Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Electric Snow Shovels (2026): 7 Picks Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 18, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Mike Cox

The best electric snow shovel sits between a manual shovel and a snow blower: a lightweight, handheld machine with a small spinning paddle that throws snow off steps, decks, walks and short driveways. On the Colorado Front Range, where many storms leave 2 to 6 inches of snow that melts by afternoon, that is often all the machine a household needs. The catch is that these tools vary widely in clearing width, battery system and stated runtime, and some are corded. Below are seven picks, each matched to a different job, then a buying guide on reading the specs, cold-weather battery care and safe use.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 15 current Amazon listings for electric snow shovels, corded and cordless, on what each listing states: clearing width and depth, throw distance, battery voltage and capacity, stated runtime, weight, wheels and handle adjustment. We did not lab-test these machines or use them hands-on, and runtime and clearing claims are the sellers’ own figures. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best electric snow shovels by use case

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
EGO SNS1201Best overall battery kit
  • 56V battery and charger included
  • Brushless motor, two speeds claimed
  • 25-ft throw, 60-degree dial
$359.00as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Litekon 80V 17-inchWidest path, longest runtime
  • 17-inch clearing width
  • Up to 45 min stated runtime
  • Two 40V 4.0Ah batteries
$239.99as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Westinghouse WSnow11SCorded, no battery to charge
  • 120V 10A corded motor
  • 11-inch by 6-inch path
  • 2-year limited warranty
$79.99as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
VOLTASK 48V 16-inchWheel-assisted for longer walks
  • 16-inch by 8-inch path
  • Wheels and support plate
  • Two 24V 4.0Ah batteries
$206.99as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
BAOPROLEI 40VStated cold-weather range
  • Rated -25C to 10C
  • Three 4.0Ah batteries included
  • 13-inch by 8-inch path
$189.99as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5ASteps, decks and narrow paths
  • 8.4 lb listed
  • Handle telescopes 47 to 52 in
  • 5.0Ah battery kit
$149.99as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Skil SNS1000B-13Small walks and patios
  • 10-inch clearing width
  • Split shaft for storage
  • 20V 4.0Ah kit
$109.00as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The seven picks, compared listing by listing

1. EGO Power+ SNS1201 — Best Overall Battery Kit

Best overallEGO SNS1201

12-inch brushless cordless snow shovel kit with a 56V 2.5Ah battery, 210W charger and a 60-degree direction dial.

Check price on Amazon$359.00 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only kit here claiming a 3-car driveway at 6 inches
  • Brushless motor described for long run times
  • 60-degree direction dial and 25-ft throw
  • Battery fits a wider 56V tool platform
Specification Details
Clearing width 12 inches
Throw / direction Up to 25 ft; 60-degree directional control dial
Power 56V ARC Lithium, 2.5Ah battery and 210W charger included
Stated capacity Up to a 3-car driveway with 6 inches of snow on the included battery
Motor / storage Brushless; hinged shaft for compact storage
Runtime in minutes Not stated in listing

EGO SNS1201 — 12 in. width, 25 ft throw, 60-degree dial, brushless, 56V 2.5Ah kit, hinged shaft

The Only Listing Here That Rates Coverage at 6 Inches of Snow

Runtime in minutes is the number most sellers here quote, but minutes tell you little without snow depth. Of the 15 listings, only four tie capacity to an area at all, and only EGO pairs it with 6 inches of snow: up to a 3-car driveway on the included battery. Skil rates its kit at a 1-car driveway with 3 inches; BAOPROLEI and Steelite make larger area claims without a depth. That makes the EGO figure the most useful planning number on the shelf, even though it is the manufacturer’s own claim.

The other reason it leads is the platform. The 56V battery that ships in this kit is shared across a wider family of EGO yard tools. If you already own an EGO mower or leaf blower, a bare-tool version exists; if you don’t, the kit spares you a separate purchase. Many of the lesser-known brands on this shelf use batteries that work only with their own tools.

What the kit listing does not say: it gives no runtime in minutes and no weight, and it does not state a warranty term or a weather-resistance rating. Confirm both in EGO’s documentation before buying. At 12 inches wide, it is also narrower than the 16- and 17-inch wheeled picks.

Pros

  • Coverage claim tied to a real snow depth
  • Brushless motor and directional dial
  • Battery shared with a broad tool platform
  • Hinged shaft folds for storage

Cons

  • Kit listing omits weight and runtime minutes
  • 12-inch path is mid-pack
  • Warranty terms not on this listing

Check EGO SNS1201 price on Amazon

2. Litekon 80V 17-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel — Best for Wide Paths and Long Runtime

Widest path, longest runtimeLitekon 80V 17-inch

17-inch, 7-inch-deep brushless cordless shovel on two 40V 4.0Ah batteries, with up to 45 minutes stated runtime.

Check price on Amazon$239.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Ties for the widest stated path at 17 inches
  • Longest stated runtime on the shelf, 45 minutes
  • Throw distance up to 30 ft claimed
  • Auxiliary handle and padded grip
Specification Details
Clearing width / depth 17 inches wide; 7 inches optimal depth
Throw / direction Up to 30 ft; 60-degree rotatable guide plate
Power 80V brushless motor on two 40V 4.0Ah batteries, charger included
Stated runtime Up to 45 minutes
Weight / length 7.5 lb claimed (likely without batteries); 56-inch working length
Support 30-day money-back; no warranty term stated

Litekon 80V cordless shovel — 17 x 7 in. path, 30 ft throw, 2 x 40V 4.0Ah, 45 min stated, 56 in. length

The Longest Stated Runtime and a Tie for the Widest Path

Seven of the 15 listings give a runtime in minutes, ranging from 15 to 25 minutes on the low end to 45 minutes here, the longest stated. Its 17-inch width ties with the Steelite 2x20V model for widest; most of the shelf sits at 10 to 13 inches. Wider paths mean fewer passes on a driveway, and the dual-battery setup is what keeps the machine running long enough to use that width.

Treat the figures with care. Runtime claims are made in ideal conditions, and cold cuts lithium-ion output. The 7.5 lb weight also looks low for a machine carrying two 40V packs, so expect the real carrying weight may be higher once batteries are installed. The listing offers a 30-day money-back window but no multi-year warranty term.

The design suits a two-car driveway after a moderate storm. It is still a handheld shovel with no wheels, so you carry its weight the whole time; homeowners who want to roll rather than lift should look at pick 4.

Pros

  • 17-inch path, tied for widest here
  • 45-minute stated runtime, longest on the shelf
  • Two batteries and charger included

Cons

  • Weight claim may exclude batteries
  • No multi-year warranty stated
  • Batteries tied to one brand

Check Litekon 80V 17-inch price on Amazon

3. Westinghouse WSnow11S Corded Snow Shovel — Best With No Battery to Charge

Best corded pickWestinghouse WSnow11S

120V 10A corded electric shovel clearing an 11-inch by 6-inch path, with a 2-year limited warranty.

Check price on Amazon$79.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only corded model on the shelf
  • No runtime limit or battery cold-soak
  • Adjustable sliding handle
  • 2-year warranty with a service network
Specification Details
Clearing width / depth 11 inches wide; 6 inches deep
Power 120V, 10A corded motor
Stated capacity About 300 lb of snow per minute; up to 20 ft throw
Weight About 9.2 lb
Handle Adjustable sliding handle
Warranty 2-year limited; factory functional testing

Westinghouse WSnow11S — 11 x 6 in. path, 120V 10A corded, 300 lb/min, 20 ft throw, 9.2 lb, 2-yr warranty

The Only Corded Model Among the 15 Listings

Fourteen of the 15 listings run on batteries. The WSnow11S is the only corded shovel, and that solves the two problems that most often frustrate cordless owners: runtime that drops in deep cold, and a battery that was left in a freezing garage. Plug it in and it runs until you stop.

The cost is the cord. You need an outdoor-rated extension cord long enough to reach the far end of the area you clear, and you work around it every pass. That is easy on a front walk and porch near an outlet, harder on a long driveway. Follow the manual for cord gauge and length, and keep the cord out of the snow path.

It has the narrowest path of our picks after the Skil and Snow Joe 10-inch models, and its 2-year warranty is one of only a few on the shelf with a stated term. For a townhome or a house with a short walk and steps, it is a simple, dependable option.

Pros

  • Unlimited runtime on house power
  • No battery performance loss in cold
  • Stated 2-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Extension cord limits range
  • Narrow 11-inch path
  • Cord management on every pass

Check Westinghouse WSnow11S price on Amazon

4. VOLTASK 48V 16-Inch Shovel With Wheels — Best Wheel-Assisted Model

Best wheel-assisted pickVOLTASK 48V 16-inch

16-inch, 8-inch-deep brushless shovel with snow wheels and a support plate, on two 24V 4.0Ah batteries.

Check price on Amazon$206.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Rolls on wheels instead of being carried
  • 16-inch by 8-inch stated path
  • 1200W brushless motor
  • Throws up to 26 ft and 9.8 ft high
Specification Details
Clearing width / depth 16 inches wide; 8 inches deep
Motor 1200W brushless; 2000 rpm auger
Power Two 24V 4.0Ah batteries and dual charger included
Stated runtime Up to 30 minutes
Mobility Snow wheels and adjustable support plate
Weight Not stated in listing

VOLTASK CSS004-160ARO — 16 x 8 in. path, 1200W brushless, 2 x 24V 4.0Ah, 30 min stated, wheels, 26 ft throw

One of Only Three Wheeled Models on the Shelf

Most electric shovels are carried: you hold the whole machine against the pavement as you walk. Only 3 of the 15 listings add wheels: this VOLTASK, the Steelite 2x20V and the TaskStar 40V. Wheels transfer the machine’s weight to the ground, which matters on a long walk or a two-car driveway, and the VOLTASK adds an adjustable support plate to set the paddle height.

Its 16-inch by 8-inch stated path is among the largest here, and the listing quotes both throw distance and height, useful when snow has to clear a bank along the driveway. The 30-minute stated runtime comes from two packs together.

The listing does not give a weight, and it describes the tool for fresh snow on paved surfaces. Wheeled shovels are less nimble on stairs than the light handheld models, so homes with lots of steps may still want pick 6.

Pros

  • Wheels carry the weight on long passes
  • Large 16 x 8 inch path
  • Two batteries and dual charger included

Cons

  • Weight not stated
  • Less handy on stairs
  • Runtime is the combined two-pack figure

Check VOLTASK 48V 16-inch price on Amazon

5. BAOPROLEI 40V 13-Inch Brushless Shovel — Best Stated Cold-Weather Range

Best stated cold ratingBAOPROLEI 40V

13-inch, 8-inch-deep brushless cordless shovel rated to work from -25C to 10C, with three 4.0Ah batteries.

Check price on Amazon$189.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only listing stating an operating temperature range
  • Three batteries included for swapping
  • Battery protection against low-temperature damage
  • About 12 lb listed
Specification Details
Clearing width / depth 13 inches wide; 8 inches deep
Throw / direction Up to 25 ft; plus or minus 30 degrees
Power 40V brushless; three 4.0Ah batteries and charger
Stated runtime 15 to 25 minutes per battery
Operating range -25C to 10C (about -13F to 50F)
Weight About 12 lb

BAOPROLEI BLP-S-01 — 13 x 8 in. path, 25 ft throw, 40V brushless, 3 x 4.0Ah, -25C to 10C rated, 12 lb

The Only Listing With a Stated Operating Temperature Range

Cold is the hidden spec for any battery tool. Of the 15 listings, BAOPROLEI is the only one that states an operating range, -25C to 10C, and it describes battery protection against low-temperature damage. The DEGGE listing takes the opposite approach and tells users to warm its battery indoors for 30 minutes before use. Most listings say nothing about temperature at all.

The kit also ships three batteries, more than any other listing here. Swapping a warm pack for a cold one is the practical way to extend a session on a frigid Front Range morning, and the stated runtime of 15 to 25 minutes per pack is honest enough to plan around.

The trade-offs: the 13-inch path is average, the brand is not tied to a wider tool platform, and the listing does not state a warranty. Area claims such as six standard driveways per charge are not tied to a snow depth, so read them loosely.

Pros

  • Stated cold operating range
  • Three batteries for swapping
  • 8-inch stated clearing depth

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Driveway claims lack a snow depth
  • Battery not shared with other brands

Check BAOPROLEI 40V price on Amazon

6. Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A — Best for Steps, Decks and Narrow Paths

Best for steps and decksSnow Joe X20-SNOW-5A

10-inch brushless cordless shovel at 8.4 lb, with a 47- to 52-inch telescoping handle and 5.0Ah battery kit.

Check price on Amazon$149.99 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Light at 8.4 lb for carrying up stairs
  • Handle telescopes from 47 to 52 inches
  • Largest single battery here at 5.0Ah
  • 45-degree discharge control
Specification Details
Clearing width / depth 10 inches wide; 5 inches deep
Throw / direction Up to 18 ft; 45-degree directional control
Power 20V Max brushless; 5.0Ah battery and charger
Paddle Two-blade paddle auger, up to 21,200 rpm
Weight / handle 8.4 lb; telescoping 47 to 52 inches

Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A — 10 x 5 in. path, 18 ft throw, 20V brushless, 5.0Ah kit, 8.4 lb, 47 to 52 in. handle

The Largest Single Battery and a Telescoping Handle

Of the single-battery kits on the shelf, the Snow Joe ships the largest pack at 5.0Ah; the others are 2.5Ah to 4.0Ah. It is also the only listing that gives an adjustable handle range in inches, 47 to 52, which helps users of different heights keep a straighter back.

The 10-inch, 5-inch-deep path is deliberately small. That is a weakness on a driveway but an advantage on stairs, decks and the narrow walk between a house and fence, where a 16-inch wheeled machine will not fit. At 8.4 lb, it is light enough to carry up a flight of steps.

The listing gives no runtime and no warranty. Its product data also lists a zero weight, a clerical gap; the 8.4 lb figure comes from the feature text.

Pros

  • Light and compact for steps
  • 5.0Ah battery, biggest single pack here
  • Only stated telescoping handle range

Cons

  • Small 10 x 5 inch path
  • No runtime or warranty stated
  • Shortest throw of our picks

Check Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A price on Amazon

7. Skil PWR CORE 20 SNS1000B-13 — Best for Small Walks and Patios

Best for small walksSkil SNS1000B-13

10-inch cordless snow shovel kit with a 20V 4.0Ah battery and 60W charger, rated for a 1-car driveway at 3 inches.

Check price on Amazon$109.00 as of Oct 22, 2026 8:07 pm GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Most modest, realistic coverage claim on the shelf
  • Split shaft stores compactly
  • About 7.2 lb listed
  • Battery and 60W charger included
Specification Details
Clearing width 10 inches
Throw Up to 20 ft
Power 20V 4.0Ah battery and 60W charger included
Stated capacity Up to 3 inches of snow from a 1-car driveway per charge
Weight / storage About 7.2 lb; split shaft
Warranty Not stated in listing

Skil SNS1000B-13 — 10 in. width, 20 ft throw, 20V 4.0Ah kit with 60W charger, split shaft, 7.2 lb

The Most Conservative Coverage Claim Here

Skil’s claim is small: up to 3 inches from a 1-car driveway per charge. That modesty is useful. It tells you what this class of tool is for: porches, patios, steps and a short walk after a light storm. Several cheaper listings imply they can do far more without giving a snow depth.

At about 7.2 lb with a split shaft, it is among the lightest kits listed and easy to hang in a garage. The 60W charger included in the kit is lower-wattage than the 210W charger in the EGO kit, so plan on a full recharge between storms rather than mid-session.

For anything larger than a one-car driveway, or snow deeper than a few inches, step up to the EGO or a wheeled model, or a true snow blower.

Pros

  • Light and compact
  • Realistic stated coverage
  • Complete kit, ready out of the box

Cons

  • 10-inch path is the narrowest tier here
  • Small coverage per charge
  • No warranty term stated

Check Skil SNS1000B-13 price on Amazon

How to read electric snow shovel specs

Clearing width and depth

Width is how much pavement one pass covers; on this shelf it runs from 10 to 17 inches. Depth is the snow height the intake can take in one bite, usually 5 to 8 inches. Deeper snow can be cleared in layers, taking the top off first, but that doubles the passes and the battery draw. If your typical storm leaves more than 6 inches, a shovel is the wrong tool; look at our cordless snow blower picks instead.

Voltage, amp-hours and runtime

Voltage numbers are partly marketing. An 80V label made from two 40V packs, or 48V from two 24V packs, describes the combined system. Amp-hours describe the size of each pack. Runtime in minutes depends on snow depth, density and temperature, so treat 30 or 45 minutes as a best case. The most useful claims are ones tied to an area and a depth, like EGO’s.

Brushless motors

Many of the listings here describe brushless motors, which generally run cooler and use battery energy more efficiently than brushed designs. The motor type matters less than battery size and paddle design, but it is a sign of a more current design.

Battery platform

If you already own cordless yard tools, a shovel that shares the same battery saves money and adds spare packs. Several of the lesser-known brands here use batteries that work only with their own tools, which means a dead pack in five years may be hard to replace.

Corded vs cordless

Corded models trade range for unlimited runtime and no cold-weather battery fade. Cordless models go anywhere but need charged, warm batteries. A home with an outdoor outlet near the front door and a short walk is the best case for corded.

Front Range conditions and electric shovels

Front Range snow often comes as several small events rather than one huge one, and much of it is light enough for a 12- to 13-inch shovel. The exceptions are the heavy, wet spring storms, with March often the snowiest month in Denver. Wet snow clogs small paddles and drains batteries faster. Clear in thin layers, and switch to a manual shovel or blower for the heaviest dumps.

Cold is the other variable. Lithium-ion batteries lose capacity when cold, so store packs indoors, not in an unheated garage, and install them just before use. Rotating a spare pack, as the BAOPROLEI and dual-battery kits allow, keeps a session going. Only rely on runtime figures the listing actually gives.

Electric shovels work on paved surfaces. On gravel, the paddle picks up stones and can throw them, so use a manual shovel there; see our manual snow shovel comparison, which includes a stainless model for gravel. After clearing, a light treatment from our concrete-safe ice melt guide helps stop the midday melt from refreezing into ridges overnight.

Safe use: jams, cords and exertion

Small machines still have spinning paddles. OSHA’s winter-weather guidance notes that snow blowers commonly cause lacerations or amputations when operators try to clear jams with the equipment running. It advises never clearing a jam by hand: turn the machine off, wait for moving parts to stop, and use a stick to clear wet snow or debris. For a cordless shovel, pull the battery before reaching near the paddle; for a corded one, unplug it. OSHA also notes that powered equipment such as snow blowers must be properly grounded to protect against electric shock.

  • Use the dual safety switch as designed; never tape or bypass it.
  • Keep hands and feet clear of the intake, and keep children and pets away from the discharge.
  • Check the area for newspapers, doormats, cords and toys before starting.
  • Charge batteries indoors at room temperature, following the manual.

An electric shovel also reduces, but does not eliminate, physical strain. The CDC notes that cold weather puts extra strain on the heart, and advises people with heart disease or high blood pressure to follow their doctor’s advice about shoveling. A powered shovel is a reasonable option for anyone told to avoid heavy lifting.

One more advantage over small gas tools is exhaust. The CPSC warns never to operate any gasoline engine-powered tool in or near an enclosed space such as a garage, because carbon monoxide can build to lethal levels even with doors open. Battery and corded shovels produce no exhaust, so you can start them in the garage doorway without that concern.

When you need more than an electric shovel

Step up when your typical storm is deeper than the intake, when the driveway is longer than two cars, or when the plow berm at the end of the drive is regularly packed into chunks. Our single-stage snow blower guide covers the next size up. If the real problem is recurring ice in the same places, such as meltwater from a downspout crossing the walk, that points to drainage or gutter issues. The exterior and structure hub explains what inspectors check outside the home.

Seeing the same icy patch every winter or water pooling near the foundation after every melt? Get in touch to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

Are electric snow shovels worth it?

For steps, decks, walks and short driveways that get a few inches of snow at a time, an electric snow shovel saves a lot of lifting. They are less useful for snow deeper than their intake, heavy wet snow or long driveways, where a snow blower or a manual shovel used in layers works better.

How much snow can an electric snow shovel handle?

Listings on this shelf state clearing depths of about 5 to 8 inches. Deeper snow can be cleared in layers, but that doubles battery use. Check whether a coverage claim is tied to a snow depth; claims without one are hard to compare.

Do cold temperatures affect electric snow shovel batteries?

Yes. Lithium-ion batteries deliver less capacity when cold, so runtime on a frigid morning will usually fall short of the listing figure. Store packs indoors, install them just before use and keep a spare warm pack if the kit includes one.

Is a corded or cordless electric snow shovel better?

Cordless models go anywhere but are limited by battery size and cold. Corded models run as long as needed and are unaffected by battery fade, but the extension cord limits range. A short walk near an outdoor outlet suits corded; a driveway away from outlets suits cordless.

Can you use an electric snow shovel on gravel?

It is not recommended. The spinning paddle can pick up and throw stones, damaging the machine and nearby windows or cars. Use a manual shovel on gravel and keep the electric shovel for paved surfaces.

References