Best Fireplace Inserts (2026): 7 Wood and Electric Picks
The best fireplace insert turns an existing fireplace from a drafty decoration into something useful, but the right type depends on what is already in your wall. A wood-burning insert is a sealed stove that slides into a masonry firebox and vents through a new liner up the chimney; it needs EPA certification, proper clearances, a professional install and carbon monoxide alarms. An electric insert or log set needs only an outlet, gives a convincing flame and modest supplemental heat, and leaves the chimney unused. This roundup compares both on what the listings state: certification, firebox fit and opening size, venting or electrical needs, heat output and controls. A buying guide follows on chimney liners, factory-built fireplaces, damper and gas-line safety, and when to call a chimney professional.
Part of our Heating, Cooling & Ventilation guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon listings returned by a fireplace insert search: one wood-burning insert, nine electric log sets and firebox or furniture inserts, and seven recessed wall-panel fireplaces that are sold as inserts but are really in-wall units. We judged each on what its listing states: certification, dimensions or required opening, heat output and stated area, electrical draw, venting, controls and warranty. We did not lab-test, install or burn any of them. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: the best fireplace inserts by firebox and goal
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US Stove US1800E | Best wood-burning insert |
| $1,499.99as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Touchstone Forte 40 | Best electric insert for an old opening |
| $549.00as of Oct 24, 2026 9:51 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Duraflame DFI041ARU | Best log set with crackle sound |
| $169.99as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| LegendFlame EF290 | Best CSA-certified log set |
| $239.00as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| PuraFlame EF512A | Best log set for wide fireboxes |
| $279.99as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Innoflame NT26V09L-MT | Best insert for mantels and TV stands |
| $129.99as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Giantex GT51075-HW | Best ETL insert for cabinets or walls |
| $159.99as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The seven picks, compared listing by listing
1. US Stove US1800E — Best Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

Noncatalytic wood insert, meets EPA limits on cordwood, 69,000 BTU, 18-inch logs, 150 CFM blower, 6-inch liner.
Check price on Amazon$1,499.99 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only EPA-compliant wood insert on the shelf
- Names the liner size: 6-inch
- Clear about fit: residential masonry fireplaces only
- Secondary burn without a catalyst
- Large 31 x 44 in surround covers the old opening
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Certification | Meets EPA guidelines burning cordwood |
| Fit | Residential masonry fireplaces only; not approved for mobile homes |
| Output / area | Up to 69,000 BTU; up to 1,200 sq ft |
| Firebox | 1.2 cu ft, 10-gauge steel, firebrick lined; logs up to 18 in |
| Venting / blower | Standard 6-inch chimney liner, not included; adjustable 150 CFM blower |
| Size / weight | About 27.5 x 20.2 x 22.3 in body; 31 x 44 in surround; 300 lb |
US Stove US1800E — EPA cordwood, 69,000 BTU, 1,200 sq ft, 1.2 cu ft, 18″ logs, 150 CFM blower, 6″ liner, masonry only, 300 lb
The Only Insert on the Shelf That Actually Heats Like a Stove
Sixteen of the 17 listings are electric. The US1800E is the only fuel-burning insert, and it is a different class of appliance: a sealed steel firebox with a cast iron door that slides into a masonry fireplace and turns it into a wood stove. Its 69,000 BTU maximum is more than ten times the roughly 5,100 BTU an electric insert on a standard outlet can produce.
It says it meets EPA guidelines when burning cordwood, which the EPA calls the better real-world test. The EPA notes that fireplace inserts perform like freestanding stoves but are installed in an existing firebox, and that a certified installer will make sure the flue liner in a masonry chimney is installed correctly. This listing names that liner, 6 inches, and states it is for masonry fireplaces only.
That limit is important. The EPA says a factory-built, or zero-clearance, fireplace must only receive an insert specifically designed and tested for that unit, so the US1800E is not for the metal fireboxes common in many 1980s and later Front Range homes. The blower needs electricity, and the listing does not state clearances or a warranty.
Pros
- Real heat output for a masonry fireplace
- EPA claim tied to cordwood
- Liner size and fit stated
Cons
- Masonry fireplaces only
- Liner and install add cost
- Clearances and warranty not stated
- 300 lb, freight curbside delivery
Check US Stove US1800E price on Amazon
2. Touchstone Forte 40 — Best Electric Insert for an Old Fireplace Opening

40-inch recessed electric fireplace that fits existing openings, plug-in or hardwire, 1500W, 12 A max, cool sides.
Check price on Amazon$549.00 as of Oct 24, 2026 9:51 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Listing says it fits existing fireplace openings
- Advises securing unused gas lines and vents
- Plug-in or hardwire ready
- States its maximum draw: 12 amps
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Installation | Recessed into a wall or an existing fireplace opening; wall bracket included |
| Heater | 1,500W with thermostat; front-facing heat vents |
| Electrical | 110–120V, 6 ft cord or hardwire; 12 A maximum; 15 A circuit, 20 A may be needed |
| Clearance | 8 in recommended between top and a TV, mantel or ceiling |
| Controls | IR remote, app, Alexa; 30 flame and ember options; shut-off timer |
| Venting | Ventless; sides and back stay cool with heat on |
Touchstone Forte 40 — recessed electric, fits old openings, plug-in or hardwire, 1500W, 12 A max, 8″ top clearance, Wi-Fi
The Only Electric Listing That Addresses Old Gas Lines and Vents
Several electric listings say they fit into an existing fireplace. The Touchstone Forte is the only one that also tells you what to do about the fireplace you are covering: consult a licensed professional to make sure unused gas lines and vents are secured properly. That is the right first step when converting a gas or wood fireplace, and none of the log-set listings mention it.
It is also the only electric listing on this shelf that is hardwire ready, and it states its maximum current, 12 amps. In a converted firebox there is rarely an outlet inside the opening, so the option to hardwire a dedicated circuit is useful.
The listing does not give a thermostat range, certification mark or exact rough-opening dimensions in the text, so measure the firebox width, height and depth before ordering.
Pros
- Gas-line and vent advice included
- Hardwire option
- Smart-home control
Cons
- Opening dimensions not in text
- No certification mark named
- Thermostat range not stated
Check Touchstone Forte 40 price on Amazon
3. Duraflame DFI041ARU — Best Electric Log Set With Crackling Sound

Plug-in infrared electric log set for existing fireplaces, LED flames, crackling sound, remote, timer, 1-year warranty.
Check price on Amazon$169.99 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Sits in an existing hearth, just plug in
- Infrared heater with thermostat
- Adjustable crackling sound and flame speed
- No vents, gas lines or construction
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Freestanding electric log set for existing fireplaces |
| Heater | Infrared; wattage not stated; coverage claim up to 1,000 sq ft |
| Controls | Thermostat on unit; remote for sound volume, timer, flame speed and brightness |
| Installation | Fully assembled; needs a fireplace and an outlet |
| Size / weight | About 20.5 x 8.7 x 14.4 in; 12.5 lb |
| Model / warranty | DFI041ARU-2; 1-year limited warranty |
Duraflame DFI041ARU-2 — plug-in infrared log set, LED flames, crackle sound, thermostat, remote + timer, 12.5 lb, 1-yr warranty
The Only Log Set With Remote-Adjustable Crackle Volume
Three electric log sets on the shelf offer a crackling sound effect: this Duraflame, the LegendFlame in pick 4 and the PuraFlame in pick 5. The Duraflame is the only one whose listing says the crackle volume is adjustable from the remote. For a fireplace that is purely about atmosphere, sound adds more realism than another flame color.
The install is as simple as it gets: set it in the firebox and plug it in. Its 20.5-inch width fits most standard masonry fireboxes. If the fireplace has no outlet nearby, the cord will cross the hearth, so plan a safe route or have an outlet added.
Like Duraflame’s stove model, the listing claims heat for up to 1,000 sq ft without stating wattage. Every log set here that does state output tops out at 1,400 to 1,500 watts, so expect room-corner warmth, not whole-house heat. The EPA notes that decorative electric logs are not designed to be a significant source of heat. Its sibling, the DFI030ARU, drops the crackle.
Pros
- True plug-and-play install
- Crackling sound effect
- Thermostat and timer
Cons
- Wattage not stated
- Inflated coverage claim
- No certification mark named
Check Duraflame DFI041ARU price on Amazon
4. LegendFlame EF290 — Best CSA-Certified Electric Log Set

23-inch CSA-certified electric log set, 750W/1500W, resin logs and ember bed, remote, polarized plug, 15 A circuit.
Check price on Amazon$239.00 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- CSA certification named
- Honest: says it is not a primary heat source
- States plug and circuit: polarized, 15 A
- Fits small and large openings or a cabinet
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Freestanding electric log set |
| Heater | 750W or 1,500W; up to 400 sq ft supplemental |
| Electrical | Standard 120V polarized plug; 15 A circuit |
| Certification | CSA certified |
| Size | 23 in W x 20 in H x 10 in D |
| Model / warranty | EF290; one-year limited warranty |
LegendFlame EF290 — 23″ log set, 750/1500W, 400 sq ft supplemental, 120V polarized plug, CSA certified, 1-yr warranty
A Named Safety Mark and a Realistic Heat Claim
Eight of the electric listings on this shelf name a testing mark: ETL, CSA or UL. The LegendFlame is one of three that name CSA. A named mark matters for an appliance that sits inside a firebox where the rating label is hard to see later.
It is also one of the most honest heat claims on the shelf: 400 sq ft of supplemental warmth, with a plain statement that the unit is not a primary heat source. That aligns with the EPA’s description of decorative logs. The listing also states the electrical expectation, a polarized 120V plug on a 15-amp circuit.
The listing does not mention a thermostat, timer or overheat protection in its bullets, which other log sets do. Its 20-inch height needs a firebox at least that tall.
Pros
- CSA certified
- Honest heat claim
- Two stated wattages
Cons
- No thermostat or timer mentioned
- Overheat cutoff not stated
- Tall 20-inch body
Check LegendFlame EF290 price on Amazon
5. PuraFlame EF512A — Best Electric Log Set for Wide Fireboxes

27-inch electric log set with 750W/1500W heat, 60–82 F thermostat, 0.5–9 hour timer, crackle sound and 6 flame colors.
Check price on Amazon$279.99 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Widest log set on the shelf at 27 inches
- Thermostat from 60 to 82 F with LED display
- 0.5 to 9 hour timer
- Says plainly: not a primary heat source
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Freestanding electric log set for existing openings |
| Heater | 750W or 1,500W; up to 400 sq ft; flame works with or without heat |
| Controls | 60–82 F thermostat, 0.5–9 hour timer, LED display, remote; 6 flame colors, 5 brightness levels, crackle |
| Electrical | 120V polarized plug |
| Size / weight | About 27 x 9.8 x 19.9 in; 18.3 lb |
| Model / warranty | EF512A; one-year warranty |
PuraFlame EF512A — 27″ log set, 750/1500W, 60–82 F, 0.5–9 hr timer, LED display, crackle, 18.3 lb, 1-yr warranty
The Widest Log Set for Large Masonry Fireplaces
A narrow log set lost in a wide firebox looks like what it is. At 27 inches, the PuraFlame is the widest of the freestanding log sets on the shelf, which range from about 20.5 to 27 inches. It suits the broad brick fireplaces common in older Front Range ranches and two-stories.
It has among the most complete controls of the log sets: a thermostat with an LED readout, a 0.5- to 9-hour timer and a crackle effect. The timer matters because the USFA advises putting the fire out, or in this case switching the heater off, before you go to sleep or leave home.
The listing names no certification mark or overheat cutoff, and at 18.3 lb it is the heaviest log set with a stated weight.
Pros
- Fills a wide firebox
- Thermostat, display and timer
- Crackle sound
Cons
- No certification mark named
- Overheat cutoff not stated
- Too wide for small openings
Check PuraFlame EF512A price on Amazon
6. Innoflame NT26V09L-MT — Best Electric Insert for Mantels and TV Stands

Rear-mount electric insert for 26 3/16 x 17 3/16 in furniture openings, 1400W, CSA/UL certified, cool-touch glass.
Check price on Amazon$129.99 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- States the exact opening it fits
- CSA and UL certification named
- Front glass stays cool to the touch
- 64 to 82 F thermostat, 1 to 8 hour timer
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Box insert that mounts from the rear of furniture, mantels, TV stands or bookshelves |
| Required opening | 26 3/16 in W x 17 3/16 in H |
| Heater | 1,400W, 5,000 BTU; up to 400 sq ft |
| Controls / safety | 64–82 F thermostat, 1–8 hour timer, remote; overheat cutoff switch; cool-touch tempered glass |
| Certification | CSA/UL certified |
| Size / warranty | About 27.2 x 17.4 x 4.9 in; 18.5 lb; 1-year warranty |
Innoflame NT26V09L-MT — rear-mount furniture insert, 26 3/16 x 17 3/16 opening, 1400W, 64–82 F, CSA/UL, cool-touch glass
The Only Insert Listing That Gives an Exact Required Opening
Fit is the most common reason inserts get returned. The Innoflame is the only firebox-style insert on the shelf that states the exact opening it requires, 26 3/16 by 17 3/16 inches, and explains that it mounts from the rear of the furniture. That makes it the natural choice for a fireplace mantel surround, TV console or built-in cabinet designed around a standard insert cavity.
It also names two marks, CSA and UL, and pairs an overheat cutoff with a cool-touch front glass, which matters in a TV stand at child height. Its 1,400 watts is slightly below the 1,500-watt units, a sensible choice for furniture where heat buildup inside the cabinet is a concern.
This is not designed to sit inside a masonry firebox, and the listing does not mention clearance above the unit; check the manual for distance to a TV.
Pros
- Exact opening size stated
- CSA and UL certified
- Cool-touch glass, overheat cutoff
Cons
- For furniture, not masonry fireboxes
- Lower 1,400W output
- Top clearance not stated
Check Innoflame 26-inch insert price on Amazon
7. Giantex GT51075-HW — Best ETL-Certified Insert for Cabinets or Walls

28.5-inch electric insert for cabinets, wall recess or freestanding use, 750W/1500W, 62–82 F, ETL certified.
Check price on Amazon$159.99 as of Oct 24, 2026 10:12 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- ETL certification and overheat cutoff named
- States BTU at both settings
- Recess, wall-mount or freestanding
- 62 to 82 F thermostat, 0 to 8 hour timer
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Box insert for cabinet, wall recess or freestanding use |
| Heater | 750W (2,559 BTU) or 1,500W (5,118 BTU) |
| Controls | 62–82 F thermostat; 0–8 hour timer; remote with 3V battery included; 3 flame colors, 5 brightness levels |
| Safety / certification | Overheat cutoff; ETL certified; tempered glass front |
| Size / weight | About 28.5 x 21 x 6 in; 25.7 lb |
| Model / warranty | GT51075-HW; warranty not stated in listing |
Giantex GT51075-HW — 28.5″ insert, 750/1500W (2,559/5,118 BTU), 62–82 F, 8-hr timer, ETL, overheat cutoff, 25.7 lb
An ETL-Listed Box Insert That Works Three Ways
Four electric listings on this shelf name ETL, and the Giantex is the one designed for the widest range of placements: inside a cabinet, recessed into a wall or freestanding. It is also one of few listings that convert both heat settings into BTU, which makes comparison with other heaters straightforward.
At 28.5 inches wide and 6 inches deep it fits many prebuilt fireplace mantel cabinets. The included remote battery is a small thing other listings skip.
It offers only three flame colors and does not state the opening size, so measure carefully, and the listing gives no warranty term. Like every electric pick, its heat is supplemental.
Pros
- ETL certified
- Three installation modes
- BTU stated per setting
Cons
- Opening size not stated
- Warranty not stated
- Fewer flame options
Check Giantex 28.5-inch insert price on Amazon
Wood vs electric vs gas inserts
An insert is defined by what it sits in, not what it burns. The three types solve different problems:
- Wood inserts deliver real heat and work without power for the burn itself, but need an EPA-certified unit, a full-length stainless liner, clearances to the mantel and floor, annual sweeping and CO alarms.
- Electric inserts and log sets need only an outlet and give flame plus up to about 1,500 watts of supplemental heat. They leave the chimney idle, so the damper should be closed or sealed.
- Gas inserts were not on this shelf. Direct-vent gas inserts use a sealed combustion chamber and a coaxial liner; see our guide to the direct-vent gas fireplace. The EPA says it does not support unvented gas logs because of indoor air quality concerns, and our ventless gas fireplace guide explains why.
The EPA describes ordinary fireplaces as typically very inefficient heaters, which is the main argument for an insert of any kind. Our full fireplace insert guide compares running costs.
Masonry vs factory-built fireplaces
Before shopping, find out which kind of fireplace you have. A masonry fireplace has a brick or stone firebox and a masonry chimney, common in Front Range homes built before the 1980s. A factory-built, or zero-clearance, fireplace is a metal firebox with a metal chimney pipe, usually behind a framed chase; look for a metal label on the firebox side or behind the screen.
The distinction is critical for wood inserts. The EPA says factory-built fireplaces must only receive an insert specifically designed and tested for that unit. The US1800E in this roundup is for masonry fireplaces only. Electric log sets and inserts can go in either type because they do not use the chimney, but the damper should still be closed.
Liners, clearances and installation for wood inserts
A wood insert vents through a stainless steel liner that runs from the insert’s flue collar to the top of the chimney, sized to the insert, which is 6 inches for the US1800E. The EPA’s installation guidance lists what a professional checks: clearances between the appliance and venting system and combustible materials, protection of combustible floors, and proper assembly of appliance and venting components. Mantels and wood trim above a firebox are often too close for an insert that projects heat forward, so check the manual’s mantel clearance before buying.
The EPA recommends checking installer credentials with the Chimney Safety Institute of America or the National Fireplace Institute. A blower, like the US1800E’s 150 CFM unit, pushes heat into the room; for blower types and retrofits, see our guide to the fireplace blower.
Safety: CO alarms, ashes and annual sweeping
Any wood-burning insert can leak carbon monoxide through a damaged liner, a failed door gasket or a blocked cap. The CPSC recommends CO alarms that meet UL 2034, battery-operated or with battery backup, on every level and outside sleeping areas, and annual inspection of chimneys and flues for blockages, corrosion and disconnections. The CDC adds that chimneys should be checked or cleaned every year because debris can block them and let CO build up inside.
The USFA’s fireplace guidance covers daily habits: keep anything that can burn at least three feet away, never burn paper, put the fire out before sleeping or leaving, and put ashes in a lidded metal container outside at least 10 feet from the home. For open fireplaces, keep a glass or metal screen in place, and keep switches and remotes away from children. Glass doors on an open fireplace are a separate upgrade; see our guide to fireplace doors.
Front Range fireplaces: what to check first
Many older Front Range homes have masonry fireplaces with clay tile flues that have cracked over decades of freeze-thaw cycles, and many newer homes have factory-built units with metal chimneys. In either case, have a chimney professional inspect the flue before deciding. A cracked clay liner rules out burning wood until it is relined, which is exactly when a wood insert with a new stainless liner makes sense. Several Front Range communities also restrict wood burning on high-pollution winter days, which tilts some households toward electric or gas.
When to call a chimney professional or inspector
Hire a CSIA-certified sweep or NFI-certified installer for any wood insert, any liner and any conversion of a gas fireplace. Have a licensed gas professional cap unused gas lines, as the Touchstone listing advises. If you smell smoke, the EPA advises shutting down the appliance, opening a window, checking that the flue is open and calling a professional.
Buying a home with a fireplace? A home inspector notes visible firebox and chimney condition and will often recommend a Level 2 chimney inspection when a fireplace is part of the deal. Our overview of heating and cooling inspection topics explains what gets reviewed.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a fireplace insert and a wood stove?
A fireplace insert is a stove designed to sit inside an existing fireplace and vent through a liner up the chimney. A freestanding wood stove sits on a hearth pad in the room with its own connector and chimney. The EPA notes inserts perform similarly to freestanding stoves but are built for an existing firebox.
Can any fireplace take a wood-burning insert?
No. Masonry fireplaces can usually accept a properly sized insert with a full-length liner. The EPA says factory-built, or zero-clearance, fireplaces must only receive an insert specifically designed and tested for that unit. Have a chimney professional confirm which type you have before buying.
Do electric fireplace inserts need a chimney?
No. Electric inserts and log sets do not burn fuel, so they do not vent. They need only an outlet or a hardwired circuit. Close or seal the damper so warm room air does not escape up the unused chimney, and have any old gas line capped by a professional.
How much heat does an electric fireplace insert give?
Most electric inserts and log sets run at up to about 1,400 to 1,500 watts, roughly 5,000 BTU, the same as a space heater. That warms a seating area or small room. The EPA describes decorative electric logs as not designed to be a significant source of heat.
Do you need a carbon monoxide detector with a fireplace insert?
Any wood or gas insert needs CO alarms. The CPSC recommends UL 2034 alarms, battery-operated or with battery backup, on every level and outside sleeping areas, plus annual chimney inspection. Electric inserts do not produce CO, but homes with any fuel-burning appliance should still have alarms.
References
- Choosing Wood-Burning Appliances — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- EPA Certified Wood Stoves — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Wood-Burning Installation and Maintenance — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Fireplace and Wood Stove Safety card (PDF) — U.S. Fire Administration
- Carbon Monoxide Questions and Answers — U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Basics — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Thinking about an insert for a Front Range fireplace, or buying a home where the chimney’s history is a mystery? Connect with a vetted local inspector through our contact page.