Best FLIR Thermal Rifle Scope: 2026 Buyer’s Guide
People searching for a FLIR thermal rifle scope are usually after one of two things: the FLIR name itself, or a riflescope-format thermal optic that works in full darkness. On the current Amazon shelf those two goals barely overlap. The only FLIR-branded outdoor optic in the results is a handheld monocular, while the riflescope-format listings come from Pulsar, AGM, RIX, ATN, GOYOJO, CVLIFE and Athlon. This guide compares them on what their listings actually state about the thermal sensor, refresh rate, detection claims, weather sealing and power, then explains how to read those specs. It sticks to optics and detection; it does not cover firearm handling, mounting or shooting technique.
Part of our Thermal Imaging for Homes guide — start there for the full picture →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings returned for thermal riflescopes (nine riflescope-format optics plus the FLIR Breach monocular) on what each listing states: sensor resolution, pixel pitch, sensitivity (NETD), refresh rate, lens and magnification, detection range claims, ingress rating, battery runtime and warranty. We did not lab-test any unit or handle any of them, and we did not verify manufacturer range claims in the field. The same search also returned 19 handheld and phone-attached inspection cameras, which we set aside here. Prices and availability change often, so check the current listing before buying.
Quick picks: thermal riflescope-format optics by use case
| Pick | Best for | Key spec | Key detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pulsar Thermion 2 XQ50 Pro | Highest sensor resolution | 384×288, 17 µm | IPX7; Wi-Fi app link; export-controlled |
| FLIR Breach PTQ136 | The FLIR name (handheld, not a scope) | 320×256 Boson, 60 Hz | 7.4 oz; IP67; digital compass |
| AGM Rattler V2 25-256 | Long sits and cold nights | 25 mm germanium lens | 11.5 h runtime; two batteries; IP67 |
| RIX Storm S2 | Longest claim in the 256 class | 256×192, 3.5–14x | 1,422-yd viewing claim; 32 GB storage |
| GOYOJO GTD215 | Thermal plus visible-light view | 256×192 + 2K visible | States 300-yd recognition, not just detection |
| CVLIFE 19-256 | Most complete sensor spec sheet | 12 µm, NETD <50 mK, 50 Hz | 1024×768 OLED; 10 h; IP66 |
| ATN Thor LTV | Classic scope form factor | 12 µm, 60 Hz | 90 mm eye relief; 1.4 lb |
The seven picks, compared listing by listing
1. Pulsar Thermion 2 XQ50 Pro — Best Sensor Resolution
384×288 thermal riflescope with germanium optics, Wi-Fi app link, picture-in-picture and IPX7 sealing.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Thermal sensor | 384×288 microbolometer, 17 µm pixel pitch (per the variant field) |
| Detection claim | Up to 2,000 yards, per the manufacturer |
| Connectivity | Built-in Wi-Fi to the Stream Vision 2 app for live view, remote control and firmware updates |
| Display feature | Picture-in-picture window using about 10% of the screen for a magnified center view |
| Weather sealing | IPX7; listing says it tolerates 30 minutes submerged at 1 meter |
| Size / model / warranty | About 16.5 in long, 2 lb; model PL76548; 3-year limited warranty |
Pulsar Thermion 2 XQ50 Pro — 384×288 / 17 µm, 2,000-yd detection claim, Wi-Fi app, PiP, IPX7, 2 lb, 3-yr warranty
The Only Riflescope Listing Here With a Sensor Above the 256×192 Class
Of the nine riflescope-format listings on this shelf, six state a 256×192 thermal sensor outright, and the two AGM Rattler listings carry “256” in the model name. The Thermion 2 XQ50 Pro is the only one with a larger array, at 384×288. That is roughly 2.25 times the pixel count of a 256×192 core, and pixel count is what sets how much detail survives at distance once the image is magnified.
It also makes the largest range claim on the shelf, 2,000 yards. Treat that as a detection figure (a few warm pixels against a cooler background), not a distance at which an animal can be recognized. The listing does not state a refresh rate, a NETD sensitivity figure or a battery runtime, three numbers several cheaper listings do publish.
It is also the only listing on the shelf that carries an export-control notice. Pulsar states the product falls under the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), which restricts export and in-country transfer. For a domestic buyer that mostly matters at resale or when traveling abroad.
Pros
- Highest stated thermal resolution among the scopes
- IPX7 with a stated immersion depth and time
- App link for live view and firmware updates
- Picture-in-picture center magnification
Cons
- Heaviest and longest of the stated scope dimensions
- No refresh rate, NETD or runtime stated
- Export-controlled under ITAR
2. FLIR Breach PTQ136 — Best FLIR-Branded Option (a Monocular, Not a Scope)
FLIR Boson 320×256 handheld monocular at 60 Hz with IP67 sealing, compass and onboard recording; not a riflescope.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Thermal sensor | FLIR Boson core, 320×256, 12 µm pixel pitch |
| Refresh rate | 60 Hz |
| Form factor | Handheld monocular with a mini-rail for helmet mounting; 7.4 oz |
| Recording | Video recording plus storage for up to 1,000 still images; USB-C transfer |
| Extras | Seven palettes including Ironbow and Rainbow HC; digital compass |
| Sealing / model / warranty | IP67; model PTQ136; FLIR OTS 2-3-10 limited warranty |
FLIR Breach PTQ136 — Boson 320×256 / 12 µm, 60 Hz, 7.4 oz, IP67, compass, 1,000-image storage, 2-3-10 warranty
The Only FLIR-Branded Optic Among the 10 Outdoor Listings
Anyone set on the FLIR name should know that no FLIR riflescope appeared in this search; the Breach is the one FLIR product among the 10 outdoor thermal listings, and FLIR describes it as a monocular. It is an observation tool, which is how many landowners, wildlife watchers and search volunteers actually use thermal anyway: scanning first, without a rifle in hand.
On paper the core is strong for its size. Its 320×256 array sits between the 256×192 scopes and the Pulsar’s 384×288, and it is one of only two listings in the group to state a 60 Hz refresh rate (the ATN scope is the other). At a stated 7.4 ounces it is far lighter than the 0.9 to 2 pound weights stated for most of the scopes.
What it does not state: a detection range, a lens focal length, a magnification figure or a battery runtime. The listing’s release date is 2018, the oldest on the shelf, so confirm the current version and firmware with the seller.
Pros
- Genuine FLIR Boson 12 µm core
- 60 Hz refresh, the fastest stated here
- Very light at a stated 7.4 oz
- Named FLIR OTS 2-3-10 limited warranty
Cons
- Monocular, not a riflescope
- No range, lens or magnification stated
- Oldest release date on the shelf
3. AGM Rattler V2 25-256 — Best for Long Nights in the Cold
25 mm germanium-lens thermal scope with 11.5-hour runtime, two rechargeable batteries and IP67 sealing.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Optics | 25 mm germanium objective; 3.5x base magnification; up to 8x digital zoom |
| Detection claim | Heat signatures out to 1,250 yards, per the listing |
| Power | Removable battery system; up to 11.5 hours; two rechargeable batteries included |
| Recording | Shot-activated video with audio stored on the device |
| Durability | IP67; shock resistant; rated down to −22°F |
| Model / warranty | TS25-256; 5-year manufacturer warranty |
AGM Rattler V2 25-256 — 25 mm germanium lens, 3.5x base, 1,250-yd claim, 11.5 h, two batteries, IP67, −22°F, 5-yr warranty
The Longest Stated Runtime, With a Spare Battery in the Box
Only four of the ten listings state a battery runtime at all. The two AGM Rattler V2 models lead at 11.5 hours, followed by the CVLIFE at 10 hours and GOYOJO’s GRS225-RF at 7 to 9 hours. The 25-256 is also one of just two listings (both AGM) that say a second rechargeable battery is included, which matters more than the headline hours once temperatures drop below freezing.
The 25 mm germanium lens and 3.5x base magnification give a narrower, more reach-oriented view than the sibling 19-256, which AGM pitches for close and fast scanning at 2.5x. The listing does not state the sensor’s exact resolution beyond the “256” in the name, nor its refresh rate or NETD.
Its five-year manufacturer warranty is the longest stated among the scopes; only the two AGM listings and the RIX listing’s manufacturer field mention five years.
Pros
- Longest stated runtime (11.5 h)
- Second battery included
- Rated to −22°F with IP67 sealing
- Five-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- Exact sensor resolution not stated
- No refresh rate or NETD stated
- Narrower view than the 19 mm sibling
4. RIX Storm S2 — Best Range Claim in the 256×192 Class
256×192 thermal scope with 25 mm lens, 3.5–14x magnification, Wi-Fi app and 32 GB built-in storage.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Thermal sensor | 256×192 with RIX “RET” image enhancement |
| Optics | 25 mm lens; 3.5x to 14x magnification; 7.0° horizontal field of view |
| Range claim | Targets viewable out to 1,422 yards, per the listing |
| Storage / app | 32 GB built-in eMMC; Wi-Fi to the RIX+ app for video and stills |
| Build | Aluminum body; about 0.9 lb (440 g); glove-friendly buttons |
| Warranty | 5-year warranty in the manufacturer field; 3 years of support mentioned in the bullets |
RIX Storm S2 — 256×192, 25 mm, 3.5–14x, 7.0° HFOV, 1,422-yd claim, Wi-Fi, 32 GB, 0.9 lb aluminum
The Biggest Range Number Among the 256-Class Listings
Five listings put a yardage on how far their optic reaches. Among the 256-class scopes, RIX’s 1,422 yards is the largest, ahead of AGM’s 1,250, GOYOJO’s GRS225-RF at 1,224 and the GOYOJO GTD215 at 1,000. Only the higher-resolution Pulsar claims more. Treat every one of these as a best-case detection number under good conditions.
The RIX is also one of only two of the ten outdoor listings to state a field of view in degrees (7.0° horizontal; the GTD215 gives 8°×6°), which is the more honest way to compare how much ground fits in the frame. Its 32 GB internal storage ties the GOYOJO GRS225-RF for the most stated among the ten.
The warranty wording is inconsistent: a five-year term in the manufacturer field, three years of “quality and customer services” in the bullets. Confirm which applies before buying. The listing also does not state an IP rating, refresh rate or runtime.
Pros
- Largest range claim among 256-class scopes
- States field of view in degrees
- 32 GB internal storage plus Wi-Fi app
- Light aluminum body at about 0.9 lb
Cons
- No IP rating stated
- No refresh rate or runtime stated
- Conflicting warranty terms in the listing
5. GOYOJO GTD215 — Best Thermal and Visible-Light Fusion
256×192 thermal plus 2K visible camera with fusion view, 50 Hz thermal, 8°×6° field and a 300-yd recognition claim.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Sensors | 256×192 thermal plus a 2K visible-light camera |
| View modes | Thermal, visible light and a fusion of both; listing says it has no night-vision function |
| Refresh rate | 50 Hz thermal, 60 Hz optical |
| Range claims | Detection up to 1,000 yd; recognition at 300 yd |
| Optics | 1x–4x digital zoom; 8°×6° field of view |
| Build / warranty | Rated for 1,000 g shock; about 1 lb; 1-year warranty |
GOYOJO GTD215 — 256×192 thermal + 2K visible fusion, 50/60 Hz, 1,000-yd detect / 300-yd recognize, 8°×6°, 1 lb
The Only Listing That Pairs Thermal With a Visible Camera and States a Recognition Range
Every other optic here is thermal-only. The GTD215 adds a 2K visible-light camera and a fusion mode, which helps in dusk and daylight, when a thermal-only image can wash out against sun-warmed rock or ground. GOYOJO is candid that the visible channel is not night vision, so after dark this behaves like any other 256×192 thermal.
It is also the only listing that separates detection (1,000 yards) from recognition (300 yards). That 300-yard figure is the more useful number, because recognizing what a heat source is, not merely that one exists, is what responsible observation depends on.
The listing does not state an IP rating, a battery type or a runtime, and its one-year warranty is the shortest tier on the shelf.
Pros
- Only thermal plus visible fusion optic here
- States a realistic recognition range
- 50 Hz thermal refresh
- Field of view stated in degrees
Cons
- Visible channel is not night vision
- No IP rating or runtime stated
- One-year warranty
6. CVLIFE 19-256 — Best Spec Transparency on a Compact Scope
Compact 256×192 thermal scope stating 12 µm pitch, NETD under 50 mK, 50 Hz, a 1024×768 OLED and 10-hour runtime.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Thermal sensor | 256×192, 12 µm pixel pitch, NETD under 50 mK |
| Refresh / display | 50 Hz; 1024×768 OLED |
| Optics | 2.4x base magnification; 1–4x electronic zoom |
| Power | Up to 10 hours total runtime |
| Features | Six palettes, hot-spot tracking, 16 GB storage, Wi-Fi live sharing to a phone app |
| Build / warranty | About 8 in long, 18.7 oz; IP66; 1,000 G shock rating; 1-year warranty |
CVLIFE 19-256 — 256×192 / 12 µm, NETD <50 mK, 50 Hz, 1024×768 OLED, 10 h, IP66, 18.7 oz, 1-yr warranty
The Only Scope Listing That States Pitch, Sensitivity, Refresh and Display Resolution Together
Most listings publish one or two sensor numbers and leave the rest to marketing. Only two of the ten state a NETD sensitivity at all: this CVLIFE (under 50 mK) and the GOYOJO GRS225-RF (under 35 mK). The CVLIFE is the only riflescope listing that also gives its pixel pitch, its refresh rate and its display resolution, which makes it the easiest to compare like for like.
Lower NETD means the sensor separates smaller temperature differences, which helps on humid nights or when an animal is partly behind brush. The 19-256 model naming and 2.4x base magnification put it at the wide, close-range end of the shelf, closer to AGM’s 19-256 than to the 25 mm optics above.
It is short on durability detail compared with the IP67 units: IP66 is rated for powerful water jets, not immersion. Its one-year warranty also trails the three- and five-year terms elsewhere.
Pros
- Most complete sensor specifications among the scopes
- States NETD under 50 mK
- Compact at about 8 in and 18.7 oz
- 10-hour stated runtime
Cons
- IP66 rather than IP67
- Wide view limits reach
- One-year warranty
7. ATN Thor LTV — Best Traditional Riflescope Layout
Lightweight 12 µm, 60 Hz thermal scope in a classic tube layout with 90 mm eye relief and HD video recording.
Check price on Amazon| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Thermal sensor | 12 µm sensor; 256×192 per the size field; SharpIR image processing |
| Refresh rate | 60 Hz |
| Magnification | 1.5–4.5x per the size field |
| Layout | Conventional tube design; 90 mm eye relief; standard 30 mm ring size |
| Recording | Built-in HD video recorder |
| Weight / model / warranty | About 1.4 lb; TIWSTLTV212X; 3-year manufacturer warranty; assembled in Doral, Florida |
ATN Thor LTV — 256×192 / 12 µm, 60 Hz, 1.5–4.5x, 90 mm eye relief, 30 mm rings, 1.4 lb, 3-yr warranty
The Only Riflescope-Format Listing Stating 60 Hz
Five of the ten listings state a refresh rate. Three say 50 Hz (both GOYOJO scopes and the CVLIFE) and two say 60 Hz: the FLIR Breach monocular and this ATN. That makes the Thor LTV the only riflescope-format optic with a stated 60 Hz image, which reduces smearing when panning across a field.
It is also the only listing that states eye relief and the only one that says where it is built (ATN’s Doral, Florida facility). The conventional tube shape suits buyers who want something that looks and sits like a day scope rather than a boxy digital unit.
The listing leaves out several numbers that matter: no IP rating, no battery runtime, no detection range and no NETD. Its 1.5x base magnification also means a wide, close-range view.
Pros
- Only scope here with a stated 60 Hz refresh
- Conventional layout with stated eye relief
- 12 µm sensor with onboard HD video
- Three-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- No IP rating or runtime stated
- No detection range or NETD stated
- Low base magnification limits reach
Also on the shelf but not picked: AGM’s Rattler V2 19-256 (the wider-view sibling of pick 3), GOYOJO’s GRS225-RF with a built-in rangefinder and the strongest stated NETD (under 35 mK), and Athlon’s Cronus ATS Pro 25, whose listing gives a 256×192 sensor and seven palettes but little else.
How to read thermal optic specifications
Sensor resolution and pixel pitch
Resolution is the number of thermal detectors in the array. A 256×192 core has about 49,000 of them, a 320×256 core about 82,000 and a 384×288 core about 110,600. More pixels means a warm shape stays recognizable at a longer distance before it collapses into a blob. Pixel pitch (12 µm or 17 µm on this shelf) is the spacing between detectors; a smaller pitch lets a given lens resolve finer detail but usually trades away some sensitivity. Watch for “super resolution” or enhancement claims; RIX’s RET processing, for example, is described as making a 256 image look closer to a 384 image, which is software, not more sensor.
Detection, recognition and identification
Range claims on thermal listings are almost always detection figures: the distance at which a heat source registers as a few pixels. Recognition, telling a deer from a calf or a dog, happens at a fraction of that, and identification closer still. The GOYOJO GTD215 is the only listing here to publish both (1,000 yards detection, 300 yards recognition), and that ratio is a reasonable mental discount to apply to the others. Humidity, rain, fog and heat shimmer all shorten real-world range.
Refresh rate
Refresh rate is how often the image updates. At 50 or 60 Hz, panning and moving subjects look smooth; at 25 to 30 Hz, fast motion smears. Every listing on this shelf that states a refresh rate is at 50 Hz or higher, but half of the ten do not state one at all, so ask before buying.
Sensitivity (NETD)
NETD, expressed in millikelvin, is the smallest temperature difference the sensor can separate from noise. Lower is better: under 35 mK is excellent for this class, under 50 mK is good. Only two of the ten listings publish it, which says more about marketing than about the sensors.
Lens, magnification and field of view
Longer focal lengths (25 mm versus 19 mm) and higher base magnification push reach out at the cost of a narrower view. Digital zoom only enlarges existing pixels, so an 8x digital setting on a 256×192 core adds size, not detail. Field of view in degrees is the cleanest way to compare framing; only the RIX and GOYOJO GTD215 listings give it.
Durability, cold and batteries
IP67 means dust-tight and rated for temporary immersion; IP66 covers powerful water jets but not immersion; IPX7 covers immersion without a dust rating. Five of the nine riflescope listings state an ingress rating. On the Front Range, cold matters more than rain: a clear night at elevation can drop well below freezing, and lithium cells lose capacity fast in the cold. Of the scopes, only the AGM and GOYOJO GRS listings state a low-temperature limit (−22°F). Carry a spare battery inside a jacket, and treat stated runtimes as warm-weather figures.
Lawful use, safety and responsible observation
Rules on using thermal or other electronic optics for hunting vary by state, species, season and method, and some states restrict or prohibit thermal devices for taking game. In Colorado, check the current Colorado Parks and Wildlife regulations for the species and season before using any thermal optic afield, and get landowner permission before scanning private property. Shooting and firearm-mounting technique is outside the scope of this guide; follow the manufacturer’s manual and a qualified instructor.
Thermal is often more useful as an observation tool than a sighting tool. Ranchers use it to check livestock and spot predators near pens, and volunteers use handheld units in searches. The CDC lists hunters among people who stay outdoors for long periods and face higher hypothermia risk, and notes hypothermia can occur even above 40°F when someone is chilled by rain, sweat or cold water, so long nights behind any optic call for layered clothing and a plan.
A thermal view also shows you animals you should not touch. The CDC advises hunters in areas with chronic wasting disease not to shoot, handle or eat animals that look sick or act strangely, to wear gloves when field-dressing, and to check state wildlife agency testing recommendations; it reports CWD in wild deer in 36 states. Wildlife acting oddly can also signal rabies: the CDC notes that more than 90% of reported animal rabies cases in the U.S. occur in wildlife, most often bats, raccoons, skunks and foxes.
Why a riflescope is not a home-inspection camera
Inspectandtest.net covers thermal imaging because inspectors use it daily, but outdoor optics and inspection cameras solve different problems. Riflescopes and monoculars are built to show a contrast picture at long range; none of the listings above say they measure surface temperature. Inspection cameras are radiometric: they report a temperature for spots in the image, adjust for emissivity and save files for a report. That is what you need to find missing insulation, a wet ceiling or an overheating breaker.
If your interest is the FLIR name for building work, start with our FLIR camera for home inspection guide and the broader FLIR infrared camera overview. For a single spot reading, a digital infrared thermometer costs far less than any optic here.
Thermal patterns on a house are also easy to misread. ENERGY STAR notes that sealing air leaks and adding insulation can save up to 10% on annual energy bills, but finding the right leaks takes the right conditions: a meaningful indoor-outdoor temperature difference, no recent sun on the wall and a trained eye. Our explainer on the infrared scan during a home inspection walks through how inspectors set that up.
Colorado notes for foothills and plains properties
Large rural parcels around Conifer, Nederland, Lyons and Palmer Lake are where outdoor thermal and home thermal meet. The same owners checking a pasture at night often have older log or frame homes with drafty attics, ice dams and frozen-pipe risk. A long-range optic will not diagnose any of that. A proper building scan will; see the local pages for thermal imaging inspections in Conifer and Nederland.
Altitude also changes how optics behave in practice. Dry, clear Front Range air is generally kind to thermal range, while spring upslope fog and snow shorten it sharply. Big day-night temperature swings mean rocks and soil stay warm after sunset, which lowers contrast for the first hour or two of darkness.
When to call a professional
For outdoor optics, the professional is a reputable dealer who can confirm current firmware, warranty registration and legal-use questions, and your state wildlife agency for regulations. For anything involving a house, a thermal camera is a screening tool, and anomalies should be confirmed with moisture meters, electrical testing or opening the assembly. If you are buying or selling a home and want a thermal scan as part of the inspection, reach out through our contact page. For more tools, see our home inspection tools hub.
References
- Preventing Hypothermia — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- About Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- About Rabies — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Seal and Insulate with ENERGY STAR — ENERGY STAR (U.S. EPA)
Frequently asked questions
Does FLIR make a thermal rifle scope?
No FLIR-branded riflescope appeared in our current Amazon search. The only FLIR outdoor thermal optic in the results was the Breach PTQ136, which FLIR describes as a handheld monocular with a 320x256 Boson core. Riflescope-format thermal optics on the shelf came from Pulsar, AGM, RIX, ATN, GOYOJO, CVLIFE and Athlon.
What resolution should a thermal scope have?
A 256x192 sensor is the entry level and suits close to moderate distances. A 384x288 sensor holds detail noticeably farther out. Among the nine riflescope listings we compared, only the Pulsar Thermion 2 XQ50 Pro stated a sensor above the 256x192 class.
How far can a thermal scope really see?
Listed ranges are usually detection distances, where a heat source shows up as a few pixels. Recognizing what the animal is happens at a fraction of that distance. One listing on the shelf gave both figures: 1,000 yards for detection and 300 yards for recognition. Fog, rain and humidity shorten range further.
Is a thermal scope legal to use for hunting in Colorado?
Rules on thermal and other electronic optics vary by state, species, season and method of take. Check the current Colorado Parks and Wildlife regulations for your species and season before using any thermal device afield, and get permission before scanning private land.
Can a thermal rifle scope be used for a home inspection?
Not effectively. The outdoor optics compared here do not state any temperature measurement, which inspection work needs. Home inspectors use radiometric thermal cameras that report spot temperatures and save images for a report, and they confirm findings with moisture meters and other tools.
Own a foothills or rural Front Range property and want the house itself scanned for heat loss, moisture or electrical hot spots? Contact us to connect with a vetted local inspector.
Thermal imaging cameras
Infrared cameras reveal hidden moisture, missing insulation, and air leaks. Phone-attachment models are the budget entry point; standalone units have higher resolution.
| Product | Why | Buy |
|---|---|---|
FLIR ONE Pro (phone) | Plugs into iPhone/Android; inspector favorite. | Amazon — $349.00 |
Topdon TC001 | High-res phone module at a low price. | Amazon — $199.99 |
FLIR C5 Compact | Standalone pocket camera with Wi-Fi. | Amazon — $611.50 |
FLIR ONE Pro (phone)
Topdon TC001
FLIR C5 Compact