Best First Aid Kit (2026): 7 Home and Car Kits Compared
The best first aid kit is not the one with the biggest number on the box. A “520-piece” kit can be mostly adhesive bandages and alcohol pads, while a 160-piece kit can include the pain reliever, antihistamine and antibiotic cream you will actually reach for on a Tuesday night. Homes also need more than one kit: a well-stocked case in the kitchen or garage, a compact kit in each car, and a grab-and-go bag that fits the outage or evacuation plan. This guide compares current kits by what their listings say is inside, the case they come in and where each one fits in a household plan.
Part of our Structure & Exterior guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 12 current Amazon first aid kit listings on what each listing states: piece count, named contents (medications, cold packs, burn care, gloves, tourniquets, blankets, CPR shields), case type, size, weight and any compliance claim. We did not open, test or use any of these kits. Piece counts are the sellers’ own and count every bandage and wipe individually. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before you buy.
Quick picks: the best first aid kits by where you keep them
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24/7 First Aid 336-Piece | Whole-home wall-mount kit |
| $37.99as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Band-Aid All-Purpose 160 | Medicine-cabinet everyday kit |
| $18.36as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Gevoke 310-Piece HardCase | Kit with a CPR face shield |
| $19.79as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Aidehelp 520-Piece | Outage and go-bag kit |
| $45.99as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Gevoke 410-Piece Waterproof | Car or truck kit |
| $35.99as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Vriexsd Mini 150-Piece | Glovebox and backpack |
| $9.99as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| TLIEAO 400-Piece | Garage and workshop wall kit |
| $38.99as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The 7 picks, compared listing by listing
1. 24/7 First Aid 336-Piece OSHA Kit — Best Whole-Home Wall-Mount Kit

336-piece kit in a wall-mountable plastic case with slide latches; the only listing that states OSHA compliance.
Check price on Amazon$37.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that states OSHA compliance
- Wall-mountable case with a clear cover
- Burn cream, antiseptic towelettes and gauze
- Supplies sized for up to 100 people
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 336 |
| Named contents | Fabric and plastic bandages, antibiotic ointment, BZK antiseptic towelettes, burn cream, gauze roll and pads, gloves, scissors, tweezers |
| Case | Plastic, wall-mountable, clear cover, slide latches, individual compartments |
| Size / weight | 3.25 x 11.5 x 13 in; 3.4 lb |
| Compliance claim | OSHA compliant (listing claim); ANSI not stated |
| Oral medications | Not named in listing |
24/7 First Aid 59554 — 336 pieces, wall-mount plastic case, burn cream + antiseptics + gloves, OSHA-compliant claim, 3.4 lb
The Only Listing That Claims OSHA Compliance
None of the other 11 listings makes a workplace-compliance claim, and none of the 12 names the ANSI Z308.1 kit standard. That puts the 24/7 kit in its own category: it is built to the business-kit format, with a wall-mountable case, a clear lid and compartments so you can see what has been used. OSHA’s medical and first aid page explains that employers must provide first aid supplies suited to the hazards of their workplace and that the details depend on each workplace, so “OSHA compliant” describes a workplace kit, not a home standard. In a house, the practical benefit is the format: a fixed kit everybody knows the location of.
Mounted inside a garage, laundry room or pantry door, the case stays put instead of migrating to a car or a camping bin. Two listings on the shelf (this one and the TLIEAO) describe supplies for up to 100 people, which mostly means deep stocks of bandages, wipes and gauze. The named contents cover the common home injuries: cuts, scrapes, small burns and splinters.
What it does not name matters too. The listing lists no oral pain relievers, antihistamines, cold pack or CPR shield. Plan to add your own household medications and a cold pack. At 3.4 pounds and 13 inches tall it is a fixed-station kit, not something to throw in a backpack.
Pros
- Wall-mountable case with a clear lid
- Burn cream, antiseptics, gloves and gauze named
- Deep supply for a large household
Cons
- No oral medications or cold pack named
- Bulky for a car
- OSHA claim reflects workplace use, not a home standard
Check 24/7 First Aid 336-Piece price on Amazon
2. Band-Aid All-Purpose Portable Compact Kit, 160 Piece — Best Medicine-Cabinet Kit

160-piece refillable plastic case with Neosporin, Benadryl, Tylenol, a Bengay cold pack and non-latex bandages.
Check price on Amazon$18.36 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Names brand-name OTC medications inside
- Antibiotic cream, itch cream and pain relief
- Bandages not made with natural rubber latex
- Refillable plastic case, 1.19 lb
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 160 |
| Medications named | Neosporin antibiotic cream, Benadryl Extra Strength itch cream, Tylenol caplets |
| Wound care | Assorted non-latex adhesive bandages, non-stick gauze pads, rolled gauze, paper tape, cleansing wipes |
| Cold therapy | Bengay non-medicated cold pack |
| Case / size / weight | Refillable plastic case; 9.5 x 7 x 3.25 in; 1.19 lb |
Band-Aid All-Purpose 160 — Neosporin + Benadryl + Tylenol, non-latex bandages, gauze, cold pack, refillable case, 1.19 lb
The Most Complete Set of Named Medications
Only two listings on the shelf name brand-name medications: the two Band-Aid kits. The 80-piece travel version names Neosporin and Tylenol; this 160-piece version adds a Benadryl itch cream and a Bengay cold pack. The other 10 kits describe ointments, wipes and bandages, but none names an oral pain reliever. CDC’s emergency-prep checklist for prescriptions includes nonprescription drugs like pain and fever relievers and antihistamines, so a kit that already has some of them is a head start.
The wound-care side is solid too: non-stick gauze pads, rolled gauze, paper tape and an assortment of bandages that Band-Aid says are not made with natural rubber latex. That latex note matters if anyone in the house has a latex sensitivity; the other listings do not address it for their bandages.
Medications expire, so check dates on arrival and once a year. The listing does not name gloves, scissors, tweezers or a burn dressing, and it is a family-cabinet kit, not a trauma kit. Add a pair of non-latex gloves and tweezers, both of which CDC lists among first aid supplies for emergencies.
Pros
- Names antibiotic, itch and pain medications
- Non-latex bandages
- Compact, refillable case
- Cold pack included
Cons
- Gloves, tweezers and scissors not named
- Medications need date checks
- No burn-specific dressing named
Check Band-Aid All-Purpose 160 price on Amazon
3. Gevoke Professional 310-Piece HardCase — Best Kit With a CPR Face Shield

310-piece high-density plastic case with a CPR face shield, burn gel, gloves and triangular bandage; 1.65 lb.
Check price on Amazon$19.79 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing that names a CPR face shield
- Burn gel, gloves and triangular bandage
- Clear lid and sliding lock clasp
- Light 1.65 lb hard case
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 310 |
| Named contents | Adhesive bandages, gauze pads, antiseptic wipes, burn gel, CPR face shield, gloves, triangular bandage, tape |
| Case | High-density plastic, clear lid, sliding lock clasp, interior compartments |
| Size / weight | 10.3 x 8.08 x 3.24 in; 1.65 lb |
| Standards claim | “Meets international quality standards” (no standard named) |
Gevoke 310 HardCase — CPR face shield, burn gel, gloves, triangular bandage, clear-lid plastic case, 1.65 lb
The Only Kit That Lists a CPR Barrier
Of the 12 listings, this Gevoke is the only one that names a CPR face shield. A barrier is a small item, but it removes one reason people hesitate to start rescue breaths. CDC’s practical-skills guidance urges learning CPR and how to use an AED, noting that CPR performed in the first few minutes of cardiac arrest can double or triple a person’s chance of survival. A kit is no substitute for training, but having the shield where you keep the kit helps.
The rest of the named contents cover the common home list: gauze, antiseptic wipes, gloves and tape, plus burn gel and a triangular bandage that can serve as a sling. Burn-care items (gel, cream or dressings) appear in four listings on this shelf, and a triangular bandage in two. The clear lid and sliding lock let you see contents at a glance and keep the case from popping open when dropped.
Gevoke’s “meets international quality standards” line does not name any standard. There are no oral medications or cold pack named. At 1.65 pounds it is light enough for a car, but its rigid case is wider than the soft pouches.
Pros
- Only listing with a CPR face shield
- Burn gel and triangular bandage
- Light, rigid, clear-lid case
Cons
- Standards claim names no standard
- No medications or cold pack named
- Rigid case is less packable
Check Gevoke 310-Piece HardCase price on Amazon
4. Aidehelp 520-Piece Premium Kit — Best for Outages and Go-Bags

520-piece 1680D polyester bag with labeled compartments, tourniquet, emergency blanket, guide and MOLLE straps.
Check price on Amazon$45.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Highest piece count on the shelf
- Emergency blanket, tourniquet and first aid guide
- MOLLE straps mount to packs or walls
- Labeled compartments for fast finding
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 520 |
| Named contents | Adhesive bandages, gauze pads, tourniquet, emergency blanket, first aid guide |
| Bag | 1680D polyester, basic water resistance, labeled compartments |
| Mounting | MOLLE-compatible straps; mounts to packs, vehicles or walls |
| Size / weight | About 10.2 x 7.9 x 5.9 in; 2.65 lb |
Aidehelp 520 — 1680D bag, labeled compartments, tourniquet + blanket + guide, MOLLE straps, 2.65 lb
The Only Kit With MOLLE Straps, and the Biggest Count
At 520 pieces, this is the largest count on the shelf, ahead of the 410-piece Gevoke and two 400-piece kits. More usefully for emergencies, it is one of three listings that name an emergency blanket, one of four that name a tourniquet and one of two that include a first aid guide. CDC’s list of first aid supplies for an emergency kit starts with a first aid reference, and its power-outage checklist calls for warm clothes, blankets and emergency or space blankets.
It is also the only listing with MOLLE-compatible straps, so it can ride on a go-bag, strap to a vehicle seat back or hang on a wall hook by the door. That fits an evacuation plan for a wildfire-prone foothills neighborhood, where the kit needs to leave with you in seconds.
Two cautions. A tourniquet is only useful with training, and the listing does not say what kind it is. And as with most high-count kits, much of the 520 is small bandages and wipes; the listing names no medications, gloves or cold pack.
Pros
- Blanket, tourniquet and guide named
- MOLLE straps for packs and walls
- Labeled compartments
Cons
- Tourniquet type not stated
- No medications or gloves named
- Soft bag only basically water resistant
Check Aidehelp 520-Piece price on Amazon
5. Gevoke 410-Piece Waterproof Hard Shell — Best Car or Truck Kit

410-piece EVA hard shell kit with waterproof double zippers, five clear compartments, TPU handle and shoulder strap.
Check price on Amazon$35.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- EVA hard shell with waterproof zippers
- Five transparent interior compartments
- Detachable shoulder strap and TPU handle
- Fits a trunk, RV or truck box
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 410 |
| Case | Hardened waterproof EVA shell; waterproof double zippers |
| Organization | Five transparent compartments |
| Carry | Detachable shoulder strap; TPU handle |
| Size / weight | 9.8 x 6.6 x 4.1 in; 2.43 lb in bullets |
| Named contents | Not itemized in listing |
Gevoke 410 — EVA hard shell, waterproof double zippers, 5 clear compartments, shoulder strap, 2.43 lb
The Only Kit With a Shoulder Strap
Three listings on the shelf use an EVA hard shell, the semi-rigid molded case that resists crushing in a trunk better than a soft bag. This Gevoke is the only one of the 12 that includes a detachable shoulder strap, and it pairs that with waterproof double zippers. That combination suits a vehicle kit that may need to go with you down a trail or across a parking lot, or sit in a truck bed toolbox through a wet spring.
CDC’s winter-storm guidance lists a first aid kit with any necessary medications among the items to keep in your car, along with blankets, a flashlight and a battery-powered radio. Colorado winter driving on I-70 or a closed mountain pass is exactly where that kit earns its space. Five clear compartments make it easy to find gauze with cold hands.
The weak spot is the listing itself: it describes the case in detail but never itemizes the 410 pieces. You will need to open it and check what is there, then add any personal medications, which CDC notes should be part of the car kit.
Pros
- Only kit with a shoulder strap
- Waterproof zippers on a hard EVA shell
- Clear compartments
Cons
- Contents not itemized in listing
- No medications named
- Listed weight differs between fields
Check Gevoke 410-Piece Waterproof price on Amazon
6. Vriexsd Mini 150-Piece EVA Kit — Best for the Glovebox and Backpack

150-piece mini kit in a waterproof EVA shell, 0.73 lb, with gloves, metal tweezers, iodine pads and a tourniquet.
Check price on Amazon$9.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Small enough for a glovebox or daypack
- Metal tweezers and gloves named
- Povidone-iodine prep pads for wound cleaning
- Carabiners clip it to a bag
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 150 |
| Named contents | Assorted bandages, gloves, povidone-iodine prep pads, metal tweezers, tourniquet |
| Case | Waterproof EVA hard shell; premium zippers; do not soak |
| Size / weight | 6.4 x 4.9 x 2.7 in; 0.73 lb |
| Extras | Bonus carabiners; laminated inner bags |
Vriexsd Mini 150 — 6.4 x 4.9 x 2.7 in EVA shell, 0.73 lb, gloves + iodine pads + metal tweezers + tourniquet
The Smallest Hard-Shell Kit on the Shelf
Among the three EVA hard-shell kits, this mini Vriexsd is the smallest at 6.4 by 4.9 by 2.7 inches and 0.73 pounds. Only two kits on the shelf weigh less, both in soft or thin plastic cases. That makes it the realistic choice for a glovebox, a bike bag or a hiking daypack, places where a full kit never ends up.
The named contents are also more useful than most mini kits: metal tweezers rather than plastic, gloves, povidone-iodine prep pads and a tourniquet. Metal tweezers matter for splinters and cactus spines; only two listings name metal tweezers, both from Vriexsd, while the 1st Aid kit lists plastic ones.
Small means limited. There is no burn care, cold pack, medication or blanket named, and the waterproofing note says not to submerge it. Treat it as a second or third kit, not the household’s main supply.
Pros
- Smallest hard-shell kit here
- Metal tweezers and gloves
- Clips onto a pack
Cons
- No burn care or medications named
- Limited quantities
- Not for submersion
Check Vriexsd Mini 150-Piece price on Amazon
7. TLIEAO 400-Piece Dual-Layer Wall Kit — Best for the Garage or Workshop

400-piece wall-mountable plastic case with tiered shelves and a clear lid; burn gel, cold pack, tape and gloves named.
Check price on Amazon$38.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 7:42 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Burn gel and instant cold pack named
- Tiered shelves under a transparent lid
- Wall-mountable with easy-slide latches
- Sized for up to 100 people
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Piece count | 400 |
| Named contents | Assorted bandages, gauze pads, burn gel, instant cold pack, first aid tape, gloves |
| Case | Plastic, wall-mountable, dual-layer tiered shelves, transparent lid, slide latches |
| Size / weight | 12.2 x 4.13 x 13.4 in; 3.4 lb |
| Compliance claim | None stated |
TLIEAO 400 — wall-mount dual-layer case, burn gel + cold pack + gloves, transparent lid, 3.4 lb
The Wall Kit That Adds Burn Gel and a Cold Pack
Three listings describe wall-mountable cases: the 24/7 kit, the Aidehelp bag and this TLIEAO. Of the two rigid wall cases, TLIEAO is the one that names both burn gel and an instant cold pack, the two items most useful in a garage or workshop where hot tools, a muffler, a soldering iron or a dropped board are the usual culprits. The 24/7 lists burn cream but no cold pack.
Dual-layer tiered shelves under a clear lid keep a 400-piece supply sorted, and slide latches keep it closed on a garage wall that takes door vibration. Mount it near the workbench or the door into the house, at a height everyone can reach.
Unlike the 24/7 kit, TLIEAO makes no OSHA claim, and like most kits here it names no medications. It is the same size class as the 24/7 case, so it is a fixed station rather than something for the car.
Pros
- Burn gel and cold pack named
- Organized tiered layout
- Wall-mountable
Cons
- No compliance claim
- No medications named
- Bulky for travel
Check TLIEAO 400-Piece price on Amazon
What a home first aid kit should contain
Ignore the piece count and check the list. CDC’s emergency-preparedness checklist of first aid supplies includes:
- A first aid reference guide
- Non-latex gloves
- An easy-to-read thermometer, such as a digital thermometer with a replaceable battery
- Waterproof bandages and gauze
- Tweezers and scissors
- Antibiotic cream or ointment
CDC’s prescriptions guidance adds nonprescription drugs such as pain and fever relievers, antihistamines and antidiarrheal medicines, plus a list of your prescription medicines with dosages and allergies. None of the 12 kits compared here includes every item. The Band-Aid kits come closest on medications; the larger kits on bandages and gauze. Expect to add a thermometer and your household’s own medications to any kit you buy.
Useful extras depend on the household: an instant cold pack for sprains, burn gel or a burn dressing for a kitchen and garage, a CPR face shield if anyone is trained, an emergency blanket for car and outage kits, and a triangular bandage for a sling.
Home, car and go-bag: you likely need more than one kit
The main home kit
One fixed kit in a known spot, usually the kitchen, pantry or the garage door into the house. A wall-mount case such as the 24/7 or TLIEAO works well, paired with a medicine-cabinet kit for everyday use. Tell everyone in the house where it is.
The car kit
CDC’s winter-storm list for a car includes a first aid kit with any necessary medications, plus blankets, a flashlight with extra batteries and a battery-powered radio. A compact hard-shell kit such as the Gevoke 410 or the Vriexsd mini fits under a seat. Car interiors swing between heat and cold, so check medication storage temperatures on the labels and swap car-kit medications more often than the ones in the house.
The outage or evacuation bag
For a multi-day outage or a fast evacuation, pair a portable kit with the rest of your power-outage gear. CDC’s outage checklist includes emergency lighting, extra batteries, a battery-powered or hand-crank NOAA weather radio, and battery-powered or battery-backup smoke and CO alarms. Our sibling guides to the best emergency radios and the best work headlamps cover two of those items.
Safety gear that belongs next to the first aid kit
A first aid kit treats injuries; the rest of a home safety setup prevents or warns of them. Keep a multipurpose fire extinguisher in the kitchen and garage (see our guide to the best fire extinguisher for home use), and make sure working smoke and carbon monoxide alarms cover every level. CDC’s winter-storm guidance specifically calls for a smoke detector and a battery-operated CO detector near any fireplace, wood stove or kerosene heater you use for heat, with monthly tests. Our roundup of the best smoke and carbon monoxide detectors covers the options.
Front Range notes and when to call a professional
Colorado homeowners face a few specific risks a kit should reflect. Winter brings ice falls on driveways and steps, wood-stove and fireplace burns, and stranded-car situations on mountain highways. Summer brings hiking and yard-work cuts, insect stings and wildfire evacuation alerts in the foothills. A kit with cold packs, burn care, an antihistamine and an emergency blanket, kept where each of those happens, covers most of it.
A kit is for minor injuries. For chest pain, trouble breathing, severe bleeding, a head injury or suspected CO exposure, call 911. And if recurring injuries trace back to the house itself (loose stair railings, a slippery entry, a garage door that reverses poorly, a furnace that sets off the CO alarm), the fix is a repair, not more bandages. A fire safety inspection or a general home inspection can find hazards before they cause harm. The structure and exterior hiring guide explains what an inspector reviews, and you can contact us to be matched with a vetted Front Range inspector.
Frequently asked questions
What should be in a home first aid kit?
CDC's preparedness checklist includes a first aid reference, non-latex gloves, an easy-to-read thermometer, waterproof bandages and gauze, tweezers and scissors, and antibiotic cream or ointment. Add pain and fever relievers, an antihistamine, a cold pack and your household's prescription list.
Is a bigger piece count better?
Not necessarily. Piece counts include every bandage and wipe, so a high number often means many small adhesive bandages. Compare the named contents instead: medications, gauze, gloves, burn care, cold packs and tools.
What does OSHA compliant mean on a first aid kit?
It is a workplace claim. OSHA says employers must provide first aid supplies suited to their workplace hazards, and the details depend on each workplace. In a home, it mainly signals a business-style wall kit with deep stocks; it is not a household standard.
Should I keep a first aid kit in my car?
Yes. CDC's winter-storm guidance lists a first aid kit with any necessary medications among the items to keep in a car, along with blankets, a flashlight, a battery-powered radio and water. A compact hard-shell kit fits under a seat or in the trunk.
How often should I check a first aid kit?
Check it at least once a year and after any use. Replace expired medications and ointments, restock gauze and bandages, and confirm gloves and the thermometer still work. Car kits face heat and cold, so check them more often.
References
- Personal Needs — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Prescriptions — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Practical Skills — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Power Sources — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Preparing for a Winter Storm — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Medical and First Aid — Occupational Safety and Health Administration