Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Microwaves (2026): 6 Countertop Picks Compared by Size

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Erik Mclean

The best microwave for most kitchens is the one sized to your counter, your cookware and your electrical circuit, not the one with the longest list of preset buttons. This roundup covers countertop microwaves only, the plug-in boxes that sit on a counter or cart. Over-the-range and built-in drawer models are a different purchase: they mount to cabinetry, often vent a cooktop, and usually need their own circuit and an installer. On the countertop shelf, the real differences come down to interior size, cooking power, how much the unit pulls from the outlet, and a few genuinely useful extras such as a humidity sensor or a control lock. Below are six picks across three size classes, then a buying guide.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 11 current Amazon listings for countertop microwaves, from 0.7 to 1.2 cubic feet, on what each listing states: capacity, output and input wattage, turntable size, controls, child-lock design, energy-saving modes and any named safety certification. We did not lab-test or cook with any of these ovens. Two Toshiba models appear twice in different finishes, so the 11 listings cover 9 distinct models. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best countertop microwaves by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Toshiba EM131A5C-SSBest overall family-size microwave
  • 1.2 cu ft, 1000 W output
  • Humidity sensor cooking
  • 12.4 in turntable
$149.99as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
BLACK+DECKER EM031MB11Large capacity, simple controls
  • 1.1 cu ft, 1000 W output
  • Push-button door
  • 12.4 in turntable
$99.89as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Chefman RJ55-9-V2Mid-size with memory and lock
  • 0.9 cu ft, 900 W
  • Memory function
  • cETL approved per listing
$79.87as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Toshiba ML-EM09PAMid-size with finest power steps
  • 11 power levels
  • 900 W output, 1400 W input
  • Two-step child lock
$104.73as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
COMFEE EM720CPL-PMBCompact with low standby power
  • 0.7 cu ft, 700 W
  • ECO mode halves standby power
  • Mute button
$80.99as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7Compact with UL named
  • 0.7 cu ft, 700 W
  • 1050 W input stated
  • UL approved per listing
$79.95as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The six picks, compared listing by listing

1. Toshiba EM131A5C-SS — Best Overall Family-Size Microwave

Best overallToshiba EM131A5C-SS

1.2 cu ft, 1000 W countertop microwave with a humidity sensor, 12.4 in turntable, ECO mode and mute.

Check price on Amazon$149.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Largest capacity on the shelf at 1.2 cu ft
  • Humidity sensor adjusts time and power
  • States both output and input wattage
  • Mute and ECO mode in a stainless finish
Specification Details
Capacity 1.2 cubic feet
Power 1000 W cooking output; 1600 W input
Cooking aids Humidity sensor, sensor reheat, 6 preset menus, 10 power levels
Turntable 12.4-inch removable glass
Exterior size / weight About 20.6 x 14.6 x 11.8 in (W x D x H); 34.8 lb
Warranty 1 year

Toshiba EM131A5C-SS — 1.2 cu ft, 1000 W out / 1600 W in, humidity sensor, 12.4 in turntable, mute, ECO mode, 1-yr warranty

The Only Microwave Here With Sensor Cooking

Only 2 of the 11 listings describe a humidity sensor, and both are this Toshiba 1.2-cubic-foot model in black or stainless. A sensor reads the steam coming off food and adjusts cooking time and power, which takes some of the guesswork out of reheating leftovers or steaming vegetables. Every other listing relies on fixed presets and the timer.

It is also the largest oven on the shelf. With a 12.4-inch turntable it takes a full dinner plate or a 9 x 13 casserole more comfortably than the 10- and 10.6-inch turntables in the 0.7 and 0.9 cubic foot models. Toshiba states both the 1000-watt cooking output and the 1600-watt input draw, which matters for circuit planning, covered in the buying guide below.

Be aware of the trade-offs. At about 20.6 inches wide and 34.8 lb it is the heaviest microwave here and needs real counter depth. The listing title says 12 auto menus while the feature text says 6 presets; expect a mix of preset and sensor programs and confirm in the manual.

Pros

  • Humidity sensor cooking
  • Largest interior and turntable
  • Input wattage stated for circuit planning
  • Mute and ECO mode

Cons

  • Heaviest and widest unit here
  • Preset count is inconsistent in the listing
  • No child lock or safety mark mentioned

Check Toshiba EM131A5C-SS price on Amazon

2. BLACK+DECKER EM031MB11 — Best Large-Capacity Microwave With Simple Controls

Best large, simple controlsBLACK+DECKER EM031MB11

1.1 cu ft, 1000 W microwave with a push-button door, 12.4 in turntable, 6 presets and 1600 W input stated.

Check price on Amazon$99.89 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 1000 W output in a 1.1 cu ft cavity
  • Push-button door release
  • Same 12.4 in turntable as the Toshiba
  • Large LED display and interior light
Specification Details
Capacity 1.1 cubic feet
Power 1000 W output; 1600 W input
Controls 6 presets, 10 power levels, 30-second express, kitchen timer
Door Push-button release; child safety lock
Size / weight About 20.6 x 14.8 x 11.8 in; 31.2 lb
Warranty 1 year

BLACK+DECKER EM031MB11 — 1.1 cu ft, 1000 W out / 1600 W in, 12.4 in turntable, push-button door, 6 presets, 31.2 lb

A Push-Button Door on a Full-Size Oven

Three of the 11 listings describe a push-button door release, and all three are BLACK+DECKER. On this 1.1 cubic foot model it pairs with a 1000-watt output and the same 12.4-inch turntable as the larger Toshiba, so it handles family plates and casseroles. A push button is easier than a pull handle for anyone with limited grip strength or a hand full of dishes.

The controls are deliberately plain: six food presets, ten power levels, a 30-second express button and a timer. There is no humidity sensor, no ECO mode and no mute function in the listing. Eight of the 11 listings mention a way to silence the beeps, and none of the BLACK+DECKER listings do, which matters in a home where someone sleeps near the kitchen.

It lists the same 1600-watt input as the Toshiba, about 3.6 lb lighter at 31.2 lb. Like the Toshiba, it names no safety certification in the listing.

Pros

  • 1000 W in a full-size cavity
  • Push-button door release
  • 12.4 in turntable
  • Input wattage stated

Cons

  • No mute function mentioned
  • No sensor or ECO mode
  • Wide footprint at about 20.6 in

Check BLACK+DECKER EM031MB11 price on Amazon

3. Chefman RJ55-9-V2 — Best Mid-Size Microwave With Memory and Control Lock

Best mid-size with memoryChefman RJ55-9-V2

0.9 cu ft, 900 W microwave with a memory function, panel lock mode, mute, ECO mode and cETL named.

Check price on Amazon$79.87 as of Oct 20, 2026 9:01 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Memory function stores a favorite setting
  • Lock mode disables the control panel
  • cETL approval named in the listing
  • Dishwasher-safe glass turntable
Specification Details
Capacity 0.9 cubic feet
Power 900 W output; input not stated
Controls 6 presets, 10 power levels, +30 s, memory function
Safety Handle child lock plus panel lock mode; cETL approved per listing
Extras Mute button, ECO mode turns off display, top-rack dishwasher-safe turntable
Size / weight / warranty About 18.9 x 13.3 x 11.5 in; 28.44 lb; 1 year

Chefman RJ55-9-V2 — 0.9 cu ft, 900 W, memory function, lock mode, mute, ECO display-off, cETL named, 1-yr assurance

The Only Mid-Size Model With a Programmable Memory

Two listings describe a memory function that saves a frequently used time-and-power setting for one-touch recall, and both are Chefman: this 0.9 and the 1.1 cubic foot RJ55-11-V3. For someone who heats the same coffee or oatmeal every morning, that is more useful than another popcorn preset. The same two listings describe a panel lock mode in addition to the handle child lock, so the keypad itself can be disabled.

Chefman is also one of only two brands on the shelf to name a safety certification. All three Chefman listings say cETL approved, and one BLACK+DECKER listing says UL approved; the other seven do not name any mark. That does not mean those ovens lack one, only that you need to check the rating plate.

What is missing: Chefman does not state input wattage on any of its three listings, and the ECO mode here is described as turning off the display, not as a measured standby saving. The 10 power levels are standard for the shelf.

Pros

  • Memory function for repeat tasks
  • Panel lock plus handle lock
  • cETL approval named
  • Mute and display-off ECO mode

Cons

  • Input wattage not stated
  • Heavier than the Toshiba 0.9
  • Turntable size not stated

Check Chefman RJ55-9-V2 price on Amazon

4. Toshiba ML-EM09PA — Best Mid-Size Microwave for Fine Power Control

Best for fine power controlToshiba ML-EM09PA

0.9 cu ft, 900 W microwave with 11 power levels, LED lighting, two-step child lock and 1400 W input stated.

Check price on Amazon$104.73 as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 11 power levels, the most on the shelf
  • States 900 W output and 1400 W input
  • Two-step child lock
  • Defrost by weight or by time
Specification Details
Capacity 0.9 cubic feet
Power 900 W output; 1400 W input
Controls 6 presets, 11 power levels, 1 to 6 minute one-touch start, clock and timer
Safety Two-step child lock
Turntable 10.6-inch glass
Size / weight / warranty About 18.7 x 13.3 x 10.7 in; 24.9 lb; 1-year limited

Toshiba ML-EM09PA(SS) — 0.9 cu ft, 900 W out / 1400 W in, 11 power levels, 10.6 in turntable, two-step lock, 24.9 lb

The Only Microwave Here With 11 Power Levels

Every other model on the shelf offers 10 power levels. This Toshiba, sold in black stainless and stainless listings, offers 11. One extra step is a small thing, but it reflects a listing aimed at people who soften butter, melt chocolate or defrost by weight, where the low end of the range matters more than raw speed.

It is also the lightest mid-size model here at 24.9 lb, and it states its 1400-watt input. Six of the 11 listings state input wattage at all, so this is one of the easier ovens to plan around. The two-step child lock, which the listing describes as a mandatory feature, appears on three listings: this Toshiba in both finishes and the COMFEE.

The listing gives no mute details beyond the title, no ECO mode and no named safety certification. With a 10.6-inch turntable, it suits single plates and bowls better than large casserole dishes.

Pros

  • 11 power levels
  • Input wattage stated
  • Lightest 0.9 cu ft model listed
  • Two-step child lock

Cons

  • No ECO or standby-saving mode
  • No safety certification named
  • 10.6 in turntable

Check Toshiba ML-EM09PA price on Amazon

5. COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB — Best Compact Microwave for Low Standby Power

Best compact, low standbyCOMFEE EM720CPL-PMB

0.7 cu ft, 700 W compact microwave whose ECO mode is said to cut standby power by half, with mute and two-step lock.

Check price on Amazon$80.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing that quantifies standby saving
  • Mute by holding one button
  • Two-step child lock
  • Defrost by weight or by time
Specification Details
Capacity 0.7 cubic feet
Power 700 W output; input not stated
Energy mode ECO mode said to reduce standby power by 50 percent
Controls 6 auto-cook options, 1 to 6 minute express, +30 s, two defrost modes
Safety Two-step child lock
Size / weight / warranty About 17.3 x 12.7 x 10.2 in; 20.2 lb; 1 year

COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB — 0.7 cu ft, 700 W, ECO mode (50% less standby), mute, two-step lock, 20.2 lb, 1-yr warranty

The Only Listing That Puts a Number on Standby Savings

Six listings mention an ECO or energy-saving mode. Most describe it vaguely, and the Chefman version simply turns off the display. The COMFEE is the only listing that puts a figure on it, saying ECO mode cuts standby power by 50 percent. A microwave spends most of its life idle with a clock lit, so standby draw is the one efficiency number a buyer can actually influence. There is no ENERGY STAR program for microwaves to compare against, so treat this as a manufacturer claim.

At 0.7 cubic feet and 700 watts it is a dorm, office or small-apartment oven. Expect longer cook times than the 900- and 1000-watt models and check that your dinner plates fit before buying. The mute function, activated by holding the sound button for three seconds, and the two-step child lock are practical in shared spaces.

The listing does not state input wattage or turntable diameter and names no safety certification.

Pros

  • Stated 50 percent standby reduction
  • Compact and light at 20.2 lb
  • Mute and two-step child lock
  • Two defrost modes

Cons

  • 700 W means slower cooking
  • Turntable size not stated
  • No safety certification named

Check COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB price on Amazon

6. BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 — Best Compact Microwave With a Named UL Approval

Best compact, UL namedBLACK+DECKER EM720CB7

0.7 cu ft, 700 W stainless microwave with a push-button door, 10 in turntable, 1050 W input and UL approval named.

Check price on Amazon$79.95 as of Oct 21, 2026 1:15 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing that names UL approval
  • Lowest stated input draw at 1050 W
  • Push-button door and interior light
  • Six food presets and express cook
Specification Details
Capacity 0.7 cubic feet
Power 700 W output; 1050 W rated input; 110 V
Controls 6 presets, 10 power levels, 30-second express, clock and timer
Door / turntable Push-button release; 10-inch removable glass turntable
Certification named UL approved, per listing
Size / weight / warranty About 17.3 x 13 x 10.2 in; 20.2 lb; 1-year limited

BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 — 0.7 cu ft, 700 W out / 1050 W in, 10 in turntable, push-button door, UL approved, 20.2 lb

The Lowest Stated Input Draw, Plus a UL Mention

Of the six listings that state input wattage, this compact BLACK+DECKER lists the lowest at 1050 watts, against 1400 watts for the 0.9 cubic foot Toshiba and 1600 watts for the 1.1 and 1.2 cubic foot models. That makes it the friendliest choice for an older kitchen, a basement bar or an office where the microwave shares a circuit with a coffee maker.

It is also the only listing on the shelf that says UL approved. The three Chefman listings name cETL approval instead, and the remaining seven name nothing. A recognized testing-lab mark is worth confirming on any appliance that draws more than 1,000 watts.

The limits are the usual compact ones: 700 watts of cooking power, a 10-inch turntable, the smallest on the shelf, and no mute or ECO mode in the listing.

Pros

  • UL approval named
  • Lowest stated input draw
  • Push-button door
  • Compact stainless finish

Cons

  • 10 in turntable, the smallest listed
  • No mute function mentioned
  • 700 W output

Check BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 price on Amazon

How to read microwave specs

Capacity and turntable size

Interior capacity on this shelf runs from 0.7 to 1.2 cubic feet, but the turntable diameter is the more practical measure because it decides whether a plate spins freely. The listings here give 10 inches on the compact BLACK+DECKER, 10.6 inches on the 0.9 cubic foot models and 12.4 inches on the 1.1 and 1.2 cubic foot models. Measure your largest everyday plate and casserole before choosing a compact unit.

Output versus input wattage

The wattage in the title is cooking output: 700, 900 or 1000 watts here. Higher output heats faster, so a 700-watt oven needs noticeably more time than a 1000-watt one for the same dish; check the wattage range printed on your usual frozen-food packages. Input wattage is what the oven pulls from the outlet, and it is always higher because the magnetron is not perfectly efficient. A 1600-watt input works out to roughly 13 amps at 120 volts, a large share of a typical kitchen circuit.

Sensors, presets and power levels

Presets for popcorn, pizza and potatoes appear on every listing and differ little. The features that change daily use are a humidity sensor, offered only by the Toshiba 1.2 cubic foot model; a memory button, offered by two Chefman listings; and the number and spacing of power levels for gentle tasks like defrosting and softening.

Child locks and quiet operation

Nine of the 11 listings describe a child lock, and they work differently: two-step locks on the Toshiba 0.9 and COMFEE, a handle lock on all three Chefman models with an added panel lock mode on the 0.9 and 1.1, and a child safety lock the BLACK+DECKER listings do not describe in detail. The Toshiba 1.2 cubic foot listings do not mention a child lock at all, so confirm in the manual if that matters in your home. Eight listings mention a mute or sound-off option.

Electrical safety: outlets, circuits and cords

A microwave is one of the highest-draw plug-in appliances in most kitchens, and how it is plugged in matters more than any feature. The U.S. Fire Administration advises plugging major appliances directly into a wall outlet and never using an extension cord with them, because the cord can overheat and start a fire. It also advises not overloading outlets, fully inserting plugs, never forcing a three-prong plug into a two-slot outlet and replacing any appliance with a damaged cord.

  • Plug the microwave straight into a countertop receptacle, not a power strip or a cord run across the counter.
  • Avoid running it on the same circuit as a toaster oven, kettle or air fryer at the same time. If a breaker trips when two appliances run together, that circuit is overloaded.
  • Kitchen countertop receptacles in most newer homes are GFCI-protected. Our guide to kitchen GFCI outlets explains what that protection does, and why a GFCI keeps tripping covers nuisance trips.
  • Older Front Range homes, including many mid-century ranches in Denver and Aurora, may have few kitchen circuits or two-prong outlets. Do not use a cheater plug; have the outlet corrected.

Leave the clearances the manual specifies around the vents. Countertop microwaves exhaust heat and moisture, and a unit jammed under a cabinet runs hot.

Microwave safety at home

Microwaves are among the safer ways to heat food, but they still account for burns and kitchen fires. The EPA notes that microwave ovens are built so the radiation does not leave the oven and include safety interlocks that shut the oven off when the door opens. It also says most injuries from microwave ovens are heat-related burns from overheated food or liquids, and it advises never operating an oven whose door is dented, broken or does not seal well, and not standing directly against an operating oven.

The USFA identifies cooking as the leading cause of home fires and home fire injuries, with unattended equipment the leading contributing factor in nonconfined cooking fires. For microwaves, that means staying nearby during popcorn and reheating cycles, keeping metal and foil out unless the manual allows it, and never running the oven empty.

A microwave that runs but does not heat, sparks inside or trips a breaker should be unplugged and retired or professionally serviced. Microwave ovens contain high-voltage internal parts, so opening the cabinet is a job for a qualified appliance technician, not a DIY repair. Our guide to a microwave not heating walks through the safe checks.

Countertop versus over-the-range

Countertop microwaves are portable, inexpensive and need no installation. An over-the-range unit frees counter space and doubles as a range hood, but it must be mounted to the wall and cabinet, vented correctly and usually wired to a dedicated circuit. If you are weighing that switch, read our guides to over-the-range microwave installation and microwave venting. Whether an over-the-range unit vents outdoors or recirculates through a filter affects how well it clears cooking moisture and odors.

When to call an electrician or inspector

Warm outlets, scorched receptacle faces, breakers that trip when the microwave starts and lights that dim on the same circuit are signs of an overloaded or failing circuit, not a bad microwave. These are worth having an electrician investigate, and they are exactly what a home inspector flags in a kitchen. Our electrical inspection hub explains what inspectors check. Buying a Front Range home with an older kitchen? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What size microwave is best for most households?

For most households, a 1.1 to 1.2 cubic foot countertop microwave with 1000 watts of output and a 12.4 inch turntable handles family plates and casseroles. Choose 0.9 cubic feet for couples or tight counters, and 0.7 cubic feet only for dorms, offices or occasional reheating. Measure your largest plate against the turntable size in the listing.

What wattage microwave should I buy?

A 1000 watt output microwave cooks faster than 700 or 900 watt models, so it suits families who use the microwave for more than reheating. Also check input wattage, which is what the oven draws from the outlet. On this shelf, input ranges from 1050 watts on a 700 watt compact to 1600 watts on the 1000 watt models.

Can a microwave be plugged into an extension cord?

No. The U.S. Fire Administration advises plugging major appliances directly into a wall outlet and never using an extension cord with them, because the cord can overheat and start a fire. Plug a microwave straight into a countertop receptacle and avoid running other high-draw appliances on the same circuit at the same time.

Is it safe to use a microwave with a damaged door?

No. The EPA advises never operating a microwave oven whose door is dented or broken, or one that will not close and seal well, because a damaged door can allow microwave leakage. Stop using the oven and replace it or have it professionally serviced.

Do microwaves have ENERGY STAR ratings?

There is no ENERGY STAR category for microwave ovens, so efficiency claims cannot be compared against a common benchmark. The most useful energy figure is standby power: one listing on this shelf says its ECO mode cuts standby draw by 50 percent, and others offer a display-off mode.

References