Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Doorbell Cameras Without Subscription (2026): 7 Picks

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Bernard Hermant

The best doorbell camera without subscription fees is one that saves its own video and keeps its useful alerts working after the free trial ends. Many popular doorbells are sold cheaply and then lean on a monthly plan for the features people actually expect: saved clips, person detection and package alerts. Others store video locally on built-in memory, a base station or a microSD card, and keep the core features free. This guide narrows 17 current doorbell listings to seven that state local storage and free core features, then explains which features usually still need a plan. For wired-vs-battery questions and the full doorbell field, see our main best doorbell camera roundup.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon listings for video doorbells on what each listing states about storage without a plan (built-in memory, base station, microSD or free cloud tier), which features work free, power options, chimes, Wi-Fi band and weather rating. We did not lab-test or install any doorbell, and we did not review any brand’s app or subscription terms beyond what the listings say. Plans, features and availability change often, so check the current listing and the brand’s terms before buying.

Quick picks: the best doorbell cameras without a subscription

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
eufy Video Doorbell E340Built-in storage, dual cameras
  • 8GB built-in storage, no monthly fee
  • Second camera watches packages
  • Swappable battery or 16-24V wiring
$119.98as of Oct 19, 2026 8:58 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
aosu 5MP DoorbellHighest resolution, base storage
  • 5MP, 166 degree head-to-toe view
  • 8GB aosuBase Mini, 60-day loop
  • Radar plus PIR plus AI detection
$119.99as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Tapo D210microSD storage with a chime
  • microSD up to 512GB
  • Free person detection
  • Chime included
$58.00as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Anona 3K Dual CamWired 24/7 recording
  • 24/7 recording when hardwired
  • Free person, pet, package AI
  • microSD up to 512GB
$99.97as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
youkey DB312Longest battery, built-in storage
  • Up to 180 days, lab basis
  • 8GB built-in storage
  • Dual cameras, chime included
$119.99as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
ieGeek Bell J9Free cloud backup plus a card
  • Lifetime free basic cloud
  • microSD up to 128GB
  • Anti-theft card bracket
$44.99as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
TKMARS 4.3-Inch Monitor KitNo Wi-Fi, app or phone needed
  • Indoor 4.3-inch screen
  • Private 2.4 GHz link
  • Photo saved on every ring
$53.99as of Oct 19, 2026 10:00 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. eufy Video Doorbell E340 — Best Built-In Storage With Dual Cameras

Best overall no-subscriptioneufy Video Doorbell E340

Dual-camera 2K doorbell with 8GB built-in storage, no monthly fee, a quick-swap battery or 16-24V wiring.

Check price on Amazon$119.98 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:58 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Storage built into the doorbell itself
  • Downward camera shows packages on the step
  • Battery swaps out in seconds
  • Can wire to an existing chime circuit
Specification Details
Storage 8GB eMMC built in; no subscription or monthly fee per listing
Cameras Two: front 2K head-to-toe view and a downward package camera
Power Quick-release rechargeable battery, or wired to a 16 to 24V source that keeps the battery topped up
Night vision Color night vision with dual lights, clear to about 16 ft
Chime Works with an existing mechanical chime or eufy HomeBase 2, HomeBase 3 or Minibase Chime
Network 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only; works with Alexa and Google Assistant

eufy E340 — dual cams, 2K, 8GB eMMC, no monthly fee, swappable battery or 16–24V wired, color night vision, 2.4 GHz

One of Three With Built-In Storage, and the Only One Selling a Swappable Battery

Three listings on this shelf store clips in memory built into the doorbell or its included base: the eufy E340, the aosu 5MP and the youkey DB312. That matters because nothing extra has to be bought or inserted for local recording to work on day one. The eufy listing is the most direct about it, saying there is no subscription and no monthly fee.

The battery is what puts it first for Front Range homes. The listing describes a quick-release battery that swaps in seconds, so a cold doorbell does not have to come off the wall to charge. The U.S. Fire Administration advises against charging lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F, so bringing a battery inside to charge is the safer winter routine. Wired to a 16 to 24V doorbell circuit, it keeps the battery topped up instead.

The dual cameras are useful too: the front camera covers a visitor head to toe, and the downward camera watches the doormat, where packages sit. The limits are 8GB of storage, which loops faster than a large card, and 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi.

Pros

  • Built-in storage, no monthly fee stated
  • Swappable battery for winter charging
  • Package camera on the step
  • Wired or wireless

Cons

  • 8GB fills faster than a card
  • 2.4 GHz only
  • Extra chime hardware sold separately

Check eufy Video Doorbell E340 price on Amazon

2. aosu 5MP Doorbell — Best Resolution With Base-Station Storage

Best resolution, base storageaosu 5MP Doorbell

5MP head-to-toe doorbell with an 8GB aosuBase Mini, triple-sensor detection, battery or wired power and IP66.

Check price on Amazon$119.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 5MP sensor with 166 degree view
  • Footage saves to an indoor base
  • Radar, PIR and AI cut false alerts
  • IP66 weather rating stated
  • 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi in title
Specification Details
Storage aosuBase Mini with 8GB, about 60 days of loop recording
Free features Real-time alerts, two-way audio, human detection and playback with no plan; optional cloud for advanced AI and longer storage
Video 5MP, 166 degree view, 4:3 vertical framing
Detection Radar plus PIR plus AI human recognition, custom zones
Power / weather Battery or wired; IP66
Warranty 1 year

aosu 5MP doorbell — 5MP, 166 degree 4:3, 8GB base (60-day loop), radar + PIR + AI, battery or wired, IP66, 1-yr warranty

The Highest Main-Camera Resolution Paired With Indoor Base Storage

The aosu and the Anona both list 5MP main cameras, the highest resolution on this shelf. The aosu stores its footage in an aosuBase Mini indoors rather than in the doorbell, so a thief who pries the doorbell off the trim does not take the recordings. The listing estimates 60 days of loop recording on 8GB.

It is also the only listing here that states three detection methods together, radar, PIR and AI human recognition, which aosu says improves accuracy and cuts false alerts from cars and branches. Its IP66 rating is the highest stated among the doorbells.

The listing is clear about the free-versus-paid line: alerts, two-way audio, human detection and playback are free, while optional cloud plans add advanced AI features and extended storage. The warranty is one year.

Pros

  • 5MP head-to-toe video
  • Recordings stay inside on the base
  • Triple-sensor detection, IP66

Cons

  • Advanced AI needs a cloud plan
  • 8GB base storage
  • 1-year warranty

Check aosu 5MP Doorbell price on Amazon

3. Tapo D210 — Best microSD Doorbell With a Chime in the Box

Best microSD doorbellTapo D210

2K battery doorbell with a chime, free person detection, Ring Call phone answering and microSD up to 512GB.

Check price on Amazon$58.00 as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Card support up to 512GB
  • Person detection free, no plan
  • Chime included in the box
  • Answers visitors like a phone call
Specification Details
Storage microSD up to 512GB (not included) or Tapo Care cloud with 30 days of history
Free features Person detection and activity zones; Ring Call phone answering; quick-response prompts
Video 2K, 160 degree diagonal head-to-toe view; spotlight for color night vision
Power Rechargeable battery
Security / network AES 128-bit and TLS 1.2 encryption per listing; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Mounting 15 degree wedge included; chime included

Tapo D210 — 2K, 160 degree head-to-toe, chime included, free person detection, microSD to 512GB, Ring Call, 15 degree wedge

The Largest Card Support on the Shelf, With a Chime Included

Eleven listings on this shelf mention a microSD or memory card, with ceilings from 32GB to 512GB. Three reach 512GB: the Tapo D210, the Tapo D205 and the Anona. The D210 is the one of those that includes a chime in the box, which matters for battery doorbells since they cannot ring an existing wired chime.

Tapo calls out free person detection specifically, with activity zones to keep alerts to your walk. Ring Call is a practical touch: a press of the button generates a call through the app so you can answer without opening it first. The listing recommends high-endurance Class 10, UH1 cards, which is good advice for any doorbell that records often.

The listing does not state a weather rating or battery runtime. Its D205 sibling, in our parent roundup, states IP54 and up to 180 days but has no chime.

Pros

  • microSD up to 512GB
  • Free person detection
  • Chime and wedge included

Cons

  • Battery runtime not stated
  • Weather rating not stated
  • Card sold separately

Check Tapo D210 price on Amazon

4. Anona 3K Dual Cam — Best for Wired 24/7 Recording

Best wired 24/7 recordingAnona 3K Dual Cam

Dual-camera 3K doorbell with free person, pet and package AI, 24/7 recording when hardwired and microSD to 512GB.

Check price on Amazon$99.97 as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Continuous recording when hardwired
  • Person, pet and package AI with no plan
  • Chime included, works with old chimes
  • IP65 rating stated
Specification Details
Cameras Two: 5MP main camera plus a secondary camera for packages and pets (title lists 5MP + 2MP)
Free features AI person, pet and package detection; detection zones; quick replies
Power 5200mAh battery, up to 100 days; hardwired mode supports 24/7 recording
Storage microSD up to 512GB (not included) or optional cloud
Chime / weather Indoor chime included; compatible with mechanical chimes; IP65
Network 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi 6; Alexa and Google Assistant

Anona 3K dual cam — 5MP + secondary cam, free person/pet/package AI, 5200mAh or wired 24/7, microSD to 512GB, IP65

The Only Doorbell That States 24/7 Continuous Recording When Hardwired, With Free Package AI

Most battery doorbells record short clips only when motion triggers them. Two listings here describe continuous recording when wired: the Anona and our parent pick, the Wyze. The Anona adds something the Wyze listing does not: AI detection of people, pets and packages that it says is free, with no subscription.

Package alerts are one of the features that usually sit behind a paywall, so a doorbell that includes them free is unusual. The secondary camera watches the doorstep, and the listing says you get app alerts when a package is delivered or moved.

To get 24/7 recording, the doorbell has to be hardwired to a doorbell circuit, and footage goes to a microSD card you supply. On battery, expect event clips and the stated 100-day runtime.

Pros

  • Free person, pet and package AI
  • 24/7 recording when wired
  • Chime included, IP65

Cons

  • 24/7 needs hardwiring and a card
  • 2.4 GHz only
  • No built-in storage

Check Anona 3K Dual Cam price on Amazon

5. youkey DB312 — Best Battery Life With Built-In Storage

Best battery lifeyoukey DB312

Dual-camera 2K doorbell with 8GB built-in storage, a 6400mAh battery rated up to 180 days and a chime.

Check price on Amazon$119.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Largest battery stated on the shelf
  • 8GB built-in storage, no fees
  • Dual cameras for visitors and packages
  • Radar plus PIR detection
Specification Details
Storage 8GB eMMC built in; all features without subscription per listing
Power 6400mAh battery, up to 180 days at 20 events a day of about 15 seconds (lab basis); hardwired option
Cameras Dual cameras; 2K, 160 degree view
Detection Radar plus PIR
Network / chime Title lists 5G Wi-Fi; chime included; Alexa and Google
Support Free replacement within 6 months for quality issues

youkey DB312 — dual cam 2K, 8GB eMMC, 6400mAh up to 180 days, radar + PIR, battery or wired, chime included

The Largest Stated Battery, With the Test Conditions Given

Among the doorbells that give a battery capacity, the youkey’s 6400mAh is the largest; the Tapo D205, Anona and ieGeek list 5200mAh. Its 180-day claim comes with a test basis, 20 events a day of about 15 seconds, which is more useful than a bare headline.

It is one of the three doorbells with built-in storage, and the listing says all features work without subscription costs. Like the eufy, it has a second camera for packages, and like the aosu, it pairs radar with PIR to cut false alerts.

Two gaps: the listing does not state a weather rating, and its support promise is a six-month free replacement window rather than a stated warranty term.

Pros

  • Biggest stated battery
  • Built-in storage, no fees
  • Dual cameras and chime

Cons

  • Weather rating not stated
  • 8GB storage
  • Warranty term not stated

Check youkey DB312 price on Amazon

6. ieGeek Bell J9 — Best Free Cloud Backup Plus Local Storage

Best free cloud backupieGeek Bell J9

2K battery doorbell with lifetime free basic cloud storage, a microSD slot up to 128GB and an anti-theft card bracket.

Check price on Amazon$44.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 11:27 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Lifetime free basic cloud per listing
  • Card backup in the doorbell
  • Bracket protects the memory card
  • Voice changer and canned replies
Specification Details
Storage Lifetime free basic cloud (switched on in settings) plus microSD up to 128GB
Power Built-in 5200mAh rechargeable battery, non-removable; about 40 days at 20 triggers a day
Detection PIR motion to about 16 ft; alert within about 3 seconds
Wiring Does not support wired installation
Extras Battery chime (about 60 days per set), voice changer, up to 3 pre-recorded replies, multi-account sharing
Network / warranty 2.4 GHz only; 2-year warranty

ieGeek Bell J9 — 2K, free basic cloud + microSD to 128GB, 5200mAh (~40 days), PIR 16 ft, no wiring, 2-yr warranty

The Only Doorbell Here That Pairs Free Cloud With an Anti-Theft Card Bracket

A card in the doorbell has one weakness: if someone takes the doorbell, the card goes too. The ieGeek addresses that twice. It offers a lifetime free basic cloud tier, which the listing says keeps records even if local storage is corrupted, and it ships with an anti-theft bracket that protects the memory card.

One other listing on the shelf advertises free cloud storage, the CEMANTA. The ieGeek listing is the clearer of the two about how to turn the free tier on, giving the menu path in its app. It does not state how long free clips are kept.

The tradeoffs are real. It cannot be wired, so you depend on a non-removable battery rated at about 40 days in the maker’s test, and the plug-free chime runs on its own batteries.

Pros

  • Free basic cloud plus local card
  • Anti-theft card bracket
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • No wired option
  • Shortest stated battery runtime among picks
  • Free cloud retention not stated

Check ieGeek Bell J9 price on Amazon

7. TKMARS 4.3-Inch Monitor Kit — Best Doorbell With No Wi-Fi or App

Best no Wi-Fi, no appTKMARS 4.3-Inch Monitor Kit

Wireless 1080p doorbell that links to an indoor 4.3-inch monitor over a private 2.4 GHz connection; no app or plan.

Check price on Amazon$53.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 10:00 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Indoor screen, no smartphone needed
  • No home internet or cloud involved
  • Saves a photo on every ring
  • IP65 outdoor unit
Specification Details
Connection Private 2.4 GHz link from doorbell to included 4.3-inch IPS monitor; no Wi-Fi, app or subscription
Storage Saves a photo on each ring (about 40 to 50 in memory); video with an 8 to 32GB TF card
Range About 50 to 80 m in open areas, 5 to 30 m through obstacles
Power Doorbell 1000mAh battery, about 2 months; monitor stays plugged in
Video / audio 1080p, 170 degree view, LED illumination; push-to-talk intercom
Weather rating IP65 outdoor unit

TKMARS 016-1 — 1080p doorbell + 4.3-inch monitor, private 2.4 GHz link, no app or Wi-Fi, photo per ring, TF to 32GB, IP65

A No-Internet Doorbell That Works Without a Phone at All

Four listings on this shelf, two from TKMARS plus Winnes and KEPEAK, skip Wi-Fi entirely and link the doorbell to an indoor monitor. That design removes the subscription question completely, because there is no app or cloud involved, and it suits older relatives who do not want a smartphone app or homes with weak Wi-Fi at the door.

This TKMARS kit is the only one of those that gives range figures both in open air and through walls and doors, it states an IP65 outdoor unit, and it saves a photo every time someone rings, even without a card. Add an 8 to 32GB card and it records video on each ring.

Understand what you give up. You cannot see the door from your phone when you are away, the doorbell does not record motion without a ring, and the intercom is push-to-talk rather than full duplex. The battery is small, about two months per charge.

Pros

  • No app, Wi-Fi or plan ever
  • Simple indoor screen for any age
  • Photo on every ring, IP65

Cons

  • No remote viewing away from home
  • Records on ring, not on motion
  • Small battery and 32GB card limit

Check TKMARS 4.3-Inch Monitor Kit price on Amazon

What usually needs a plan

Doorbell subscriptions mostly sell three things: saved video history in the cloud, smarter alerts, and extras such as longer clip lengths or pre-roll. Reading the listings carefully shows where the line falls:

  • Cloud video history. Almost every brand sells it. With a card, base or built-in memory, you can skip it.
  • Smart detection. Person detection is free on several picks here, including the Tapo and aosu, while package, vehicle and advanced event types are often paid. The Anona is unusual in listing free package AI.
  • Extras. Pre-capture recording, extended storage and enhanced AI event classification show up as paid features on several listings.

Two listings on this shelf, the Orbitell M52 and the VanaOrbi V52, describe cloud storage as their only storage option. The VanaOrbi listing says live view, saving and replaying recordings come with a cloud subscription, while two-way audio, human detection and notifications remain available without one. That is the opposite of what this guide is looking for, so neither made the list.

Local storage options compared

Built-in memory

The eufy E340 and youkey DB312 store clips in 8GB of memory inside the doorbell. Nothing to buy, but capacity is fixed and the footage leaves with the doorbell if it is stolen.

Base station

The aosu stores clips on a small base indoors. Theft-resistant, but one more device to place and power.

microSD card

Most picks accept a card, from 32GB to 512GB. Buy a high-endurance card, format it in the doorbell and check it now and then, because cards wear out with constant recording.

Free cloud tiers

Some brands offer limited free cloud storage. Read what quality and retention the free tier gives before relying on it alone.

Power, wiring and cold weather

A wired doorbell runs off the low-voltage doorbell transformer and keeps recording without charging. If your home has an existing doorbell button, our doorbell wiring guide explains the circuit, and the doorbell transformer guide covers voltage, which matters because the eufy lists a 16 to 24V requirement. Replacing a transformer means working at the line-voltage side; NFPA advises having electrical work done by a qualified electrician.

Battery doorbells are simpler but face Front Range winters. The U.S. Fire Administration advises against charging lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F or above 105 degrees F, so charge a doorbell or its swappable battery indoors at room temperature. A west-facing door in July sun can also run hot. When a doorbell battery reaches end of life, NFPA’s lithium-ion guidance says not to put lithium-ion batteries in the trash or recycling bins; check with your local waste department or the manufacturer.

Placement, privacy and neighbors

Mount the doorbell about chest height with the head-to-toe view centered on the step, and use the included wedge if the door is recessed or beside a wall. Draw activity zones to cover your walk and step, not the sidewalk or street, which cuts both false alerts and battery drain. Several listings describe encryption for stored video; we report what they state and have not verified it. Use a strong password on the doorbell app and turn on two-factor sign-in where offered.

When to call a pro

If your doorbell button does not work, the chime hums, or the transformer is warm or buzzing, have an electrician check the circuit before mounting a new wired doorbell. If you are buying a home, an inspection is a good time to check exterior trim, the door frame and the electrical system at the same time. For background on the doorbell category, see our doorbell camera guide and our home inspection tools pillar. Front Range buyers and owners who want a vetted inspector can get in touch through our contact page.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a doorbell camera that works without a subscription?

Yes. Several doorbells store video locally on built-in memory, a base station or a microSD card and keep core features free. On this shelf, the eufy E340 and youkey DB312 have built-in storage, the aosu uses an indoor base, and the Tapo D210 and Anona accept cards up to 512GB.

What doorbell camera features usually require a subscription?

Cloud video history is the most common paid feature, followed by advanced detection such as package or vehicle alerts and extras like pre-capture recording. Basic motion alerts, two-way audio and live view are often free. Read each listing for exactly which features stay free after any trial.

Is local storage on a doorbell camera safe from theft?

It depends on where the storage sits. Built-in memory and cards in the doorbell leave with it if it is stolen. A base station indoors, like aosu's, keeps footage in the house. Some brands also offer free cloud backup or an anti-theft card bracket, like the ieGeek.

Do battery doorbell cameras work in Colorado winters?

They can, but charging is the weak point. The U.S. Fire Administration advises against charging lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F, so bring the battery or doorbell inside to charge. A swappable battery, like the eufy E340's, or a wired connection avoids the problem.

Can a doorbell camera work without Wi-Fi?

Some can. Monitor-based kits like the TKMARS link the doorbell to an indoor screen over a private wireless connection, with no app, internet or subscription. The tradeoff is no remote viewing away from home and recording only when someone rings.

References