Best Air Purifiers (2026): 6 Picks Compared by Room Size
The best air purifier for a home is the one sized correctly for the room it sits in, quiet enough that you will actually leave it running, and built around a mechanical filter rather than a gadget that makes ozone. Those three tests eliminate more listings than any brand comparison does. Below are six picks, each matched to a specific job: a large living room, a bedroom, wildfire smoke season, an allergy household that wants app control, an ozone-conscious buyer furnishing a big open space, and a desk or nightstand. A buying guide follows on CADR, sizing math, filters and placement.
Part of our Heating, Cooling & Ventilation guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 13 current Amazon listings for portable room air purifiers on what each listing states: clean air delivery rate (CADR), stated room coverage, filter stages, sensors, noise, certifications named and warranty. We did not lab-test any of these units or use them hands-on, and coverage figures are the manufacturers’ own. Only 3 of the 13 listings publish CADR numbers, so several comparisons below lean on what is missing as much as what is stated. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Dealing with mold or water damage? Talk to a remediation pro now.
📞 Call (833) 723-1134Quick picks: the best air purifiers by room and use
| Product | Best for | Key features | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coway Airmega Mighty2 | Best overall for living rooms |
| $269.99as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Levoit Core 300-P | Best for bedrooms |
| $89.99as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Levoit Vital 100S-P | Best for wildfire smoke season |
| $119.99as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Winix 5510 | Best for allergy homes with app control |
| $179.99as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
| MOOKA PR1 | Best ozone-free pick for open spaces |
| $79.99as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
| Levoit Core Mini-P | Best for desks and small rooms |
| $41.79as of October 18, 2026 | Buy now →Check current price |
Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The six picks, compared listing by listing
1. Coway Airmega Mighty2 (AP-1512N) — Best Overall for Living Rooms

Next-generation Mighty with smoke CADR 240, a PM1/PM2.5/PM10 laser sensor and a 3-year limited warranty.
Check price on Amazon$269.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Publishes all three CADR numbers: smoke, dust and pollen
- Laser sensor reads PM1, PM2.5 and PM10 with numeric display
- Percentage filter-life readout for pre-filter and main filter
- Three-year limited warranty, tied for longest on this shelf
- Sleep Mode as low as 19 dB per listing
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| CADR (listed) | Smoke 240, dust 242, pollen 249 |
| Stated coverage | About 900 sq ft in 30 minutes; 1,800 sq ft in 60 minutes |
| Filtration | Washable pre-filter plus a combined HEPA and activated carbon cartridge (Max2), described as certified to IEST-RP-CC007 |
| Sensor / modes | Laser particle sensor with color ring and numeric readout; Smart, Eco and light-triggered Sleep modes |
| Size / weight | About 16.9 x 9.3 x 17.9 in; 15.2 lb |
| Model / warranty | AP-1512N(W); 3-year limited manufacturer warranty |
Coway Airmega Mighty2 — CADR 240/242/249, HEPA + carbon Max2 filter, PM1/2.5/10 laser sensor, 19 dB sleep, 3-yr warranty
The Most Complete Performance Data on the Shelf
Only three of the 13 listings print CADR figures at all: this Mighty2, the Levoit Core 300-P and the Levoit Vital 200S-P. Of those three, the Mighty2’s smoke CADR of 240 sits just under the Vital 200S-P’s 250, but the Mighty2 adds two things the Levoit does not state: a particle sensor that reports PM1 and PM10 as well as PM2.5, and a three-year warranty, where the Vital 200S-P listing states no warranty term. Smoke CADR is the number that matters most for fine particles, because the EPA notes the smoke rating represents the smallest particle sizes.
Run the EPA’s sizing chart against that 240 and it comfortably covers a room of roughly 370 square feet with 8-foot ceilings. That is a realistic family room or a modest open kitchen and dining area, not the 1,800 square feet in the headline, which describes one air change per hour rather than the faster cleaning rate the EPA chart assumes. The listing is honest about this distinction by quoting both the 30-minute and 60-minute figures.
What the listing does not state: a noise figure at high speed, the replacement cost or interval for the Max2 cartridge in months, or energy consumption. At 15.2 pounds it is also the heaviest of the six picks, though Coway mentions hidden handles.
Pros
- All three CADR numbers published
- Reads PM1, PM2.5 and PM10
- Filter life shown as a percentage
- Three-year limited warranty
Cons
- Heaviest pick at 15.2 lb
- High-speed noise not stated
- Filter replacement interval not stated in months
Check Coway Airmega Mighty2 price on Amazon
2. Levoit Core 300-P — Best for Bedrooms

AHAM Verified bedroom purifier with smoke CADR 143, 24 dB Sleep Mode and a display that switches fully off.
Check price on Amazon$89.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Smoke CADR of 143 fits a typical bedroom
- Sleep Mode rated at 24 dB
- Display lights turn off completely at night
- Timer from 2 to 8 hours plus filter reminder
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| CADR (listed) | Smoke 143, dust 153, pollen 167 |
| Stated coverage | 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; 1,073 sq ft at one change per hour |
| Filtration | Levoit Original Filter, 99.97% at 0.1 to 0.3 microns per listing; described as HEPA-grade in Sleep Mode |
| Noise / controls | 24 dB in Sleep Mode; display-off button; 2, 4, 6 or 8-hour timer |
| Certifications named | AHAM Verified, ETL Listed, FCC, CARB compliant |
| Size / warranty | About 8.7 x 8.7 x 14.2 in; 7.9 lb; 2-year warranty |
Levoit Core 300-P — CADR 143/153/167, 222 sq ft at 4.8 ACH, 24 dB sleep, display off, AHAM / ETL / CARB, 2-yr warranty
The Only Bedroom-Sized Listing That Publishes a CADR
The smaller units on this shelf, including the Core Mini-P, FULMINARE, VOOPNU and Levoit’s Core 200S-P, publish no CADR. The Core 300-P is the one bedroom-scale listing that gives all three numbers, and its 143 smoke CADR matches the EPA chart for a room of about 220 square feet, which lines up almost exactly with the 222 square feet Levoit quotes at 4.8 air changes per hour. When a manufacturer’s own coverage claim agrees with the EPA math, that is a good sign the claim is not inflated.
For sleeping, the details are the right ones: a 24 dB Sleep Mode, a button that turns off every display light, and a timer. The EPA notes that noise is one reason people stop running an air cleaner, and points to a refrigerator at roughly 50 dB as a reference point.
The fine print matters. Levoit describes the filter as “HEPA-grade” while operating in Sleep Mode, based on an IEST test method, rather than calling it True HEPA at every speed. It also notes the unit is 120V for United States use only.
Pros
- CADR published and consistent with stated room size
- Very quiet Sleep Mode with display off
- AHAM, ETL and CARB named
Cons
- HEPA-grade claim tied to Sleep Mode
- No air quality sensor or Auto mode stated
- Too small for open-plan living areas
Check Levoit Core 300-P price on Amazon
3. Levoit Vital 100S-P — Best for Wildfire Smoke Season

App-controlled purifier with schedules, a washable pre-filter and an optional Smoke Remover filter for wildfire smoke.
Check price on Amazon$119.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing here naming a wildfire smoke filter option
- App schedules can pre-run the unit before you get home
- Washable pre-filter protects the main filter from ash
- Light-detecting display dims automatically at night
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Stated coverage | 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; 1,073 sq ft once per hour |
| Filtration | Washable pre-filter, main filter (99.97% at 0.1 to 0.3 microns per listing), activated carbon |
| Filter options | Toxin Absorber, Smoke Remover and Pet Allergy replacement filters offered |
| Controls | VeSync app, schedules with start and end times, voice assistant support; Pet, Auto and Sleep modes |
| Noise | As low as 25 dB in Sleep Mode |
| Model / warranty | LAP-V102S-WUS; AHAM Verified per listing; 2-year warranty; 8.6 lb |
Levoit Vital 100S-P — 222 sq ft at 4.8 ACH, 3-stage filter, Smoke Remover option, app schedules, 25 dB sleep, 2-yr warranty
The Only Listing That Offers a Filter Built for Wildfire Smoke
One of the 13 listings mentions wildfire smoke by name, and it is this one, through the optional Smoke Remover replacement filter. The standard filter set already includes a carbon stage for odors, and Levoit sells two other variants aimed at VOCs and pet odors. Being able to swap filters by season is useful along the Front Range, where smoke from distant fires can settle in for days at a time in late summer.
The EPA’s wildfire guidance recommends planning ahead with a portable air cleaner sized for the room you will shelter in, and making sure it does not produce ozone. The app scheduling here supports that plan: you can have the unit running in a bedroom before anyone goes to sleep on a smoky night.
Two cautions. The listing gives coverage at 4.8 air changes per hour but, unlike its sibling the Core 300-P, does not print CADR numbers on this listing. Its stated 222-square-foot figure makes it a bedroom or office unit, not a living-room solution. The Smoke Remover filter is sold separately.
Pros
- Smoke-specific filter option offered
- Detailed app schedules
- Washable pre-filter plus carbon stage
Cons
- CADR numbers not printed in this listing
- Smoke filter costs extra
- Bedroom-scale coverage only
Check Levoit Vital 100S-P price on Amazon
4. Winix 5510 — Best for Allergy Homes With App Control

True HEPA and carbon purifier, AHAM Verified at 392 sq ft, with Auto mode, light-sensing Sleep Mode and the Winix app.
Check price on Amazon$179.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- AHAM Verified room size stated: 392 sq ft
- True HEPA filter plus deodorizing carbon filter
- Sleep Mode turns on when the room goes dark
- Remote control and monitoring through the Winix app
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Rated room size | AHAM Verified at 392 sq ft; 941 sq ft in 30 minutes and 1,882 sq ft in one hour per listing |
| Filtration | Washable fine-mesh pre-filter, carbon filter, True HEPA (99.99% claim, asterisked in the listing) |
| Sensors | Air quality sensor with LED indicator; Auto mode adjusts fan speed |
| Noise | 23.5 dB on slowest speed |
| Certifications named | AHAM Verified; UL Certified |
| Size / weight | About 15.9 x 11 x 25.2 in; 13.3 lb |
Winix 5510 — AHAM 392 sq ft, True HEPA + carbon, washable pre-filter, auto + light-sensing sleep, 23.5 dB, app, UL
The Largest AHAM-Verified Room Size Stated on the Shelf
Six of the 13 listings mention AHAM verification, five of them Levoit. Several of those quote coverage in air changes per hour. The Winix 5510 is the only one that names its AHAM-verified room size outright, 392 square feet, which is the figure AHAM derives from CADR. That number is a more conservative and more useful guide than the 1,882-square-foot hourly figure in the title, and it puts the 5510 in the same league as the Mighty2 for a real living room.
For allergy households, the 5510 combines the components the EPA describes as the effective pairing: a HEPA filter for particles and an activated carbon filter for gases and odors. The washable pre-filter catches pet hair before it loads the HEPA layer.
The listing marks its 99.99% at 0.01 micron claim with an asterisk but does not explain the footnote, and it does not give CADR values or a warranty term. Treat the AHAM room size as the reliable number.
Pros
- States its AHAM-verified room size directly
- HEPA plus carbon plus washable pre-filter
- Automatic dark-room Sleep Mode
Cons
- Filtration claim footnote not explained
- Warranty term not stated
- Tall at over 25 inches
Check Winix 5510 price on Amazon
5. MOOKA PR1 — Best Ozone-Free Pick for Open Spaces

Large-room purifier that states no ozone release and no UV light, with a PM2.5 display, Auto and Pet modes.
Check price on Amazon$79.99 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Only listing here that states no ozone release
- Also states no UV light inside
- PM2.5 readout with Auto mode
- Six fan settings including Pet mode and child lock
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Stated coverage | Up to 2,200 sq ft (method and air-change rate not stated) |
| Filtration | Washable pre-filter in a 4-stage system with HEPA filter |
| Sensors / modes | PM2.5 sensor with real-time display; Sleep, three speeds, Auto and Pet modes |
| Noise | As low as 26 dB in Sleep Mode |
| Certifications named | CARB, ETL, DOE, FCC |
| Extras | Timer, child lock, aroma pad, filter replacement reminder |
MOOKA PR1 — HEPA 4-stage with washable pre-filter, PM2.5 display, Auto + Pet modes, 26 dB sleep, no ozone / no UV stated, CARB / ETL
The Only Listing That Explicitly Rules Out Ozone
Ozone is the one hazard a buyer can add by choosing the wrong air purifier. The EPA advises avoiding units that intentionally produce ozone and notes that ionizers, some electrostatic precipitators, plasma devices and UV lamps without proper coatings may have the potential to emit it. Of the 13 listings, the MOOKA PR1 is the only one that says plainly that it releases no ozone and contains no UV light. Several others name CARB compliance, which also relates to ozone emissions, but none states the point as directly.
The PR1 also brings a PM2.5 sensor and Auto mode, which at least 7 of the 13 listings mention in some form, so the fan ramps up when cooking smoke or dust spikes. A dedicated Pet mode and a child lock suit a busy family room.
The coverage figure needs skepticism. The listing claims up to 2,200 square feet without a CADR, an AHAM room size or an air-change rate, so there is no way to check it against the EPA chart. Treat this as a living-room unit, not a whole-floor one. MOOKA also notes the PM2.5 reading may show a low number at startup while the sensor settles.
Pros
- States no ozone and no UV light
- PM2.5 display with Auto mode
- CARB and ETL named
Cons
- No CADR to back the 2,200 sq ft claim
- Warranty term not stated
- Aroma pad adds scent, not filtration
Check MOOKA PR1 price on Amazon
6. Levoit Core Mini-P — Best for Desks and Small Rooms

2.2 lb desktop purifier with pre-filter and main filter, auto-off display, Sleep Mode and an aroma sponge.
Check price on Amazon$41.79 as of October 18, 2026 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.Why we like it
- Lightest pick at 2.2 lb
- Fits a nightstand, desk or dorm shelf
- Auto-off display and Sleep Mode
- AHAM verification named in the listing
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Stated coverage | Not stated in listing |
| Filtration | Pre-filter and main filter for lint, dander, fine particles and smoke particles |
| Features | Auto-off display, Sleep Mode, fragrance sponge |
| Certification named | AHAM Verified (CADR not stated) |
| Size / weight | About 10.2 x 6.3 x 6.3 in; 2.2 lb |
| Model / warranty | LAP-C161-WUS; 2-year warranty |
Levoit Core Mini-P — desktop size, pre-filter + main filter, auto-off display, sleep mode, AHAM named, 2-yr warranty
The Lightest AHAM-Named Unit Here
Small purifiers make up a big share of this shelf, and several of them, including the VOOPNU and FULMINARE units, lean on room-size claims of over 1,000 square feet that a palm-sized fan cannot plausibly deliver at a useful air-change rate. The Core Mini-P does the opposite: it makes no room-size claim at all, and it is the lightest of the AHAM-named listings at 2.2 pounds.
That honesty is the reason it earns a spot. It is a personal-zone cleaner for a desk, a nightstand or a small home office, where it sits close to your breathing zone. The EPA advises placing a portable cleaner in the room you spend the most time in and keeping airflow unobstructed, which suits a unit this size.
Do not expect it to clean a bedroom the way the Core 300-P can. With no CADR or coverage figure, you cannot size it against the EPA chart, and it lacks an air quality sensor.
Pros
- Very light and compact
- No inflated room-size claims
- Auto-off display for night use
Cons
- No CADR or coverage figure
- No sensor or Auto mode
- Personal-zone use only
Check Levoit Core Mini-P price on Amazon
CADR and room size: the sizing math that matters
Clean air delivery rate is the one standardized performance number for portable air cleaners. It measures how much filtered air a unit delivers at its highest speed, separately for smoke, dust and pollen. The EPA says to choose a unit whose CADR is large enough for the room and, for the small particles of greatest health concern, to look at the smoke CADR because smoke represents the smallest particles.
The EPA’s sizing chart works out to about 65 cfm of CADR for every 100 square feet of floor area with 8-foot ceilings:
- 200 sq ft room: at least 130 cfm
- 300 sq ft room: at least 195 cfm
- 400 sq ft room: at least 260 cfm
- 600 sq ft room: at least 390 cfm
Two adjustments apply in many Front Range homes. Vaulted ceilings and split-level great rooms push the real volume well above the chart’s assumption, so size up. Open floor plans count as one space; the EPA says to consider the entire area the unit will serve, and to use more than one unit when the space is larger than any single model can handle.
Be wary of headline coverage claims. “Up to 2,000 square feet” usually means one air change per hour, which the EPA chart does not use as its benchmark. The listings on this shelf that quote both a fast and a slow figure, like the Mighty2 and the Levoit models, are telling you more than the ones that give only the large number.
Filters, ozone and what to avoid
A true HEPA filter is a pleated mechanical filter that, by the EPA’s description, can theoretically remove at least 99.97% of particles at 0.3 microns, the hardest size to catch; larger and smaller particles are trapped even more efficiently. Many listings use looser language such as “HEPA-grade,” “high efficiency filter” or “HEPA-type.” Those phrases are not the same promise. For a deeper look at the terminology, see our guide to HEPA air purifiers.
For odors and VOCs, look for an activated carbon stage. The EPA notes there is no widely used rating system for gas removal and that carbon filters work best when there is a substantial amount of carbon. A thin carbon sheet will help with light odors at best.
Skip anything sold as an ozone generator. The EPA states that no federal agency has approved these devices for use in occupied spaces and that ozone can damage the lungs even at relatively low amounts. On this shelf, the older Coway AP-1512HH lists a stage it calls a “Bipolar Device” without explaining it; for any unit with ionizing or UV features, check whether it appears on the California Air Resources Board list of tested air cleaners before buying.
Air purifiers also do not address gases that come from the ground. If you are wondering whether a purifier can stand in for radon mitigation, our article on whether air purifiers help with radon explains why the answer is no.
Sensors, noise and running costs
An air quality sensor with Auto mode is worth having because it lets the unit idle quietly most of the day and ramp up when you cook, vacuum or open a door on a smoky afternoon. At least 7 of the 13 listings describe some kind of sensor or air quality indicator, but they vary from a color light to a numeric PM readout. If you want to track air quality in detail, our guide to an air purifier with an air quality monitor compares the options.
Noise decides whether a purifier runs or sits unplugged. The EPA notes that higher fan speeds and longer run times increase filtration, so a quiet unit you leave on all day will usually outperform a powerful one you turn off. Sleep Mode figures in the low-to-mid 20s dB are common on this shelf; high-speed noise is rarely published.
Budget for filters. Every listing here sells proprietary replacements, and the manufacturers warn that off-brand filters may fit poorly. Replacement intervals in the listings range from 3 to 6 months for some brands; others do not state an interval. Note that an ENERGY STAR label, which the EPA explains covers energy efficiency only, says nothing about cleaning performance.
How Front Range homes actually use air purifiers
Colorado’s air problems are seasonal. Late-summer wildfire smoke drifts in from fires hundreds of miles away, winter inversions trap fine particles over the metro area, and spring brings pollen. The EPA’s wildfire guidance recommends preparing before smoke season: choose a portable air cleaner sized for the room you will shelter in, confirm it does not produce ozone, and upgrade your furnace filter to MERV 13 or as high as the system can accommodate.
Dry indoor air is not a reason to skip a purifier, but it does affect maintenance. Dust loads pre-filters quickly in arid, windy conditions, so washable pre-filters like those on the Mighty2, Vital 100S-P and Winix 5510 earn their keep. Rinse them on schedule and let them dry fully before reinstalling.
Ventilation still comes first. The EPA calls source control and ventilation the most effective ways to improve indoor air, with filtration as a supplement. Tight newer homes with powerful range hoods may also need a look at make-up air so exhaust fans are not pulling air in through gaps and flues.
When an air purifier is not the answer
A purifier treats symptoms in the air; it does not fix the source. Musty odors that keep coming back point to moisture, and the EPA is direct that portable air cleaners do not solve mold problems. If you suspect mold, our guide to a mold air purifier explains what a unit can and cannot do, and our mold inspection resources cover finding the moisture source.
Persistent dust, odors from ductwork or uneven airflow between rooms are usually HVAC issues. A heating and cooling contractor can check filter fit, duct leakage and return sizing; see our guide to hiring heating and cooling pros. If you are buying a home and want the air quality, ventilation and moisture picture assessed together, contact us to connect with a qualified local inspector.
References
- Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- What is a HEPA filter? — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Ozone Generators that are Sold as Air Cleaners — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Wildfires and Indoor Air Quality — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Frequently asked questions
What size air purifier do I need?
Use the smoke CADR and the EPA sizing chart, which works out to about 65 cfm of CADR per 100 square feet with 8-foot ceilings. A 300-square-foot room needs at least 195 cfm. Size up for vaulted ceilings or open floor plans.
Is a HEPA air purifier better than other types?
For particles, a true HEPA filter is the proven choice; the EPA describes it as capturing at least 99.97% of particles at 0.3 microns. Add an activated carbon stage for odors and gases. Avoid ozone generators and be cautious with ionizing or UV features unless the unit is on the CARB tested list.
Should an air purifier run all the time?
Running it continuously, ideally in Auto mode, gives the most filtration. The EPA notes that longer run times and higher fan speeds increase the amount of air filtered. A quiet unit you leave on will usually outperform a louder one you switch off.
Do air purifiers help with wildfire smoke?
Yes, a correctly sized portable air cleaner can remove smoke particles indoors. The EPA recommends choosing one sized for the room you will stay in, confirming it does not produce ozone, and pairing it with a MERV 13 or higher furnace filter if your system can accommodate one.
Can an air purifier fix a mold or musty smell problem?
No. The EPA says portable air cleaners may remove some mold particles and odors but do not address the moisture problem that lets mold grow. Find and fix the water source and clean up the mold, then use a purifier as a supplement.
Want your home’s ventilation, moisture and air quality looked at as part of a purchase or a nagging indoor-air problem? Reach out through our contact page to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.