Best CO Detector for Home: A 2026 Buyer’s Guide
Picking the best CO detector for home use is less about finding one perfect alarm and more about putting the right alarm in each spot. A house with a gas furnace, a gas water heater, a fireplace and an attached garage has several places where carbon monoxide can start and several rooms where people sleep. A hallway outside the bedrooms wants something different from the wall by the garage door, and a basement mechanical room has its own rules. This guide maps six current alarms to the rooms they suit best, then walks through a room-by-room placement plan you can adapt to your own floor plan.
Part of our Home Inspection Tools guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon listings for fixed residential CO alarms (battery-only and plug-in, including three that also sense explosive gas) on what each listing states: power and backup, display, sensor type, certification named, end-of-life signaling and mounting options. We did not lab-test or handle any unit. Handheld meters and gas-only sniffers that came up in the same searches were set aside. Prices and availability change, so confirm details on the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: a CO alarm for each part of the house
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde COPD | Hallway outside bedrooms |
| $43.97as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| First Alert CO400 (2-pack) | Bedrooms and upper floors without outlets nearby |
| $34.99as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kidde COB | Wall by the attached-garage door |
| $24.97as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| First Alert CO605 | Basement level |
| $23.99as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kidde KN-COEG-3 | Mechanical room with gas appliances |
| $57.47as of Nov 4, 2026 11:55 pm GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Kidde KN-COB-DP2 | Main living level and family room |
| $29.99as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The six picks, matched room by room
1. Kidde COPD — Best for the Hallway Outside Bedrooms

CO-only plug-in with AA backup, backlit CO-level display, rotating plug and UL 2034 5th Edition named.
Check price on Amazon$43.97 as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | 120V AC plug-in; two AA backup batteries included |
| Display | Backlit screen that shows CO levels |
| Alarm / controls | 85 dB sounder, LED hazard light, test/hush button |
| Fit | Plug rotates for vertical or horizontal outlets; power surge immunity |
| Certification named | UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Model / warranty | COPD; 10-year limited warranty on the alarm; 0.43 lb |
Kidde COPD — 120V plug-in, 2xAA backup, backlit CO display, 85 dB, rotating plug, UL 2034 5th Ed. / ETL, 10-yr limited warranty
The Only CO-Only Alarm on This Shelf With a Display
Four of the 12 fixed listings describe a screen, and three of those four belong to alarms that also sense explosive gas. The COPD is the only CO-only alarm with a display. That makes it the natural choice for the hallway that serves the bedrooms, which is the first location both the NFPA and the CPSC name. A number on the screen lets an adult walking past at night see a rising reading before it reaches the alarm point, and the CDC specifically suggests considering a detector with a digital readout.
It is also one of only 4 listings among the 12 that name UL 2034 at all, and it states the 5th Edition plus ETL listing. The rotating plug matters in hallways, where outlets are often mounted sideways near the floor, and the listing claims no nighttime low-battery chirps.
What it does not state: the sensor type, any end-of-life signal and whether the display keeps a peak reading. It is not interconnectable, and none of the 12 listings on this shelf describe interconnection, so a CO event in the basement will only wake people near the basement alarm.
Pros
- Only CO-only alarm here with a level display
- Names UL 2034 5th Edition and ETL listing
- Rotating plug suits sideways hallway outlets
- AA backup during outages
Cons
- Sensor type and end-of-life signal not stated
- No interconnection
- Placement limited to outlet height and location
Check Kidde COPD price on Amazon
2. First Alert CO400 (2-Pack) — Best Battery Alarms for Bedrooms and Upper Floors

Two battery CO alarms with electrochemical sensors, 85 dB sounders and an end-of-life chirp.
Check price on Amazon$34.99 as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Quantity | Two alarms in one listing |
| Power | Battery-operated; battery type not stated in listing |
| Sensor | Electrochemical CO sensor |
| Alarm / end of life | 85 dB; end-of-life signal chirp |
| Certification | “Tested to meet UL standards”; specific standard not named |
| Model / warranty | CO400 (part co400cn2); 5-year limited warranty |
First Alert CO400 2-pack — battery, electrochemical sensor, 85 dB, end-of-life chirp, 5-yr limited warranty
The Only Multi-Pack Among the Fixed CO Alarms Here
Every other fixed CO listing on this shelf sells a single alarm. The CO400 listing ships two, which suits the most common gap in older homes: an upper floor with bedrooms and nowhere convenient to plug anything in. First Alert’s own listing suggests one alarm on each level and in each bedroom. That goes beyond the NFPA baseline of outside each sleeping area and on every level, and it is a reasonable upgrade where a bedroom sits over an attached garage or next to a furnace closet.
The CO400 also states two details many listings skip. Five of the 12 listings name an electrochemical sensor, and only 3 of 12 mention an end-of-life signal; the CO400 does both. An end-of-life chirp matters most in bedrooms, where an alarm that has quietly aged out is easy to forget.
The weaker points: the listing does not name UL 2034 specifically, does not say which battery size it uses and offers the shortest stated warranty among the picks at 5 years. The CDC suggests replacing CO detectors per the manufacturer’s instructions or every 5 years, so plan on replacing this pair on that schedule.
Pros
- Two alarms in one purchase
- Names an electrochemical sensor
- End-of-life chirp
- No outlet or wiring needed
Cons
- UL 2034 not named specifically
- Battery type not stated
- Shortest stated warranty of the picks
- No display
Check First Alert CO400 2-pack price on Amazon
3. Kidde COB — Best for the Wall by an Attached-Garage Door

AA-powered CO alarm for wall or tabletop use, with test/hush button and UL 2034 5th Edition named.
Check price on Amazon$24.97 as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Two AA batteries, included; no wiring |
| Mounting | Wall-mounted or set on a table |
| Alarm / controls | 85 dB sounder, LED warning light, test/hush button |
| Certification named | UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Size / weight | About 5.1 x 2.8 x 1.5 in; 0.37 lb |
| Model / warranty | COB; 10-year limited warranty on the alarm |
Kidde COB — 2xAA, wall or tabletop, 85 dB, LED, test/hush, UL 2034 5th Ed. / ETL, 10-yr limited warranty
The Only Battery-Only Alarm Here That Names UL 2034 5th Edition
Five of the 12 listings are battery-only alarms: two older Kidde models, the CO400 single and two-pack, and the COB. Only the COB names UL 2034, and it names the current 5th Edition. The CPSC recommends a CO alarm that meets the current UL 2034 standard, so this is the battery unit to choose when the label matters.
Battery power is what makes it suit the house side of an attached-garage door. That wall rarely has an outlet at a sensible height, and the CPSC says CO alarms may go high on a wall when they are not plugged into a receptacle. Mount it inside the living space near the door, never in the garage itself, where vehicle exhaust, temperature swings and dust are hard on any sensor. The CPSC also warns never to leave a car running in an attached garage, even with the door open; this alarm is the backstop for the day someone forgets.
The listing does not state a sensor type, a display or an end-of-life signal, so write the install date on the back.
Pros
- Only battery-only pick naming UL 2034 5th Edition
- Mounts on a wall or sits on a shelf
- 10-year limited warranty on the alarm
Cons
- No display
- Sensor type and end-of-life signal not stated
- AA batteries need periodic changes
Check Kidde COB price on Amazon
4. First Alert CO605 — Best Plug-In for the Basement Level

Plug-in CO alarm with battery backup, electrochemical sensor, end-of-life chirp and 8-hour low-battery mute.
Check price on Amazon$23.99 as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Any standard outlet; battery backup (type not stated) |
| Sensor | Electrochemical CO sensor |
| Alarm / controls | 85 dB; single test/silence button; low-battery signal can be muted for up to 8 hours |
| End of life | End-of-life signal chirp |
| Size / weight | About 5 x 3.4 x 1.4 in; about 0.26 lb |
| Model / warranty | Sold as CO605 (model field reads CO606); 7-year limited warranty |
First Alert CO605 — plug-in, battery backup, electrochemical, 85 dB, end-of-life chirp, 8-hr low-battery mute, 7-yr warranty
The Only Plug-In Here Stating Both an Electrochemical Sensor and End-of-Life Chirp
Seven of the 12 listings are plug-in alarms with battery backup. The CO605 is the only one of those seven that names its sensor type, and the only one that mentions an end-of-life signal. Those two details matter on a basement level, which often holds the furnace and water heater and is the floor people visit least. An alarm that announces its own expiration is more likely to get replaced on time.
Place it on the basement level near the bedrooms or living space there, not directly above or beside the furnace; the CPSC does not recommend installing CO alarms above fuel-burning appliances, and also says to avoid locations near heating vents. A basement outlet on an interior wall, a little away from the mechanical room door, usually works.
The gaps: the listing does not name UL 2034 specifically, has no display and does not say what battery the backup uses. The title says CO605 but the model field reads CO606, so check the label on arrival.
Pros
- Names an electrochemical sensor
- End-of-life chirp
- Battery backup and 8-hour low-battery mute
- 7-year limited warranty
Cons
- No display
- UL 2034 not named specifically
- Model number inconsistent in listing
Check First Alert CO605 price on Amazon
5. Kidde KN-COEG-3 — Best for a Mechanical Room With Gas Appliances

Plug-in CO and explosive-gas alarm with digital display, 9V backup and memory of the last CO event.
Check price on Amazon$57.47 as of Nov 4, 2026 11:55 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Detects | Carbon monoxide plus explosive gas (natural gas and propane named) |
| Power | 120V outlet with 9-volt battery backup |
| Display | Digital LED readout of CO level, or “GAS” when explosive gas is present |
| Memory | Records the last CO detection or last test |
| Size | About 6.1 x 3.8 x 2.5 in |
| Certification / warranty | Not stated in this listing |
Kidde KN-COEG-3 — CO + explosive gas, 120V plug-in, 9V backup, digital display, 85 dB, event memory
One of Only Two Models Here That Add Natural Gas and Propane Sensing
Three of the 12 listings sense explosive gas as well as CO, and they cover just two models: this KN-COEG-3 (sold under two listings) and its newer replacement, the COPDLG. The mechanical room is the one spot in a house where a combined unit earns its keep, because gas piping, unions and appliance valves all sit there. Our separate roundup of natural gas detectors covers the gas side and its placement rules in detail.
Mount it in the room but not on top of the furnace or water heater, keeping the distance the manual specifies. Natural gas is lighter than air, so the gas side reads best higher up, while the CO side works at the outlet height a plug-in naturally sits at. Treat this as an extra alarm for that room; it does not replace the CO alarm that belongs outside the bedrooms.
This listing names no certification or warranty, and its memory feature records when CO was last detected rather than the highest level reached. Buyers who care about a named standard should look at the COPDLG, which names UL 2034 5th Edition for its CO function.
Pros
- CO and natural gas or propane in one housing
- Display separates a CO number from a gas alarm
- 9-volt backup and event memory
Cons
- No certification or warranty named
- Memory logs time, not peak level
- Superseded by the COPDLG per Kidde
Check Kidde KN-COEG-3 price on Amazon
6. Kidde KN-COB-DP2 — Best Plain Plug-In for the Main Living Level

Simple plug-in CO alarm with 2-AA backup, 85 dB sounder, test-hush button and last-event memory.
Check price on Amazon$29.99 as of Nov 5, 2026 10:33 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Power | Standard 120V outlet; 2-AA battery backup |
| Alarm / controls | 85 dB sounder; LED status lights; test-hush button |
| Memory | Records the last time CO was detected or the unit was tested |
| Display | None; LED indicators only |
| Size | About 4.7 x 2.8 x 2.3 in |
| Certification / warranty | Not stated in listing |
Kidde KN-COB-DP2 — 120V plug-in, 2xAA backup, 85 dB, LEDs, test-hush, last-event memory
The Only CO-Only Plug-In Here With Event Memory
Among the 7 plug-in listings, three describe a memory of the last CO event: this model and the two KN-COEG-3 listings. The KN-COB-DP2 is the only CO-only plug-in that has it. On the main floor, where a gas fireplace, range or a garage entry might sit, that memory answers a useful question when the household returns: did anything happen while we were out?
For the living level, place it in a central hallway or family room on an interior wall, away from the kitchen; the CPSC does not recommend kitchens for CO alarms. A room with a fireplace or a gas log set deserves coverage nearby, but not on the hearth wall directly above the opening.
It is the plainest pick on the list. The listing names no certification, warranty or sensor type, and there is no display. Choose it for straightforward coverage on a floor where a second display unit would be redundant.
Pros
- Only CO-only plug-in here with event memory
- AA battery backup
- Compact housing
Cons
- No display
- Certification, warranty and sensor type not stated
- Fixed at outlet height
Check Kidde KN-COB-DP2 price on Amazon
A room-by-room CO alarm plan
The NFPA recommends CO alarms in a central location outside each sleeping area, on every level of the home and anywhere local codes require them. The CPSC adds that alarms can be plugged into a receptacle or mounted high on a wall, that plug-in and hardwired units should have battery backup, and that they should not be placed near heating vents, behind furniture or drapes, in kitchens or above fuel-burning appliances. Here is how those rules play out in a typical gas-heated house with an attached garage.
Sleeping areas
Start with the hallway outside each group of bedrooms. If bedrooms sit in two wings, each wing needs its own alarm. Add an alarm inside any bedroom that sits above the garage, shares a wall with a furnace closet or has a fireplace. A display unit in the main hallway and battery units inside bedrooms is a practical mix.
Every level, including the basement
Each floor gets at least one alarm, even if nobody sleeps there. Basements matter because they often hold the furnace, water heater and sometimes a gas dryer. Place the basement alarm in the living area or near the stair, not inside the mechanical room door.
Attached garage
Put an alarm on the house side of the door to the garage, and in any finished room directly above the garage. Do not put a residential CO alarm inside the garage; it is outside its intended environment and exhaust from starting a car can trigger nuisance alarms. Weatherstripping and a self-closing door on that opening help keep exhaust out in the first place.
Mechanical room and fuel-burning appliances
The CPSC does not recommend placing alarms directly above fuel-burning appliances. Give the furnace and water heater room an alarm a reasonable distance away, per the manual, or rely on nearby coverage. Annual service of the appliances is what actually prevents CO; the CDC advises having heating systems, water heaters and other fuel-burning appliances checked by a qualified technician every year.
Kitchen and fireplace rooms
Keep CO alarms out of kitchens. For a living room with a wood or gas fireplace, mount the alarm elsewhere in the room or the adjoining hall, not over the opening. The CDC also recommends having chimneys checked or cleaned every year.
Specs that matter for whole-home CO coverage
Power source by location
Battery units go anywhere, which makes them the default for bedrooms and garage-entry walls. Plug-ins with backup suit hallways and living levels with convenient outlets. The CPSC and CDC both point to battery-operated or battery-backup alarms. Our battery carbon monoxide detector guide covers the battery-only category in more depth.
Interconnection
The CPSC and NFPA both say interconnected alarms are best, because when one sounds, they all sound. None of the 12 listings on this shelf describe interconnection; that feature lives in hardwired or wireless smart alarms. In a large house or one with a basement bedroom, consider a hardwired smoke and CO system or a smart CO detector for the sleeping areas, and use stand-alone units to fill gaps.
Display and low-level warning
A display turns an alarm into a gauge. The CPSC notes that most people feel no symptoms at roughly 1 to 70 ppm over long periods, while symptoms become more noticeable as levels stay above 70 ppm, and sustained levels above 150 to 200 ppm can cause disorientation, unconsciousness and death. Households with infants, older adults or people with heart conditions may want earlier information; see our guide to low-level carbon monoxide detectors.
Certification
Four of the 12 listings name UL 2034, the residential CO alarm standard the CPSC recommends. Others say “UL listed” or “tested to UL standards,” which is vaguer but not proof of a problem. Check the label on the alarm itself.
End-of-life and replacement
Only 3 of the 12 listings mention an end-of-life signal. The CDC says to replace a CO detector following the manufacturer’s instructions or every 5 years, and the NFPA says to test alarms at least monthly. A chirp that continues after fresh batteries usually means replacement time; our explainer on why a carbon monoxide detector is beeping decodes the patterns, and our CO detector replacement guide covers timing.
Colorado notes for Front Range homes
Colorado law requires CO alarms in many homes with fuel-fired appliances, fireplaces or attached garages, with the specifics triggered by sales, certain remodeling and rental turnover. Confirm current details with your local building department or real estate professional. In practice, most Front Range houses check every box: gas forced-air heat, a gas water heater, a gas fireplace in the family room and an attached two-car garage. Tri-levels and split-levels, common across Denver, Lakewood and Colorado Springs, add a wrinkle because “every level” can mean four short floors, often with bedrooms a half-flight above the garage.
Winter adds risk. Snow can block high-efficiency furnace intake and exhaust pipes on side walls, and people warm up cars in attached garages on cold mornings. Both are reasons to keep the garage-entry and bedroom-over-garage alarms in place.
Limits of DIY alarms vs a professional inspection
An alarm detects CO after it is in the air; it does not explain why. A home inspector looks at visible flue connections, venting slope, combustion-air supply, garage-to-house separation and the presence and age of alarms, and will refer appliances with concerns to a licensed HVAC technician. When a CO alarm sounds, the NFPA says to move immediately to fresh air outdoors or by an open window or door, account for everyone and call for help from there, and the CPSC says not to try to find the source yourself. For more on inspector tools, see our home inspection tools guide.
Buying a home with gas appliances and an attached garage? Contact us to have CO alarm coverage and venting reviewed during your inspection.
References
- Carbon Monoxide Questions and Answers — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Basics — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Carbon Monoxide Safety — National Fire Protection Association
Frequently asked questions
Where should CO detectors be placed in a home?
The NFPA recommends a CO alarm in a central location outside each sleeping area, on every level of the home and wherever local codes require. Add alarms on the house side of an attached-garage door and in bedrooms above a garage. The CPSC advises against kitchens, spots above fuel-burning appliances and locations near heating vents.
Should a CO detector go in the garage?
No. Residential CO alarms belong inside the living space, such as on the wall beside the door to an attached garage and in any finished room above it. Garages expose sensors to exhaust, dust and temperature swings that can cause nuisance alarms or shorten sensor life.
How many CO detectors does a house with an attached garage need?
At minimum, one outside each sleeping area and one on every level, including the basement. Most homes with an attached garage should add one by the garage entry door and one in any bedroom or bonus room above the garage. Larger homes with separate bedroom wings need one per wing.
Can a CO detector be placed near a furnace?
Not directly above it. The CPSC does not recommend installing CO alarms above fuel-burning appliances or near heating vents. Place the alarm elsewhere on the same level, at the distance the manufacturer's manual specifies, and have the furnace serviced every year.
Are plug-in or battery CO detectors better for a home?
Both work if they carry a recognized listing and have battery power during outages. Plug-in units with battery backup suit hallways with outlets, while battery units fit bedrooms and garage-entry walls without outlets. Interconnected hardwired or smart alarms are best for sleeping areas when possible.
Buying or selling on the Front Range? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted inspector who checks CO alarm coverage, venting and garage separation.
CO & gas detectors
A carbon monoxide alarm is the cheapest life-safety device in the house. Combination CO + explosive-gas units add a layer near furnaces and gas lines.
| Product | Why | Buy |
|---|---|---|
First Alert CO Alarm | Plug-in with battery backup. | Amazon — $21.99 |
Kidde Nighthawk CO + Gas | Detects CO + natural/propane gas. | Amazon — $57.47 |