Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Thermal Imaging Camera for Home Inspection 2026

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published June 5, 2026 Updated October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Best thermal imaging camera for home inspection

Picking the best thermal imaging camera for home inspection is a different job from picking one for a weekend project. A working inspector scans dozens of walls, ceilings and panels a day, has to put the findings in a report a buyer and agent can read, and needs the battery to last until the last crawlspace. That shifts the priorities toward native detector resolution, laser targeting, onboard storage and report software, and away from novelty features. A thermal camera still only reads surface temperature, so it points to places that need confirmation; it does not prove moisture, missing insulation or a failing breaker on its own. Below are seven picks matched to specific inspection jobs, followed by a buying guide written for inspectors and for buyers who want to understand what an inspector’s camera can and cannot show.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 22 current Amazon listings for handheld thermal cameras and phone-attached thermal modules on what each listing states: native and enhanced resolution, thermal sensitivity (NETD), temperature range and accuracy, targeting aids, storage, battery runtime, reporting software and durability ratings. We did not lab-test any of these cameras or handle them. Twelve of the 22 are standalone handhelds and ten plug into a phone or tablet. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: thermal imaging cameras for home inspection by job

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
TOPDON TC004Daily inspection workhorse
  • 256×192 native, 512×384 enhanced
  • 64GB storage, laser, Wi-Fi app reports
$299.00as of Nov 4, 2026 2:29 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Thermal Master Thor002Documentation-heavy reports
  • 256×192 native, 40mK
  • 640×480 screen, 2MP visible camera, voice notes
$399.00as of Nov 4, 2026 3:31 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
HSFTOOLS HP96Leak and insulation scene detection
  • 96×96 native, 240×240 enhanced
  • Only touchscreen
  • five image modes
$199.99as of Nov 3, 2026 9:39 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
FOXWELL RT280PC reports with laser targeting
  • 120×90 native, 240×180 enhanced
  • Windows 2D/3D analysis and report software
$169.99as of Nov 4, 2026 2:29 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
AccuMEMS GT14SLong days, manual image control
  • NETD under 50mK
  • 50° view
  • Level and span control, 14-hour battery
$99.99as of Nov 3, 2026 9:39 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
TOPDON TC001Android-carrying inspectors
  • 256×192 native via phone
  • Up to 9 measurement areas, waveform graph
$179.99as of Nov 4, 2026 4:47 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
FLIR TG165-XSpot-IR backup in the tool bag
  • 80×60 (4,800 pixels)
  • MSX, laser, 2-year camera / 10-year detector warranty
$399.00as of Nov 4, 2026 2:23 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. TOPDON TC004 — Best Overall for Daily Home Inspection Work

Best daily inspection workhorseTOPDON TC004

3.5-inch handheld with a 256×192 sensor, laser pointer, 64GB storage and Wi-Fi transfer for app-built reports.

Check price on Amazon$299.00 as of Nov 4, 2026 2:29 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Resolution 256×192 infrared sensor; TISR processing raises output to 512×384
Display 3.5-inch screen
Targeting / lighting Red laser pointer marks the measurement area; built-in LED light
Storage / transfer 64GB internal; Wi-Fi sync to the TopInfrared app for analysis and reports
Durability IP54 dust and splash protection; rated for 2-meter drops
Range / weight -4°F to 1022°F per title; listed weight about 2.1 lb; NETD and battery runtime not stated in listing

TOPDON TC004 — 256×192 native (512×384 TISR), 3.5″ display, laser, LED, 64GB, Wi-Fi to app, IP54, 2 m drop

The Largest Stated Storage on the Shelf, Paired With a 256×192 Sensor

Only 5 of the 22 listings state a native sensor of 256×192, the highest native figure anywhere on this shelf, and just two of those five are standalone handhelds: this TC004 and the Thermal Master Thor002. The other three are phone modules. For an inspector who wants the sharpest native image without depending on a phone, that narrows the field to two cameras before anything else is considered.

Between those two, the TC004 states the larger memory, 64GB against the Thor002’s 32GB, and it is one of only two listings on the shelf, again alongside the Thor002, that describe Wi-Fi transfer from a standalone camera. It is also one of four listings with a laser pointer. A laser matters more than it sounds on an inspection: when the thermal image shows a cool patch on a ceiling, the dot shows exactly where to press the moisture meter.

The gaps are real. The listing does not state thermal sensitivity, battery runtime or a clear warranty term (the warranty field reads only “1”), so an inspector cannot compare it on NETD against the 14 listings that do publish one. Weigh that against the resolution and storage advantages.

Pros

  • One of two handhelds with a 256×192 native sensor
  • 64GB storage, the largest stated on the shelf
  • Laser pointer and LED light for attics and crawlspaces
  • Wi-Fi transfer to an app that builds reports

Cons

  • NETD not stated in listing
  • Battery runtime not stated
  • Warranty term unclear

Check TOPDON TC004 price on Amazon

2. Thermal Master Thor002 — Best for Documentation-Heavy Reports

Best documentation-heavy reportsThermal Master Thor002

256×192 handheld with 40mK sensitivity, 640×480 screen, 2MP visible camera, voice notes and 10.5-hour battery.

Check price on Amazon$399.00 as of Nov 4, 2026 3:31 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Resolution / sensitivity 256×192 native, enhanced to 512×384; 40mK; 25Hz
Display / visible camera 3.5-inch 640×480 IPS screen; 2MP visible-light camera
Measurement -4°F to 1022°F, ±3.6°F; six simultaneous points (center, hot, cold plus three user-set); adjustable emissivity
Documentation 32GB storage; voice notes; QR-code file management; USB link to a PC; Wi-Fi to phones and iPads
Battery 5000mAh, up to 10.5 hours; 18W fast charging
Optics / durability 4.3mm lens, 4× digital zoom, laser positioning; IP54; 2-meter drop rating

Thermal Master Thor002 — 256×192 native, 40mK, 640×480 IPS, 2MP visible, 6 spots, voice notes, 32GB, 10.5 h, laser, IP54

The Only Listing That States a 640×480 Display

Several handhelds on the shelf have a 3.5-inch screen, and two FOXWELL models state a 2.8-inch 320×240 panel. The Thor002 is the only listing that gives its display a 640×480 resolution, which matters when an inspector is trying to read a faint moisture outline on a small screen in a bright room.

It also brings the most documentation tools of any handheld here. It is one of two listings that mention recording audio (the HSFTOOLS HP96 records audio with video; the Thor002 describes voice notes for annotating captures), and its six simultaneous measurement points beat the usual hot, cold and center trio. Its 40mK sensitivity ties for the best figure among the 14 listings that state NETD at all.

The weight is the trade-off. The listing gives about 3.1 lb, the heaviest figure on the shelf, and it may include packaging. It also does not name a warranty term. For an inspector who writes long reports with annotated images, the extra documentation features can be worth the heft.

Pros

  • 256×192 native sensor with 40mK sensitivity
  • Only listing with a 640×480 display
  • Voice notes, six spot readings and a 2MP visible camera
  • 10.5-hour battery with fast charging

Cons

  • Heaviest listed weight on the shelf
  • Warranty term not stated in listing
  • More controls to learn than a point-and-shoot

Check Thermal Master Thor002 price on Amazon

3. HSFTOOLS HP96 — Best for Leak and Insulation Scene Detection

Best leak and insulation scene detectionHSFTOOLS HP96

Touchscreen thermal camera with scene detection for leaks and insulation gaps, plus a 640×480 visible camera.

Check price on Amazon$199.99 as of Nov 3, 2026 9:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Resolution / sensitivity 96×96 VOx sensor, live super resolution to 240×240; under 50mK; 25Hz
Display / controls 3.5-inch touchscreen with a phone-style interface
Image modes 640×480 visible camera; thermal, visual, fusion, PIP and blending modes; 8 palettes
Scene detection IntellFault flags suspected water leaks and insulation gaps (firmware update and “Scene” setting required); no moisture readings
Storage / battery About 30,000 images or 20 hours of video; up to 4 hours of continuous use
Durability / mounting IP54; 6.6-foot drop rating; standard tripod hole

HSFTOOLS HP96 — 96×96 VOx (240×240 SR), <50mK, 3.5″ touchscreen, 640×480 visible, 5 image modes, scene detection, 4 h

The Only Touchscreen on the Shelf

Every other handheld here uses buttons. The HP96 is the only listing that describes a touchscreen, with swipe and tap control of palettes, brightness and temperature range, which shortens the learning curve for an inspector used to a phone. It is also one of three listings that describe automated scene or AI analysis, alongside the AccuMEMS GT16S and the TOPDON TC001 Mini, and the only one of those three with a built-in visible camera and a fusion mode.

The listing is refreshingly direct that the scene feature does not measure moisture. That is the right framing: a thermal camera flags a cool pattern, and a moisture meter confirms it. Our guide to thermal imaging leak detection walks through that confirmation step.

Two limits stand out. The 96×96 native sensor puts it among the five listings at 96×96 or below, so the 240×240 figure is processing, not pixels. And the 4-hour runtime is the shortest of the eight listings that state one, which means a spare charging plan on a two-inspection day.

Pros

  • Only touchscreen interface on the shelf
  • Scene detection for leaks and insulation gaps
  • Built-in 640×480 visible camera with fusion and PIP
  • Tripod hole for hands-free scans

Cons

  • 96×96 native sensor
  • 4-hour runtime, shortest stated on the shelf
  • Listing alternates between “4 modes” and five modes

Check HSFTOOLS HP96 price on Amazon

4. FOXWELL RT280 — Best for PC Reports With Laser Targeting

Best PC reports with laser targetingFOXWELL RT280

Handheld with laser and LED, 8GB storage and Windows software for point, line, area and 2D/3D report analysis.

Check price on Amazon$169.99 as of Nov 4, 2026 2:29 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Resolution / view 120×90 native, enhanced to 240×180; 50°×38° field of view; 25Hz
Display 2.8-inch 320×240 LCD
Measurement -4°F to 1022°F, ±3.6°F or ±2%; auto hot, cold and center points; visual and audible alarms
Software Windows PC software (not Mac) with point, line and area analysis, 2D/3D views and automatic reports
Storage / targeting 8GB, more than 20,000 images and videos; laser pointer and LED light; 9 palettes
Durability IP54; 6.6-foot drop rating; NETD and battery runtime not stated in listing

FOXWELL RT280 — 120×90 native (240×180 TISR), 2.8″ LCD, 50°×38°, laser + LED, 8GB, Windows report software, IP54

The Only Laser-Equipped Listing With 2D/3D PC Report Software

Four listings on this shelf include a laser pointer, and six describe report generation. The RT280 is the only one in both groups that also offers Windows software with 2D and 3D thermal views and point, line and area analysis. Its sibling, the FOXWELL HT280, has the same style of software but no laser.

For inspectors who build reports at a desk rather than on a phone, PC software with area analysis is a practical advantage. A line measurement across a ceiling joist bay, for example, shows how a cold stripe compares to the surrounding drywall in a way a single spot reading cannot.

The trade-offs are resolution and platform. A 120×90 native sensor is modest, and the listing is explicit that the software does not run on a Mac. It also omits NETD and runtime.

Pros

  • Laser pointer plus LED light
  • Windows software with area analysis and auto reports
  • 8GB storage for more than 20,000 files
  • Wide 50°×38° view for whole-wall scans

Cons

  • 120×90 native resolution
  • Software is Windows only
  • NETD and battery life not stated

Check FOXWELL RT280 price on Amazon

5. AccuMEMS GT14S — Best for Long Days and Manual Image Control

Best long days, manual image controlAccuMEMS GT14S

240g handheld with level and span control, thermometer mode, adjustable emissivity and a 14-hour battery.

Check price on Amazon$99.99 as of Nov 3, 2026 9:39 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Sensitivity / view NETD under 50mK; 50° field of view
Resolution Not stated in listing
Modes Thermal imaging with center, hot and cold spots; separate point-and-shoot thermometer mode; 7 palettes
Image control Adjustable level and span; adjustable emissivity and distance; high and low alarms
Range / battery -4°F to 1022°F; 2500mAh, up to 14 hours
Weight / warranty 240 g; 1-year warranty

AccuMEMS GT14S — <50mK, 50° FOV, level/span, thermometer mode, emissivity, -4–1022°F, 14 h, 240 g, 1-yr warranty

One of Three Listings That Mention Span Control, With the Second-Longest Runtime

Level and span settings let an inspector narrow the temperature window the palette covers, which is how a 2°F difference across a wall becomes visible instead of being washed out by a hot window. Only 3 of the 22 listings mention level or span adjustment: two AccuMEMS GT14S listings and a Thermal Master P1 phone module. The two GT14S listings are the only handhelds in that group, and both state a runtime above 10 hours.

Its 14 hours is second only to the TOPDON TC004 Mini’s 15 among the eight listings that state a runtime, and the 240 g weight keeps it comfortable overhead in an attic. Thermometer mode is a convenience for quick single-point readings at a supply register or water heater.

The major omission is resolution. This listing and the near-identical GT14S-US listing state no detector resolution at all, and they are among five listings that leave out a native figure. Ask the seller before buying for report work.

Pros

  • Level and span control for subtle wall patterns
  • 14-hour stated battery
  • Light at 240 g

Cons

  • Detector resolution not stated in listing
  • No laser, Wi-Fi or report software mentioned
  • 1-year warranty

Check AccuMEMS GT14S price on Amazon

6. TOPDON TC001 — Best for Inspectors Who Carry an Android Phone

Best for android-carrying inspectorsTOPDON TC001

30 g Android plug-in with a 256×192 sensor, up to nine measurement areas and a temperature waveform graph.

Check price on Amazon$179.99 as of Nov 4, 2026 4:47 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Compatibility Android phones and tablets with OTG; listing says not compatible with iPhone 15
Resolution 256×192 native; TISR to 512×384 (confirm phone support for TISR)
Measurement -4°F to 1022°F; within 3.6°F or 2%; 0.1°C display resolution
Analysis Point, line and surface tools, up to 3 of each (9 areas); waveform graph of high, low and average; image fusion with the phone camera
Power Draws about 0.35W from the phone; 4–7 hours on a 3000–5000mAh phone
Size / extras 2.8 × 1.65 × 0.55 in, about 30 g; 19.7-inch cable; EVA case

TOPDON TC001 — Android OTG, 256×192 native (512×384 TISR), 9 measurement areas, waveform graph, 30 g, 19.7″ cable

The Only Android-Only Module, and the Most Measurement Areas Stated

Ten listings on the shelf are phone modules, and nine of them advertise iPhone or universal USB-C support. The TC001 is the outlier: an Android-only unit, with the listing warning it does not work with the iPhone 15. For an inspector already carrying an Android device, that is no drawback, and it is one of only three phone modules with a 256×192 native sensor.

Its analysis tools are the deepest stated on the shelf. Up to nine simultaneous measurement areas across points, lines and surfaces is more than any handheld lists, and the waveform graph tracks how a spot changes over time, which helps when watching a radiant floor loop warm up.

The trade-offs are the usual ones for phone modules: the phone’s battery powers the camera, the phone’s screen is the display, and the listing gives no NETD or durability rating. Readers comparing Apple options should see our guide to the best thermal camera for iPhone.

Pros

  • 256×192 native sensor in a 30 g module
  • Up to nine measurement areas plus waveform graph
  • Low power draw from the host phone

Cons

  • Android only; not iPhone 15 compatible per listing
  • No NETD or IP rating stated
  • TISR depends on phone support

Check TOPDON TC001 price on Amazon

7. FLIR TG165-X — Best Spot-IR Backup for the Tool Bag

Best spot-IR backup in the tool bagFLIR TG165-X

80×60 spot-IR imager with MSX detail, bullseye laser, IP54 housing and FLIR's 2-year camera, 10-year detector warranty.

Check price on Amazon$399.00 as of Nov 4, 2026 2:23 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Resolution 4,800-pixel infrared sensor (80×60)
Range -13°F to 572°F
Image detail MSX embosses visible-light edges onto the thermal image
Targeting Laser pointer shows the size of the measurement area
Durability Drop-tested; IP54 enclosure against dirt, dust and oil
Model / warranty Part 87501-0101; 2 years parts and labor, 10 years on the detector; listed weight 0.87 lb

FLIR TG165-X — 80×60 (4,800 px), -13–572°F, MSX, laser spot sizing, IP54, 2-10 warranty

The Only Standalone FLIR on This Shelf, With a 10-Year Detector Warranty

Three of the 22 listings are FLIR products, and the TG165-X is the only one that does not need a phone. All three FLIR listings describe the same 2-10 warranty: two years of parts and labor on the camera and ten years on the detector. No non-FLIR listing here describes coverage of that length.

Be clear about what this is. At 80×60 it ties the FLIR One for the lowest native resolution on the shelf, and its 572°F ceiling is the lowest stated upper limit. It is a spot-IR imager, closer to a smart infrared thermometer than to a report camera, and the laser that shows measurement-area size makes it good at that job. For the distinction, see infrared vs thermal camera.

Many inspectors keep a tool like this as a backup or for electrical spot checks where a quick reading at a breaker matters more than a high-resolution picture of a whole wall.

Pros

  • 2-year camera, 10-year detector warranty
  • MSX adds visible edges to a low-resolution image
  • Laser shows measurement spot size

Cons

  • 80×60 native, tied for lowest on shelf
  • 572°F upper limit is the lowest stated
  • No storage, Wi-Fi or reporting described

Check FLIR TG165-X price on Amazon

The specs that matter for a home inspection camera

Native resolution, not enhanced resolution

Almost every listing on this shelf quotes two numbers. The first is the detector’s native pixel count; the second is a processed figure from TISR, X³, Vivid IR, live super resolution or similar upscaling. Seventeen of the 22 listings state a native figure; three give only an enhanced figure, and two AccuMEMS listings give no resolution at all. Processing can sharpen edges, but it cannot create temperature data the detector never measured.

Native pixels matter most at distance. A 96×96 sensor and a 256×192 sensor may produce similar-looking images of a single outlet held a foot away, but across a cathedral ceiling or a two-story exterior wall, the larger detector resolves smaller anomalies. On this shelf, 5 listings reach 256×192 native and 5 sit at 96×96 or below.

Thermal sensitivity (NETD)

NETD, stated in millikelvin, describes the smallest temperature difference a camera can distinguish. Lower is better. Moisture evaporating from drywall or a missing insulation batt behind it may produce only a small surface difference, so sensitivity often matters as much as pixel count. Fourteen of the 22 listings state a NETD, from 40mK to 60mK; eight do not, including all three FLIR listings and the TOPDON TC004.

Field of view, laser and focus

Wide fields of view, about 50° on several handhelds here, cover a whole wall from a short distance, which suits small rooms and closets. A laser pointer, offered by 4 listings, ties the thermal image to a physical spot. None of the listings on this shelf describe manual focus, so expect fixed-focus optics.

Storage, transfer and reports

An inspection camera is only as useful as the report it feeds. Six listings describe report generation through an app or PC software, and two standalone handhelds describe Wi-Fi transfer. For a broader look at how thermal tools fit an inspector’s kit, see our home inspection tools guide and the thermal camera shop category.

Battery and durability

Eight handhelds state a built-in battery runtime, from 4 to 15 hours. Phone modules draw power from the phone, and a few estimate roughly 4 to 8 hours of use from a typical handset. Eleven listings name an IP54 rating, and most handhelds state a drop rating between 1.5 and 2 meters (about 6.6 feet).

How inspectors use a thermal camera on a real inspection

Thermal imaging is an add-on to a standard visual inspection, not a replacement for it. The ASHI Standard of Practice describes a home inspection as not technically exhaustive, and defines technically exhaustive work as including the extensive use of advanced techniques, measurements and instruments. Inspectors who scan with a camera are going beyond the minimum, and good reports say so. Our explainer on the infrared scan in a home inspection covers how that is usually presented to buyers.

In practice, inspectors use the camera in four places:

  • Ceilings and walls below bathrooms, roofs and plumbing runs, looking for cool patches that suggest evaporating moisture. The EPA notes that the key to mold control is moisture control and that water-damaged areas should be dried within 24 to 48 hours, so finding hidden wetness early has real value.
  • Exterior walls and attic planes, looking for missing or settled insulation and air leaks. ENERGY STAR lists drafty rooms, uneven room temperatures and ice dams as common signs of attic air leaks and low insulation.
  • Electrical panels under load, looking for a breaker or lug noticeably warmer than its neighbors. The ASHI standard includes inspecting the interior components of service panels and subpanels; a thermal image documents what the eye cannot see.
  • Radiant floors, ducts and HVAC registers, checking that heat is reaching where it should.

Colorado conditions that affect a thermal scan

Front Range weather helps and hurts. Envelope scans for insulation and air leaks need a meaningful indoor-outdoor temperature difference, and cold mornings from late fall through early spring provide one along most of the Front Range. Summer afternoons in Denver or Colorado Springs often do not, and direct sun loading on a south or west wall can mask what is happening inside the cavity.

The dry climate also changes how moisture shows up. Evaporative cooling, the effect that makes a wet patch read cooler than dry drywall, tends to be strong in dry indoor air, which can make active leaks stand out. But a stain that has already dried may show nothing at all. Foothills homes in places like Conifer, Nederland or Morrison add wood-frame additions, older insulation and big temperature swings. For local service pages, see thermal imaging inspection in Morrison.

One more Colorado caution. ENERGY STAR notes that sealing a home can trap indoor pollutants such as radon and carbon monoxide, and that a tight home may need added mechanical ventilation. A thermal scan that leads to aggressive air sealing should be paired with a radon test and a check of combustion appliances.

Limits of a DIY camera vs a professional inspection

A thermal camera does not see through walls. It reads the surface, and patterns on the surface can come from moisture, missing insulation, framing, ductwork, sunlight or reflection off glossy surfaces. Our guide on whether thermal imaging can see through walls explains why. Every suspect pattern should be confirmed with a moisture meter, a probe or further investigation.

Electrical scanning carries its own risk. OSHA lists electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions among the dangers addressed by its electrical standards and highlights arc flash when working near energized equipment. Removing a panel cover to scan it is a job for a trained inspector or electrician, not a homeowner with a new camera.

Finally, a camera alone does not make a thermographer. Reading emissivity, reflection and weather effects correctly takes training, and the same image can be interpreted very differently by a novice and an experienced inspector.

When to call a professional

If a scan shows a cool patch that a moisture meter confirms is wet, the next step is finding the source and stopping it, not more scanning. Repeated or widespread findings, a warm breaker, or suspected moisture near a recent roof or plumbing repair justify a professional inspection. Buyers on the Front Range can reach out through our contact page to connect with a local inspector who includes thermal imaging, and the hiring process guide covers what to ask before booking.

References

Frequently asked questions

What resolution thermal camera do home inspectors need?

Native detector resolution matters more than the enhanced figure on the box. On current listings, native sensors range from 80×60 to 256×192, and only a handful of cameras reach 256×192. Higher native resolution resolves smaller patterns from farther away, which helps on ceilings and exterior walls.

What is NETD on a thermal camera?

NETD is thermal sensitivity, stated in millikelvin, and it describes the smallest temperature difference a camera can detect. Lower numbers are better. Current listings that publish it range from 40mK to 60mK, but several, including FLIR's listings, do not state it.

Can a thermal camera detect moisture inside a wall?

Not directly. It shows surface temperature, and wet drywall often reads cooler because of evaporation. Inspectors confirm any suspect area with a moisture meter before reporting it as moisture.

Is a phone thermal camera good enough for home inspection?

Phone modules can carry the same 256×192 native sensors as some handhelds, and they cost less. The trade-offs are battery drain on the phone, no physical buttons or laser, and fewer durability ratings. Many inspectors use one as a backup to a dedicated handheld.

When is the best time for a thermal scan of a house?

Insulation and air-leak scans work best with a strong indoor-outdoor temperature difference, which Front Range mornings in the heating season usually provide. Moisture and electrical scans depend less on season, though electrical circuits need to be under load.

Buying or selling on the Front Range and want moisture, insulation and electrical issues checked with thermal imaging? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Thermal imaging cameras

Infrared cameras reveal hidden moisture, missing insulation, and air leaks. Phone-attachment models are the budget entry point; standalone units have higher resolution.

ProductWhyBuy
FLIR ONE Pro (phone)Plugs into iPhone/Android; inspector favorite.Amazon — $349.00
Topdon TC001High-res phone module at a low price.Amazon — $262.99
FLIR C5 CompactStandalone pocket camera with Wi-Fi.Amazon — $649.00

Compare more picks in our full buying guide →

Prices and availability are accurate as of November 4, 2026 and are subject to change. Product data via the Amazon Product Advertising API.

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.