Skip to content
Independent home-inspection guidance. We are not affiliated with the prior occupant of this domain.
Find an inspector

Best Mini Split (2026): 7 Ductless Heat Pumps Compared

By InspectandTest Editorial Team Published October 19, 2026

We may earn commission from links on this page. Lead-form submissions are forwarded to local inspector partners. How we research and review.

Photo via Unsplash by Zulfugar Karimov

The best mini split for a Colorado home is the one sized for the room, rated to keep heating when January drops below zero and installed so the refrigerant circuit stays sealed for decades. Mini splits are ductless heat pumps: an outdoor compressor connected by a refrigerant line set to a wall-mounted indoor head, delivering both cooling and heating. They suit additions, garages, finished basements, bonus rooms over garages and older homes without ductwork. This guide compares seven current single-zone systems by capacity, stated efficiency, low-temperature heating and installation requirements, then covers how to read SEER2 and HSPF2, what Colorado winters ask of a heat pump and why installation is not a DIY job.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 10 current Amazon listings for single-zone ductless mini split systems on what each listing states: cooling and heating capacity, SEER2 and HSPF2, low-temperature operating range, voltage, line set and refrigerant charge, noise, controls, certifications named, installation requirements and warranty. The shelf also returned three paperback books and a smart thermostat, which we left out. We did not test or install any of these systems. Prices and availability change, so check the current listing before buying.

Quick picks: the best mini splits by room and climate

ProductBest forKey featuresPriceBuy
COSTWAY Blast Pro 12KBest overall single room
  • 20 SEER2, highest on shelf
  • Heats down to -4F per listing
  • Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google
$485.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Rellytech 11,500 BTUBedrooms and cold snaps
  • 29 dB claim
  • Heats to -4F with auto-defrost
  • 16.4 ft line set included
$399.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Rellytech 9,000 BTUSmall rooms, stated HSPF2
  • 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5
  • Up to 550 sq ft
  • 115V, ETL and AHRI
$309.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Rellytech 18,000 BTULarger single zones
  • 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5
  • Up to 1,250 sq ft
  • 208-230V
$499.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
YITAHOME 24,000 BTUOpen plans and big spaces
  • 18.5 SEER2
  • Up to 1,500 sq ft
  • 5-yr parts, 7-yr compressor
$799.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
Senville LETO 12KLonger line-set runs
  • Pre-charged for up to 25 ft
  • UL Listed, AHRI Certified
  • 5-yr parts and compressor
$799.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price
COSTWAY 10153-CYJVLongest compressor warranty
  • 8-yr compressor, 5-yr parts
  • 20 SEER2
  • iFEEL and auto-defrost
$499.99as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000Buy now →Check current price

Prices are Amazon’s listed prices as of the time shown and change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The 7 picks, compared listing by listing

1. COSTWAY Blast Pro 12,000 BTU — Best Overall for a Single Room

Best overallCOSTWAY Blast Pro 12K

12,000 BTU, 20 SEER2, 115V ductless heat pump that heats down to -4F per listing, with Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google control.

Check price on Amazon$485.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Ties for the highest SEER2 on the shelf at 20
  • Lowest stated heating temperature, -4°F
  • Outdoor unit has a heated chassis for winter
  • Wi-Fi app, Alexa and Google Assistant
  • 28 dB claim, 8 fan speeds, 4D airflow
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 12,000 BTU; up to 750 square feet
Efficiency 20 SEER2; HSPF2 not stated in listing
Operating range Heating down to -4°F; cooling up to 127°F; heated outdoor chassis
Power / refrigerant 115V; refrigerant GWP of 675 stated
Controls / noise Wi-Fi app, Alexa, Google Assistant, remote; 7 modes, 8 fan speeds; as low as 28 dB
Install / warranty Professional technician installation noted; warranty term not stated

COSTWAY Blast Pro — 12,000 BTU, 20 SEER2, 115V, heats to -4°F, heated chassis, Wi-Fi + Alexa/Google, 28 dB, 750 sq ft

The Only Listing That Pairs 20 SEER2 With Heating Down to -4°F

Nine of the 10 mini split listings state a SEER2 rating, ranging from 17 to 20. Two reach 20: this Blast Pro and COSTWAY’s older 10153 in pick 7. Six listings state a low-temperature heating limit, and only two go below 0°F: this unit and the Rellytech 11,500 BTU, both at -4°F. The Blast Pro is the only system that combines the top SEER2 with that heating range, and it adds a heated chassis on the outdoor unit, a feature aimed at keeping the base pan and drain from icing up in cold weather.

It is also one of 2 listings that state Wi-Fi control and one of 3 that name a voice assistant, and its 28 dB low-end noise claim is among the quietest stated. For a single room up to the 750 square feet COSTWAY states, such as a bonus room, basement family room or primary suite, it covers the most ground.

The gaps matter. The listing does not state an HSPF2 rating, so its heating efficiency cannot be compared with the Rellytech units that do, and it does not claim ENERGY STAR certification. None of the 10 listings do. It does not state a warranty term, a line-set length or whether the system comes pre-charged. Being able to run at -4°F is not the same as delivering full rated heat at -4°F; capacity drops as outdoor temperatures fall.

Pros

  • 20 SEER2, tied for highest
  • Heats down to -4°F with heated chassis
  • Wi-Fi and voice control
  • Quiet 28 dB claim

Cons

  • HSPF2 not stated
  • Warranty term not stated
  • Line set and charge details not given

Check COSTWAY Blast Pro 12K price on Amazon

2. Rellytech 11,500 BTU 17 SEER2 — Best for Bedrooms and Cold Snaps

Best for bedrooms and cold snapsRellytech 11,500 BTU

11,500 BTU, 17 SEER2, 115V pre-charged R32 mini split with a 29 dB claim, -4F heating and a 16.4 ft line set.

Check price on Amazon$399.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Heats down to -4°F with auto-defrost
  • 29 dB claim and screen-off sleep mode
  • 4D louvers plus iFEEL remote sensing
  • Pre-charged R32 with a 16.4-foot line set
  • Five-year limited warranty
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 11,500 BTU; up to 550 square feet
Efficiency 17 SEER2; HSPF2 not stated
Operating range Heating down to -4°F (title says -5°F); cooling up to 122°F
Power / refrigerant 115V hardwired, no plug; factory pre-charged R32
Install kit 16.42-foot copper line set and installation kit; vacuum required before startup
Certifications / warranty ETL and AHRI; 5-year limited warranty per listing

Rellytech 11,500 BTU — 17 SEER2, 115V hardwired, pre-charged R32, heats to -4°F, 29 dB, 4D swing + iFEEL, 16.4 ft line set, ETL/AHRI

The Most Candid Installation Notes, With Sub-Zero Heating

Several listings use “pre-charged” in a way that makes installation sound like plug-and-play. This Rellytech is the most specific about what is involved: the unit must be hardwired (no power cord), the system must be vacuum-pumped before startup, and Rellytech strongly recommends a licensed HVAC technician for every buyer. It is the only listing that states the vacuum step, which is the part of a line-set connection most DIY installs skip.

For performance, it shares the shelf’s lowest stated heating limit (-4°F) with the Blast Pro and adds auto-defrost. It is one of 2 listings, along with the Albott, to claim 29 dB, and one of 3 with 4D louvers that swing horizontally and vertically. The iFEEL feature reads temperature at the remote rather than at the wall unit, so a bedroom stays comfortable where people actually sleep.

The trade-off is efficiency. At 17 SEER2, it is tied for the lowest cooling rating on the shelf, though still above the 15.2 SEER2 ENERGY STAR minimum for split heat pumps. The listing does not state HSPF2, and its -4°F and -5°F figures disagree between the bullets and the title.

Pros

  • Heats to -4°F with auto-defrost
  • Clear, honest installation requirements
  • Quiet 29 dB claim, iFEEL, 4D louvers

Cons

  • 17 SEER2, tied for lowest here
  • HSPF2 not stated
  • Low-temperature figure stated two ways

Check Rellytech 11,500 BTU price on Amazon

3. Rellytech 9,000 BTU 19 SEER2 — Best for Small Rooms

Best for small roomsRellytech 9,000 BTU

9,000 BTU, 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5, 115V pre-charged mini split for rooms up to 550 sq ft, ETL and AHRI certified.

Check price on Amazon$309.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • One of only 3 listings that state HSPF2
  • 19 SEER2 in the smallest capacity on the shelf
  • Runs on 115V household power
  • ETL and AHRI certification named
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 9,000 BTU cooling and heating; up to 550 square feet
Efficiency 19 SEER2; HSPF2 8.5
Modes Cool, heat, fan, dry; ECO mode; 4 fan speeds; 90° vertical swing
Power 115V; pre-charged system with installation kit
Noise / timer 42 dB claim; 24-hour timer; LED-off and sleep modes
Install / warranty Professional HVAC installation required; 8-year warranty in bullets, 1-year in spec field

Rellytech 9,000 BTU — 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5, 115V, pre-charged, 550 sq ft, 42 dB claim, ETL/AHRI, pro install required

One of Three Listings That Publish a Heating Efficiency Rating

SEER2 measures cooling efficiency; HSPF2 measures heating efficiency. In Colorado, the heating number arguably matters more, yet only 3 of the 10 listings state it, all from Rellytech’s 9,000, 12,000 and 18,000 BTU line at 8.5. ENERGY STAR’s cold-climate requirement for non-ducted split heat pumps starts at 8.5 HSPF2 and 15.2 SEER2. The cold-climate designation also requires tested performance at 5°F, which this listing does not claim, but the published HSPF2 at least allows a real comparison.

At 9,000 BTU, it is the smallest system on the shelf, suited to a single bedroom, office or small converted garage space. Oversizing a mini split for a small room causes short cycling and poor dehumidification, so a right-sized small unit is often the better choice than a 12,000 BTU unit that is a little cheaper per BTU.

The listing does not state a low-temperature heating limit, so its cold-weather performance is unknown. Its 42 dB noise claim ties with its 12,000 BTU sibling for the loudest stated. It contradicts itself on warranty, 8 years in the bullets and 1 year in the spec field. It also does not state the line-set length.

Pros

  • HSPF2 8.5 stated
  • 19 SEER2
  • 115V, sized for small rooms

Cons

  • Low-temperature limit not stated
  • 42 dB, tied for loudest claim here
  • Warranty stated two ways

Check Rellytech 9,000 BTU price on Amazon

4. Rellytech 18,000 BTU 19 SEER2 — Best for Larger Single Zones

Best for larger single zonesRellytech 18,000 BTU

18,000 BTU cooling and 18,400 BTU heating, 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5, 208-230V pre-charged mini split for up to 1,250 sq ft.

Check price on Amazon$499.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Covers up to 1,250 square feet per listing
  • States both 19 SEER2 and 8.5 HSPF2
  • Heating capacity slightly above cooling
  • Four modes plus ECO
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 18,000 BTU cooling, 18,400 BTU heating; up to 1,250 square feet
Efficiency 19 SEER2; HSPF2 8.5
Power 208–230V
Modes / airflow Cool, heat, fan, dry, ECO; 4 fan speeds; 90° vertical swing
System Pre-charged split system
Warranty / weight 1-year manufacturer per spec field; about 112 pounds shipping weight

Rellytech 18,000 BTU — 19 SEER2, HSPF2 8.5, 230V, 18,400 BTU heat, up to 1,250 sq ft, pre-charged

The Largest System Here That Still Publishes HSPF2

Two listings on the shelf exceed 12,000 BTU: this 18,000 BTU Rellytech and the 24,000 BTU YITAHOME. Of those, only the Rellytech states an HSPF2. It is also one of 2 listings, with its 12,000 BTU sibling, whose stated heating capacity (18,400 BTU) is higher than its cooling capacity, a useful detail for a heating-led Colorado install where winter, not summer, sets the size.

The 1,250 square-foot claim suits a large open basement, a great room or an attached garage converted to living space, provided the layout lets air move. ENERGY STAR reminds buyers that heat rises and cool air sinks, that heat struggles to move through an open doorway and cannot move through a closed one. One wall head will not condition a closed-off bedroom down the hall.

This unit needs a 208–230V circuit, which usually means a new dedicated two-pole breaker. Its listing is thinner than its 12,000 and 9,000 BTU siblings: it does not state a noise level, low-temperature limit, line-set length or installation note, and the only warranty stated is 1 year in the spec field.

Pros

  • Large coverage with published HSPF2
  • Heating capacity above cooling capacity
  • 19 SEER2

Cons

  • Needs a 230V circuit
  • No low-temperature limit or noise figure
  • Short stated warranty

Check Rellytech 18,000 BTU price on Amazon

5. YITAHOME 24,000 BTU 18.5 SEER2 — Best for Open Plans and Big Spaces

Best for open plansYITAHOME 24,000 BTU

24,000 BTU, 18.5 SEER2, 230V mini split for up to 1,500 sq ft with Wi-Fi, Alexa and a 7-yr compressor warranty.

Check price on Amazon$799.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Largest capacity on the shelf
  • Wi-Fi app and Alexa support
  • 25 dB in sleep mode, per listing
  • Five-year parts and seven-year compressor warranty
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 24,000 BTU; up to 1,500 square feet
Efficiency 18.5 SEER2; HSPF2 not stated
Operating range 5°F to 118°F
Power / refrigerant 230V; pre-charged R-32 (GWP 675)
Controls / noise Wi-Fi, Alexa, remote; 6 modes; 25–50 dB, 25 dB in sleep mode
Install / warranty Must be installed by a licensed HVAC pro; 5-year parts, 7-year compressor

YITAHOME 24,000 BTU — 18.5 SEER2, 230V, pre-charged R-32, 5–118°F, Wi-Fi + Alexa, 25 dB sleep mode, 1,500 sq ft

The Only 24,000 BTU System, With a Clear Licensed-Install Requirement

The YITAHOME is the largest single-zone system among the 10 listings, rated for up to 1,500 square feet. It is the right class for a wide-open main floor or a large finished basement where one big head can throw air a long way; YITAHOME states an air throw of up to 50 feet. It states one of the more complete warranties here, 5 years on parts and 7 on the compressor.

The listing is direct that the unit must be installed by a licensed HVAC professional, and it notes the system is factory-sealed and pre-charged with R-32, a refrigerant with a stated global warming potential of 675. Its 25 dB sleep-mode figure is the lowest noise claim on the shelf, though it gives a range of 25 to 50 dB overall.

The weaknesses: it does not state HSPF2, its heating limit is 5°F rather than below zero, and its “saves up to 50%” claim has no stated comparison. A 24,000 BTU system is a lot of capacity for one zone. Without a Manual J load calculation, it is easy to oversize, which leaves a room clammy in summer from short run times.

Pros

  • Highest capacity on the shelf
  • Five-year parts, seven-year compressor warranty
  • Wi-Fi, Alexa and quiet sleep mode

Cons

  • HSPF2 not stated
  • Heating limit stops at 5°F
  • Easy to oversize without a load calculation

Check YITAHOME 24,000 BTU price on Amazon

6. Senville LETO 12,000 BTU — Best for Longer Line-Set Runs

Best for longer line runsSenville LETO 12K

12,000 BTU, 110/120V heat pump pre-charged for line runs up to 25 ft, UL Listed, AHRI Certified, works with Alexa.

Check price on Amazon$799.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Refrigerant charge covers line runs up to 25 feet
  • Only listing that names UL Listed
  • Five years on parts and compressor in the bullets
  • Alexa and app control
Specification Details
Capacity 12,000 BTU (1 ton)
Efficiency SEER2 and HSPF2 not stated in listing
Operating range Heat pump functional down to 5°F
Power / kit 110/120V; 16-foot line set and communication wire; pre-loaded for up to 25 ft
Certifications DC inverter UL Listed; AHRI Certified
Install / warranty Professional installation required; 5-year parts and compressor in bullets, labor not included

Senville LETO SENL-12CD — 12,000 BTU, 110/120V, heats to 5°F, 16 ft line set, charge for 25 ft, UL Listed, AHRI, Alexa

The Only Listing That States How Long a Line Run Its Charge Covers

Factory pre-charge is sized for a certain length of line set. Longer runs need refrigerant added, which is regulated work. Three listings state the length of the included line set (16.42 feet for the Rellytech 11,500 BTU, 16 feet here and 9.8 feet for the Tehanld), but only the Senville says how long a run its factory charge covers: up to 25 feet. That flexibility helps when the outdoor unit has to sit around a corner from the wall head, as it often does on a Front Range lot.

It is also the only listing that names a UL listing, and one of 5 that name AHRI certification. Senville is an established mini split brand, and the listing reads like it: indoor and outdoor units, remote, line set and communication wire, with professional installation required and labor not covered by the warranty.

The weak point is efficiency data. The Senville is the only one of the 10 listings that states no SEER2 rating, and it does not state HSPF2 or a noise figure. Its bullets claim 5 years on parts, but the spec field says 2 years on parts, so confirm coverage with Senville before buying.

Pros

  • Charge covers line runs up to 25 feet
  • UL Listed and AHRI Certified
  • Alexa and app control

Cons

  • No SEER2 or HSPF2 stated
  • Heating limit 5°F
  • Parts warranty stated two ways

Check Senville LETO 12K price on Amazon

7. COSTWAY 10153-CYJV 12,000 BTU — Best Compressor Warranty

Longest compressor warrantyCOSTWAY 10153-CYJV

12,000 BTU, 20 SEER2, 115V pre-charged heat pump with iFEEL, auto-defrost, self-clean and an 8-year compressor warranty.

Check price on Amazon$499.99 as of Oct 20, 2026 1:30 am GMT+0000 — prices change; see Amazon for current price.

Why we like it

  • Eight-year compressor warranty, longest stated here
  • Ties for the highest SEER2 at 20
  • AHRI certified, pre-charged
  • iFEEL sensing and outdoor auto-defrost
Specification Details
Capacity / coverage 12,000 BTU (1-ton heat pump); up to 750 square feet
Efficiency 20 SEER2; HSPF2 not stated
Modes Auto, cool, dry, heat, fan; sleep, ECO, iFEEL, turbo; 4 fan speeds
Maintenance High-temperature self-clean cycle; washable filter; outdoor auto-defrost
Power / certification 115V; AHRI certified; pre-charged
Install / warranty Licensed HVAC installer only; 5-year parts, 8-year compressor

COSTWAY 10153-CYJV — 12,000 BTU, 20 SEER2, 115V, pre-charged, AHRI, iFEEL, auto-defrost, self-clean, 5-yr parts / 8-yr compressor

The Longest Compressor Coverage on the Shelf

The compressor is the most expensive part of a mini split, so its warranty is the one that matters. Stated compressor coverage on this shelf runs from 5 years (Albott, Senville) to 7 (YITAHOME) to 8 years on this COSTWAY. Rellytech’s 12,000 and 9,000 BTU listings mention an 8-year warranty without saying it covers the compressor specifically. The 10153 is the only listing that clearly states 8 years on the compressor, plus 5 years on parts.

It shares the shelf’s top 20 SEER2 rating with the newer Blast Pro, includes iFEEL sensing at the remote and an auto-defrost function for the outdoor unit, and runs a high-temperature self-clean cycle. COSTWAY states that the equipment should be installed only by a licensed HVAC installer. Warranties on mini splits commonly depend on professional installation, so that line is worth taking seriously.

Compared with the Blast Pro, it lacks Wi-Fi and voice control, and it does not state a low-temperature heating limit, a noise figure or HSPF2.

Pros

  • Eight-year compressor warranty
  • 20 SEER2
  • AHRI certified, iFEEL, auto-defrost

Cons

  • No Wi-Fi or voice control
  • No low-temperature limit or HSPF2
  • No noise figure stated

Check COSTWAY 10153-CYJV price on Amazon

How to read SEER2, HSPF2 and capacity

SEER2 (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio 2) is the cooling season’s heat removed divided by the electricity used. HSPF2 (Heating Seasonal Performance Factor 2) does the same for the heating season. Higher is better for both. ENERGY STAR’s current criteria for split-system heat pumps call for at least 15.2 SEER2, 7.8 HSPF2 and 11.0 EER2. For a non-ducted split to qualify as cold climate, the bar rises to 8.5 HSPF2, with tested performance at 5°F: a coefficient of performance of at least 1.75 and at least 70% of rated heating capacity. Every listing here that states SEER2 clears 15.2, but none claims ENERGY STAR certification, and only 3 state HSPF2. For a deeper explanation, see our guide to what a SEER rating means.

Capacity in BTU, and the square footage claims attached to it, are rough. ENERGY STAR says a contractor should size the system with a Manual J load calculation. An oversized system short-cycles, and an undersized one runs flat-out and still falls behind. ENERGY STAR’s quality-installation guidance warns that oversized equipment cycles too often, reducing comfort and shortening equipment life, and says not to rely on rules of thumb.

Voltage matters too. Eight of the 10 systems run on 115V, convenient for smaller rooms. The Rellytech 18,000 and YITAHOME 24,000 BTU units need 208–230V. Either way, the outdoor unit needs a dedicated circuit and a service disconnect, which is electrical work that usually requires a permit.

Colorado winters and cold-climate heat pumps

A mini split’s heating capacity falls as outdoor temperatures drop. Front Range cold snaps regularly push overnight lows below 0°F along the I-25 corridor and colder in the foothills, so the stated low-temperature limit is the first number to check. Six listings here give one: two at -4°F and four at 5°F. Those figures describe the lowest temperature at which the unit operates, not how much heat it delivers there.

ENERGY STAR notes that certified cold-climate heat pumps are tested down to 5°F, continue working below that, and are most efficient when paired with a backup heat source on the coldest days. In practice, many Colorado homeowners use a mini split as the main heat for an addition or bonus room while keeping a furnace or baseboard heat as backup. ENERGY STAR also advises leaving a heat pump at a steady temperature rather than setting it back at night, and choosing “heat” or “cool” instead of “auto.”

The outdoor unit needs winter planning too. ENERGY STAR points out that outdoor units release water when they defrost, which can freeze into icy patches. Keep the unit away from doors, walkways and roof drip lines, and mount it high enough to clear drifting snow. Our guide to why a heat pump freezes up covers the defrost cycle and when ice is a problem.

DIY pre-charged line sets vs professional installation

Every system here is a split system: the indoor and outdoor units are joined by copper refrigerant lines that must be connected, leak-checked and evacuated on site. “Pre-charged” means the refrigerant is stored in the outdoor unit, not that the circuit can be opened and closed casually. Nine of the 10 listings say professional or licensed installation is required or strongly recommended.

The rules are federal. EPA regulations under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act require technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants to be certified. EPA defines a technician to include anyone who attaches hoses and gauges to measure system pressure or who adds or removes refrigerant. Residential split systems fall under the high-pressure equipment certification type. ENERGY STAR’s quality-installation checklist also asks the contractor to test and adjust refrigerant charge and confirm airflow meets the manufacturer’s specifications.

Some brands sell systems with sealed quick-connect line sets marketed for DIY installation. None of the 10 listings here is sold that way, though the Rellytech 11,500 BTU listing says experienced users may install it themselves while strongly recommending a licensed technician. On top of refrigerant work, a mini split install includes a dedicated circuit, a disconnect, a wall penetration that must be sealed against air and water, a condensate drain and a level pad or wall bracket. Front Range building departments typically require mechanical and electrical permits for this work. Warranties often require a licensed installer, and several listings here say so directly. Our guides to how a mini split works and ductless mini split installation cost explain the process and budget, and the heat pump installation guide covers ducted options.

Is a mini split the right system?

ENERGY STAR describes mini splits as a strong fit for homes with costly electric baseboard heat, older homes without ductwork, additions, garages and outbuildings, rooms above garages and spots in the house that run hot or cold. Because there is no combustion, mini splits produce no carbon monoxide indoors. For a whole house that already has good ductwork, a ducted heat pump or central system may be the better route. Our comparison of central air vs mini split lays out the trade-offs.

Mini splits also have their own maintenance. ENERGY STAR advises cleaning the indoor unit’s dust filters when they look dirty or the filter light comes on. The washable filters on these units protect the coil but do little for indoor air quality on their own.

When to call a pro or an inspector

Bring in a licensed HVAC contractor for sizing, line-set work, evacuation and charging, and a licensed electrician for the circuit if the HVAC contractor does not handle it. Get more than one bid and ask whether the contractor performs a Manual J calculation; our guide to hiring a heating and cooling contractor lists what to ask.

If you are buying a home with an existing mini split, an inspection can flag missing permits, poorly sealed wall penetrations, condensate problems and an outdoor unit set where ice or snow will cause trouble. Front Range buyers and sellers can get in touch through our contact page to connect with a vetted local inspector.

Frequently asked questions

What size mini split do I need?

Listings give rough coverage, such as 9,000 BTU for about 550 square feet and 12,000 BTU for about 750 square feet, but ENERGY STAR recommends that a contractor size the system with a Manual J load calculation. Insulation, windows, ceiling height and Colorado winter lows all change the answer, and oversizing causes short cycling.

Do mini splits work in Colorado winters?

Many do, but check the listed low-temperature limit and HSPF2. In this comparison, two systems state heating down to -4F and four down to 5F. ENERGY STAR cold-climate heat pumps are tested at 5F and keep working below it, though a backup heat source is often paired with them for the coldest days.

Can I install a mini split myself?

Not legally in most cases if refrigerant lines must be connected and charged. EPA Section 608 rules require certified technicians to attach gauges or add or remove refrigerant. Installs also need a dedicated electrical circuit and usually permits, and nine of the 10 listings here say professional installation is required or strongly recommended.

What is a good SEER2 rating for a mini split?

ENERGY STAR requires at least 15.2 SEER2 for split heat pumps, and the listings in this comparison range from 17 to 20 SEER2. For Colorado, also look for HSPF2, the heating efficiency rating; ENERGY STAR's cold-climate threshold for ductless splits is 8.5 HSPF2.

Is a mini split better than central air?

A mini split is often better for additions, garages, rooms without ducts or homes with expensive electric baseboard heat, because it heats and cools without ductwork. In a home with good existing ducts, a ducted heat pump or central system may serve the whole house more simply.

References