Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Home Security Cameras (2026): 7 Picks Compared by Use

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Scott Webb

The best home security camera depends on three practical questions before resolution even comes up: where the camera gets power, where the video is stored and whether you will pay a monthly plan to see it. A plug-in indoor camera on a bookshelf, a solar camera on a fence post and an eight-camera wired recorder in a utility room all do the same basic job, but they fail in very different ways. Below are seven cameras and camera kits, each matched to a specific use, followed by a buying guide on power, storage, subscriptions, placement, weather ratings and privacy. If your real question is the front door, our doorbell roundup and the doorbell camera guide are the better starting points.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon listings for indoor, outdoor and multi-camera security systems on what each listing states: power source, local and cloud storage, subscription requirements, resolution, pan-tilt range, Wi-Fi band and weather rating. Two listings are the same Blink Mini 2K+ in one- and two-camera packs, so the 17 listings cover 16 distinct products. We did not lab-test any camera or use it hands-on. Prices, plans and availability change, so check the current listing and the brand’s subscription terms before buying.

Quick picks: the best home security cameras by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
aosu D1 Classic 4-Cam KitOutdoor kit with no subscription
  • Solar panel built into each camera
  • 32GB base stores about 120 days
  • Pan-tilt with auto tracking
$359.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
ANNKE 8-Camera Wired DVR24/7 recording, whole property
  • 8 wired cameras, IP67
  • 1TB drive pre-installed
  • Supports up to 10TB
$269.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Ring Indoor CamIndoor privacy you can see
  • Manual privacy cover
  • Advanced Pre-Roll
  • Plug-in, swivel mount
$49.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Tapo C211 2-PackPan-tilt indoor with local storage
  • 360 by 114 degree pan-tilt
  • Up to 512GB microSD
  • Free person and baby-cry alerts
$44.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Blink Mini 2K+Compact plug-in for Blink homes
  • 2K video, 4x zoom
  • Doubles as Blink doorbell chime
  • Outdoor with optional adapter
$39.99as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Anona 4K Pano 2-PackHighest resolution indoors
  • Only 4K camera on the shelf
  • Wi-Fi 6, 2.4 and 5 GHz
  • AES-128 cloud or 512GB card
$63.96as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
HITELLARCAM CB54Battery outdoor with free cloud
  • 1 to 6 months per charge
  • Free cloud plan at SD quality
  • 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
$29.68as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. aosu D1 Classic 4-Cam Kit — Best Outdoor Kit With No Subscription

Best overallaosu D1 Classic 4-Cam Kit

Four solar pan-tilt outdoor cameras with a wired base that stores about 120 days of event clips, no plan required.

Check price on Amazon$359.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Storage is built into the base, no card to buy
  • Integrated solar panel on every camera
  • Cameras talk to the base, not your Wi-Fi
  • Four live feeds on one app screen
Specification Details
Kit 4 outdoor cameras plus aosuBase hub (pre-paired)
Power Battery with integrated solar panel; about 3 hours of direct sun daily stated to keep charged
Storage 32GB in the base, roughly 120 days of event-based loop recording; no subscription required
Video 2K (3MP), up to 6x zoom, full-color night vision with spotlights or infrared mode
Movement Pan and tilt with automatic tracking; cross-camera timeline
Weather / network IP65; base connects to router by Ethernet, no HDMI output

aosu D1 Classic (C9C3CA11) — 4 solar 2K pan-tilt cams, 32GB aosuBase, IP65, no subscription, Ethernet base

One of Only Two Listings With Storage Included in the Box

Fourteen of the 17 listings describe some form of local storage, but most of them mean a microSD slot where you buy the card yourself. Only two ship with storage already installed: this aosu base with 32GB and the ANNKE recorder with a 1TB hard drive. That changes the math on monthly fees, because you can review clips without a plan or a card on day one.

The other unusual detail is the network design. The cameras connect wirelessly to the aosuBase, and the base plugs into your router by Ethernet. Your home Wi-Fi does not have to reach the far corner of the yard; the base does. The listing also states that recordings are event-based rather than continuous, so you will not have 24/7 footage between triggers.

Two of 17 listings mention solar power, and this is the only one whose solar description matches its title. Solar cameras depend on real sun exposure, which is plentiful along the Front Range but blocked by north-facing eaves and winter shade. The listing does not state a cold-weather charging limit.

Pros

  • 32GB of storage included, no plan needed
  • Solar panel integrated into each camera
  • Pan-tilt tracking across four cameras

Cons

  • Event-based recording, not continuous
  • Base needs a wired router connection
  • No TV or HDMI output
  • Cold-weather charging not addressed

Check aosu D1 Classic 4-Cam Kit price on Amazon

2. ANNKE 8-Camera Wired DVR — Best for 24/7 Whole-Property Recording

Best for 24/7 recordingANNKE 8-Camera Wired DVR

Eight wired IP67 cameras and an 8-channel DVR with a pre-installed 1TB drive for continuous recording.

Check price on Amazon$269.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Continuous 24/7 recording to a local drive
  • Eight cameras cover a whole perimeter
  • IP67, the highest weather rating here
  • No batteries to charge, ever
Specification Details
Kit 8-channel DVR plus eight 1080p (2MP) bullet cameras
Storage 1TB hard drive pre-installed; supports up to 10TB; H.265+ compression
Night vision Infrared up to 100 ft (black and white); color up to 66 ft with white lights
Detection Human and vehicle detection with searchable recordings; phone push alerts
Weather rating IP67
Compatibility DVR accepts TVI, AHD, CVI, CVBS and IP cameras

ANNKE DW81KT1 — 8CH DVR, 8 x 1080p wired bullets, 1TB HDD, IP67, IR 100 ft, human/vehicle detection, 2-yr warranty

The Only Wired Multi-Camera System on the Shelf

Every other listing here is a single Wi-Fi camera, a small Wi-Fi bundle or a battery kit. The ANNKE is the only hardwired recorder system, and the only one that describes 24/7 continuous recording to a drive in the box. It is also one of just two listings, with aosu, that include storage. Eight cameras at once make it the largest system compared.

Wired cameras never need charging, which matters for spots that are hard to reach on a ladder, and they do not compete for Wi-Fi bandwidth. IP67 is the highest weather rating among the eight listings that state one; the rest are IP65 or IP66.

The cost is installation. Each camera needs a cable run back to the DVR, which means drilling through siding or soffits and fishing cable through an attic. The cameras are 1080p, lower than several Wi-Fi cameras here, even though the DVR is marketed as 3K-capable with other cameras.

Pros

  • Continuous recording to an included 1TB drive
  • No batteries or Wi-Fi dependence
  • IP67 weather rating
  • Human and vehicle search

Cons

  • Cable runs make installation a project
  • Included cameras are 1080p
  • Large DVR needs a protected spot indoors

Check ANNKE 8-Camera Wired DVR price on Amazon

3. Ring Indoor Cam — Best for Visible Indoor Privacy

Best for indoor privacyRing Indoor Cam

1080p plug-in indoor camera with a manual privacy cover that blocks the lens and mic, plus Advanced Pre-Roll.

Check price on Amazon$49.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing with a physical privacy cover
  • Cover disables both camera and microphone
  • Pre-Roll captures seconds before motion
  • Tabletop or wall mount
Specification Details
Video 1080p HD, Live View, Color Night Vision
Privacy Manual privacy cover turns off camera and mic; swivel to reactivate
Recording Advanced Pre-Roll; recorded history and AI alerts need a Ring Protect plan
Power Plug-in
Local storage Not stated in listing
Voice Alexa announcements and Echo Show viewing

Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen, 5F72E9) — 1080p, color night vision, manual privacy cover, Pre-Roll, plug-in, Alexa

The Only Camera Here With a Physical Lens Cover

Five listings use the word privacy, but four of them mean software: a sleep schedule, an app toggle or encrypted storage. Only the Ring Indoor Cam describes a manual cover that physically blocks the lens and turns off the microphone. In a living room or nursery, a cover the household can see closed is more reassuring than an app setting nobody can verify at a glance.

Pre-Roll records a few seconds before each motion event, so clips start before someone walks into frame instead of halfway through. That is a meaningful advantage over cameras that wake on motion.

The listing does not mention a microSD slot, so recorded clips and history depend on a Ring Protect subscription. Without one, you get live view and alerts. Resolution is 1080p, behind the 2K and 4K indoor options here.

Pros

  • Physical cover for camera and mic
  • Pre-Roll for complete clips
  • Works inside a Ring and Alexa setup

Cons

  • No local storage stated
  • Recording history needs a subscription
  • 1080p, no pan or tilt

Check Ring Indoor Cam price on Amazon

4. Tapo C211 2-Pack — Best Pan-Tilt Indoor Camera With Local Storage

Best pan-tilt with local storageTapo C211 2-Pack

Two 2K pan-tilt indoor cameras with continuous microSD recording up to 512GB and free person and baby-cry alerts.

Check price on Amazon$44.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Continuous recording to a card up to 512GB
  • Wide 360 by 114 degree pan-tilt range
  • Baby-cry and person alerts with no fee
  • Alexa and Google screen viewing
Specification Details
Pack Two cameras
Video 2K, pan 360 degrees horizontal, tilt 114 degrees vertical
Storage Continuous to microSD up to 512GB (not included) or Tapo Care cloud (30-day history)
Alerts Motion, person and baby-crying notifications without a fee
Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Voice / display Alexa and Google Assistant; Echo Show and Chromecast viewing

Tapo C211 2-pack — 2K pan-tilt 360/114 deg, microSD to 512GB continuous, free person/baby-cry alerts, 2.4 GHz, Alexa/Google

The Widest Stated Tilt Among the Pan-Tilt Indoor Cameras

Several indoor cameras on the shelf pan and tilt. Among those that give numbers, the Anona states 110 degrees of tilt, GNCC states 340 degrees of pan with 80 degrees of tilt, and this Tapo states a full 360 degrees of pan with 114 degrees of tilt, the widest vertical range listed. In practice that lets one camera on a shelf see the floor where a pet is lying and the doorway across the room.

Card storage is generous too. Three listings here state microSD support up to 512GB (this Tapo, the Anona and the mismatched Tapo C100 page), the largest card size on the shelf. Continuous recording to a card means footage exists even when no alert fired.

The listing says the camera connects on 2.4 GHz, so it will not use a 5 GHz band. Cloud features such as motion tracking sit behind Tapo Care. Neither the lens cover nor a weather rating is described; this is an indoor camera.

Pros

  • Continuous local recording up to 512GB
  • Wide pan and tilt coverage
  • Free person and baby-cry alerts
  • Two cameras in the pack

Cons

  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Motion tracking tied to a cloud plan
  • No physical privacy cover described

Check Tapo C211 2-Pack price on Amazon

5. Blink Mini 2K+ — Best Compact Plug-In Camera for Blink Homes

Best compact plug-inBlink Mini 2K+

Small 2K indoor camera with 4x zoom and noise-cancelling two-way talk that can also act as a Blink doorbell chime.

Check price on Amazon$39.99 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Very small and light for shelves or walls
  • Doubles as a chime for Blink doorbells
  • 2K video with up to 4x zoom
  • Can go outdoors with a weather adapter
Specification Details
Video 2K, up to 4x zoom, night vision
Audio Two-way talk with noise cancellation
Extra role Plug-in chime for a Blink Video Doorbell (sold separately)
Smart detection Person and vehicle detection with an optional Blink plan
Storage Cloud with a free 30-day trial; local storage not stated
Outdoor use With Weather Resistant Power Adapter, sold separately

Blink Mini 2K+ (BCM00800U) — 2K, 4x zoom, two-way talk, doorbell chime role, plug-in, about 0.14 lb

The Only Indoor Camera That Also Serves as a Doorbell Chime

No other camera on this shelf describes a second job. The Blink Mini 2K+ can act as the indoor chime for a Blink Video Doorbell, which matters because Blink’s wired doorbell needs a chime or an Alexa device for in-home alerts. If a Blink doorbell is already on the front door, a Mini in the kitchen covers both roles.

It is also one of the lightest cameras listed, at about 0.14 pounds, and the listing describes taking it outdoors with an optional weather-resistant power adapter.

The trade-off is the subscription model. Person and vehicle detection need a Blink plan, cloud storage starts as a 30-day trial, and the listing does not mention a microSD slot. The same camera is sold as a two-camera pack under a separate listing.

Pros

  • Doubles as a Blink doorbell chime
  • 2K video with zoom in a tiny body
  • Optional outdoor adapter

Cons

  • Smart detection needs a plan
  • No local card storage stated
  • No pan or tilt

Check Blink Mini 2K+ price on Amazon

6. Anona 4K Pano 2-Pack — Best Resolution for Indoor Monitoring

Best resolution indoorsAnona 4K Pano 2-Pack

Two 4K pan-tilt indoor cameras with 8x zoom, Wi-Fi 6 dual-band, auto tracking and AES-128 cloud or card storage.

Check price on Amazon$63.96 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only 4K camera on the shelf
  • Wi-Fi 6 on both 2.4 and 5 GHz
  • Person, pet and baby-cry detection
  • Cloud encrypted with AES-128
Specification Details
Pack Two cameras
Video 4K UHD, 8x zoom
Movement 360-degree pan, 110-degree tilt, auto tracking
Network Wi-Fi 6, dual-band 2.4 and 5 GHz
Storage AES-128 encrypted cloud or microSD up to 512GB (not included)
Privacy Privacy Mode named in the title; mechanism not described

Anona Pano (HM1010) 2-pack — 4K, 8x zoom, 360/110 pan-tilt, Wi-Fi 6 dual-band, AES-128 cloud or 512GB card

The Only 4K Camera Among the 17 Listings

Most indoor cameras here are 2K or 2.5K, and several are 1080p. The Anona is the only listing that states 4K, with 8x zoom on top. Higher resolution helps when you need to read a face across a large open-plan room or check a detail on a pet’s collar, though it also uses more storage and more Wi-Fi bandwidth.

Several listings say they support 5 GHz or dual-band Wi-Fi; the Anona is the only one that also names Wi-Fi 6. Dual-band support is genuinely useful in apartments and dense neighborhoods where the 2.4 GHz band is crowded.

The listing names a Privacy Mode in its title but does not explain whether it is a physical shutter or a software setting. Weather resistance is not stated, so treat it as indoor only. Our inspection tools hub covers other cameras that serve diagnostic rather than security roles.

Pros

  • 4K with 8x zoom
  • Wi-Fi 6 dual-band
  • Encrypted cloud or large card storage

Cons

  • 4K uses more storage and bandwidth
  • Privacy Mode not explained
  • Indoor only

Check Anona 4K Pano 2-Pack price on Amazon

7. HITELLARCAM CB54 — Best Battery Outdoor Camera With a Free Cloud Tier

Best battery outdoor cameraHITELLARCAM CB54

Rechargeable 2K outdoor camera with spotlight, siren, IP66, dual-band Wi-Fi and a free standard-definition cloud tier.

Check price on Amazon$29.68 as of Oct 19, 2026 8:59 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Free cloud plan included, at SD quality
  • Rechargeable, no wiring needed
  • Dual-band 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
  • Spotlight and siren deterrence
Specification Details
Power Rechargeable battery, 1 to 6 months stated; maker’s test: 60 days at 100 triggers per day
Video 2K with full-color night vision via built-in LEDs
Storage Free cloud at standard definition (HD on paid plans) or SD card up to 256GB
Network 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
Weather rating IP66
Detection AI motion detection; recommended 5 to 8 m range

HITELLARCAM CB54 — battery 2K outdoor, IP66, dual-band Wi-Fi, free SD-quality cloud, SD card to 256GB, spotlight + siren

The Most Candid Battery-Life Disclosure on the Shelf

Several listings describe battery power, and most give a headline range without context. HITELLARCAM’s listing adds the maker’s own test assumption (60 days with 100 motion triggers a day) and states plainly that battery life varies with trigger frequency, recording mode and temperature. That candor is useful, because a busy driveway can drain any battery camera much faster than the box suggests.

It is also one of the few listings that describes free cloud storage, with the honest note that the free tier is standard definition and HD requires a paid plan. Combined with an SD card slot, you have two ways to keep clips without a subscription.

The listing recommends a 5 to 8 meter motion-detection distance, which is shorter than the yard-scale coverage of the aosu kit. Rechargeable batteries also lose capacity in hard cold; see the battery notes below.

Pros

  • Free cloud tier plus SD card option
  • Honest battery-life assumptions
  • Dual-band Wi-Fi and IP66

Cons

  • Free cloud is standard definition
  • Short recommended detection range
  • Battery needs periodic recharging

Check HITELLARCAM CB54 price on Amazon

A listing to read carefully

The Tapo C100 listing is titled as a 1080p wired indoor camera, but most of its bullet points describe the Tapo SolarCam C402 kit: solar charging, a 180-day battery and IP65 outdoor rating. That mismatch is a reminder to compare the title, the model number and the product photos before buying. When they disagree, assume the model number on the box is what ships, and check the manufacturer’s own spec page.

Power: plug-in, battery, solar or wired

Plug-in

Plug-in cameras such as the Ring Indoor Cam, Blink Mini 2K+ and Tapo C211 never need charging and can record continuously. Placement is limited by outlet locations and cord length.

Battery and solar

Battery cameras go anywhere but wake on motion rather than recording continuously, and they need recharging. Solar panels stretch that interval when the camera gets direct sun. Battery chemistry also matters in cold climates: NFPA guidance, as summarized by the U.S. Fire Administration, says not to charge lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F or above 105 degrees F. The Tapo listing notes the same 32-degree limit for its solar charging. On a north-facing wall in January, expect a solar camera to charge slowly or not at all.

Wired

Wired systems like the ANNKE kit run on low-voltage cable from a recorder, with no batteries to service. If a project involves adding outlets for plug-in cameras, new exterior receptacles or line-voltage wiring, the NFPA advises having electrical work done by a qualified electrician.

Storage and subscriptions

Storage decides whether a camera keeps working for free. Eleven of the 17 listings bring up subscriptions, either to put a feature behind a plan or to stress that none is required. Typical patterns on this shelf:

  • Storage included: aosu (32GB base) and ANNKE (1TB drive). No card or plan needed to review footage.
  • Card slot, optional cloud: Tapo, Anona, AOQEE, Cinnado, GNCC, IHOMWAY, VSMAHOME, VIMTAG and HITELLARCAM. Buy a card sized to the listing’s maximum.
  • Cloud first: Ring Indoor Cam and Blink Mini, where recorded history and smart detection depend on a plan.

Continuous recording to a card is the most complete record, but it fills a card fast; most cameras overwrite the oldest footage on a loop. Event-based recording saves space and battery but can miss the seconds before a trigger, which is why Ring’s Pre-Roll feature is worth noting.

Resolution, field of view and night vision

Resolution on this shelf runs from 1080p to 4K. Higher numbers help identify faces and plates at distance, but placement does more: a 2K camera ten feet from a door beats a 4K camera forty feet away. Pan-tilt models, which 11 listings describe in some form, cover a whole room from one spot, while fixed cameras need careful aiming.

Night vision comes in two flavors. Infrared produces black-and-white images without visible light, which suits bedrooms and nurseries. Spotlight or white-light color night vision produces color images but lights up the area, which deters intruders outdoors and may annoy neighbors.

Placement and weather ratings

Eight of the 17 listings state an IP rating, from IP65 to IP67. IP65 and IP66 handle rain and snow on an exterior wall; IP67 adds a margin for heavier exposure. An indoor camera with no rating should not be placed in a garage that gets wet, a screened porch or under an eave that drips.

Good outdoor positions cover approaches rather than open lawns: the driveway, side gates, the back door and any walk-out basement entry. Mount high enough to resist tampering, often 7 to 10 feet, and angle slightly down so the sky does not wash out the image. Mounting under eaves means ladder work. OSHA’s fall prevention campaign notes that workers six feet or more above a lower level are at risk of serious injury or death if they fall, and stresses using the right ladder for the job; the same caution applies at home.

Front Range sun is intense. A camera aimed east or west will face direct sunrise or sunset glare for part of the year, which can blind the image and trigger false motion as shadows move. Hail and wind also argue for metal mounts over adhesive pads outdoors.

Privacy, accounts and neighbors

A security camera is also a microphone and a window into your home, so treat setup like a bank account. Use a unique password, turn on two-factor sign-in where the app offers it, keep firmware updated and give shared access only to people who need it. Five listings mention encryption or two-factor authentication; the absence of that language does not prove a camera lacks it, but it is worth confirming.

Inside the house, choose cameras with a physical cover or a reliable schedule for rooms where people expect privacy. Outside, aim cameras at your own property rather than into a neighbor’s windows or yard, and check HOA rules before mounting on shared walls. Smart cameras can also be part of a broader connected setup; ENERGY STAR notes smart products can be managed remotely and send alerts, and that smart security can be added to a certified smart home energy management package.

Security cameras vs inspection cameras

A security camera watches for people. It will not show a cracked sewer line, moisture behind drywall or a hot electrical connection. Those jobs belong to purpose-built tools such as a pipe inspection camera or thermal imagers. Some thermal cameras are sold for security too; our guide to a thermal imaging security camera explains where they help and where an ordinary 2K camera is the better buy.

When to call a pro

DIY cameras cover most homes. Bring in help when a wired system needs cable runs through finished walls or attic insulation, when cameras need new exterior outlets, or when you want to integrate cameras with an existing hardwired alarm. If you are buying a home, an inspection is a good time to spot exterior outlets, attic access and soffit conditions that affect where cameras can go. Our home inspection tools guide covers the instruments inspectors use, and you can reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best home security camera for most people?

For most homes, the best choice is a camera that fits its power source and storage plan to the spot it will watch. Outdoor kits with built-in storage avoid monthly fees, plug-in indoor cameras can record continuously to a card, and battery cameras suit spots without outlets. Pick placement first, then resolution.

Do I need a subscription for a home security camera?

Not always. Several cameras compared here record to a microSD card or to included storage without a plan, and one includes a free standard-definition cloud tier. Others, especially Ring and Blink models, put recorded history and smart detection behind a subscription.

Are battery security cameras good in cold weather?

They work, but batteries drain faster and charging slows in the cold. NFPA guidance cited by the U.S. Fire Administration advises not charging lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F. Solar cameras also need direct sun, which north-facing walls lack in winter.

What resolution should a security camera have?

2K is a practical target for most indoor and outdoor spots, with 4K helpful in large rooms or long driveways. Placement matters more than resolution, because a camera close to the area it covers will capture usable detail even at 1080p.

Where should outdoor security cameras be mounted?

Cover approaches such as the driveway, side gates, back door and basement entries. Mount roughly 7 to 10 feet high, angled slightly down, away from direct sunrise or sunset glare. Use a ladder safely and check that the camera has a weather rating such as IP65 or higher.

References