 6x zoom
- Slim body suits narrow door trim
- Fits into an existing Ring or Alexa home
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Hardwired to the home’s existing doorbell electricity |
| Video | Retinal 2K wide-angle, up to 6x Enhanced Zoom |
| Audio / alerts | Live View, Two-Way Talk, real-time motion alerts |
| Subscription | Ring Protect, sold separately, for video history and AI alerts |
| Voice | Alexa announcements, Echo Show viewing |
| Field of view / weather | Not stated in listing |
Ring Wired Doorbell 2K (5DFYA4) — hardwired, Retinal 2K, 6x zoom, two-way talk, Alexa, Ring Protect optional
One of Only Two Hardwire-Only Doorbells on the Shelf
Of the 13 listings, eight are battery or wireless only, three can run either way, and two are hardwire-only: this Ring and the Blink Wired 2K+. A hardwire-only doorbell has no battery to wear out or freeze, which is a real advantage on an exposed Colorado porch, and it is usually slimmer than a battery model.
Zoom is the other standout. Ring’s listings are the only ones that state up to 6x Enhanced Zoom, which helps you check a face at the curb or a package on the step. The battery version of this doorbell shares the same camera but needs a USB-C recharge.
The listing does not state a field of view, weather rating or whether it works with an existing mechanical chime; Ring’s install guide will spell out chime and transformer requirements. Recorded history and smart alerts sit behind Ring Protect, and the listing does not describe local storage.
Pros
- Continuous power, no charging
- Up to 6x zoom
- Works inside a Ring or Alexa setup
Cons
- Requires working doorbell wiring
- Field of view and IP rating not stated
- Video history needs a subscription
Check Ring Wired Doorbell 2K price on Amazon
3. Wyze Battery Video Doorbell — Best Head-to-Toe View With Local Storage

Square 150 by 150 degree doorbell with microSD storage, battery or AC wiring, and a corner plate in the box.
Check price on Amazon$65.97 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Square 1:1 view sees packages at the threshold
- Free local storage on microSD up to 256GB
- 24/7 local recording when hardwired
- Corner plate and wiring parts included
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in USB-C battery (up to 6 months) or continuous AC hardwiring |
| Video | 1536 x 1536, 150 x 150 degree field of view, color night vision |
| Storage | microSD up to 256GB (FAT32 or exFAT, sold separately); Cam Plus for 14-day cloud |
| Chime | Wyze chime controller, Wi-Fi chime or Wyze Cam, all sold separately |
| Platforms | Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT |
| In the box | Corner and flat back plates, jump wire, extension wires, wire nuts, screws |
Wyze Battery Video Doorbell (MR_BVD) — 1536×1536, 150×150 deg, battery or AC, microSD to 256GB, Alexa/Google/IFTTT
The Only Doorbell Here That Records 24/7 Locally When Wired
Three of the 13 listings support microSD storage: BOIFUN, Tapo and this Wyze. Wyze is the only one that describes continuous 24/7 local recording, available when the doorbell is wired to AC power with a card installed. On battery it records events like every other battery doorbell.
The 1:1 square image is the other differentiator. Three listings describe a head-to-toe view (Wyze, Arlo and Blink Wired), and Wyze’s 150 by 150 degree spec is the only one that states both dimensions. That shape catches a package sitting right against the door, which wide but short frames often crop out.
Wyze includes a corner plate, which helps when the door is set deep in a porch alcove. A chime is not included; you add a Wyze chime or camera, sold separately. The listing does not state an IP rating.
Pros
- Free local storage, 24/7 when wired
- Square head-to-toe view
- Battery or AC power
- Mounting and wiring parts included
Cons
- Chime sold separately
- Weather rating not stated
- Card must be FAT32 or exFAT
Check Wyze Battery Video Doorbell price on Amazon
4. Tapo D205 — Best Battery Life With No Monthly Fee

2K battery doorbell rated up to 180 days per charge, with free person detection and microSD storage up to 512GB.
Check price on Amazon$39.98 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Longest stated battery life on the shelf
- Largest microSD support: 512GB
- Person detection with no monthly fee
- Doorbell press arrives as a phone call
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in 5,200mAh lithium-ion battery, up to 180 days stated |
| Video | 2K, 160-degree field of view, infrared night vision |
| Storage | microSD up to 512GB (sold separately) or Tapo Care cloud |
| Detection / zones | Built-in AI person detection; custom activity zones |
| Weather rating | IP54 |
| Chime | Not included |
Tapo D205 — 2K, 160 deg, 5200mAh battery up to 180 days, microSD to 512GB, AI person detection, IP54, chime not included
The Longest Stated Battery Life and Largest Card Support
Battery claims on this shelf range from BOIFUN’s 60 days under lab conditions to Wyze’s six months. Tapo’s listing states up to 180 days from a 5,200mAh lithium-ion cell, the longest figure given. It is also the only listing to state support for a 512GB card, double Wyze’s maximum and four times BOIFUN’s.
Person detection runs on the device with no monthly fee, and a press on the button can ring your phone like a call, which helps when the household does not have a separate chime. A prerecorded quick response covers times you cannot answer.
Two cautions. The IP54 rating is lower than the IP65 Arlo, Blink and Orbitell state, so a fully exposed door facing driving snow is not ideal. And the listing says plainly that no chime is included. Battery life will also be shorter in deep cold, as covered below.
Pros
- Up to 180-day battery claim
- 512GB microSD support
- Free person detection
Cons
- IP54, below several rivals
- No chime included
- Battery only, no wired option stated
Check Tapo D205 price on Amazon
5. BOIFUN J1 — Best for Renters, With a Chime in the Box

No-drill 2K battery doorbell with a chime, a 166-degree view, microSD support and core features free of subscription.
Check price on Amazon$52.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Widest field of view stated: 166 degrees
- Chime included, per the title
- No-drill install suits rentals
- Tamper alert if removed by force
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in non-removable rechargeable battery; up to 60 days in lab conditions |
| Video | 2K HD, 166-degree view, HDR night vision with 940 nm infrared |
| Storage | microSD up to 128GB (not included); optional cloud plans |
| Free features | Real-time alerts, two-way audio, human detection and playback without a subscription |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz only |
| Warranty | 2 years; 30-day returns |
BOIFUN J1 — 2K, 166 deg, battery, chime included, microSD to 128GB, no-drill mount, tamper alert, 2-yr warranty
The Widest Stated Field of View on the Shelf
Four listings give a horizontal field of view: Wyze and Chamberlain at 150 degrees, Tapo at 160 and BOIFUN at 166. A wider view helps on porches where visitors stand off to one side or where the door sits at the end of a long walkway.
BOIFUN is also one of two listings with an indoor chime or receiver in the package (the other is Cookedixo), and its no-drill mounting makes it the simplest choice for an apartment or rental where you cannot alter the door trim. The listing describes a tamper alert if the unit is forcibly removed.
The battery is non-removable and rated for about 60 days under the maker’s lab assumptions, the shortest figure stated among the battery models. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only, and the brand has a shorter track record than Ring or Arlo.
Pros
- 166-degree view
- Chime included
- Core features free; 2-year warranty
Cons
- Shortest stated battery life
- Non-removable battery
- 2.4 GHz only
Check BOIFUN J1 price on Amazon
6. Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ — Best Budget Hardwired Pick for Blink Homes

Hardwired head-to-toe 2K doorbell with IP65 weather resistance; needs Alexa or a Blink chime for in-home alerts.
Check price on Amazon$49.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Continuous power from existing doorbell wiring
- Head-to-toe 2K view
- IP65 weather resistance
- Pairs with a Blink Mini as an indoor chime
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Hardwired to existing doorbell wiring |
| Video | 2K head-to-toe view; color night vision switching to black and white in near darkness |
| Audio | Two-way audio with noise cancellation |
| In-home alerts | Requires an Alexa device or Blink chime, sold separately |
| Person detection | Requires a compatible Blink subscription |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ (BDM00500U) — hardwired, 2K head-to-toe, IP65, two-way audio, chime or Alexa required
The Only Hardwired Doorbell That States It Needs a Separate Chime
Blink’s listing is unusually direct about a limitation others leave vague: in-home alerts require an Alexa device or a Blink chime, sold separately. Wired doorbells from other brands generally describe working with the existing chime; this one does not claim that. A Blink Mini 2K+ camera can fill the chime role if you already own one.
It is the second hardwire-only option on the shelf and one of four listings with a stated weather rating, at IP65. The head-to-toe framing joins Wyze and Arlo as the three listings that describe one.
Person detection depends on a Blink subscription, and the listing does not describe local storage or a field-of-view figure. If your current doorbell button is the only signal the household hears, plan the chime purchase up front.
Pros
- Hardwired, no charging
- IP65 rating stated
- Head-to-toe 2K framing
Cons
- Chime or Alexa needed for indoor alerts
- Person detection needs a plan
- No local storage stated
Check Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ price on Amazon
7. Chamberlain myQ Video Doorbell — Best Battery Now, Wired Later

2K doorbell with a 150-degree lens and color night vision that installs on battery or wires to an existing chime.
Check price on Amazon$36.39 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Battery or wired with your existing chime
- 2K video through a 150-degree lens
- Color night vision stated
- USB-C cable included for recharging
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Battery, or wired installation that pairs with the existing chime |
| Video | 2K, 150-degree wide-angle lens, color night vision |
| Alerts | Real-time motion alerts; live view with two-way talk |
| Smart features | Face recognition and area selection need a Video Monitoring Plan |
| Charging | Remove from mount and charge by included USB-C cable |
| Weather rating | Not stated in listing |
Chamberlain myQ MYQ-D49TXXB — 2K, 150 deg, battery or wired to existing chime, color night vision, USB-C
One of Three Listings That Run on Either Battery or Wiring
Arlo, Wyze and Chamberlain are the three listings on the shelf that support both power modes. Chamberlain’s is the one that says outright that a wired install works with the existing chime, a practical detail when the household still wants the familiar ding-dong in the hallway.
That flexibility lets you start on battery while you check whether the old doorbell transformer and wiring are in usable shape, then switch to wired later. The 2K resolution and 150-degree lens put it alongside Wyze on coverage.
Face recognition and zone selection require a Chamberlain plan, local storage is not mentioned, and the listing does not give a weather rating or battery-life figure. Its wireless chime is described as coming soon rather than available.
Pros
- Battery or wired to existing chime
- 2K with 150-degree lens
- USB-C cable included
Cons
- Smart features need a plan
- No weather rating or battery life stated
- No local storage mentioned
Check Chamberlain myQ Video Doorbell price on Amazon
Wired vs battery doorbells
Wired
A wired video doorbell replaces the existing button and draws power from the low-voltage doorbell circuit. The upside is constant power, often a slimmer body and, on some models, continuous recording. The catch is that older homes may have a weak transformer, damaged wiring or a chime that does not play well with a video doorbell. The listings here do not state transformer requirements, so read the brand’s install guide before buying; it lists the supported voltage and chime types.
Battery
Battery doorbells mount with screws or adhesive and need recharging every few weeks to several months, depending on traffic. They suit homes without doorbell wiring, rentals and entrances where running wire is impractical. Expect shorter life than the box claims on a busy street.
Either way
Arlo, Wyze and Chamberlain offer both modes. That is the safest bet if you are not sure what condition the existing wiring is in.
Chimes and in-home alerts
People forget the chime until the first delivery is missed. On this shelf, BOIFUN and Cookedixo include an indoor chime or receiver. Wyze, Blink and Tapo require a separate chime, a compatible camera or a smart speaker. Chamberlain says its wired install works with the existing chime. If anyone in the house does not carry a phone, or has hearing loss, plan the indoor alert first; a smart speaker announcement or a loud plug-in chime is easier to rely on than a phone notification.
Storage and what a subscription unlocks
Subscriptions on doorbells usually cover recorded history, smart detection such as packages or faces, and sometimes live view itself. Read the line carefully. Arlo says live streaming and basic alerts work without a plan. BOIFUN and VanaOrbi say core features remain available free. Cookedixo’s listing states that a subscription is required for live view and video playback, which is a significant limitation for a doorbell.
Local storage sidesteps much of this. Three listings support microSD cards: BOIFUN up to 128GB, Wyze up to 256GB and Tapo up to 512GB. A card inside the doorbell can be stolen with the device, so cloud backup has value for some households even when a card is installed.
Cold weather and doorbell batteries
Battery doorbells on an exposed Front Range porch can sit below freezing for days. Lithium-ion batteries are the norm in these devices; Tapo names its cell as lithium-ion. NFPA guidance, as summarized in the U.S. Fire Administration’s battery safety material, says not to charge lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F or above 105 degrees F, and to stop using any battery that shows an odor, swelling, leaking or unusual heat. In practice:
- Bring a battery doorbell inside to warm up before recharging it in winter.
- Expect noticeably shorter runtime between charges in cold months.
- Recycle worn-out lithium-ion batteries instead of putting them in the trash.
- For a door that faces open prairie wind, a hardwired model avoids the issue entirely.
Strong west-facing sun can also overheat a dark doorbell in summer and wash out the image at sunset, so a shaded or north- or east-facing entry is easier on both the battery and the camera.
Installation and electrical safety
Doorbell wiring is low voltage, but the transformer that feeds it is connected to household line voltage, often in a basement, attic, closet or near the electrical panel. OSHA notes that electrical hazards include electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions, and lists lack of ground-fault protection and missing ground paths among frequent causes of electrical injuries. Turn off the circuit at the breaker before touching doorbell wires, and leave transformer replacement to someone qualified. The NFPA advises having all electrical work done by a qualified electrician and calling one for warning signs such as warm or discolored outlets, frequent breaker trips or flickering and dimming lights.
If the existing button has never worked, or the chime buzzes or hums, that points to a wiring or transformer problem that a new doorbell will not fix. A battery model buys time while the circuit is checked.
Placement, privacy and smart-home links
Follow the install guide for mounting height (many suggest roughly 4 feet off the ground), with a clear view of the step and walkway. A corner or wedge plate, included with Wyze, turns the camera toward the approach when the door sits in an alcove. Use activity zones to keep street traffic from triggering alerts, and privacy zones, which only the Arlo listing names, to keep a neighbor’s door or window out of the recording.
Secure the app account with a strong unique password and two-factor sign-in where available, and keep firmware current. Smart doorbells can feed automations too; ENERGY STAR notes that smart products can be managed remotely, follow schedules and send alerts. A simple routine that turns on the porch light when motion is detected at night is one of the most useful pairings.
Doorbell cameras vs other cameras
A doorbell covers the front entry. Side yards, driveways and back doors need regular security cameras, covered in our separate camera roundup. Neither replaces diagnostic tools: inspectors use an inspection camera for tight cavities and a sewer camera inspection for drain lines. For the wider toolkit, see our home inspection tools guide.
When to call a pro
Call an electrician if the doorbell transformer needs replacement, the chime hums or the wiring is damaged or missing. If you are buying a home, a home inspection can flag an inoperable doorbell, exposed transformer wiring or damaged entry trim before you choose a doorbell. To connect with a vetted Front Range inspector, get in touch through our contact page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best doorbell camera for most homes?
For most homes, the best doorbell camera is one that matches your door's power situation. If working doorbell wiring and a chime are already in place, a wired or wired-capable model avoids charging. Without wiring, a battery doorbell with local storage and free person detection keeps running costs low.
Do doorbell cameras work with an existing chime?
Some do. On this shelf, Chamberlain says its wired install pairs with an existing chime, two models include an indoor chime or receiver, and others require a separate chime, compatible camera or smart speaker. Check the install guide for chime compatibility before buying.
Do I need a subscription for a doorbell camera?
It depends on the brand. Some listings say live view, alerts and person detection work free, and three support microSD cards for local recording. Others put recorded history or smart detection behind a plan, and at least one requires a subscription for live view and playback.
Are battery doorbell cameras good in cold weather?
They work but drain faster in the cold, and lithium-ion batteries should not be charged below 32 degrees F, per NFPA guidance cited by the U.S. Fire Administration. Bring the unit inside to warm before recharging, or choose a hardwired model for exposed doors.
Can I install a wired doorbell camera myself?
Many homeowners do, but turn off the circuit at the breaker first and confirm the transformer meets the manufacturer's stated requirements. Replacing a transformer or fixing damaged wiring is a job for a qualified electrician, as the NFPA advises for electrical work.
References
- Battery Fire Safety — U.S. Fire Administration
- Electrical Safety in the Home — National Fire Protection Association
- Electrical Safety Overview — Occupational Safety and Health Administration
- Smart Home Tips for Saving Energy — ENERGY STAR