Best Home Radon Detector: 2026 Buyer’s Roundup
A home radon detector, in the sense most shoppers mean it, is a continuous digital monitor: a small battery or rechargeable unit that samples the air around the clock and shows a running radon level in pCi/L, with no lab and no mailing. It does a different job from a one-time test kit. It tracks how radon moves with the seasons, lets you compare one room with another and shows whether a mitigation system keeps doing its work. The detectors below differ mainly in how they show and share data (screen, app, Wi-Fi), whether they alarm, how they are powered and how long a history they keep. This roundup compares current Amazon listings on exactly those points.
Part of our Radon Levels guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings for continuous digital radon detectors, covering 9 models (one AEGTEST model appears in two colors), on what each listing actually states: display and averages, alarms, power and battery life, connectivity, data history, extra sensors and stated accuracy. We set aside the 7 mail-in lab kits that also appeared in the search, since they are single-use tests rather than detectors. We did not lab-test any of these units or use them hands-on. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best home radon detectors by use case
| Pick | Best for | Key spec | Key detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airthings Corentium Home 2 (325) | Best overall | Battery, Bluetooth, display | Short- and long-term averages on screen plus app graphs |
| Airthings Wave Radon (2950) | Smart-home dashboard | Battery, Bluetooth, hub-ready | Wave-to-read color indicator; reports via Airthings Dashboard |
| X-Sense XR0A-iR | Wi-Fi alerts without a hub | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 2-year battery | 999-day history; PDF/XLSX/CSV export |
| X-Sense XR0B-SR | Alarm with no app | 2-year battery | Sound-and-light alarm; stated 95% accuracy after 7+ days |
| AEGTEST HOUND-1008 | AAA-powered alarm unit | 3 AAA, up to 400 days | 0.09–1000 pCi/L; pCi/L or Bq/m³ |
| AEGTEST HOUND-2070 | Rechargeable 3-in-1 portable | USB-C, 45 days per charge | Radon, temperature and humidity; 504-day history |
| Airthings Corentium Home 223 | Simplest no-app detector | 3 AAA batteries | Short- and long-term readings on screen |
The seven picks, compared listing by listing
1. Airthings Corentium Home 2 (325) — Best Home Radon Detector Overall
Battery radon detector with short- and long-term averages on screen, Bluetooth app graphs and temp/humidity sensors.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Display | Short-term and long-term radon averages with current conditions and GOOD/FAIR/POOR indicators |
| App | Bluetooth; graphs of radon over time and tailored tips |
| Remote monitoring | 24/7 remote data and notifications when paired with an Airthings Hub or View series monitor |
| Other sensors | Temperature and humidity |
| Power | Battery powered; battery type and life not stated in listing |
| Model / size | 325; about 4.45 x 2.4 x 1.14 in |
Airthings Corentium Home 2 (325) — battery, on-screen short/long-term averages, Bluetooth graphs, temp + humidity, hub-ready
The Only Detector Here That Shows Long-Term Averages on Screen and Graphs Them in an App
Three of the nine models on the shelf say they display a long-term radon average on the unit itself: the Airthings Corentium Home 223, this Corentium Home 2 and the X-Sense XR0A-SR. Only the Corentium Home 2 also has an app. That pairing covers both everyday uses of a home detector: a quick glance at the number on the shelf, and a graph that shows whether last month’s spike was a weather event or a trend.
It is also one of five models here that track temperature and humidity alongside radon, and one of two (with the Wave Radon) that can link to an Airthings hub for remote access. The listing describes Airthings’ patented sensing technology as used by radon professionals and home inspectors, though it does not name a specific certification.
The gaps: the listing does not state battery type or life, a measurement range, an accuracy figure, time to first reading, or an audible alarm. Remote notifications depend on buying a separate hub or View monitor.
Pros
- Long-term average visible without a phone
- App graphs show how radon rises and falls
- Temperature and humidity sensors
- No lab fees
Cons
- Battery life not stated
- No audible alarm mentioned
- Remote alerts need extra hardware
2. Airthings Wave Radon (2950) — Best for a Smart-Home Dashboard
Battery smart radon detector with wave-to-read color indicator, Bluetooth app, hub link and Airthings Dashboard reports.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| On-device readout | Wave a hand in front for a green, yellow or red color indication |
| App / reports | Bluetooth to a phone for short- and long-term results; radon report through the Airthings Dashboard |
| Connected features | Smartlink connection to an Airthings Hub for 24/7 online data |
| Other sensors | Humidity and temperature |
| Power | Battery operated; battery type and life not stated |
| Model / warranty | 2950; 0.48 lb; 5-year extended warranty with registration within 30 days |
Airthings Wave Radon (2950) — battery, wave-to-read color light, Bluetooth app, hub-ready, temp + humidity, Dashboard reports
The Only Detector on the Shelf You Read With a Wave of the Hand
Every other detector here relies on a screen. The Wave Radon is the one listing that describes a hands-free color indicator instead: wave in front of it and it glows green, yellow or red. Numbers live in the app, which shows both short- and long-term results over Bluetooth, and the Airthings Dashboard can generate a radon report.
That suits a homeowner who wants a quick status check in passing and prefers to read details on a phone or computer rather than on a small display. Along with the Corentium Home 2, it is one of two models on the shelf that can join an Airthings hub for round-the-clock online data, and one of five that also track temperature and humidity.
The trade-off is that the device itself never shows a number. The listing also states no battery life, accuracy figure, measurement range or audible alarm. Its health statistics are the manufacturer’s; the EPA’s own figure is about 21,000 radon-related lung cancer deaths a year in the U.S.
Pros
- Hands-free green/yellow/red indicator
- App results plus Dashboard reports
- Hub link for 24/7 online data
- 5-year extended warranty with registration
Cons
- No numeric display on the device
- Battery life not stated
- No audible alarm mentioned
3. X-Sense XR0A-iR — Best Wi-Fi Radon Detector Without a Hub
Wi-Fi radon detector with app notifications, 999-day history, trend arrows and PDF, XLSX or CSV export.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Connectivity | Direct 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; app notifications when levels change |
| Display | LCD with current radon level and up/down/steady trend arrows |
| History / export | Up to 999 days; PDF reports and XLSX/CSV files |
| Power | Battery, up to 2 years; history kept after battery replacement |
| Other sensors | Temperature and humidity trends |
| Warranty | 60-day money-back guarantee; 5-year quality warranty |
X-Sense XR0A-iR — Wi-Fi app alerts, LCD with trend arrows, 999-day history, file export, 2-yr battery
The Only Detector Here That Connects Straight to Wi-Fi
Three of the nine models are app-connected. The two Airthings use Bluetooth, which only syncs when your phone is nearby unless you add a hub. The XR0A-iR is the only one that joins home Wi-Fi directly, so app notifications reach you away from home with no extra hardware. It is also the only listing that offers file exports in PDF, XLSX and CSV formats.
Its stated 999 days of history ties for the longest on the shelf (the X-Sense XR0B-SR states the same), and the listing says history survives a battery change. A reset button starts a new session when you move it, so one detector can survey the basement, then the bedrooms.
The listing does not state time to first reading, sensor type or an accuracy figure, and the screen shows the current level with trend arrows rather than a named long-term average. It works on 2.4 GHz networks only.
Pros
- Direct Wi-Fi, no hub needed
- PDF and spreadsheet exports
- 999-day history kept through battery changes
- Up to 2-year battery
Cons
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- No accuracy figure stated
- No on-screen long-term average described
4. X-Sense XR0B-SR — Best Radon Detector With an Alarm and No App
Battery radon detector with sound-and-light alarm, 2-year battery, 999-day tracking and 99 saved reports.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Alerts | Sound and light warning above the threshold; low-power notice |
| First results / accuracy | Results in 24 hours; listing claims 95% accuracy after 7 or more days |
| Data | Up to 999 days of tracking; up to 99 saved records reviewed with on-device buttons |
| Power | 2-year battery; no charging |
| Size | About 3.6 x 3.2 x 3.0 in |
| Extras | Built-in thermometer; reset button for moving to another room |
X-Sense XR0B-SR — 2-yr battery, sound-and-light alarm, 24-hr first result, 999-day tracking, 99 saved records
The Only Alarm-Equipped Detector Here With a Two-Year Battery
Four of the nine models describe an audible alarm above a set threshold: three AEGTEST HOUND models and this X-Sense. The AEGTEST units run either 45 days per charge or up to 400 days on AAA batteries. The XR0B-SR is the only alarm unit with a stated two-year battery, so it can sit in a basement for a long stretch and still warn you if levels climb.
Two X-Sense listings on the shelf put a number on accuracy, which none of the other seven models do: the XR0A-SR states 90% consistency with reference results after seven days, and this XR0B-SR states 95% after seven days or more. Both are manufacturer claims, but they set a sensible expectation: judge the reading after a week, not the first afternoon.
Everything stays on the device. There is no app and no export; saved records are reviewed with buttons on the unit. The listing does not name a sensor type.
Pros
- Alarm plus 2-year battery
- Stated accuracy figure
- 999-day tracking and 99 saved records
- Reset for room-to-room surveys
Cons
- No app or remote alerts
- No export of saved data
- Sensor type not stated
5. AEGTEST HOUND-1008 — Best AAA-Powered Detector With an Alarm
AAA radon detector, up to 400 days per set, 0.09–1000 pCi/L, alarm with red-zone indicator, pCi/L or Bq/m³.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Sensor / range | Semiconductor; 0.09–1000 pCi/L |
| Units | Switches between pCi/L and Bq/m³ |
| Readings | First reading about 12 hours after startup, then hourly |
| Alerts | Audible alarm; indicator under the screen points to a red zone |
| Power | 3 AAA batteries included; up to 400 days |
| Extras | Stand included; long-press reset restarts testing |
AEGTEST HOUND-1008 — semiconductor, 0.09–1000 pCi/L, 12-hr first reading, alarm, 3xAAA up to 400 days
The Only Detector Here That Runs on AAA Batteries and Sounds an Alarm
Two detectors on the shelf name AAA batteries: this HOUND-1008 and the Airthings Corentium Home 223. The 223 listing mentions no alarm. The HOUND-1008 sounds one when levels pass the threshold and adds a needle-style indicator that swings into a red zone, so a household member who never opens an app still gets a clear signal.
Its stated 12-hour first reading matches the other two AEGTEST models and is faster than the 24 hours X-Sense lists; Airthings does not state one. It is one of two models (with the HOUND-1011S) that state a full 0.09–1000 pCi/L range, and one of three AEGTEST models that name a semiconductor sensor and switch between pCi/L and Bq/m³.
The listing gives no accuracy figure, no data-history length and no warranty, and there is no app. Early readings from any detector are less meaningful than a multi-day average.
Pros
- Up to 400 days on standard AAA batteries
- Audible alarm with visual red-zone indicator
- Stated range and dual units
Cons
- No accuracy figure
- No app or export
- Warranty not stated
6. AEGTEST HOUND-2070 — Best Rechargeable 3-in-1 Portable Detector
Rechargeable radon, temperature and humidity monitor with alarm, 504-day history and 12/24/48/72/96-hour views.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Measures | Radon, temperature and humidity |
| Sensor / readings | Semiconductor; first reading within 12 hours, then hourly updates |
| History | 12/24/48/72/96-hour views; up to 504 days of stored history |
| Alerts | Audible and visual alarm above a preset threshold |
| Power | Rechargeable via USB-C; up to 45 days in sleep mode per charge |
| Units / in the box | pCi/L or Bq/m³; cable, lanyard and manual included |
AEGTEST HOUND-2070 — radon + temp + humidity, semiconductor, 12-hr first reading, alarm, 504-day history, USB-C
The Only Rechargeable Detector Here That Also Shows Temperature and Humidity
Two models on the shelf are USB-C rechargeable: the HOUND-1011S and this HOUND-2070. They share the 12-hour first reading, hourly updates, 504-day history and alarm. The 2070 is the one that adds temperature and humidity, which adds context to a radon reading taken in a damp basement or other closed-up lower-level room.
A rechargeable unit with a lanyard is built to move. That makes it a good fit for checking several rooms in turn, or for a homeowner who also wants a quick look at a second property. The trade-off is maintenance: 45 days per charge is far shorter than the two-year batteries in the X-Sense models, so long unattended monitoring means keeping it plugged in.
The listing does not state a measurement range, an accuracy figure or a warranty, and the product has no app.
Pros
- Radon, temperature and humidity in one unit
- Alarm above a preset threshold
- 504-day history with short-window views
Cons
- Needs recharging about every 45 days unplugged
- No range or accuracy figure stated
- No app or export
7. Airthings Corentium Home 223 — Best Simple Detector With No App
AAA-powered radon detector with short- and long-term readings on screen; no outlet, account or app required.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Readings | Short-term and long-term results on screen, in pCi/L |
| Power | 3 AAA batteries; no outlet needed |
| Report | Can generate a radon self-inspection report |
| Connectivity | None mentioned in listing |
| Size / weight | About 4.7 x 2.7 x 1 in; 0.22 lb |
| Model / warranty | 223; 5-year extended warranty with registration within 30 days |
Airthings Corentium Home 223 — 3xAAA, short/long-term pCi/L on screen, no app, 0.22 lb, 5-yr warranty with registration
The Only Airthings on the Shelf That Needs No Phone at All
Three Airthings models appear here. The Corentium Home 2 and Wave Radon both use Bluetooth; the 223 listing mentions no app or wireless link. Short- and long-term readings sit on the screen, so it is the easiest detector on this list to hand to someone who will never install an app.
At 0.22 lb it is the lightest detector on the shelf with a stated weight, and it shares the AAA power format with only the AEGTEST HOUND-1008. The listing stresses that long-term monitoring matters because radon fluctuates daily, which is in line with the EPA’s view that a longer measurement better reflects year-round exposure.
It is also the most minimal on paper: no alarm, no range, no accuracy figure, no first-reading time and no temperature or humidity. It reads in pCi/L only.
Pros
- No app, account or outlet needed
- Short- and long-term readings on screen
- Light and portable on AAA batteries
Cons
- No alarm mentioned
- No range or accuracy figure stated
- No temperature or humidity readings
What a home radon detector does, and does not, replace
The EPA lists continuous monitors among the devices commonly used for short-term radon testing, alongside charcoal canisters, alpha track, electret ion chambers and charcoal liquid scintillation detectors. A consumer detector gives you that continuous record at home with no lab fee after purchase. Left running more than 90 days, it produces a long-term average, the kind of number the EPA says better reflects year-round exposure.
What it does not replace is a credentialed measurement. The EPA directs consumers to state radon programs and to the NRPP and NRSB proficiency programs for testers, and it recommends hiring a qualified tester when buying or selling a home. None of the detector listings here names an NRPP or NRSB device listing. Use a home detector for your own decisions and ongoing watch; use a lab test or a professional for a document someone else will rely on. Our guide to whether digital radon detectors are accurate explains how to cross-check one against a lab kit.
The specs that matter on a home radon detector
Long-term average
The number to act on is the average over weeks and months, not this afternoon’s reading. Three models here name a long-term average on the device screen; others store history you can scroll or export. If a listing only describes a current reading and short windows, plan to work out your own longer average.
Alarm or notifications
Four models sound an alarm above a threshold, and one Wi-Fi model sends app notifications. A silent unit is fine if you will check it routinely. In a home with a mitigation fan, an alert is useful because a stopped fan lets levels climb back.
Power
Battery life on this shelf runs from 45 days per charge (two rechargeable AEGTEST models) to about two years (three X-Sense models). Long battery life means fewer gaps in the record.
Connectivity and data
Bluetooth needs your phone nearby to sync; Wi-Fi works remotely; no-app units keep everything on the screen. If you expect to share data with a mitigation contractor, export (offered by one model here) is worth having.
Stated accuracy and first reading
Only two listings give an accuracy figure, both tied to at least seven days of operation. First readings range from about 12 hours (AEGTEST) to 24 hours (X-Sense); Airthings does not state one. Treat early numbers as preliminary.
Where to put a home radon detector
Use the EPA’s test placement rules: the lowest lived-in level of the home (the basement if it is used regularly, otherwise the first floor), in a room people spend time in, not a kitchen or bathroom, at least 20 inches above the floor and away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls. Let it run at least a week before reading much into the average, and longer for a fix-or-not decision.
Moving a detector room to room is a strength, but reset it each time so averages do not blend locations. The EPA also says to retest on a lower level if your living patterns change, such as converting a basement to a bedroom.
Reading your detector against the action level
The EPA recommends fixing the home if radon is 4 pCi/L or more and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L, because there is no known safe level. The average indoor level in U.S. homes is about 1.3 pCi/L; outdoor air averages about 0.4. If your detector’s long-term average sits at or above 4, confirm with a lab test or professional measurement and talk to a credentialed mitigation contractor. See what radon levels should be for the ranges.
After mitigation, the CDC says to retest a few months later. A continuous detector is well suited to that ongoing check, and to spotting a fan problem early. Our guides to radon fan cost and the Fantech radon fan cover the hardware side, and choosing a radon monitor for your home goes deeper on monitor features.
Home radon detectors on the Colorado Front Range
The EPA’s Map of Radon Zones lists the Front Range counties we serve, including Denver, Jefferson, Arapahoe, Adams, Douglas, Elbert, Boulder, Broomfield and El Paso, as Zone 1, the high radon potential category, though the EPA stresses that only a test tells you about an individual home. Many Front Range basements are finished living space, which makes them the right location for a detector. A continuous unit is especially useful after a basement finish, an addition or a new mitigation system, when you want to see the effect over a full season. The radon testing pillar and our radon detector shop category have more options and background.
When to bring in a professional
A home detector is a monitoring tool. For a home sale, the EPA recommends a qualified tester, and buyers often want testing by someone not involved in the transaction. If your detector shows a sustained high average, or readings that jump in ways you cannot explain, a professional measurement and inspection can confirm the level and look for entry points such as open sumps, slab cracks and crawl space openings.
Want a professional to confirm what your detector is showing? Contact us to connect with a local inspector who handles radon testing.
References
- A Citizen’s Guide to Radon — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- What is EPA’s Action Level for Radon and What Does it Mean? — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Health Risk of Radon — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Testing Your Home for Radon — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Find a Radon Test Kit or Measurement and Mitigation Professional — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- The EPA Map of Radon Zones — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Frequently asked questions
What is the best home radon detector?
For most homes, a continuous detector that shows a long-term average and keeps a history is the best fit. Choose by how you want to see data: an on-screen average for simplicity, an app for graphs, Wi-Fi for remote alerts, or an audible alarm if no one will check an app. Battery life and stated accuracy are the next tie-breakers.
Are home radon detectors accurate enough to rely on?
They are useful for tracking trends and for your own decisions, but consumer accuracy figures are manufacturer claims. None of the listings compared here names an NRPP or NRSB device listing. Before acting on a high reading, confirm it with a lab test or a professional measurement.
How long should a radon detector run before I trust the reading?
Give it at least a week; the two listings that state accuracy tie it to seven days of operation. For a decision about mitigation, use a longer average, ideally more than 90 days, which the EPA treats as a long-term measurement.
Where should I put a radon detector in my house?
Place it in the lowest lived-in level, in a regularly used room that is not a kitchen or bathroom, at least 20 inches above the floor and away from drafts, heat, humidity and exterior walls. Reset the detector whenever you move it to a new room.
Do I still need a radon test if I have a detector?
For a home sale, yes: the EPA recommends a qualified tester when buying or selling. For your own home, a detector can stand in for repeat testing, but confirming a high long-term average with a lab test before paying for mitigation is a sensible step.
Seeing radon numbers you are not sure about? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Continuous radon detectors
A digital monitor gives you an always-on reading and a long-term average — better than a one-shot kit if you want to track levels over time.
| Product | Why | Buy |
|---|---|---|
Airthings Corentium Home | Battery, portable; trusted long-term average. | Amazon — $143.65 |
Ecosense RadonEye RD200 | Fast first reading (~1 hr); app logging. | Amazon — $169.00 |
Airthings View Plus | Radon + CO2 + PM + VOC in one unit. | Amazon — $329.99 |
Airthings Corentium Home
Ecosense RadonEye RD200
Airthings View Plus