Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Home Safes (2026): 6 Picks Compared by Protection Type

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by HUUM

The best home safe is the one built for the threat you actually face, and most shoppers are trying to guard against three different things at once: fire, water and theft. Few compact safes do all three well. A thin steel keypad box bolted to a closet floor slows a burglar but can cook its contents in a house fire, while a fire-rated document chest protects paper from heat but can be carried out under one arm. This roundup compares six picks by the job each listing supports, then covers how to read fire and water ratings, what belongs in a home safe versus a bank deposit box, and where to put and anchor one in a Front Range home. Gun safes and large floor-standing vaults are a different purchase and are not covered here.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 11 current Amazon listings for home safes and fire boxes, from 0.2 to 2.8 cubic feet, on what each listing states: fire rating and the lab named, water and drop ratings, lock type, bolt and steel details, bolt-down hardware, interior size and weight. We set aside three listings that were books or had no product data. We did not lab-test, fire-test or break into any safe. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best home safes by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
SentrySafe SFW123GDCBest overall fire, water and theft
  • UL Classified 1 hr at 1700 F
  • ETL water 24 hr, 8 in deep
  • Bolt-down, 4 live bolts
$286.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
SentrySafe SFW123DSBBest no-battery dial lock
  • Dial combination lock
  • UL Classified 1 hr at 1700 F
  • ETL 15 ft fall rating
$224.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
SentrySafe HD4100Best for hanging files
  • Fits hanging file folders
  • UL Classified up to 30 min
  • ETL verified water protection
$68.00as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
SentrySafe 1160Best small fire box
  • UL Classified 30 min at 1550 F
  • Key lock, carry grips
  • About 17 lb
—Buy now →Check current price
Amazon Basics 50SAMBest for theft protection
  • 8-gauge steel door
  • 2 live door bolts
  • Floor or wall mounting
$104.99as of Oct 21, 2026 8:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
FOWORE 42CC-35Largest keypad safe with alarm
  • 2.8 cu ft
  • Alarm after 3 bad codes
  • External battery backup
$169.96as of Oct 21, 2026 8:15 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The six picks, compared listing by listing

1. SentrySafe SFW123GDC — Best Overall Home Safe for Fire, Water and Theft

Best overallSentrySafe SFW123GDC

1.23 cu ft digital safe, UL Classified 1 hour at 1700 F, ETL verified for water and a 15 ft fall, bolt-down hardware.

Check price on Amazon$286.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Highest fire rating on the shelf: 1 hour at 1700 F
  • Water rating of 24 hours in 8 in of water
  • Rated to survive a 15 ft fall during a fire
  • Four live-locking bolts and bolt-down hardware
Specification Details
Fire rating UL Classified, 1 hour at 1700 F for documents, DVDs and USB drives
Water / drop ETL Verified, 24 hours in water up to 8 inches deep; ETL Verified 15-foot fall
Lock Programmable digital keypad with secondary key; 4 AAA batteries
Security 4 live-locking bolts, pry-resistant hinge bar, bolt-down hardware
Interior / exterior About 12.6 x 11.9 x 13.8 in inside; 16.3 x 19.3 x 17.8 in outside; 1.23 cu ft
Weight / warranty About 87 to 90 lb; limited 1-year warranty

SentrySafe SFW123GDC — 1.23 cu ft, UL 1 hr / 1700 F, ETL water 24 hr / 8 in, ETL 15 ft drop, digital + key, 4 bolts, bolt-down

The Only Pick That Covers Fire, Water, Drop and Bolt-Down in One Listing

Five of the 11 listings make a fire claim for the safe itself. Four are SentrySafe models that say UL Classified, and two of those, this SFW123GDC and the dial-lock SFW123DSB, list the highest rating on the shelf: 1 hour at 1700 F. Three SentrySafe listings also carry an ETL-verified water rating. Only these two 1.23 cubic foot models combine a fire rating, a water rating, an ETL-verified drop rating and bolt-down hardware.

The drop rating sounds odd until you picture a second-floor closet collapsing into a basement during a fire. The listing says the safe is verified to survive a 15-foot fall during a fire and stay closed. The water rating, 24 hours in up to 8 inches of water, is aimed at the firefighting water and basement flooding that follow a fire or storm, not full submersion.

The trade-offs are weight and interior space. At roughly 87 to 90 lb it takes two people to place, and the thick fire insulation leaves only about 1.23 cubic feet inside. The door also needs about 14.75 inches of swing clearance, so measure the closet. The keypad runs on four AAA batteries, and SentrySafe recommends name-brand alkalines with a long expiration date.

Pros

  • UL Classified 1 hour at 1700 F
  • ETL water and drop ratings
  • Four live bolts and bolt-down hardware
  • Interior light and locking drawer

Cons

  • Very heavy at about 87 to 90 lb
  • Modest 1.23 cu ft interior
  • Keypad depends on batteries

Check SentrySafe SFW123GDC price on Amazon

2. SentrySafe SFW123DSB — Best Home Safe With a No-Battery Dial Lock

Best no-battery dial lockSentrySafe SFW123DSB

1.23 cu ft dial-combination safe, UL Classified 1 hour at 1700 F, ETL water and 15 ft fall ratings, bolt-down hardware.

Check price on Amazon$224.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only dial-combination lock on the shelf
  • Same 1 hour, 1700 F fire rating as pick 1
  • ETL water and 15 ft fall ratings
  • Replacement safe if damaged by fire or water
Specification Details
Fire rating UL Classified, 1 hour at 1700 F
Water / drop ETL Verified, 24 hours in up to 8 inches of water; ETL Verified 15-foot fall
Lock Mechanical dial combination; no batteries required
Security 4 live-locking bolts, pry-resistant hinge bar, shelf, bolt-down hardware
Size 1.23 cu ft; about 12.6 x 11.9 x 13.8 in inside
Weight / warranty About 86 lb; limited 1-year, plus replacement after fire or water damage

SentrySafe SFW123DSB — 1.23 cu ft, dial combination, UL 1 hr / 1700 F, ETL water 24 hr, ETL 15 ft drop, 4 bolts, ~86 lb

The Only Safe Here That Opens Without Batteries or a Key

Ten of the 11 listings use a keypad, a key or both. This SentrySafe is the only one with a mechanical dial combination. A keypad is faster day to day, but its batteries die, often at the worst moment, and every keypad listing here falls back on a backup key that then has to be hidden somewhere. A dial has nothing to replace and no key to lose. For documents you open a few times a year, a dial is often the more reliable lock.

Otherwise it matches the SFW123GDC: the same UL Classified 1-hour, 1700 F rating, the same ETL water and fall ratings, four live-locking bolts and bolt-down hardware in a 1.23 cubic foot body. The listing also says SentrySafe will provide a replacement safe if it is damaged by fire or water, a promise worth registering for.

The downside is speed. Dials take practice and are slow in an emergency, and the listing does not describe the interior light or locking drawer the digital version has.

Pros

  • No batteries or backup key needed
  • UL Classified 1 hour at 1700 F
  • ETL water and drop ratings
  • After-fire replacement promise

Cons

  • Dial is slow to open
  • About 86 lb
  • No interior light or drawer listed

Check SentrySafe SFW123DSB price on Amazon

3. SentrySafe HD4100 — Best Fire and Water Box for Hanging Files

Best for hanging filesSentrySafe HD4100

Portable file box, UL Classified up to 30 minutes and ETL verified for water, with room for hanging folders.

Check price on Amazon$68.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:36 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing built around hanging file folders
  • Fire and water ratings in a portable box
  • Key lock helps keep the lid shut in a fire
  • Carry it out in an evacuation
Specification Details
Fire rating UL Classified for up to 30 minutes; temperature not stated in listing
Water ETL Verified for water exposure; depth and duration not stated
Interior Fits hanging file folders; 0.65 cu ft
Lock Key lock, two keys included
Size / weight About 15.5 x 13.5 x 14.3 in; 38.8 lb
Anchoring / warranty No bolt-down hardware described; 1-year limited

SentrySafe HD4100 — 0.65 cu ft file box, UL Classified up to 30 min, ETL water, hanging-folder interior, key lock, 38.8 lb

The Only Listing Sized for File Folders

Paperwork is the most common reason people buy a home safe, and most compact safes force you to fold documents or stack them flat. The HD4100 is the only listing on the shelf described as fitting hanging file folders, so birth certificates, passports, insurance policies and deeds can be organized the way they live in a filing cabinet.

It is one of three listings with a water rating, though this one does not state the depth or duration, and its fire rating is up to 30 minutes rather than the 1 hour on the larger SentrySafe safes. The listing does not state the test temperature. It is a chest, not a safe: there is no bolt-down hardware, and at 38.8 lb it is meant to be grabbed in an evacuation.

That portability cuts both ways. During a wildfire evacuation, a box you can throw in the car is valuable. Against a burglar, it is a box with a handle. Store it out of sight, or inside a bolted safe or closet.

Pros

  • Fits hanging file folders
  • Fire and water ratings
  • Portable for evacuations
  • Key keeps lid closed in a fire

Cons

  • No bolt-down option
  • Water depth and duration not stated
  • Only 30-minute fire rating

Check SentrySafe HD4100 price on Amazon

4. SentrySafe 1160 — Best Small Fire Box for Documents

Best small fire boxSentrySafe 1160

Small key-lock fire chest, UL Classified 30 minutes at 1550 F, with carry grips and a lifetime after-fire replacement.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • UL Classified 30 minutes at 1550 F
  • Separate ETL rating for digital media
  • Light enough to carry at about 17 lb
  • Lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee
Specification Details
Fire rating UL Classified 1/2 hour at 1550 F for documents; ETL Verified 1/2 hour at 1550 F for CDs, DVDs and USB drives
Water No water rating stated
Interior About 3 x 13 x 8.75 in; about 0.2 cu ft
Lock Privacy key lock, two keys
Size / weight About 15.1 x 11.3 x 5.8 in outside; about 17 lb
Warranty Limited 1-year; lifetime after-fire replacement

SentrySafe 1160 — ~0.2 cu ft chest, UL 30 min / 1550 F (documents), ETL 30 min (media), key lock, carry grips, ~17 lb

The Only Listing That Rates Paper and Digital Media Separately

Paper chars at a much higher temperature than plastic media melts, so a box that protects documents may not protect a USB drive. The 1160 is the only listing on the shelf that states two ratings: UL Classified for 30 minutes at 1550 F for documents, and ETL Verified for the same time and temperature for CDs, DVDs and memory sticks. The 1-hour SentrySafe safes say their rating covers documents and digital media together.

The interior is small, about 3 inches deep, so it suits a stack of flat documents, a passport or two and a thumb drive with scanned copies, the kind of backup the CFPB recommends storing in a container that will not be damaged by fire or water. The lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee is a nice touch.

It is the lightest fire-rated pick at about 17 lb, has no water rating and no bolt-down hardware, and its “privacy key lock” is exactly that: privacy, not security.

Pros

  • UL Classified for documents
  • Separate media rating
  • Portable carry grips
  • Lifetime after-fire replacement

Cons

  • No water rating
  • Very shallow interior
  • Key lock offers little theft resistance

Check SentrySafe 1160 price on Amazon

5. Amazon Basics 50SAM 1.8 cu ft — Best Home Safe for Theft Protection

Best for theft protectionAmazon Basics 50SAM

1.8 cu ft keypad safe with an 8-gauge steel door, 14-gauge body, two live bolts, concealed hinges and mounting hardware.

Check price on Amazon$104.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 8:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • States steel gauge: 8-gauge door, 14-gauge body
  • Two live door bolts, concealed hinges
  • Pre-drilled for floor or wall mounting
  • Tall 1.8 cu ft interior with a shelf
Specification Details
Fire / water rating None stated
Steel 8-gauge door, 14-gauge body
Lock Programmable electronic keypad with backup key; AA batteries not included
Security 2 live door bolts, pry-resistant concealed hinges
Size 1.8 cu ft; about 13.6 x 10.4 x 19.5 in inside; 13.8 x 13 x 19.7 in outside
Mounting / weight Pre-drilled holes and hardware for floor or wall; about 37.5 lb

Amazon Basics 50SAM — 1.8 cu ft, 8-gauge door / 14-gauge body, 2 live bolts, concealed hinges, keypad + key, bolt-down, ~37.5 lb

One of Two Listings That State Steel Gauge

Burglary resistance comes from steel thickness, bolt work and anchoring, and most listings only say “heavy-duty steel.” Two listings state gauge, both Amazon Basics: this 1.8 cubic foot 50SAM and the shorter 1.52 cubic foot 42SAM, each with an 8-gauge door and 14-gauge body. Lower gauge numbers mean thicker steel. Pair that with two live door bolts, concealed hinges that cannot be attacked from outside and bolt-down hardware, and this is the most clearly specified theft-oriented safe on the shelf.

It also offers the most usable interior among the non-fire safes that state dimensions: about 19.5 inches tall inside with a shelf, enough for binders, a laptop or jewelry boxes.

What it does not do is resist fire or water. The listing makes no fire or water claim at all, and an uninsulated steel box offers no stated protection for paper in a house fire. If documents are the priority, put them in a rated fire box or pouch inside this safe, or choose one of the SentrySafe picks.

Pros

  • Stated 8-gauge door
  • Two live bolts, concealed hinges
  • Floor or wall mounting
  • Tall interior with shelf

Cons

  • No fire or water rating
  • Batteries not included
  • Backup key must be hidden well

Check Amazon Basics 50SAM price on Amazon

6. FOWORE 42CC-35 2.8 cu ft — Largest Keypad Safe With a Built-In Alarm

Largest keypad safe, alarmFOWORE 42CC-35

2.8 cu ft keypad safe with an alarm after 3 wrong codes, external battery port, LED light and a 35-minute fire claim.

Check price on Amazon$169.96 as of Oct 21, 2026 8:15 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Largest capacity listed at 2.8 cu ft
  • Alarm after three wrong code entries
  • External battery pack port for dead batteries
  • Fits legal files and a 13 in laptop
Specification Details
Capacity 2.8 cu ft; removable shelf, automatic LED light
Fire claim Listing says UL-certified for 35 minutes at 1700 F external heat, interior below 350 F; no UL class or standard named
Lock Keypad, override keys and external battery pack port
Security 3 steel bolts (25 mm), 55 mm door, alarm with silent mode
Mounting Pre-drilled holes with metal expansion screws
Size / weight About 13.8 x 12.2 x 16.5 in; 30 lb; warranty not stated

FOWORE 42CC-35 — 2.8 cu ft, keypad + keys + external battery, 3 bolts, alarm, LED, bolt-down, 35 min fire claim, 30 lb

The Most Space and the Only Alarm Among Fire-Claim Safes

Two FOWORE listings are the largest safes on the shelf at 2.8 cubic feet, and both describe an alarm that sounds after three consecutive wrong codes, with a silent mode. This newer 42CC-35 version adds a fire claim; the earlier 42CC instead includes a fireproof, waterproof document bag. The space fits legal-size files, a laptop or a tablet, and the external battery port solves the dead-keypad problem without relying on the backup keys.

Read the fire claim carefully. The listing says the safe is UL-certified to withstand 1700 F for 35 minutes with the interior held below 350 F, but it does not name a UL class, a standard or a classification mark the way the SentrySafe listings do. The 35-minute duration does not match the 30-minute and 1-hour durations the other listings cite. At 30 lb it is also about a third the weight of the SentrySafe 1-hour safes, which carry their fire rating in thick insulated walls.

Treat this as a large, alarmed burglary-deterrent safe whose fire protection is unverified from the listing. Look for a UL classification label on the unit before relying on it for irreplaceable papers.

Pros

  • 2.8 cu ft, the largest listed
  • Wrong-code alarm with silent mode
  • External battery port
  • Bolt-down hardware and LED light

Cons

  • Fire claim names no UL class or standard
  • No warranty stated
  • Light for its size, easier to pry or carry if not anchored

Check FOWORE 42CC-35 price on Amazon

How to read home safe ratings

Fire ratings: time, temperature and who tested it

A fire rating has three parts: how long the safe was exposed, how hot the furnace got, and which lab classified the result. The strongest listings here name all three, such as UL Classified, 1 hour at 1700 F. A 30-minute rating at 1550 F is a lighter standard suited to short exposures. Ratings also apply to specific contents; paper tolerates far more heat than plastic media, which is why one listing rates documents and digital media separately. Be wary of any claim that says “fireproof” without a time, temperature and named lab, or that names a lab without a class.

Water and drop ratings

Water ratings describe a depth and a duration, such as 24 hours in 8 inches of water. That covers firefighting runoff and a shallow basement flood, not a submerged safe. Drop ratings simulate a floor collapsing during a fire. Only the SentrySafe listings here state either, verified by ETL.

Locks

Keypads are fast and programmable but need batteries; nearly every keypad listing here adds backup keys, and two FOWORE models add an external battery port. Key-only fire chests are about privacy and keeping the lid closed in a fire. The single dial-combination listing needs no batteries or keys.

Burglary resistance

No listing on this shelf claims a formal burglary rating. Look instead for stated steel gauge, the number of live-locking bolts, concealed or protected hinges and, above all, bolt-down hardware. Nine of the 11 listings describe pre-drilled holes or included anchoring hardware; the two portable fire chests do not.

What belongs in a home safe, and what belongs elsewhere

The CFPB recommends gathering account numbers, insurance information, identity papers, property titles, tax and employment records, medical information, wills and powers of attorney, and passwords before a disaster. It suggests keeping copies in separate places, storing a password-protected digital copy online, and keeping a digital copy on a portable drive in a container that will not be damaged by fire or water. A home safe fits into that plan:

  • Home safe: passports, birth certificates and Social Security cards you may need quickly, a backup drive, spare keys, cash for emergencies, and jewelry you wear.
  • Bank safe deposit box: originals you rarely need and cannot replace, such as property deeds, bonds and heirloom jewelry. Think twice before putting the only copy of a will or a medical power of attorney in a bank box, since family members may need it quickly.
  • Digital backup: scans of everything, stored offsite and encrypted.

The U.S. Fire Administration’s After the Fire guide covers replacing documents after a house fire, a reminder of how much work a lost passport or deed creates. Insurance also matters: FEMA notes that most homeowners insurance does not cover flood damage and that flood insurance is a separate policy. Keep your policy numbers in the safe and a copy offsite.

Where to put and anchor a safe in a Front Range home

Placement balances three risks. Basements protect against heat rising through a house fire, but they flood, and many Front Range basements see water from snowmelt or a failed sump. Upper-floor closets avoid water but sit in the hottest part of a burning house and may fall through. Main-floor closets and corners near an exterior wall are often a reasonable compromise. Pick a fire- and water-rated safe if it will live in a basement.

  • Bolt it down. An unanchored 30 to 40 lb safe walks out with the burglar. Anchor into a concrete slab with the included expansion bolts, or into floor joists or wall studs, never just drywall or subfloor.
  • Hide it. A closet corner, a cabinet or a built-in enclosure beats a visible bedroom spot. Our guides to the best home security systems and smart locks cover the layers that keep someone from reaching it at all.
  • Wildfire season. Foothills and wildland-urban-interface neighborhoods should keep a portable fire box ready to grab, alongside an evacuation kit. Our sibling roundups of the best emergency radios and best first aid kits cover the rest of that kit.
  • Flood exposure. If your lot is near a mapped floodplain, our guide to flood zones explains how to check, which also tells you whether a basement safe is a good idea.

When a safe is not enough

A home safe is one layer. A house with weak exterior doors, unsecured basement windows or no smoke alarms has bigger gaps. A home inspection looks at those structural and safety features, and our structure and exterior inspection hub explains what inspectors check. Buying on the Front Range and want a second set of eyes? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best type of home safe for documents?

For documents, choose a safe or chest with a fire rating that names the time, temperature and testing lab, such as UL Classified for 1 hour at 1700 F, plus a water rating if it will sit in a basement. Bolt it down if it also holds valuables. A file box sized for hanging folders keeps paperwork organized.

Are fireproof home safes really fireproof?

No safe is fireproof; they are fire-resistant for a rated time and temperature. A listing that states UL Classified for 30 minutes at 1550 F or 1 hour at 1700 F describes a tested exposure. Be cautious with claims that name no time, temperature, lab or class, and remember that digital media needs a separate or higher rating than paper.

Should a home safe be bolted down?

Yes, for theft protection. Many compact safes weigh under 40 lb and can be carried off if they are not anchored. Use the included hardware to anchor into a concrete slab, floor joists or wall studs. Portable fire chests are an exception, since they are meant to be grabbed during an evacuation.

What should go in a home safe versus a bank safe deposit box?

Keep items you may need quickly in a home safe: passports, birth certificates, a backup drive and emergency cash. Put rarely needed originals such as deeds and bonds in a bank box. The CFPB recommends storing copies of key financial and identity documents in separate places, including a digital copy on a drive kept in a fire- and water-resistant container.

Where is the best place to put a home safe?

A hidden main-floor closet is often a good compromise, avoiding basement flooding and the extreme heat of upper floors in a fire. If the safe goes in a basement, choose one with a water rating. Anchor it to the floor or a wall and keep it out of plain sight.

References