Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Battery Powered Snow Blowers (2026): 6 Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 18, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Mike Cox

The best battery powered snow blower is the one whose batteries outlast your driveway on a cold morning. That sounds obvious, but battery listings make it hard to check: some state minutes, some state car-lengths, some state nothing at all, and none of them were measured at 5 degrees F. This comparison focuses on what actually limits a cordless machine on the Front Range: pack size, the runtime the maker is willing to put in writing, how deep the intake is and which battery platform you are buying into. Six picks follow, each matched to a driveway, then a guide to keeping batteries working through a Colorado winter.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 9 current Amazon listings for battery-powered walk-behind snow blowers on what each listing states: voltage, packs included, stated runtime or capacity, clearing width and intake depth, throw distance, motor type and warranty. The same search returned five small battery snow shovels, a handheld leaf blower and a corded blower, which we set aside. We did not lab-test or use any of these machines. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing.

Quick picks: the best battery powered snow blowers

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
EGO SNT2112Best overall cordless
  • 21-in path, 40-ft throw
  • Two 56V 5.0Ah packs included
  • Steel auger, brushless motor
$749.00as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Westinghouse WSnow18 48VClearest runtime and charge info
  • 15 min for 7-in snow stated
  • 1.8-hour charge stated
  • 2-year warranty
$299.00as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
etoolab ETS40maxCold-weather battery claims
  • Cold-resistant 20V packs stated
  • 15 to 35 minutes stated
  • 20-in by 12-in path
$299.99as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Steelite AZDG851 40VHighest stated cordless snow rate
  • 850 lb per minute stated
  • 20-in by 12-in path
  • 26 lb with brushless motor
$269.98as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
VOLTASK 48V 20-inchLightest 20-in kit with packs
  • 22.93 lb listed
  • 30 minutes runtime stated
  • Two 24V packs included
$269.99as of Oct 21, 2026 4:19 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
EGO SNT2416Cordless two-stage, heavy snow
  • 24-in path, 20-in intake
  • Two 10.0Ah packs included
  • Self-propelled, heated grips
—Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 6 picks, compared listing by listing

1. EGO Power+ SNT2112 — Best Overall Battery Powered Snow Blower

Best overall cordlessEGO SNT2112

21-inch 56V single-stage blower with a steel auger, brushless motor, 40-ft throw and two 5.0Ah packs included.

Check price on Amazon$749.00 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Longest single-stage throw on this shelf at 40 feet
  • Steel auger for packed snow and ice
  • Two 5.0Ah EGO packs and dual charger included
  • Variable auger speed and handle-mounted chute control
  • Quick-fold handle for storage
Specification Details
Design Single-stage, steel auger, brushless motor
Power Two EGO 56V ARC lithium packs, 5.0Ah each, included
Clearing width 21 inches; intake depth not stated in listing
Throw / controls Up to 40 ft; variable auger speed; handle-mounted chute adjustment
Lights / storage Two LED headlights; quick-fold handle
Weight 50.6 lb (listed)

EGO SNT2112 — 56V single-stage, 21 in, steel auger, 2 x 5.0Ah included, 40-ft throw, brushless, 50.6 lb

The Longest Single-Stage Throw Among These Battery Machines

Eight of the nine listings are single-stage machines. The SNT2112’s stated 40-foot throw is the longest of those eight; the next-best single-stage figure is 30 feet, and most state 25. On a wide driveway, throw distance decides whether snow clears the far edge or lands on a lane you still have to do. Combined with a 21-inch width, also the widest among the single-stage battery machines, it makes fewer passes than the 18- and 20-inch competition.

The other reason it leads is the platform. EGO’s 56V batteries also run the brand’s mowers, trimmers and leaf blowers, and the pair included here works in its larger snow blowers too. Two of the nine listings here are EGO machines, and both use the same packs.

The gaps: the listing does not state intake depth, runtime or a driveway-capacity figure, and the 5.0Ah packs are the smallest EGO pair on this shelf. Treat it as a strong machine for typical 4- to 10-inch storms on a paved two-car driveway, with a spare pack or two for longer jobs.

Pros

  • 40-ft throw, best of the single-stage group
  • Batteries shared across EGO tools
  • Steel auger and variable speed

Cons

  • No runtime or capacity figure stated
  • Intake depth not stated
  • Smaller 5.0Ah packs in the box

Check EGO SNT2112 price on Amazon

2. Westinghouse WSnow18 48V — Best for Clear Runtime and Charge Information

Clearest runtime infoWestinghouse WSnow18 48V

18-inch 48V kit with two 24V 4Ah packs, a stated 15-minute runtime in 7-inch snow and a 1.8-hour charge.

Check price on Amazon$299.00 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • States runtime tied to a snow depth
  • Only listing that gives a charge time
  • Only battery listing here with a warranty
  • Rubber-tipped steel auger; uses Snow Joe packs
Specification Details
Design Single-stage, rubber-tipped steel auger, 1200W brushless motor
Power Two 24V 4Ah lithium packs plus dual-port 2.2A charger, included
Runtime / charge About 15 minutes for 7 inches of snow; full charge in 1.8 hours
Clearing path 18 inches wide, 10 inches deep
Capacity / throw 650 lb per minute; 25-ft throw; 180-degree chute
Warranty 2-year limited, with lifetime technical support

Westinghouse WSnow18 48V — 2 x 24V 4Ah, 1200W brushless single-stage, 18 in x 10 in, 650 lb/min, 15 min in 7-in snow, 2-yr warranty

The Only Listing That States Both a Runtime and a Charge Time

Three of the nine listings give a runtime in minutes. Westinghouse is the only one of the three that ties the number to a snow depth (15 minutes in 7 inches), and it is the only listing on the shelf that says how long a recharge takes (1.8 hours). Fifteen minutes is short, and it is honest about that. For a single-car driveway and a front walk after a moderate storm, it is enough; for anything larger, you will want a second pair of packs charging indoors.

It is also the only battery listing of the nine that states a warranty, and the title says it works with Snow Joe batteries, so packs from that line can serve as spares. Two listings describe a rubber-tipped auger, this one and the Snow Joe IONMAX, which helps on stamped or sealed concrete.

The 18-inch path and 10-inch intake put it in the light-snow class. Its 650 pounds per minute is the lowest stated rate among the three battery listings that give one.

Pros

  • Runtime and charge time both stated
  • 2-year warranty and support network
  • Rubber-tipped auger is gentle on pavement
  • Cross-compatible with Snow Joe packs

Cons

  • Short 15-minute stated runtime
  • Narrow 18-inch path
  • Lowest stated snow rate of the three that give one

Check Westinghouse WSnow18 48V price on Amazon

3. etoolab ETS40max — Best for Cold-Weather Battery Claims

Best cold-weather battery claimsetoolab ETS40max

40V cordless blower with two cold-resistant 20V 4Ah packs, a 20-by-12-inch path and a stated 15 to 35 minute range.

Check price on Amazon$299.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing describing cold-resistant batteries
  • Runtime given as a realistic range
  • 12-inch intake on a 20-inch path
  • Folds to fit under a workbench
Specification Details
Design Single-stage, 2,500 RPM brushless motor
Power Two 20V 4.0Ah packs (40V) described as cold-resistant, included
Runtime About 15 to 35 minutes, up to 12 parking spaces, depending on snow
Clearing path 20 inches wide, 12 inches deep
Throw / chute Up to 25 ft out and 20 ft high; 180-degree chute
Weight 31.9 lb (listed)

etoolab ETS40max — 40V (2 x 20V 4Ah), brushless single-stage, 20 in x 12 in, 15–35 min stated, 25-ft throw, 31.9 lb

The Only Listing That Describes Its Batteries as Cold-Resistant

Battery output falls in the cold, and most listings simply ignore it. The ETS40max is the only one of the nine that describes its packs as cold-resistant, and it states runtime as a range, 15 to 35 minutes, explicitly depending on snow depth and conditions. A range is more useful than a single best-case number because it reminds you that a heavy 10-inch storm sits at the low end.

Its 12-inch intake is one of three at that depth among the single-stage battery listings (with the Steelite and the Houselife), two inches deeper than the 10-inch Westinghouse, VOLTASK, Greenworks and Snow Joe. The 20-inch path and fold-down frame make it a practical machine for a two-car driveway stored in a crowded garage.

The listing does not name a warranty, describe the auger material or give a snow rate, and the batteries are an etoolab pack rather than a major tool platform. “Cold-resistant” is a marketing description, not a stated temperature rating; still keep the packs indoors between storms.

Pros

  • Honest runtime range tied to conditions
  • 12-inch intake for deeper snow
  • Folds compactly for storage

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Cold-resistant claim has no stated rating
  • Packs do not join a larger tool line

Check etoolab ETS40max price on Amazon

4. Steelite AZDG851 40V — Best Stated Snow Rate in a Cordless Machine

Highest stated cordless snow rateSteelite AZDG851 40V

40V brushless cordless blower rated at 850 lb per minute with a 20-by-12-inch path, two 4Ah packs and a 26-lb frame.

Check price on Amazon$269.98 as of Oct 21, 2026 5:06 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 850 lb per minute, highest battery rate stated
  • 12-inch intake on a 20-inch path
  • 26 lb with two 4.0Ah packs included
  • Dual safety start and LED lights
Specification Details
Design Single-stage, brushless motor
Power Two 20V 4.0Ah packs (40V) and chargers included
Clearing path 20 inches wide, 12 inches deep
Stated capacity 850 lb per minute; 25-ft throw; 180-degree chute
Weight 26 lb (per features)
Runtime / warranty Not stated in listing

Steelite AZDG851 — 40V (2 x 20V 4Ah) brushless single-stage, 20 in x 12 in, 850 lb/min, 25-ft throw, 26 lb

The Highest Snow Rate Stated by Any Battery Listing Here

Only three of the nine battery listings give a snow rate in pounds per minute: Westinghouse at 650, Snow Joe at 700 and this Steelite at 850. That is a manufacturer claim under good conditions, but it is the strongest one on this cordless shelf. Pair it with a 12-inch intake and a 26-pound frame and it is an efficient package for a paved two-car driveway.

The listing says nothing about runtime, which is the main thing a battery buyer wants to know, and gives no warranty. It also notes that the seller, Steelite Tools, is unrelated to a similarly named company, so do not assume a brand history. If you need a runtime number to plan around, the etoolab or VOLTASK listings state one.

Pros

  • Highest stated battery snow rate
  • 12-inch intake
  • Light for a 20-inch machine

Cons

  • No runtime stated
  • No warranty stated
  • Proprietary 20V packs

Check Steelite AZDG851 40V price on Amazon

5. VOLTASK SB-40A 48V — Lightest 20-Inch Kit That Includes Batteries

Lightest 20-inch kit with packsVOLTASK 48V 20-inch

20-inch 48V brushless blower at 22.93 lb listed, with two 24V packs, dual charger and a stated 30-minute runtime.

Check price on Amazon$269.99 as of Oct 21, 2026 4:19 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • 22.93 lb listed, light for a 20-inch machine
  • Two packs and dual quick charger included
  • 30-minute runtime stated
  • Waterproofed key components per listing
Specification Details
Design Single-stage, brushless 48V motor
Power Two 24V lithium packs and dual quick charger, included
Runtime 30 minutes stated
Clearing path 20 inches wide, 10 inches deep
Throw / chute Up to 25 ft; 180-degree chute; dual LEDs
Warranty Not stated in listing

VOLTASK SB-40A-AZ — 48V brushless single-stage, 20 in x 10 in, 30-min runtime stated, 25-ft throw, 22.93 lb

The Lightest 20-Inch Machine Here That Ships With Batteries

Four battery listings in this group claim a 20-inch path. The Houselife lists 22 pounds but comes without batteries; of the three that include packs, the VOLTASK is the lightest at 22.93 pounds, ahead of the Steelite at 26 and the etoolab at 31.9. Light weight matters for anyone who carries the machine to a deck, a back patio or a neighbor’s walk, and for older homeowners who want a blower instead of a shovel.

Its 30-minute stated runtime is the longest single figure among the three listings that give minutes (etoolab’s range tops out higher at 35, but starts at 15). The 10-inch intake is the tradeoff: this is a frequent-clearing machine for light to moderate snow rather than one to take a 14-inch storm in one pass. No warranty or auger material is stated.

Pros

  • Light, easy to carry and store
  • Clear 30-minute runtime figure
  • Batteries and charger included

Cons

  • 10-inch intake
  • No warranty stated
  • Packs are VOLTASK-specific

Check VOLTASK 48V 20-inch price on Amazon

6. EGO Power+ SNT2416 — Best Cordless Two-Stage for Heavy Snow

Best cordless two-stageEGO SNT2416

24-inch two-stage battery blower with a 20-inch intake, self-propel, heated grips and two 10.0Ah packs included.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Only two-stage machine of the nine
  • Two 10.0Ah packs, largest included here
  • Self-propelled with trigger steering
  • Heated grips and 200-degree chute lever
Specification Details
Design Two-stage, variable-speed steel auger, self-propelled
Power Two EGO 56V ARC packs, 10.0Ah each, plus dual charger
Clearing path 24 inches wide, 20-inch intake
Stated capacity Up to a 24-car driveway with 8 inches of snow per charge; 50-ft throw
Comfort Heated grips; trigger-controlled steering
Weight 198 lb (listed)

EGO SNT2416 — 56V two-stage, 24 in x 20 in intake, 2 x 10.0Ah, self-propelled, heated grips, 50-ft throw, 198 lb

The Only Battery Machine Here Built for Heavy, Deep Snow

Every other listing in this group is a single-stage machine with a stated intake of 10 to 12 inches. The SNT2416 is the only two-stage design, with a 20-inch intake, and the only self-propelled and heated-grip listing of the nine. That is the difference between keeping up with a wet March storm or the plow ridge at the curb and stalling in it.

It also carries the most stored energy of any kit here: two 10.0Ah packs, twice the amp-hours of the SNT2112’s pair. EGO’s capacity claim, 24 car-lengths at 8 inches, is a best case, but even at half that it covers a long suburban driveway. The cost is size: at 198 pounds it needs a ground-level garage spot and is not something you lift onto a porch. Gravel owners should confirm skid-shoe adjustment, which the listing does not mention. Our full two-stage snow blower comparison sets it against gas machines.

Pros

  • Two-stage power with no gas or exhaust
  • Largest included battery capacity
  • Self-propel and heated grips

Cons

  • Very heavy at 198 lb
  • Skid shoes not mentioned
  • Overkill for short driveways

Check EGO SNT2416 price on Amazon

Reading battery snow blower specs

Voltage and amp-hours

Voltage on this shelf runs from 40V to 56V, and most machines reach it by pairing two smaller packs. Voltage reflects how hard the motor can push; amp-hours reflect how long it can keep pushing. Two 4.0Ah packs and two 10.0Ah packs at similar voltage are very different machines once the snow gets deep. When a listing omits amp-hours, look up the pack it ships with.

Runtime claims, in three dialects

Makers describe endurance three ways. Minutes (three listings here) are easiest to plan around. Car-lengths or parking spaces (EGO, etoolab) describe area at a stated snow depth. Many listings say nothing. None of these claims come with a temperature, so assume they reflect mild conditions. A practical approach is to time how long your current shovel or blower routine takes, then pick a machine whose stated runtime comfortably exceeds it, or plan on a second set of packs.

Intake depth and clearing width

The single-stage battery machines here state intake depths of 10 to 12 inches and widths of 16 to 21 inches. A 12-inch intake handles a typical overnight storm in one bite; 10 inches means clearing mid-storm when snow is heavy. For storms above a foot, a two-stage machine is the right tool.

Platform lock-in

Batteries are the most expensive part of a cordless machine. If you already own EGO, Greenworks, Snow Joe or DeWalt packs, a blower on that platform saves money and gives you spares. Proprietary packs from smaller brands work, but replacements may be harder to find in five years. Two tool-only machines on this shelf, the Greenworks 40V and a DeWalt-compatible Houselife model, are covered in our overall snow blower roundup.

Keeping batteries working through a Colorado winter

Cold is the main reason a cordless blower quits early. A few habits make a large difference:

  • Store packs indoors. The U.S. Fire Administration, citing NFPA, recommends storing lithium-ion batteries at room temperature when possible. An unheated garage on a January night is not that.
  • Charge indoors, above freezing. The same guidance says not to charge lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F or above 105 degrees F.
  • Insert packs at the last minute and bring them back inside right after.
  • Clear in stages during long storms. Two short sessions at 5 inches each use less energy than one session at 10 inches of settled, heavier snow.
  • Retire damaged packs. Stop using any battery that is swollen, cracked or hot, and use only the manufacturer’s charger.

Safety: chutes and jams still bite

A battery blower has no exhaust, so the carbon monoxide hazard of gas machines disappears. The mechanical hazard does not. The CPSC warns never to clear snow from the discharge chute by hand, noting that this is when most snow blower injuries happen, and reports more than 4,200 snow blower injuries treated in emergency rooms in 2021. OSHA’s advice for jams: turn the machine off, wait for all moving parts to stop, then use a long stick or the clearing tool. On a cordless model, release the trigger and pull the battery before reaching near the auger. The CPSC also advises reading the manual before first use.

OSHA describes snow shoveling as strenuous enough to bring on exhaustion, back injuries or heart attacks. A light cordless blower is a reasonable alternative for homeowners who should avoid that strain; check with your doctor if you have heart concerns.

How battery blowers fit Front Range snow

Front Range snow is often dry, light powder in midwinter, which suits battery single-stage machines well. Spring storms are the test: March is often the snowiest month in Denver, and wet snow drains batteries quickly and clogs single-stage augers. Owners of single-stage battery machines do best by clearing every few inches during a storm.

Afternoon sun melts the edges of cleared pavement and clear nights refreeze them into ice. Clearing all the way down promptly limits that; a concrete-safe product handles the rest, and our ice melt for concrete guide explains which are gentler on slabs. Single-stage battery machines are not for gravel; that job needs a two-stage machine with skid shoes. For steps and short walks, the battery tools covered in our electric snow shovel roundup may be all you need.

When the snow points to a house problem

Ice that forms in the same place every week, a garage apron that keeps heaving, or icicles and ice dams that return every winter usually trace back to drainage, grading or attic heat loss. Our guide to ice dams explains the roof side, and the structure and exterior inspection section covers what an inspector checks on slabs and drainage. If a winter problem keeps coming back, get in touch to connect with a Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best battery powered snow blower for a two-car driveway?

For a paved two-car driveway with typical storms, a single-stage battery machine with a 20 to 21 inch path and at least two included packs works well. Choose a two-stage battery model if you regularly get heavy wet snow or a large plow ridge.

How long does a battery snow blower run on one charge?

It depends on pack size, snow depth and temperature. Listings in this comparison that state minutes range from about 15 to 35. Cold weather reduces runtime, so a second set of packs is useful for longer driveways.

Can I charge snow blower batteries in the garage?

Only if the garage stays above freezing. Fire safety guidance from the U.S. Fire Administration says not to charge lithium-ion batteries below 32 degrees F or above 105 degrees F, and to store them at room temperature when possible.

Are battery snow blowers good on gravel?

Single-stage battery blowers are not, because the auger touches the ground and throws stones. A two-stage battery model with adjustable skid shoes is the cordless option for gravel; confirm skid-shoe adjustment in the manual.

Do I need to buy batteries separately?

Some models are sold as tool only, without batteries or a charger. Kits that include packs cost more up front but are simpler if you do not already own batteries on that platform. Check the listing title for words like tool only or battery not included.

References