Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Radon Fan: A 2026 Buyer’s Guide

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published June 10, 2026 Updated October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Best radon fan

A radon fan is the motor of an active mitigation system. It runs around the clock, holds negative pressure under the slab or crawl space membrane, and pushes soil gas through the vent pipe to discharge outdoors. The right radon fan is the one whose airflow and suction match what is beneath a particular foundation, which is why the same model can be ideal in one house and wrong in the next. This guide compares six inline radon fans on what their listings actually state, explains how airflow and static pressure drive sizing, and covers why fan selection and installation belong with a certified radon mitigator.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings for inline radon fans, covering 7 distinct products (one fan appears as three listings and another as two), on what each listing states: airflow, stated suction or pressure data, noise, wattage, weatherproofing, safety listing, included parts and warranty. Test kits and detectors that appeared in the same searches are covered in separate guides. We did not lab-test, install or handle any of these fans. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best radon fans by job

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
RadonAway RP145CMitigator-designed systems
  • 4.5 in inlet/outlet
  • listing says retrofit sizing may need professional diagnostics
$152.00as of Nov 5, 2026 8:24 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
RadonAway GP5013-inch pipe systems
  • ETL listed for indoor or outdoor use
  • seams sealed under negative pressure
$259.57as of Nov 5, 2026 7:48 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Festa AMG Maverick 4” KitFan plus manometer in one box
  • Not stated in this kit listing
  • Includes manometer, two 4x4 couplers, line cord kit and labels
$195.00as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
xyfair PF-100Longest stated warranty
  • 190 CFM
  • 8-year limited warranty
  • ETL listed
$75.95as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
MIDCVFRUN 2-Speed KitAdjustable airflow
  • 260 / 188 CFM
  • Only two-speed fan
  • pressure indicator included
$169.00as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
PCLINE PF-100Lowest stated noise
  • 190 CFM
  • 38 to 42 dB
  • 58 W motor
$114.99as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The six picks, compared listing by listing

1. RadonAway RP145C — Best for Mitigator-Designed Systems

Best mitigator-designed systemsRadonAway RP145C

Inline radon fan with 4.5 in inlet/outlet, sealed seams, water-hardened impeller and a 5-year limited warranty.

Check price on Amazon$152.00 as of Nov 5, 2026 8:24 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Duct size 4.5 in inlet and outlet
Airflow / suction Not stated in listing
Construction Water-hardened motorized impeller; seams sealed against radon leakage; thermally protected motor
Rating Listed for residential and commercial use; described as meeting electrical code requirements
Size / weight About 9.7 x 9.7 x 8.5 in; 6 lb
Model / warranty RP145C (part 23030-1), the standard RP145; 5-year limited warranty

RadonAway RP145C — 4.5 in ports, sealed seams, water-hardened impeller, thermal protection, 6 lb, 5-yr limited warranty

The Only Listing That Says Sizing May Need Professional Diagnostics

Six of the 10 fan listings tell buyers that the fan can be installed without a specialist. The RP145C listing is the only one that says the opposite: for a retrofit, fan sizing may require professional diagnostics and design. It also notes that slab openings, major cracks and penetrations must be sealed when installing an active soil depressurization system. That framing matches how a mitigation system actually succeeds or fails.

It is also one of four listings that describe sealed seams or a sealed housing, and one of two that mention a thermally protected motor. RadonAway notes that RP145C is simply the manufacturer label for the RP145, with the same motor, specifications and warranty.

The listing does not publish airflow, a suction rating or a fan curve. None of the 10 listings does, and that is the biggest gap on this shelf. A mitigator will choose between fans like this using the manufacturer’s performance curve and diagnostic readings from the home, not the listing.

Pros

  • Only listing that flags professional sizing for retrofits
  • Sealed seams and thermally protected motor
  • Water-hardened impeller
  • 5-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Airflow and suction not stated in listing
  • No couplers or gauge mentioned
  • Noise and wattage not stated

Check RadonAway RP145C price on Amazon

2. RadonAway GP501 — Best for 3-Inch Pipe Systems

Best 3-inch pipe systemsRadonAway GP501

3 in radon fan for 3 or 4 in pipe, ETL listed for indoor or outdoor use, seams sealed under negative pressure.

Check price on Amazon$259.57 as of Nov 5, 2026 7:48 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Duct size 3 in ducts for use with 3 in or 4 in pipe
Airflow / suction Not stated in listing
Mounting Mounts on the duct pipe or with an integral flange
Electrical Electrical box allows hardwired or plug-in connection
Safety listing ETL listed for indoor or outdoor use; seams sealed under negative pressure
Size / warranty About 12.5 x 12.5 x 13 in; 6 lb; 5-year limited warranty

RadonAway GP501 — 3 in ducts for 3/4 in pipe, flange or pipe mount, ETL listed indoor/outdoor, sealed seams, 5-yr limited warranty

One of Two Fans That Name an ETL Safety Listing

Only two of the 10 listings name a recognized safety listing: the GP501 and the xyfair PF-100, both ETL listed. The other eight use words like “safe” or “energy efficient” without naming a testing mark. For equipment that runs continuously for years, often on an exterior wall exposed to weather, a named listing is worth checking.

The GP501 is also the only fan on the shelf built around 3 in ducts, which the listing says can be used with 3 in or 4 in pipe. Many of the other kits ship rubber couplers that step a 4 in fan down to 3 in pipe. A fan with native 3 in ports is a different approach to the same pipe size. The listing also offers two mounting methods and an electrical box that accepts either a hardwired or plug-in connection. Electrical connections should be made by a qualified installer to local code.

Like the RP145C, this listing does not state airflow or suction. It does not describe the GP501 as a high-suction model, so any decision about whether a home needs that kind of fan should come from the mitigator’s diagnostic and the published fan curve.

Pros

  • ETL listed for indoor or outdoor use
  • Native 3 in ducts; works with 3 or 4 in pipe
  • Pipe or flange mounting
  • 5-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Airflow and suction not stated in listing
  • No couplers or gauge mentioned
  • Noise and wattage not stated

Check RadonAway GP501 price on Amazon

3. Festa AMG Maverick 4″ Installation Kit — Best Kit With a Manometer Included

Best fan plus manometer in one boxFesta AMG Maverick 4in Kit

Maverick inline radon fan kit with manometer, two 4x4 couplers, line cord kit and system labels; 5-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$195.00 as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Kit contents Maverick fan, two 4×4 couplers for 4 in PVC or ABS, manometer, line cord kit, system labels
Airflow Not stated in this kit listing (the bare-fan listing states 260 CFM)
Power / noise Up to 70 W; 50 to 60 dB
Use Indoor or outdoor; listing warns “not for use in unattended areas”
Size / weight About 12.06 x 12.06 x 9.25 in; about 5 lb
Warranty 5-year manufacturer warranty against fan failure

Festa AMG Maverick 4×4 kit — fan + manometer + couplers + cord kit + labels, up to 70 W, 50–60 dB, 5-yr warranty

One of Only Two Listings That Include a True Manometer

Six of the 10 listings include some kind of pressure gauge. Four describe it as an “air pressure indicator.” The two Festa AMG Maverick kit listings, for 3 in and 4 in pipe, are the only ones that call theirs a manometer and also bundle system labels and a line cord kit. A manometer on the vent pipe is the homeowner’s everyday check that the fan is still pulling suction; if the reading drops to zero, the system needs service.

The Maverick is one of three products on the shelf that state a noise range and one of two that state wattage. Its 50 to 60 dB range is the highest stated on the shelf, while its 70 W figure is the higher of the two wattage claims. Across its three listings, the bare fan states 260 CFM; this kit listing does not repeat the airflow.

Two lines in the listing deserve a second look. It says the fan can be installed without help from a specialist, which conflicts with CDC advice to rely on a qualified professional for radon reduction. It also says the fan is “not for use in unattended areas,” an unusual note for a fan designed to run continuously. Ask the seller or a mitigator what that warning means for an attic or exterior mount before buying.

Pros

  • Manometer, couplers, cord kit and labels included
  • States both wattage and noise
  • 5-year warranty against fan failure

Cons

  • Highest stated noise range on the shelf
  • Airflow not stated in this kit listing
  • Unclear “unattended areas” warning
  • Promotes DIY installation

Check Festa AMG Maverick 4in Kit price on Amazon

4. xyfair PF-100 — Best Stated Warranty

Best longest stated warrantyxyfair PF-100

4 in, 190 CFM waterproof radon fan with sealed case, thermal protection, ETL listing and an 8-year limited warranty.

Check price on Amazon$75.95 as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Duct size / airflow 4 in; 190 CFM
Suction Not stated in listing
Weatherproofing IP67 waterproof; indoor or outdoor use
Construction Fully sealed case; balanced motor and impeller; thermally protected
Safety listing ETL listed; rated for industrial, commercial and residential use
Size / warranty About 11.02 x 10.2 x 9.92 in; 7.3 lb; 8-year limited warranty, full replacement

xyfair PF-100 — 4 in, 190 CFM, IP67, sealed case, thermally protected, ETL listed, 8-yr limited full-replacement warranty

The Longest Stated Warranty on the Shelf

Six of the 10 listings state a warranty term. Five of those six, covering the two RadonAway fans and three Maverick listings, offer 5 years. The xyfair PF-100 offers 8 years with full replacement, the longest on the shelf. Because a radon fan is the one moving part in a mitigation system, warranty length is a practical stand-in for how long the maker expects it to run.

It also stacks several protections that other listings state only partly: a sealed case, a thermally protected motor and an ETL listing. Only the RP145C matches it on both sealing and thermal protection, and only the GP501 shares the ETL mark. It is one of five listings that claim IP67 waterproofing.

The listing gives airflow at 190 CFM but no static pressure, noise level or wattage. The PCLINE fan in pick 6 carries the same PF-100 model number and identical stated dimensions, which suggests a common design; the two listings differ in what they choose to publish.

Pros

  • 8-year limited full-replacement warranty
  • ETL listed and thermally protected
  • Sealed case; IP67 waterproof
  • Mounting brackets included

Cons

  • Suction not stated in listing
  • Noise and wattage not stated
  • No couplers or pressure gauge mentioned

Check xyfair PF-100 price on Amazon

5. MIDCVFRUN 2-Speed Radon Fan Kit — Best Adjustable Airflow

Best adjustable airflowMIDCVFRUN 2-Speed Kit

4 in two-speed radon fan kit, 260 or 188 CFM, with 4x3 rubber couplers, a pressure indicator and IP67 housing.

Check price on Amazon$169.00 as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Speeds / airflow High 260 CFM; low 188 CFM
Noise 45 dB on high; 32 dB on low
Suction Not stated in listing
Kit contents Fan, two 4×3 in rubber couplers, air pressure indicator
Weatherproofing IP67; indoor or outdoor
Warranty Not stated in listing

MIDCVFRUN kit — 2-speed 260/188 CFM, 45/32 dB, 4×3 couplers, pressure indicator, IP67, warranty not stated

The Only Two-Speed Fan on the Shelf

No other listing on the shelf mentions more than one speed. The MIDCVFRUN kit offers two, 260 CFM at 45 dB and 188 CFM at 32 dB. A lower setting can help when a fan proves louder than needed or when a mitigator wants to see whether less airflow still holds the target pressure. The 32 dB low-speed figure is the lowest noise number stated on the shelf.

The kit includes 4×3 rubber couplers and an air pressure indicator, one of six listings with some kind of pressure gauge. It also claims IP67 waterproofing, one of five listings to do so.

Two cautions apply. First, the listing gives no warranty term, while six other listings do. Second, it states the fan can be installed totally without a specialist. Picking a speed is not the same as sizing a system: whether either speed delivers enough suction under a given slab can only be judged against the home’s diagnostic readings, and the listing publishes no suction data.

Pros

  • Only two-speed fan on the shelf
  • Lowest stated noise figure on low speed
  • Couplers and pressure indicator included
  • IP67 housing

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Suction not stated in listing
  • Promotes installation without a specialist

Check MIDCVFRUN 2-Speed Kit price on Amazon

6. PCLINE PF-100 — Best for Low Stated Noise and Power Draw

Best lowest stated noisePCLINE 4in Radon Fan

4 in, 190 CFM radon fan rated 38 to 42 dB and 58 W, with sealed seams, IP67 housing, couplers and pressure indicator.

Check price on Amazon$114.99 as of Nov 5, 2026 7:16 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.
Specification Details
Duct size / airflow 4 in; up to 190 CFM
Noise / power 38 to 42 dB; 58 W motor
Suction Not stated in listing
Construction Fully sealed seams; IP67 waterproof and dustproof housing
Kit contents Two 4×3 in rubber couplers, air pressure indicator, instructions
Rated life / model Up to 50,000 hours stated; model PF-100; warranty not stated

PCLINE PF-100 — 4 in, 190 CFM, 38–42 dB, 58 W, sealed seams, IP67, 4×3 couplers + pressure indicator

The Lowest Stated Wattage and Lowest Single-Speed Noise Range

Only two products on the shelf state a wattage: the Maverick at up to 70 W and the PCLINE at 58 W. Because a radon fan runs continuously, a lower draw adds up over years of operation. Among single-speed fans that state noise, the PCLINE’s 38 to 42 dB range is the quietest; only the MIDCVFRUN’s low setting is lower. Our quiet radon fan guide covers how mounting location affects what a household actually hears.

The listing also covers practical installation details that many leave out: sealed seams to maintain negative sub-slab pressure, 4×3 couplers and a pressure indicator. It is one of four listings that describe a sealed housing or sealed seams.

It does not state a warranty, which the xyfair listing for the same PF-100 model number does at 8 years. Buyers deciding between the two should weigh the PCLINE’s published noise and wattage figures against the xyfair’s stated warranty and ETL listing. Neither publishes suction data.

Pros

  • 58 W, the lowest stated wattage
  • 38 to 42 dB stated noise range
  • Sealed seams; IP67 housing
  • Couplers and pressure indicator included

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Suction not stated in listing
  • No safety listing named

Check PCLINE 4in Radon Fan price on Amazon

A listing not included

Two FixOasis listings for the same 260 CFM fan kit also appeared. Their listings state that the fan can reduce radon to 0.2 pCi/L. No fan can promise a specific indoor level, because the result depends on the soil, the foundation, sealing and system design. That claim, plus the absence of a stated warranty or safety listing, kept it out of the picks.

Airflow vs static pressure: the specs that size a radon fan

Two numbers describe a radon fan’s capability. Airflow, in cubic feet per minute (CFM), is how much air the fan moves. Static pressure, usually given in inches of water column, is how hard it can pull against resistance. They trade off against each other: as resistance under the slab rises, airflow falls. A manufacturer’s fan curve plots that relationship.

Here is the problem with shopping by listing. Six of the 10 listings state an airflow, from 188 to 260 CFM, but none of the 10 states a static pressure rating or includes a fan curve. A headline CFM figure is often a free-air number, meaning airflow with no resistance at all, which is not how a fan operates under a slab. Two fans with identical CFM can perform very differently once soil, gravel and pipe are attached.

Why sub-slab conditions decide the fan

Beneath a slab, gas moves easily through clean gravel and poorly through dense clay or compacted fill. Tight soils call for a fan that holds suction at low airflow; open, permeable material calls for more airflow at lower suction. Crawl spaces with a sealed membrane, multiple suction points and long pipe runs each shift the requirement again. A mitigator measures how well suction spreads under the slab during a diagnostic, then picks a fan whose curve puts the operating point in its efficient range. That step is what separates a system that drops radon well below 4 pCi/L from one that barely moves it.

Other specs worth comparing

  • Noise. Three products state a range, from 32 dB on a low setting to 60 dB. Mount location and pipe support often matter as much as the fan itself.
  • Power draw. Only two products state wattage. Ask the mitigator for the operating wattage at the home’s expected pressure, which is usually the number on the fan curve.
  • Weather resistance. Five listings claim IP67. Exterior and attic mounts see heat, cold and condensation.
  • Safety listing and sealing. Two listings name ETL. A sealed housing limits leakage on the pressurized discharge side.
  • Warranty. Stated terms run 5 to 8 years; four listings state none.

Why installation belongs with a certified mitigator

Six of the 10 listings encourage do-it-yourself installation. Public health guidance points the other way. The CDC says lowering high radon levels requires technical knowledge and special skills, that homeowners should rely on a qualified professional, and that contractors who do not specialize in radon reduction could make the problem worse. EPA directs homeowners to their state radon program or to the NRPP and NRSB national proficiency programs to find credentialed mitigators.

EPA also lists the ANSI/AARST Soil Gas Mitigation Standards for Existing Homes (SGM-SF-2023) among its current standards of practice. A certified mitigator works to that standard, which covers system design and installation details a fan listing never mentions. In practice, that means:

  • A diagnostic to choose the fan and the number of suction points.
  • Sealing of slab cracks and openings, which the CDC says makes a soil depressurization system more effective and cost-efficient.
  • Locating the fan and discharge so soil gas is vented outdoors and away from windows and openings, per the mitigator’s standard of practice and local code.
  • Electrical work by a qualified installer to local code.
  • A system gauge, labels and a post-installation radon test.

The fan is one component in a system of pipe, seals, gauge and discharge. A good fan in a poorly designed system will not protect the home. For a broader look at how the parts fit together, see our overview of radon systems, and for budgeting, our guide to radon fan cost.

Colorado Front Range considerations

EPA’s Colorado radon zone map places Denver, Jefferson, Arapahoe, Adams, Douglas, Boulder, El Paso, Elbert, Larimer and Weld counties in Zone 1, where the predicted average indoor screening level is above 4 pCi/L. Mitigation systems are common across the Front Range, and so are aging fans in systems installed years ago.

Local soils and foundations vary widely, from basements on dense ground to crawl spaces and slab-on-grade additions on the same lot. That variation is exactly why a fan should be sized from the home’s own diagnostic rather than a neighbor’s model number. Exterior-mounted fans also see wide temperature swings through Colorado winters and summers, so weather resistance and a sound warranty matter. Basement-specific layouts are covered in our basement radon fan guide.

Checking and replacing a fan

Once a system is running, the gauge on the vent pipe is the quick check. A reading that drops to zero, a fan that goes silent or a change in noise is a reason to call the installer. The CDC recommends testing again after a mitigation system is installed to confirm it works, and considering a retest every two years and after remodeling.

When a fan fails or ages out, the replacement should match the system’s design point, not just the old fan’s housing size. A mitigator can confirm whether the original fan was correctly sized or whether a different curve would serve the home better. Our guide to radon fan replacement covers what that job involves, and our radon testing hub explains how to verify the result afterward.

If you are buying a Front Range home with an existing mitigation system or need a post-mitigation test, contact us to be connected with a vetted local inspector.

References

Frequently asked questions

How do I choose the right radon fan size?

Radon fans are sized from a diagnostic of how air moves beneath the slab, not from the house's square footage. A mitigator matches the fan's performance curve, airflow against static pressure, to the home's conditions. Tight soils usually need more suction, while gravel and open crawl spaces need more airflow.

Is a higher CFM radon fan always better?

No. Listed CFM is often measured with no resistance, and airflow drops as suction rises under a slab. A high-airflow fan on tight soil may move little air, while an oversized fan wastes power and adds noise. The right fan sits in the efficient part of its curve for that home.

Can I install a radon fan myself?

Several listings promote DIY installation, but the CDC says lowering radon requires technical knowledge and special skills and recommends relying on a qualified professional. A certified mitigator handles the diagnostic, sealing, fan location, discharge, electrical connection to code and the follow-up test.

How long does a radon fan last?

Stated warranties on current listings run from 5 to 8 years, and some listings quote a rated motor life in hours. Actual life depends on the operating conditions and mounting location. Watch the system gauge and retest periodically so a failed fan is caught quickly.

What should the radon level be after a fan is installed?

The goal is below the EPA action level of 4 pCi/L, and lower is better because the CDC notes there is no known safe level. Test again after the system is installed to confirm it works, then consider retesting every two years and after remodeling.

Buying a Front Range home with a radon system, or need a post-mitigation test? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Radon mitigation fans & parts

If a sub-slab depressurization system is the fix, the inline fan is the heart of it. Match the fan to your soil and pipe diameter — or have a certified installer size it.

ProductWhyBuy
RadonAway RP145 Inline FanCommon 4-in. SSD workhorse fan.Amazon — $152.00
Fantech Rn2 Radon FanQuiet operation; energy-efficient.Amazon — $184.95
Radon U-Tube ManometerConfirms the system is pulling suction.Amazon — $13.95

Compare more picks in our full buying guide →

Prices and availability are accurate as of November 6, 2026 and are subject to change. Product data via the Amazon Product Advertising API.

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.