Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Pocket Door (2026): 6 Frame Kits and Door Sets Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 17, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Best pocket door

The best pocket door is mostly about what you cannot see. The door slab itself is ordinary; what makes a pocket door glide for 20 years or jump its track in two is the frame kit inside the wall: the track, the rollers, the split studs that form the pocket, and the header that carries the load. On Amazon, the pocket door shelf is almost entirely frame kits sold without a door, plus a couple of complete door-and-hardware sets. That is the right way to shop, since the hardware is the hard part to replace later. Below are six picks matched to door sizes and uses, then a guide to rough openings, wall framing, what you give up inside a pocket wall and when the job needs a carpenter.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 8 current Amazon listings that are pocket door systems: six frame kits sold without a door and two complete sets with a door slab and hardware. We read what each listing states about door width and thickness range, weight capacity, track and stud materials, soft-close mechanisms, included parts and rough-opening requirements. We did not lab-test or install any of these kits. Locks, pulls and a replacement roller in the same search are accessories, not doors, and are not ranked. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best pocket door kits and sets by job

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
JUBEST 36x80 220 lb kitBest overall frame kit
  • Doors 24 to 36 in wide
  • Soft close rated to 220 lb
  • Parts replace without drywall removal
$159.00as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Johnson Hardware 1500 32x80Heavy steel frame kit
  • Steel construction
  • Soft-close series
  • Sized for 2x4 stud walls
$197.30as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
EaseLife 30x80 kitEasy door removal later
  • Quick-release locking tab
  • Doors 24 to 30 in, up to 88 lb
  • Aluminum box track
$139.99as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
JUBEST 36x80 120 lb kitGalvanized steel tube studs
  • One-piece pine header
  • Floor adjustable anchors
  • Doors up to 120 lb
$134.00as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
BARNSMITH 28x80 3-panel setComplete bathroom door set
  • Primed door slab included
  • Privacy lock included
  • Rough opening 57 x 84.5 in
$289.00as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
BARNSMITH 30x80 mirror setMirrored pocket door
  • Full-length mirror door
  • Triple-wheel soft-close rollers
  • Rough opening 61 x 84.5 in
$369.00as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 6 picks, compared listing by listing

1. JUBEST 36 x 80 Frame Kit, 220 lb — Best Overall Pocket Door Kit

Best overall frame kitJUBEST 36x80 220 lb kit

Frame kit for 24 to 36 in doors with galvanized steel track, steel-reinforced wood studs and 220 lb soft close.

Check price on Amazon$159.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Highest soft-close weight rating, 220 lb
  • Fits doors from 24 to 36 inches
  • Parts replaceable without opening drywall
  • Wood face on studs for nailing trim
Specification Details
Door size 24 to 36 in wide, 80 in tall, 1 to 1.75 in thick
Weight capacity Soft-close mechanism rated for doors up to 220 lb
Track / studs Extruded aluminum box track; galvanized steel track with steel-reinforced wood studs
In the box 4 uprights, track with wood slot, double-sided soft close, 2 hangers, 2 column bases, 2 door guides, 2 soft-close triggers
Durability claim Passed a 100,000-cycle test per listing
Expandability Two kits plus an adapter form a double pocket door

JUBEST TSQALW06 — 24–36 x 80 in doors, 1–1.75 in thick, 220 lb soft close, aluminum box track, 100k-cycle claim

The Highest Stated Door Weight Capacity Among the Six Frame Kits

Of the six frame kits compared, four state a weight capacity: the two EaseLife kits at 88 lb, JUBEST’s other kit at 120 lb and this one at 220 lb. Johnson Hardware’s listings do not state one. A solid-core door, a door with glass, or a mirrored door can easily outweigh a hollow-core slab by double, and a soft-close mechanism rated near its limit wears fast. Headroom on capacity is what lets you upgrade the door later without replacing the hardware.

The JUBEST listing also addresses the most common pocket door complaint: once the drywall is on, you cannot get to the hardware. It says parts can be replaced after installation without removing drywall, and that the aluminum box track keeps the door from jumping off. Its 24- to 36-inch width range, shared only with JUBEST’s 120 lb kit, is the widest on the shelf, and those two are the only kits here that take a 36-inch door.

The 100,000-cycle test and “more than 10 years” claims are the manufacturer’s own, with no stated standard. The listing does not name a warranty.

Pros

  • 220 lb soft-close rating
  • Handles 24- to 36-inch doors
  • Serviceable without opening the wall
  • Can pair for a double pocket door

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Cycle test has no named standard
  • Door not included

Check JUBEST 36x80 220 lb kit price on Amazon

2. Johnson Hardware 1500 Series 32 x 80 — Best Heavy Steel Frame Kit

Best heavy steel frame kitJohnson Hardware 1500 32x80

Commercial-grade steel pocket door frame from the Johnson Hardware 1500 soft-close series, sized for 32 x 80 in doors.

Check price on Amazon$197.30 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Heaviest frame by listed weight
  • Steel construction throughout
  • Soft-close series
  • Also sold in a 28-inch size
Specification Details
Door size 32 x 80 in
Wall 2×4 stud wall
Construction Steel, described as heavy duty and commercial grade
Closing Soft-close mechanism
Weight capacity / thickness range Not stated in listing
Listed weight 28.1 lb

Johnson Hardware 1500 — 32 x 80 in, steel, soft close, 2×4 wall, 28.1 lb, capacity not stated

The Heaviest Frame Kit on the Shelf by Listed Weight

Two of the six frame kits are Johnson Hardware’s 1500 Soft Close Series, in 32- and 28-inch sizes. At a listed 28.1 lb, this 32-inch frame is the heaviest kit on the shelf by listed weight, which fits the listing’s description of heavy-duty, commercial-grade steel construction. More metal in the track and split studs generally means a stiffer pocket.

The listing itself is thin. It says the frame is steel, commercial grade and soft-close, sized for a 2×4 wall, and that assembly is required with clear instructions. It does not state a door weight capacity, a thickness range, what is in the box, or whether parts can be serviced through the opening. Every other frame kit on the shelf gives at least some of those numbers.

Before buying, look up the manufacturer’s spec sheet for the 1500 series to confirm capacity, rough opening and roller service. Buying a kit with a published model line also makes it easier to match replacement parts later.

Pros

  • Published model series for matching parts
  • Heavy steel frame
  • Two sizes on the shelf

Cons

  • Weight capacity not stated
  • Contents and thickness range not listed
  • Door not included

Check Johnson Hardware 1500 32x80 price on Amazon

3. EaseLife 30 x 80 Frame Kit — Best for Easy Door Removal

Best for easy door removalEaseLife 30x80 kit

Aluminum box-track kit for 24 to 30 in doors up to 88 lb, with two-way soft close and a quick-release locking tab.

Check price on Amazon$139.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Quick-release tab lifts the door off
  • Lists every part in the box
  • Aluminum box track cuts to width
  • Two-way soft close
Specification Details
Door size 24 to 30 in wide, 80 in tall, 1 to 1.75 in thick
Weight capacity 88 lb
Track 60 in aluminum box track with wood slot; cuttable
In the box Track, 4 square uprights, double-sided soft close, rollers, 2 door stops
Serviceability Quick-release locking tab removes the door without running it off the rail
Durability claim Soft close tested beyond 100,000 rolls per listing

EaseLife 0503 — 24–30 x 80 in doors, 1–1.75 in thick, 88 lb, 60 in aluminum track, quick-release tab

The Only Kit That Describes a Quick-Release Tab for Removing the Door

Sooner or later, a pocket door needs to come out: to paint it, to replace a roller, or to get a couch through. On many systems that means sliding the door to the end of the track and wrestling the hangers off. The two EaseLife listings are the only ones that describe a quick-release locking tab that lets you lift the door off without running it off the rail.

EaseLife also gives the clearest parts list among the frame kits, down to the 60-inch track length on this 30-inch version (64 inches on the 32-inch kit). That makes it easy to confirm the track will span your opening.

The 88 lb capacity is the lowest stated on the shelf. It suits hollow-core and many solid-core 30-inch doors, but not a heavy glass or mirror slab. Check your door’s weight before you order. The 30-inch size tops out at 30-inch doors; buy the 32-inch kit if you might go wider.

Pros

  • Quick-release door removal
  • Complete, specific parts list
  • Two-way soft close

Cons

  • Lowest stated capacity, 88 lb
  • Max 30-inch door in this size
  • No warranty stated

Check EaseLife 30x80 kit price on Amazon

4. JUBEST 36 x 80 Frame Kit, 120 lb — Best Steel-Tube Stud Kit

Best galvanized steel stud kitJUBEST 36x80 120 lb kit

Pocket door kit with galvanized steel tube studs, one-piece pine header, floor anchors and 120 lb two-way soft close.

Check price on Amazon$134.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Galvanized steel tube split studs
  • One-piece pine header, not finger-jointed
  • Floor adjustable anchors included
  • Instructions for doors shorter than 80 inches
Specification Details
Door size 24 to 36 in wide, 80 in tall (can be shortened), 1 to 1.75 in thick
Weight capacity 120 lb
Studs / header Galvanized steel tube studs; one-piece pine header
In the box 4 uprights, aluminum track with wood slot, double-sided soft close, 2 hangers, 2 column bases, 1 door guide, 2 floor anchors
Custom height Lower the header and cut the steel tube ends for shorter doors
Listed weight About 23.5 lb

JUBEST TSQAL03 — 24–36 x 80 in doors, 120 lb soft close, galvanized steel tube studs, pine header, floor anchors

The Only Kit That Says It Can Be Cut Down for a Shorter Door

Most pocket door kits assume an 80-inch door. This JUBEST listing is the only one that explains how to adapt it for a shorter door: lower the header and cut the bottom of the steel split tubes. That helps in older homes, basements and attic rooms where an 80-inch door does not fit under the ceiling or a beam.

It is also the only listing that specifies galvanized steel tube split studs, which it argues are more rigid and corrosion-resistant than steel-wrapped wood. Stiff split studs matter because the pocket wall is thin, and flexing studs are what let drywall screws poke into the door path.

The 120 lb capacity sits between EaseLife’s 88 and the 220 of pick 1. The listing does not mention whether parts can be serviced through the opening, as its sibling does.

Pros

  • Adaptable to shorter doors
  • Rigid galvanized steel tube studs
  • Floor anchors for a plumb frame

Cons

  • No through-opening service claim
  • Only one door guide included
  • No warranty stated

Check JUBEST 36x80 120 lb kit price on Amazon

5. BARNSMITH 28 x 80 3-Panel Pocket Door Set — Best Complete Bathroom Door Set

Best complete set with privacy lockBARNSMITH 28x80 3-panel set

28 x 80 in primed 3-panel pocket door with soft-close hardware, triple-wheel rollers and a privacy lock in one set.

Check price on Amazon$289.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Door, hardware and privacy lock together
  • States the rough opening it needs
  • Primed slab ready for paint
  • Triple-wheel soft-close rollers
Specification Details
Door 28 x 80 in, about 1.38 in thick, T-shaped 3-panel design, white primed
Rough opening At least 57 x 84.5 in
Hardware Commercial-grade system with soft close and triple-wheel rollers
Lock Privacy lock included
Weight / capacity Not stated in listing
Warranty Not stated in listing

BARNSMITH 28 x 80 in 3-panel set — primed slab, soft-close triple-wheel hardware, privacy lock, 57 x 84.5 in rough opening

One of Two Complete Sets, and the Only One With a Privacy Lock

Six of the eight listings sell hardware only, so you still have to source a door that matches the kit’s thickness and weight limits. The two BARNSMITH sets include the slab. This one adds a privacy lock, which is the piece most people forget until the door is hung and the bathroom has no latch. Edge-mounted pocket door locks are their own fussy installation, so getting one sized for the door is worth having.

The listing also states the minimum rough opening, 57 x 84.5 inches for a 28-inch door. That is a useful number, since it shows how much wall a pocket door consumes: a little more than twice the door width, plus height for the header and track.

The slab is primed, not finished, so plan to paint it before installation; painting the edges after it is hung is awkward. The listing does not state the door weight or a hardware capacity.

Pros

  • Door, hardware and lock in one order
  • Rough opening stated
  • Paintable primed slab

Cons

  • Door weight and capacity not stated
  • Needs painting before install
  • 28-inch width only

Check BARNSMITH 28x80 3-panel set price on Amazon

6. BARNSMITH 30 x 80 Mirror Pocket Door — Best Mirrored Pocket Door

Best mirrored pocket doorBARNSMITH 30x80 mirror set

30 x 80 in full-length mirror pocket door with soft-close triple-wheel hardware; 61 x 84.5 in rough opening.

Check price on Amazon$369.00 as of Oct 20, 2026 6:22 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Only mirrored pocket door on the shelf
  • Full-length mirror replaces a wall mirror
  • Soft-close triple-wheel hardware included
  • Rough opening stated
Specification Details
Door 30 x 80 in, about 1.38 in thick, full-length mirror in a wood frame
Rough opening At least 61 x 84.5 in
Hardware Commercial-grade soft-close system, triple-wheel rollers
Mirror Silver mirror coating, described as high-transmittance
Glass safety rating Not stated in listing
Weight Not stated in listing

BARNSMITH 30 x 80 in mirror door — full-length mirror, wood frame, soft-close triple-wheel hardware, 61 x 84.5 in RO

The Only Pocket Door on the Shelf With a Full-Length Mirror

In a small bedroom, closet or bath, wall space is the constraint, and a pocket door already frees floor space a swinging door would sweep. A mirrored slab adds a full-length mirror without using wall area. This BARNSMITH is the only mirrored pocket door among the eight listings.

Mirror doors are heavy, though, and the listing gives no weight. The included hardware is matched to the door, which avoids the capacity guesswork of buying a slab and kit separately. It also states the rough opening, 61 x 84.5 inches.

The listing does not say whether the mirror is tempered or backed with a safety film. Glass in doors is a known injury risk, so check the label or ask the seller before ordering for a child’s room or a busy hallway.

Pros

  • Full-length mirror with no wall space used
  • Matched hardware included
  • Rough opening stated

Cons

  • Door weight not stated
  • Glass safety rating not stated
  • Mirror slab is hard to repaint or modify

Check BARNSMITH 30x80 mirror set price on Amazon

Rough opening and framing: what a pocket door needs from the wall

A pocket door needs a wall at least twice as long as the door is wide, with nothing in the half that becomes the pocket. The two BARNSMITH listings give concrete numbers: a 28-inch door needs a rough opening of at least 57 x 84.5 inches, and a 30-inch door needs 61 x 84.5. In other words, roughly double the door width plus an inch, and about 4.5 inches taller than the door for the header and track.

  • Header. The opening spans more than twice the door width, so the header over it is long. In a load-bearing wall, that header must be sized for the load above, which is a job for a contractor or engineer and usually a permit. Our guide to the door header explains sizing and why undersized headers sag.
  • Wall thickness. Every kit here is built for a standard 2×4 wall. The split studs that form the pocket leave a narrow cavity, so the finished wall is thinner and less stiff than a normal stud wall.
  • Floor and plumb. The frame must be plumb and the floor reasonably flat, or the door will drift open or closed. JUBEST’s 120 lb kit includes floor anchors for this reason.

What you give up inside a pocket wall

The pocket half of the wall is effectively off-limits once the door is in:

  • No wiring, switches or outlets in the pocket section. Light switches often need to move to the other side of the door.
  • No plumbing, ducts or vents. A wall that carries a drain stack or supply lines is not a candidate without rerouting.
  • No heavy wall hangings. Long drywall screws or nails for shelves, TVs or towel bars can puncture the pocket and scratch or jam the door. Use short screws designed for pocket walls, or hang items on the solid half.
  • No insulation in the pocket. Putting a pocket door in an exterior wall removes insulation and creates a cold, drafty spot. ENERGY STAR points out that sealing air leaks and insulating can save up to 10 percent on annual energy bills, so do not give that up in an outside wall during a Front Range winter.

For a full walk-through of the trade-offs, see our pocket door guide. If the wall cannot give up the space, a bypass slider or a bifold door may solve the same clearance problem without opening the wall.

Choosing a door slab for a frame kit

If you buy a frame kit without a door, the slab has to fit the kit’s limits:

  • Width: within the kit’s range. The JUBEST kits run 24 to 36 inches, EaseLife 24 to 30 or 24 to 32.
  • Thickness: the four kits that state it accept 1 to 1.75 inches. Standard interior doors are 1-3/8 inches, which fits.
  • Weight: under the stated capacity with margin. Hollow-core doors are light; solid-core, glass and mirror doors are much heavier.
  • Height: 80 inches is the default. Only the JUBEST 120 lb kit describes cutting down for a shorter door.
  • Finish: paint or seal all six sides, including the top and bottom edges, before hanging. Edges inside a pocket are unreachable afterward.

Plan hardware too. Pocket doors need flush pulls and an edge pull, and bathroom doors need a privacy lock. Our sliding door lock guide covers edge locks and privacy hardware.

Older homes: lead paint and asbestos when you open a wall

Installing a pocket door means removing a section of wall and, often, an old door and its trim. In homes built before 1978, painted doors and trim are a lead concern. The EPA notes that lead-based paint on friction surfaces like doors can produce chips and dust, and that renovation in pre-1978 homes with lead paint can easily create dangerous lead dust. Its RRP Rule requires contractors paid for such work to be certified and follow lead-safe practices.

Older drywall joint compound and plaster can also contain asbestos. The EPA advises that material in good condition and left undisturbed is not likely to be a hazard, but that remodeling disturbs it, and it recommends having a trained, accredited professional sample suspect materials before you remodel. Plenty of Front Range housing predates 1978, so check the build year before you cut.

When to hire a carpenter or call an inspector

A frame kit is a carpenter-level project: removing drywall, possibly cutting studs, installing a header, framing the kit plumb, hanging and adjusting the door, then drywall and trim. Hire help if the wall is load-bearing, carries any wiring or plumbing, is an exterior wall, or is in a pre-1978 home where paint and joint compound need testing first.

A pocket door that already sticks, rubs or comes off its track is often a symptom: a sagging header, settling, or screws driven into the pocket. When you are buying a home, an inspector can note doors that bind and signs of structural movement that explain them. Our structure and exterior hiring guide covers what to expect, or contact us to connect with a vetted Front Range inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best pocket door hardware?

Look for a frame kit with a box track that keeps rollers from jumping, a soft-close mechanism rated well above your door's weight, and a way to service rollers without removing drywall. On this shelf, the JUBEST 220 lb kit states the highest capacity and through-opening service, while the Johnson Hardware 1500 series is the heaviest steel frame listed.

How big a rough opening does a pocket door need?

Roughly twice the door width plus an inch, and about 4.5 inches taller than the door. The BARNSMITH listings specify 57 x 84.5 inches for a 28-inch door and 61 x 84.5 inches for a 30-inch door. Always confirm with the specific kit's instructions.

Can you put a pocket door in a load-bearing wall?

Yes, but the long header over the opening must be sized for the load above it. That usually means a contractor, possibly an engineer, and a building permit. Undersized headers sag and make pocket doors bind.

Can you put outlets or switches in a pocket door wall?

Not in the pocket section, because the door slides into that cavity. Switches and outlets need to go on the solid part of the wall or on the opposite side of the doorway. Plumbing and ducts cannot run through the pocket either.

Do pocket door kits come with a door?

Most do not. Six of the eight listings compared here are frame kits only, and the door must match the kit's width, thickness and weight limits. The two BARNSMITH listings are complete sets that include the door slab and hardware.

References