Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Mosquito Repellent for Yard (2026): 7 Picks Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Phil Goodwin

The best mosquito repellent for yard use is rarely a single product. Yard treatments fall into four very different jobs: hose-end sprays that knock down mosquitoes resting in shrubs and turf, foggers that clear a patio for a few hours before guests arrive, stations and tubes that work on breeding over weeks, and granules or scent pouches that aim to keep mosquitoes away from a small area. Each works differently, and none replaces the cheapest step, which is dumping standing water. This guide matches seven current listings to those jobs, then covers label reading, pollinator and drift cautions, Front Range timing and when a yard problem is really a drainage problem.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon listings for outdoor mosquito products on what each listing states: product type, how it kills or repels, coverage area, how long it lasts, where it can be applied and whether the listing names EPA registration or a named mosquito species. We did not lab-test these products or use them in a yard. Six of the 17 are small plant-based scent pouches or balls rated for about 120 sq ft each; those are discussed below rather than picked. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing and the product label before buying.

Quick picks: the best yard mosquito products by job

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
Cutter Backyard Bug ControlWhole-yard hose-end spray
  • Treats up to 5,000 sq ft per bottle
  • QuickFlip hose-end sprayer
  • 2-pack of 32 oz concentrate
$17.42as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Ortho Mosquito Kill and PreventBreaking the breeding cycle
  • Targets adults and larvae
  • Protects up to 4,300 sq ft
  • No spray, flame or batteries
$47.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
OFF! Backyard Pretreat FoggerClearing a patio before guests
  • Repels for up to 6 hours
  • Covers about 30 x 30 ft
  • 2-pack of 16 oz cans
$17.71as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Ortho Backyard Mosquito KillerMost coverage per bottle
  • Covers up to 5,300 sq ft
  • Labeled for vegetables and fruit trees
  • Hose-end ready to spray
$15.73as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Wondercide Outdoor SprayPlant-based hose-end spray
  • Cedarwood oil based
  • No dry time per listing
  • Up to 5,000 sq ft
$37.99as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Spartan Mosquito Pro TechLarge lots with no power
  • 4 tubes cover up to 1 acre
  • Listing says EPA registered
  • Replace every 30 days
$42.00as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Bonide Mosquito BeaterGranular area repellent
  • Broadcast from the shaker can
  • Works up to 3 weeks
  • Starts about 1 hour after use
$13.43as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. Cutter Backyard Bug Control Spray Concentrate (2-Pack) — Best Whole-Yard Spray

Best whole-yard hose-end sprayCutter Backyard Bug Control

Hose-end concentrate that kills mosquitoes and listed insects on lawns and shrubs, up to 5,000 sq ft per bottle.

Check price on Amazon$17.42 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Hose-end sprayer, no mixing or tank
  • Each bottle treats up to 5,000 sq ft
  • Two bottles for a second pass mid-season
  • Also lists fleas and several ant types
Specification Details
Type Insecticide concentrate in a hose-end sprayer
Pack Two 32 oz bottles (a 3-pack is also listed)
Coverage Up to 5,000 sq ft of lawn per bottle
Targets Mosquitoes, listed ants, fleas and other listed insects
Residual claim Up to 12 weeks, stated for crickets, carpenter and harvester ants, lady beetles and earwigs
Active ingredient Not stated in listing

Cutter Backyard Bug Control (HG-97087) — 2 x 32 oz hose-end concentrate, up to 5,000 sq ft each, mosquitoes + listed insects

The Simplest Way to Treat Where Mosquitoes Rest

Five of the 17 listings are hose-end sprays, covering four formulas: this Cutter (in 2-pack and 3-pack listings), two Wondercide sprays and the Ortho Home Defense backyard spray. The CDC notes that adult mosquitoes rest in dark, humid places such as under patio furniture and carports, and recommends an outdoor adulticide used per label for those resting areas. A hose-end spray worked into shrubs, ground cover and shaded turf is the most direct way for a homeowner to reach them.

The Cutter’s appeal is simplicity: clip it to a garden hose, flip the switch and walk the yard. Two bottles mean a second application later in the summer without another order. The QuickFlip design also avoids measuring concentrate into a tank, which removes one of the most common ways homeowners mix pesticides too strong.

Read the residual claim carefully. The 12-week figure in the listing names crickets, ants, lady beetles and earwigs, not mosquitoes, and no time frame is given for mosquito control. The listing does not name the active ingredient, so check the label for it, for re-entry times and for pollinator and water warnings before spraying flowering plants.

Pros

  • No mixing; attaches to a garden hose
  • Up to 5,000 sq ft per bottle
  • Two bottles for repeat treatment

Cons

  • 12-week claim does not cover mosquitoes
  • Active ingredient not named in listing
  • Hose-end spray can drift on windy days

Check Cutter Backyard Bug Control price on Amazon

2. Ortho Home Defense Mosquito Kill & Prevent — Best for Breaking the Breeding Cycle

Best for breaking the breeding cycleOrtho Mosquito Kill and Prevent

Ground station that lures egg-laying mosquitoes and targets adults and larvae, protecting up to 4,300 sq ft.

Check price on Amazon$47.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing that targets larvae as well as adults
  • Names Aedes and Culex mosquitoes
  • Silent, with no spray, flame or batteries
  • Band swap every 30 days is simple
Specification Details
Type Water-filled lure station with treated refill band
Contents 1 station and 2 bands (about 2 months)
Coverage Up to 4,300 sq ft
Species named Aedes and Culex
How it works Mimics a breeding site; listing says adults die within 9 days and larvae are controlled in the station and other egg sites
Placement On level, shaded ground near bushes or trees

Ortho Home Defense Mosquito Kill & Prevent (4615615) — station + 2 bands, up to 4,300 sq ft, Aedes and Culex, replace band every 30 days

The Only Listing That Claims to Stop Larvae

Three listings on the shelf are stations or tubes meant to work over weeks: this Ortho, the Spartan Mosquito Pro Tech and the Aion barrier. Only the Ortho describes killing larvae, both inside the station and in other places the mosquitoes lay eggs, and it is the only one of the three that names the mosquito types it targets. That aligns with the EPA’s description of integrated mosquito control, which calls egg and larva interventions generally the most effective and least costly way to control mosquitoes.

The station is quiet and passive, which suits a yard with pets and children who would otherwise be shooed indoors during spraying. It goes on the ground in a shaded spot near shrubs, gets filled with water and gets a new band every 30 days. The listing’s “9 days” figure is a reminder that this is a slow product: it works across weeks, not before Saturday’s barbecue.

The listing does not name the active ingredient on the band or state an EPA registration number, and it says to check the water level periodically. In dry Front Range summers that water will evaporate quickly, and a station that dries out stops luring anything.

Pros

  • Targets larvae as well as adults
  • Names Aedes and Culex species
  • No spraying, so no drift

Cons

  • Slow; adults die over about 9 days
  • Water needs topping up in dry heat
  • Active ingredient not named in listing

Check Ortho Mosquito Kill and Prevent price on Amazon

3. OFF! Backyard Pretreat Outdoor Fogger (2-Pack) — Best Before a Gathering

Best for clearing a patio fastOFF! Backyard Pretreat Fogger

Aerosol fogger that kills and repels insects for up to 6 hours across an area of about 30 by 30 feet.

Check price on Amazon$17.71 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Fastest route to a usable patio tonight
  • Repels for up to 6 hours, per listing
  • Also lists flies, gnats, moths and wasps
  • Two cans per pack
Specification Details
Type Outdoor aerosol fogger that kills and repels
Pack Two 16 oz cans
Coverage About 30 x 30 ft (up to 900 sq ft)
Duration Repels insects for up to 6 hours
Targets Mosquitoes, flies, non-biting gnats, small moths, wasps, Asian lady beetles
Use areas Backyards, patios, decks, campsites, picnic areas; outdoor only

OFF! Backyard Pretreat (326072) — 2 x 16 oz outdoor fogger, about 900 sq ft, repels up to 6 hrs, mosquitoes + flies + wasps

The Only Product Here Built for a Few Hours of Relief

Every other pick works over days or weeks. The OFF! fogger is the only listing built around a single evening: it states up to 6 hours of repellency over an area about 30 feet square. For a deck dinner or a birthday party, that is the honest answer, because no station or yard spray will change mosquito numbers by tonight.

The coverage is small compared with the hose-end sprays, which treat 5,000 sq ft or more per bottle. Think of it as a patio product, not a yard product. It also lists wasps among its targets; if yellowjackets are nesting under the deck, though, a fogger is not a fix, and our guide to wasp nest removal covers safer options.

Fogging puts fine droplets into the air, which is exactly what the EPA warns can drift onto nearby homes, play areas, wildlife and water. Use it in calm air, away from food, pools, pet bowls and the neighbor’s fence, and read the label for how long to wait before people return. The listing does not name the active ingredient.

Pros

  • Works for the same evening
  • Both kills and repels, per listing
  • Covers several flying nuisance insects

Cons

  • Small area, about 900 sq ft
  • Effect lasts hours, not weeks
  • Fine aerosol is prone to drift

Check OFF! Backyard Pretreat Fogger price on Amazon

4. Ortho Home Defense Backyard Mosquito & Bug Killer — Best Coverage per Bottle

Best coverage per bottleOrtho Backyard Mosquito Killer

Ready-to-spray hose-end insecticide for lawns, ornamentals and vegetables, covering up to 5,300 sq ft.

Check price on Amazon$15.73 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Largest stated coverage among hose-end sprays
  • Labeled for vegetables and fruit trees, per listing
  • Starts killing within minutes
  • Non-staining and odor-free, per listing
Specification Details
Type Ready-to-spray hose-end insecticide
Size 32 fl oz
Coverage Up to 5,300 sq ft
Use sites Lawns, ornamentals, flowers, trees, shrubs, vegetables, fruit trees, home perimeter
Residual claim 3 months for ants, fleas, American dog ticks and spiders (not black widow)
Active ingredient Not stated in listing

Ortho Home Defense Backyard Mosquito & Bug Killer (437806) — 32 oz hose-end, up to 5,300 sq ft, lawns to fruit trees

The Widest Use-Site List Among the Hose-End Sprays

Among the four hose-end formulas, this Ortho states the largest coverage, at up to 5,300 sq ft, and the broadest list of places it can go, including vegetables and fruit trees. For a yard where mosquitoes rest in a vegetable garden as much as in the shrubs, that matters, because using a product on plants its label does not list is a label violation. Harvest intervals for edibles are on the label, not in the listing.

Its residual claim reads like the Cutter’s: the 3-month figure names ants, fleas, ticks and spiders, not mosquitoes. Mosquito control is described only as starting within minutes. Plan on reapplying for mosquitoes during the season, and only at the label’s maximum frequency.

The listing names diseases that mosquitoes may transmit, but no yard spray guarantees protection from them. The CDC still recommends EPA-registered skin repellents and long sleeves for people outdoors, whatever the yard has been treated with.

Pros

  • Up to 5,300 sq ft per bottle
  • Listed for edibles as well as ornamentals
  • Fast knockdown claim

Cons

  • No stated mosquito residual period
  • Active ingredient not named in listing
  • Hose-end spray can reach blooms bees visit

Check Ortho Backyard Mosquito Killer price on Amazon

5. Wondercide Outdoor Pest Control Spray — Best Plant-Based Spray

Best plant-based hose-end sprayWondercide Outdoor Spray

Cedarwood-oil hose-end spray that kills and repels mosquitoes and other yard pests; listing says no re-entry wait.

Check price on Amazon$37.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Plant-based actives such as cedarwood oil
  • No dry time or re-entry wait, per listing
  • Lists ticks, fleas, gnats and no-see-ums too
  • No artificial dyes or fragrances
Specification Details
Type Ready-to-use hose-end spray with plant-based actives
Size 32 fl oz
Coverage Up to 5,000 sq ft to kill mosquitoes and listed pests; up to 2,500 sq ft to repel mosquitoes and ticks
Named active Steam-distilled cedarwood oil, among others
Re-entry No wait stated in listing when used as directed
EPA registration or exemption Not stated in listing

Wondercide Outdoor Pest Control — 32 oz hose-end, cedarwood oil, kill up to 5,000 sq ft, repel up to 2,500 sq ft

The Plant-Based Spray That States Two Coverage Figures

Wondercide has two listings here, this general outdoor spray and a flea and tick formula. Both use cedarwood oil, and both state two coverage figures: one for killing and a smaller one, 2,500 sq ft, for repelling mosquitoes. That honesty is useful. If the goal is a yard that stays repellent, buy for the smaller number.

Plant oils fall under a separate regulatory path. The EPA exempts certain minimum risk pesticides from federal registration because it has determined they pose little to no risk, and an EPA author writing in the CDC’s journal noted that citronella and some other exempt ingredients may not be efficacious. The CDC, for its part, says the effectiveness of non-registered natural repellents is not known. None of that means this spray fails; it means the listing’s “lab proven” language is the manufacturer’s claim, not an EPA review.

The listing says residue is safe for bees and butterflies when used as directed and that no re-entry wait is needed. Even so, spray after bees have stopped foraging for the day and keep the stream off open blooms.

Pros

  • Plant-based formula with cedarwood oil
  • No re-entry wait stated
  • Separate kill and repel coverage figures

Cons

  • Repel coverage is half the kill coverage
  • Registration or exemption status not stated
  • Effectiveness claims are the maker’s own

Check Wondercide Outdoor Spray price on Amazon

6. Spartan Mosquito Pro Tech (1-Acre Pack) — Best for Large Lots Without Power

Best for large lots without powerSpartan Mosquito Pro Tech

Four water-activated tubes hung around the perimeter cover up to one acre for 30 days; listing says EPA registered.

Check price on Amazon$42.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing that states EPA registration
  • Four tubes cover up to one acre
  • No electricity, batteries or spraying
  • Specific spacing and placement directions
Specification Details
Type Water-activated perimeter tubes that kill mosquitoes
Pack / coverage 4 tubes; up to 1 acre
Duration Up to 30 days per tube
Placement Shade, no more than 180 ft apart, at least 80 ft from where people gather
Registration EPA registered, per listing
Active ingredient Not stated in listing

Spartan Mosquito Pro Tech (113956) — 4 tubes, up to 1 acre, 30 days, water-activated, no power, EPA registered per listing

The Only Listing on the Shelf That States EPA Registration

Of the 17 listings, the Spartan is the only one that says it is EPA registered. That matters because registration means the EPA reviewed data on how the product behaves when used as labeled. It is also the only perimeter product here that gives concrete spacing rules: tubes in shade, no more than 180 feet apart and at least 80 feet from where people gather.

That 80-foot rule says a lot about who should buy it. The tubes are designed to pull mosquitoes away from people, so they suit acreage lots in Elbert, Douglas or rural El Paso County better than a typical city lot, where 80 feet may reach the neighbor’s patio. On small lots, the Ortho station or a hose-end spray fits better.

Plan on monitoring water levels and replacing tubes every 30 days, as the listing directs. The listing does not name the active ingredient, so read the label for it and for storage directions, and check the EPA registration number on the package.

Pros

  • Only listing stating EPA registration
  • Covers up to an acre with four tubes
  • No power or spraying needed

Cons

  • 80-foot setback is hard on small lots
  • Tubes need replacing every 30 days
  • Active ingredient not named in listing

Check Spartan Mosquito Pro Tech price on Amazon

7. Bonide Mosquito Beater Granules — Best Granular Repellent

Best granular area repellentBonide Mosquito Beater

Ready-to-use repellent granules broadcast from the container, effective for up to three weeks per treatment.

Check price on Amazon$13.43 as of Oct 20, 2026 8:32 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • No water, hose or mixing
  • Up to 3 weeks per treatment
  • Starts working about an hour after application
  • Fresh scent rather than a chemical odor
Specification Details
Type Ready-to-use repellent granules
Size 1.3 lb shaker container
Onset / duration Begins about 1 hour after application; up to 3 weeks
Use areas Lawns, patios, barbecue areas, pool decks, campsites
Limits Rain, temperature and wind may reduce effectiveness, per listing
Coverage / active ingredient Not stated in listing

Bonide Mosquito Beater (5612) — 1.3 lb granules, broadcast from can, onset ~1 hr, up to 3 weeks, rain and wind sensitive

The Only Granular Product on the Shelf

Bonide is the only granular listing among the 17. Granules avoid the spray drift of hose-end products and foggers, need no water and can be shaken along the edge of a patio or lawn in a few minutes. It is a repellent, not a killer, so it aims to make an area less attractive rather than reduce the mosquito population.

The listing is candid that rain, temperature and wind affect it. That matters on the Front Range, where afternoon storms and gusty days are routine; expect the 3-week figure to shrink after a heavy downpour. The EPA’s drift guidance also applies to granules: sweep any that land on driveways or patios back onto soil so they do not wash into gutters.

The listing does not state coverage per container, its active ingredients or whether it is registered or exempt. Treat the “people and pet safe” wording in the title as a pointer to the label’s precautions, not a replacement for them.

Pros

  • No spray drift
  • Simple shake-on application
  • Up to 3 weeks per treatment

Cons

  • Coverage per container not stated
  • Rain and wind shorten effect
  • Repels only; does not reduce populations

Check Bonide Mosquito Beater price on Amazon

What about scent pouches, balls and incense sticks?

Seven of the 17 listings are small scent products: six pouches or “repellent balls” from SCFKAOF, CuuFceEo, NCOPDFF, Kopplvn and DERTUYE, each rated for about 120 sq ft, and one box of BugBai citronella incense sticks. Some name peppermint or citronella; most say only “plant-based ingredients.” None states EPA registration.

A 120 sq ft rating is roughly an 11-foot square, which might cover one small seating area. The CDC’s position on non-registered natural repellents is that their effectiveness is not known, and the EPA-authored review in the CDC’s journal notes that citronella is exempt from registration and that some exempt products may not be efficacious. They are inexpensive to try for a balcony, but they are not a yard treatment, and they do nothing about the water where mosquitoes breed.

Start with standing water

Every product above works better, or becomes unnecessary, once breeding sites are gone. The CDC recommends that once a week homeowners empty and scrub, turn over, cover or throw out anything that holds water: tires, buckets, planters, toys, pools, birdbaths, flowerpot saucers and trash containers. It also suggests tightly covering rain barrels and water storage, using mesh smaller than an adult mosquito on containers without lids, filling tree holes and covering open vent or plumbing pipes.

The EPA’s integrated approach puts habitat removal first for the same reason: mosquitoes need water for two stages of their life cycle. For water that cannot be dumped, such as an ornamental pond, the CDC suggests larvicides used by the label. A Front Range checklist:

  • Gutters and downspouts. Clogged gutters hold water for days after a storm.
  • Low spots in the lawn. Puddles that last more than a few days after rain or watering point to grading or drainage issues; see our guides to yard drainage and building a drainage swale.
  • Irrigation leaks. A broken head or stuck valve keeps a bed soggy all summer; our sprinkler system repair guide covers the usual culprits.
  • Window wells, tarps and grill covers. Easy to forget, and often shaded.

How to read a yard mosquito product label

A product’s label, not its Amazon listing, controls how it can be used. Look for:

  • EPA registration number. Only one listing here states registration outright. A registered product carries an “EPA Reg. No.” on the label.
  • Kill vs repel. Foggers and many sprays kill on contact; granules and pouches only repel. Coverage figures can differ for each claim, as Wondercide’s do.
  • Which insects the residual claim covers. Both the Cutter and the Ortho hose-end listings tie their long residual periods to ants, ticks and other crawling pests rather than mosquitoes.
  • Use sites and edibles. Only some products can go on vegetables and fruit trees.
  • Re-entry, environmental and pollinator statements. These define when people and pets can return and where the product must not be applied.

Bees, ponds and drift

The EPA-authored review in the CDC’s journal notes that labels on mosquito insecticides state they are toxic to birds, fish, wildlife, aquatic invertebrates and honeybees, and that honeybees can be killed if exposed while foraging. Professional programs reduce that risk with very low application rates and night treatments. Homeowners applying sprays and foggers by hand do not have those safeguards, so the label’s environmental warnings matter even more.

The EPA’s drift guidance for consumers is simple: apply only to the treatment area, keep pesticides out of storm drains, gutters and surface water, and spray in calm weather with no rain expected for 24 hours. In practice that means:

  • Spray in the evening after bees stop foraging, and avoid open blooms.
  • Keep sprays away from ponds, fountains, birdbaths and fish.
  • Skip windy afternoons; Front Range gusts carry fine droplets well past the property line.
  • Bring in pet bowls, toys and patio cushions before treating.

If weeds are on the same weekend list, our sibling roundup of the best weed killer options covers timing and drift for herbicides too.

Front Range mosquito season

Mosquito pressure on the Front Range tends to follow water: wet springs, irrigated lawns, ditch and creek corridors and the low spots near open space. Season length depends on weather, with warm nights and recent rain bringing the most activity. Dry air and wind work in a homeowner’s favor in the open, but mosquitoes shelter in irrigated shrubs and shaded beds, which is exactly where hose-end sprays and stations should go.

The CDC notes that mosquitoes bite day and night and recommends EPA-registered skin repellents with ingredients such as DEET, picaridin, IR3535, oil of lemon eucalyptus, PMD or 2-undecanone, plus long sleeves and permethrin-treated clothing. A yard treatment reduces the nuisance; a skin repellent is what protects the person sitting in the yard. Inside, the CDC advises screens without holes and closed doors, including garage doors.

A light-based zapper is a common add-on. Before buying one, read our best bug zapper comparison, which explains why public health sources do not count UV zappers as mosquito control.

When to call a professional

Call a licensed pest management professional when mosquitoes persist after standing water is gone and a season of label-rate treatments, when the source is on a neighboring property or open space, or when someone in the home is at higher risk from bites. The CDC itself suggests hiring a pest control professional for indoor problems that persist after screens are fixed and containers are emptied. Community spraying programs are run by local agencies; contact your county or municipal mosquito control program for area concerns.

From an inspection standpoint, mosquito problems often trace back to the house: gutters that never drain, grading that ponds water against the foundation, window wells without covers, crawl space vents near wet soil. Our overview of exterior and structure inspections explains what inspectors look at outside. Buying on the Front Range and want drainage and grading checked before closing? Get in touch here to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best mosquito repellent for a yard?

It depends on the job. A hose-end spray treats resting areas across the yard, a fogger clears a patio for a few hours, and stations or tubes work on mosquitoes over weeks. Removing standing water weekly, as the CDC recommends, makes any product work better.

Do mosquito repellent pouches and balls work outdoors?

Most are rated for about 120 sq ft, roughly one small seating area, and none on the current shelf states EPA registration. The CDC says the effectiveness of non-registered natural repellents is not known. They are not a substitute for removing standing water or using an EPA-registered skin repellent.

How long does a backyard mosquito spray last?

Listings vary, and many tie their longest residual claims to ants, ticks or fleas rather than mosquitoes. Foggers state hours, granules about three weeks and stations about 30 days per refill. Follow the label for reapplication limits.

Are yard mosquito sprays safe for bees and pets?

Many mosquito insecticides are toxic to honeybees, fish and aquatic insects, so spray after bees stop foraging, avoid blooms and keep products out of ponds and drains. Keep pets and children off treated areas for the time the label states. Plant-based products still carry label precautions.

Should a mosquito yard treatment replace bug spray on skin?

No. Yard treatments reduce the number of mosquitoes, but the CDC recommends EPA-registered skin repellents and long sleeves for protection from bites. Use both together during mosquito season.

References