Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Pole Saws (2026): 7 Cordless, Corded and Manual Picks

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Best pole saw

The best pole saw is the one that reaches your problem limbs from solid ground and cuts them cleanly without wearing you out. That sounds simple, but the listings range from 56V brushless saws with carbon-fiber shafts to budget mini-chainsaw kits with a clip-on pole, corded saws that never run out of power, and manual saws that reach 27 feet with nothing but arm strength. Bar length, real reach, weight at full extension and chain oiling separate them. Below are seven picks across those styles, then a buying guide on reach, power lines, storm cleanup and when a limb is a job for an arborist.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for pole saws on what each listing states: power source and battery, bar length, reach, chain oiling and tensioning, motor type, weight and warranty. Ten are powered (eight cordless, two corded) and three are manual. We did not lab-test or handle any of them. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best pole saws by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
EGO Power+ PS1001Best overall pole saw
  • 10-inch bar, brushless motor
  • Up to 13 ft reach
  • LED cut-line indicator
$339.00as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Greenworks 40V PS40B210Best value name-brand cordless
  • 8-inch bar
  • Automatic oiler
  • Up to 11 ft max reach
$136.99as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
WEN 4019Best corded pole saw
  • 6-amp motor, 8-inch bar
  • Up to 12 ft reach
  • Tool-free chain adjustment
$56.00as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
WORX WG311Best corded 2-in-1 chainsaw
  • 8-amp motor, 10-inch bar
  • Up to 10 ft reach
  • Automatic chain lubrication
$99.99as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
TaskStar SC08Best cordless 2-in-1 kit
  • Brushless, 8-inch bar
  • Two 4Ah batteries
  • 3-year warranty stated
$79.99as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Greenworks 40V pole saw and hedge kitBest saw plus hedge combo
  • 8-inch pole saw
  • 20-inch pole hedge head
  • 3-year warranty
$149.99as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
LETYANGER manual pole sawBest manual high reach
  • 7.3 to 27 ft of reach
  • Saw plus pulley pruner head
  • No battery or fuel
$69.97as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 7 picks, compared listing by listing

1. EGO Power+ PS1001 — Best Overall Pole Saw

Best overallEGO Power+ PS1001

56V brushless pole saw with a 10-inch bar, carbon-fiber telescopic shaft, LED cut-line light and up to 13 ft of reach.

Check price on Amazon$339.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only LED cut-line indicator on the shelf
  • Carbon-fiber telescopic shaft with lifetime limited warranty
  • 10-inch bar, tied for longest here
  • Fastest stated chain speed: 20 m/s
  • Up to 100 cuts per charge on the included pack
Specification Details
Power EGO 56V ARC Lithium, 2.5Ah battery and charger included
Bar and chain 10-inch bar; 1/4-inch pitch, 0.043-inch gauge chain
Reach Up to 13 ft total; up to 17 ft with an extension sold separately
Motor Brushless; chain speed up to 20 m/s
Weight About 9.4 lb
Warranty Shaft: limited lifetime; tool term not stated in listing

EGO PS1001 — 56V 2.5Ah, brushless, 10-in bar, 20 m/s, carbon-fiber shaft to 13 ft reach, LED cut line, 9.4 lb

The Only Pole Saw Here With a Carbon-Fiber Shaft and Cut-Line Light

Two features set the EGO apart from the other 12 listings. Its telescopic shaft is carbon fiber, which is stiff for its weight; a flexing pole makes it hard to hold the chain in the kerf at full extension. EGO backs the shaft with a limited lifetime warranty. And it is the only saw here with an LED that lights the cut line, useful under dense canopy or in the shade of an evergreen where the bar is hard to see against the sky.

The cutting numbers are strong too. Its 10-inch bar ties the corded WORX for longest on the shelf (most others carry 6- or 8-inch bars), and its stated chain speed of 20 meters per second works out to roughly 65 feet per second, well ahead of the two other listings that give chain speed (36 and 28 feet per second). It is one of four powered listings that name a brushless motor. EGO states up to 100 cuts per charge on the included 2.5Ah battery, a more useful figure than minutes for a saw.

The gaps: the listing does not mention an automatic oiler, so check the manual for how bar oil is delivered, and it does not state the tool’s own warranty term beyond the shaft. At about 9.4 pounds it is mid-weight for a powered pole saw.

Pros

  • Carbon-fiber shaft with lifetime limited coverage
  • Longest bar and fastest stated chain speed
  • LED cut-line light
  • Tool-free chain tensioning

Cons

  • Oiling system not described
  • Extension for 17 ft sold separately
  • Tool warranty term not stated

Check EGO Power+ PS1001 price on Amazon

2. Greenworks 40V PS40B210 — Best Value Name-Brand Cordless

Best value name-brand cordlessGreenworks 40V PS40B210

40V pole saw with an 8-inch bar, automatic oiler, easy chain tensioning and a 3-piece aluminum shaft to 11 ft reach.

Check price on Amazon$136.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Automatic oiler keeps the chain lubricated
  • 3-piece aluminum shaft extends to 9 ft
  • Up to 11 ft maximum reach stated
  • Battery shared with Greenworks 40V tools
Specification Details
Power Greenworks 40V, 2.0Ah battery and charger included
Bar 8-inch bar and chain
Reach Shaft extends up to 9 ft; up to 11 ft max reach
Oiling Automatic
Weight About 7.8 lb
Warranty not stated in listing

Greenworks PS40B210 — 40V 2Ah, 8-in bar, auto oiler, aluminum shaft to 9 ft (11 ft reach), 7.8 lb

A Dedicated Pole Saw on an Established Battery Platform

Five of the eight cordless listings on this shelf are mini-chainsaw kits from lesser-known brands that clip onto a pole. This Greenworks is one of only three cordless models built as a dedicated pole saw, alongside the EGO and Greenworks’ own pole saw and hedge kit. A dedicated design usually means the motor sits at the head with balance worked out for overhead use, rather than a handheld saw bolted to a tube.

The essentials are covered: an 8-inch bar, automatic oiler, quick chain tensioning and a three-piece aluminum shaft that extends to 9 feet for a stated 11 feet of maximum reach. At about 7.8 pounds it is lighter than the EGO. The 40V battery also runs Greenworks mowers, trimmers and blowers.

The trade: 11 feet of reach is on the shorter side, the 2Ah battery is small and the listing gives no runtime or cut count, and no warranty term is stated. It suits ornamental trees and fruit trees more than tall shade trees.

Pros

  • Dedicated pole saw design
  • Automatic oiler
  • Lighter than the EGO
  • Shared 40V battery platform

Cons

  • Shorter 11 ft maximum reach
  • Small 2Ah battery, no runtime stated
  • No warranty stated

Check Greenworks 40V PS40B210 price on Amazon

3. WEN 4019 — Best Corded Pole Saw

Best corded pole sawWEN 4019

6-amp corded telescoping pole saw with an 8-inch bar, 36 ft/s chain speed and up to 12 ft of overhead reach.

Check price on Amazon$56.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Unlimited runtime on a cord
  • Up to 12 ft of overhead reach
  • Chain speed listed at 36 ft per second
  • Tool-free chain adjustment and shoulder strap
  • 2-year warranty
Specification Details
Power 6-amp corded electric
Bar 8-inch saw chain
Reach Pole 5.3 to 7.3 ft; up to 12 ft overhead reach
Chain speed Up to 36 ft per second
Weight About 6.7 lb (bullets); 7.2 lb (listing data)
Warranty 2 years

WEN 4019 — 6 A corded, 8-in bar, 36 ft/s, telescoping 5.3–7.3 ft pole, 12 ft reach, ~6.7 lb, 2-yr

The Only Dedicated Corded Pole Saw on the Shelf

Two listings here are corded. The WORX below converts between a handheld chainsaw and a pole saw; the WEN is built only as a pole saw. That makes it the simplest tool in the group: no battery to charge or replace, a telescoping pole from 5.3 to 7.3 feet, and a stated 12 feet of overhead reach. It is also one of the lightest powered saws at about 6.7 pounds per the bullets.

For a yard with a handful of trees close to the house, a cord is not much of a limitation, and unlimited runtime helps on a big cleanup after a storm. The listing includes an 8-inch chain, a blade cover and a shoulder strap and states tool-free chain adjustment.

What it does not say: the listing does not mention an automatic oiler, so plan on oiling as the manual directs. An outdoor extension cord has to be managed around the tree as you work, and the usual corded-tool rules apply: outdoor-rated, correctly sized cord, GFCI protection and no use in wet conditions.

Pros

  • No battery runtime limit
  • Light for a powered pole saw
  • 12 ft reach and shoulder strap
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • Cord to manage around trees
  • Oiling method not stated
  • Weight stated two ways

Check WEN 4019 price on Amazon

4. WORX WG311 — Best Corded 2-in-1 Chainsaw

Best corded 2-in-1 chainsawWORX WG311

8-amp corded 2-in-1 with a 10-inch bar, 28 ft/s chain speed, auto lubrication and up to 10 ft of reach.

Check price on Amazon$99.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Converts to a handheld chainsaw for ground work
  • 10-inch bar, tied for longest here
  • Automatic chain lubrication
  • 180-degree rotating rear handle
  • 3-year warranty stated
Specification Details
Power 8-amp corded electric
Bar 10-inch
Reach Up to 10 ft
Chain 28 ft/s; automatic lubrication; knob tensioning
Weight About 10 lb
Warranty 3 years

WORX WG311 — 8 A corded, 10-in bar, 28 ft/s, auto oil, 2-in-1 pole/handheld, 10 ft reach, 10 lb, 3-yr

The Only Corded Saw That Also Works as a Handheld Chainsaw

Cutting a limb down is half the job; bucking it into pieces on the ground is the other half. The WG311 handles both. Remove the pole and it becomes a 10-inch handheld chainsaw with a rear handle that rotates 180 degrees for different cutting angles. It is the only corded convertible in this comparison, and its 10-inch bar ties the EGO for the longest here.

WORX lists automatic lubrication, knob chain tensioning and an 8-amp motor, the largest stated amperage of the two corded saws. Its 3-year warranty is among the longest stated on the shelf.

The costs are reach and weight. Up to 10 feet is the shortest reach among the dedicated and corded powered saws, and about 10 pounds is heavy to hold overhead. Pick it if you will use the chainsaw mode as much as the pole; pick the WEN if overhead pruning is the whole job. For bigger ground cutting, see our best chainsaw guide.

Pros

  • Pole saw and handheld chainsaw in one
  • 10-inch bar with auto oiling
  • 3-year warranty

Cons

  • Only 10 ft of reach
  • About 10 lb, heavy overhead
  • Cord to manage

Check WORX WG311 price on Amazon

5. TaskStar SC08 — Best Cordless 2-in-1 Kit

Best cordless 2-in-1 kitTaskStar SC08

Brushless 8-inch cordless saw that converts to a pole saw, with two 4Ah batteries, auto oiling and a 3-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$79.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Brushless motor and 8-inch bar
  • Two 4Ah batteries, 80 to 120 minutes stated
  • Automatic oiling and tool-free tensioning
  • Longest warranty among the mini-saw kits: 3 years
Specification Details
Power Two 4.0Ah batteries and fast charger
Bar / motor 8-inch bar; brushless motor
Reach Pole 4.6 to 8 ft; up to 15 ft max reach
Head Rotates 180 degrees
Weight About 7.2 lb as a pole saw; 3.6 lb handheld
Warranty 3 years

TaskStar SC08 — brushless, 8-in bar, 2 x 4Ah, 80–120 min, auto oil, 180° head, 15 ft reach, 7.2 lb, 3-yr

The Longest Warranty Among the Mini-Chainsaw Pole Kits

Five of the eight cordless listings are mini-chainsaw kits that convert to pole saws. They look similar, so we focused on what each listing commits to. TaskStar states a 3-year warranty; the two Supstable kits state two years and the two Seesii kits do not state one. It also carries an 8-inch bar where three of the five carry 6-inch bars, and it names a brushless motor, which only two of the other kits do.

The kit is generous: two 4.0Ah batteries with a stated 80 to 120 minutes of combined runtime, a spare chain, automatic oiling and tool-free tensioning. As a pole saw it weighs about 7.2 pounds and gives a stated 15 feet of maximum reach, which includes the user’s own height and arm reach.

Keep in mind that “max reach” claims on this shelf mix pole length with the height of the person holding it, so compare pole lengths directly: TaskStar’s pole runs 4.6 to 8 feet. Battery compatibility with other tools is not stated.

Pros

  • 3-year warranty stated
  • Brushless motor, 8-inch bar
  • Two 4Ah batteries and spare chain
  • Handheld mode for ground cleanup

Cons

  • 8-ft pole is shorter than the reach claim suggests
  • Battery fits no stated tool family
  • Lesser-known brand

Check TaskStar SC08 price on Amazon

6. Greenworks 40V PSPH40B210 — Best Saw Plus Hedge Combo

Best saw plus hedge comboGreenworks 40V pole saw and hedge kit

40V kit with an 8-inch pole saw and a 20-inch pole hedge trimmer on a 7-position pivoting head; 3-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon$149.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Two heads: 8-inch saw and 20-inch hedge blade
  • Hedge head pivots to seven positions
  • Automatic oiler and easy chain tensioning
  • 3-year warranty
Specification Details
Power Greenworks 40V, one 2.0Ah battery and charger
Saw head 8-inch bar and chain; automatic oiler
Hedge head 20-inch dual-action blade; 7-position pivot
Weight About 11 lb (kit listing)
Warranty 3 years
Reach not stated in listing

Greenworks PSPH40B210 — 40V 2Ah, 8-in pole saw + 20-in pole hedge, auto oiler, 3-yr warranty

The Only Pole Saw Listing With a Pole Hedge Attachment

Many yards with trees also have a tall hedge or screen. Among the 13 pole saw listings, this is the only one that adds a pole hedge trimmer head, a 20-inch dual-action blade that pivots to seven positions so you can level the top of a tall hedge from the ground. The saw head matches the stand-alone Greenworks above: 8-inch bar, automatic oiler and quick tensioning.

A 3-year warranty is stated, and one 40V battery runs both heads. If your hedge work is mostly at chest height, a handheld trimmer is faster; our best hedge trimmer guide compares those.

The listing does not state reach, runtime or the weight of each head on its own, and one 2Ah battery is thin for a day that includes both sawing and hedging.

Pros

  • Pole saw and pole hedge trimmer in one kit
  • Pivoting hedge head
  • Auto oiler; 3-year warranty

Cons

  • Reach not stated
  • One small battery for two heads
  • Heavier than the saw-only version

Check Greenworks 40V pole saw and hedge kit price on Amazon

7. LETYANGER 7.3–27 ft Manual Pole Saw — Best Manual High Reach

Best manual high reachLETYANGER manual pole saw

Manual pole saw and pulley pruner with seven sections reaching 7.3 to 27 ft, a spare blade and a carry bag.

Check price on Amazon$69.97 as of Oct 20, 2026 3:20 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Longest stated reach on the shelf: up to 27 ft
  • Saw head plus pulley-driven lopper head
  • Spare blade if one binds in a cut
  • No battery, fuel or cord
Specification Details
Power Manual
Reach About 7.3 to 27 ft using up to seven poles
Heads Saw with hook; pruner with pulley; spare saw blade
Poles Epoxy resin with aluminum alloy joints
Weight About 9.5 lb with all seven poles
Warranty not stated in listing

LETYANGER PSW — manual, 7 poles, 7.3–27 ft, saw + pulley pruner + spare blade, ~9.5 lb at full length

The Longest Reach in the Comparison, Without a Motor

Three of the 13 listings are manual pole saws, and this one claims the most reach of any saw here: about 27 feet with all seven poles assembled. The next longest are another manual kit at 26 feet and a third at 14.5 feet; the powered saws top out around 13 to 16 feet depending on how each listing counts. It also includes a pulley-driven pruner head for clean cuts on small branches, plus a spare saw blade in case one gets pinched.

The listing is unusually candid. It says the full 27-foot setup feels heavy and hard to control, recommends about 20 feet as a practical working length, and suggests back support for long sessions. Bright yellow poles are meant to make the work area visible to others.

A manual saw is slow on anything thick, and a long pole is the most dangerous tool on this list near overhead wires. Read the power line section below before raising a 27-foot pole anywhere near a service drop. The listing does not state warranty, blade length or whether the poles are rated as non-conductive, so assume they are not.

Pros

  • Longest stated reach on the shelf
  • Saw and pulley pruner heads
  • Spare blade and carry bag
  • No fuel, battery or cord

Cons

  • Slow on thick limbs
  • Hard to control at full length
  • No warranty or electrical rating stated

Check LETYANGER manual pole saw price on Amazon

How to read pole saw specs

Reach: pole length vs “max reach”

Reach claims on this shelf are not measured the same way. Some listings give pole length; others add the height and arm reach of an average user, often about 6 feet of person. TaskStar’s pole runs 4.6 to 8 feet but claims 15 feet of reach; Greenworks says its shaft extends to 9 feet for 11 feet of reach. Compare pole lengths where possible, and remember that you should not cut directly overhead: standing to the side and angling the pole means real working height is lower than the maximum.

Bar length

Bar length limits the thickest limb you can cut in one pass. Here, two listings carry 10-inch bars, five carry 8-inch bars (one kit includes both 6- and 8-inch bars), and the rest of the mini-saw kits carry 6-inch bars. As a labeled rule of thumb, a bar handles limbs somewhat smaller than its length; most homeowner pruning involves limbs well under 6 inches.

Chain oiling and tensioning

A chain without oil overheats, dulls and stretches. Six of the ten powered listings state automatic oiling; one uses a manual oil bulb, and the rest do not describe the system. Tool-free tensioning, stated on most of the powered saws, makes it practical to tighten a stretched chain mid-job.

Motor and battery

Four of the ten powered saws name a brushless motor. For battery saws, cuts per charge (EGO) is a more useful number than minutes, because a saw draws power only while cutting. If you already own a battery platform such as EGO or Greenworks, a saw that shares it saves the cost of a new pack.

Weight at the end of a pole

A 7-pound saw at the end of an 8-foot pole feels far heavier than 7 pounds in the hand, because the load sits far from your grip. Shoulder straps, included with several of these saws, shift some of that load. Try a few practice cuts at a comfortable height before working at full extension.

Pole saw safety: power lines first

Power lines are the single biggest hazard with a pole saw. OSHA’s tree trimming guidance says to assume every power line is energized, to contact the utility about de-energizing or shielding lines, and that tree trimming within ten feet of a power line must be done by trained, experienced line-clearance tree trimmers. A homeowner holding a long pole should treat that ten-foot zone as off-limits for the pole, the saw and the falling limb.

  • Look up first. Trace every line near the tree, including the service drop to your house. Branches touching or growing toward a line are a job for the utility or a line-clearance arborist.
  • Assume the pole conducts. Wet wood, aluminum and many composite poles can conduct; none of the listings here state an electrical rating.
  • Never cut directly overhead. Stand to the side so the limb and the saw cannot drop on you, and keep a clear retreat path.
  • No ladders. A pole saw exists so you do not need one. OSHA’s quick card also warns against climbing with tools in hand.
  • Protective gear: OSHA’s tree trimming card lists gloves, safety glasses, hard hats and hearing protection as recommended by the equipment manual. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission adds long sleeves, long pants and sturdy slip-resistant shoes for lawn and garden power equipment.
  • Disconnect before adjusting. CPSC advises unplugging electric tools before adjustments or clearing jams; for cordless saws, remove the battery before touching the chain.
  • Hearing: NIOSH treats noise at or above 85 dBA as hazardous; ear protection is sensible for long cutting sessions.
  • Weather: OSHA advises against trimming trees in dangerous weather, and CPSC advises against using electric tools in wet conditions.

Pole saws on the Front Range

Spring snow and storm cleanup

Front Range trees take a beating from heavy, wet spring and fall snows that arrive while leaves are on, plus summer hail and strong downslope winds. Broken and hanging limbs after a storm are the most common reason homeowners buy a pole saw. Be careful with storm damage: a limb hung up in a tree may be under tension and can spring when cut. OSHA’s guidance is to determine the direction of pressure and release it with small cuts. Hangers over roofs, near lines or larger than your bar are jobs for an arborist. If a limb has already hit the house, our guide to storm damage to roofs explains what to check.

Dry climate and tree health

Semi-arid conditions and watering restrictions stress trees, and drought-stressed trees drop dead wood. Pruning dead limbs is good maintenance, but heavy live pruning in a dry summer can add stress. Our guide to the best soil moisture meter for trees covers checking whether your trees are getting enough deep water.

Trees, roofs and foundations

Limbs over a roof drop debris into gutters, scrape shingles in wind and give squirrels a path to the attic. Trimming them back is a common recommendation in Front Range home inspection reports. Large trees close to the house can also matter below ground; our guide to tree roots near foundations and sewer lines explains the warning signs.

When to call an arborist or an inspector

A pole saw is for limbs you can reach from the ground, that are clear of power lines, and that will fall somewhere harmless. Anything larger than the bar, anything over a roof, anything hung up under tension and anything near a line belongs to a certified arborist or the utility. Our structure and exterior hub covers roofing, gutters and the other exterior systems overhanging trees affect.

If you are buying a Front Range home with mature trees close to the roof or foundation, an inspection can flag roof wear, gutter damage and grading issues those trees have caused. Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best pole saw for a homeowner?

For most homeowners, a cordless pole saw with an 8- to 10-inch bar, automatic or easy chain oiling and 11 to 13 feet of real reach covers routine pruning. Among the listings we compared, the EGO PS1001 stands out for its carbon-fiber shaft, 10-inch bar and LED cut-line light. Corded saws suit small lots near an outlet.

How high can a pole saw reach?

Powered pole saws in these listings claim roughly 10 to 16 feet of reach, and manual kits claim up to 27 feet. Many reach figures include the user's height and arm reach, so compare pole lengths. Cutting directly overhead is unsafe, so real working height is lower than the maximum.

How close to power lines can you use a pole saw?

Keep the pole, saw and limb well away from any line. OSHA guidance says to assume all lines are energized and that tree trimming within ten feet of a power line must be done by trained line-clearance trimmers. Call your utility for branches near lines, including the service drop to the house.

Is a cordless or corded pole saw better?

Cordless saws go anywhere in the yard and are easier around trees, but runtime depends on battery size. Corded saws never run out of power and are often lighter and cheaper, but the cord must be managed around the tree and kept away from the chain. Choose by yard size and outlet access.

How thick a branch can a pole saw cut?

It depends on bar length and power. Most saws here carry 6- to 10-inch bars, and as a rule of thumb they handle limbs somewhat smaller than the bar. Thick, heavy or tensioned limbs, especially over roofs, are safer left to an arborist.

References